Skip to content

Life is What it is

January 17, 2009

i got to help mandy tweak one of her new songs this week, that you all loved… then, she asked me to sing backup for her so she could post it in her 100 songs/year challenge:

I used to think that I was superhuman
Could do anything if I put MY mind TO it
Then life came along and kinda had to ruin …
It all

We all have a story
and it’s all been told before

This life is what it is
This life is what it is
The ups and the downs
The hits and the misses
This is life…
Life is what it is.

Some people believe their glass is half empty
They’re others who know they’ve been given plenty
But we’re not livin… if we’re not drinkin
It all

Chorus
This life is what we make of it
This life is what we take from it
The ups and the downs
The hits and the misses
This is life… life is life
This is life & life is what it is.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2009 6:01 am

    Very Lovely ladies… Very Lovely….

    Peace and Love…

    Safe Travels Mandy

  2. January 17, 2009 7:37 am

    Sounds great! Listened to it over at Mandy’s. Love it!

    My Creative Community songwriting contribution from last week

  3. January 17, 2009 8:08 am

    (watching you in the beginning with your chapstick… felt like i was watching myself.)

    this came out beautifully… i love the the thought of you two sitting around, jamming together…

  4. January 17, 2009 11:29 am

    That’s nice. Pretty harmonies, Tam. I’m heading over to Mandy’s to talk about the song.

  5. Momma Jen permalink
    January 17, 2009 11:35 am

    WOW!! That was beautiful!! Mandy, really, must you go back home… back to your husband?? Is it really necessary?? 🙂 I so enjoyed listening to you last weekend during worship, and then again during this song – you have a gorgeous voice – and you & Tam sound great together!! Hope we here in Southern Oregon (more specifically, TRF) are blessed by you again soon!

  6. January 17, 2009 11:54 am

    lovely

  7. January 17, 2009 12:04 pm

    THIS.IS.MY.NEW.THEME.SONG.

    I love your heart. And your voice.

  8. January 17, 2009 12:28 pm

    i hope she and i get to do this again. soon.

    it was fun working on this with her. learning the melody and my place in it. she was SO patient with me. she is a true artist guys. phenomenally talented!

  9. January 17, 2009 1:16 pm

    I’m with you Tam, you gotta chapstick before going to the mic.

    As Carl says, Lovely.

  10. January 17, 2009 1:29 pm

    🙂

  11. January 17, 2009 2:03 pm

    Ok…i got teary-eyed. What? Go figure. I’m a big ole baby and I thought the two of you singing was BEAUTIFUL! I’m so glad y’all had such a good time. What a precious friendship.

    Hugs,

  12. Jennifer Griffin permalink
    January 17, 2009 2:20 pm

    I’m glad you all had a blast! Love the song and the message of the song. Awesome! You two are too cute!

  13. Heidi permalink
    January 17, 2009 2:28 pm

    WOW…

    This was so awesome. I pray that you’ll be recording this someday together.

  14. January 17, 2009 5:08 pm

    so sweet! loved it!

  15. January 17, 2009 6:57 pm

    That was nice. Poor lighting though. 😉

    I think your couch is on fire in the background.

  16. January 17, 2009 8:03 pm

    I think i saw the Ghost !

    She appeared in the right background now and then and reminded me of someone i know well but can’t quite put my finger on the name…

    Oh Yeah – Loved the Duet! 🙂

    The beat goes onnnnnn….

    So glad this got to happen – and be lived in your life. 🙂

    <B

  17. January 18, 2009 5:26 pm

    beautiful!! you knew I would say that 😉

    (can I just say that I am missing those thoughts of yours, the randomness, the insight, and the scripture that you are pondering..just saying)

  18. January 19, 2009 7:33 am

    You both have lovely voices, and they blend so well together. Very nice job!

  19. January 19, 2009 6:19 pm

    Love it. Love the way your voices fit together just as well as your personalities. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

