Skip to content

random facts

January 19, 2009

Odontophobia is the fear of teeth.

According to suicide statistics, Monday is the favored day for self-destruction. 😯

The first known contraceptive was crocodile dung, used by Egyptians in 2000 B.C.

The Main Library at Indiana University sinks over an inch every year because when it was built, engineers failed to take into account the weight of all the books that would occupy the building.

The three best-known western names in China: Jesus Christ, Richard Nixon, and Elvis Presley.

Women are 37% more likely to go to a psychiatrist than men are.

When snakes are born with two heads, they fight each other for food. [why does this one make me laugh?!?]

Dentists have recommended that a toothbrush be kept at least 6 feet (2 m) away from a toilet to avoid airborne particles resulting from the flush. [oooo. good to know]

The roar that we hear when we place a seashell next to our ear is not the ocean, but rather the sound of blood surging through the veins in the ear. Any cup-shaped object placed over the ear produces the same effect. [do people believe its the actual ocean?]

“Goodbye” came from “God bye” which came from “God be with you.”




28 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2009 11:33 am

    Um. About the crocodile dung… My question is HOW did they use it??? 😯

  2. January 19, 2009 11:39 am

    If my man were using crocodile dung, i am darn sure i would NOT be getting preggers. eewwwwww

  3. January 19, 2009 11:51 am

    @mandy: my brain went there too, and then I decided I didn’t want to know…

  4. January 19, 2009 11:53 am

    hahaha! 😆

    i didnt EVEN think about that.

    eewwww.

  5. Heidi permalink
    January 19, 2009 12:01 pm

    I’m with Mandy….. ?????????????????

  6. January 19, 2009 1:04 pm

    Although my boys aren’t a two headed creature they are pretty close. So I can say I have actually seen the snake thing played out in real life. It isn’t always funny, but sometimes can be.

  7. Gabriel permalink
    January 19, 2009 1:47 pm

    K, I think I’m gonna take my toothbrush out of the bathroom now..

    hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliaphobia (I think it’s spelt right) is the fear of long words.

  8. January 19, 2009 3:05 pm

    I had not heard about the two headed snake thing, and didn’t want to know about the dangerous of brushing teeth near a toliet. I think I will brush my teeth over the kitchen sink from now on.

    A quick google search under useless trvia:

    1.Your stomach has to produce a new layer of mucus every two weeks, otherwise it will digest itself.
    2.A raisin dropped in a fresh glass of soda will bounce up and down continually from the bottom of the glass to the top.
    3.On average, 12 newborns will be given to the wrong parents daily.
    4.Most lipstick contains fish scales.
    5.Bats always turn left when exiting a cave.
    6.Walt Disney was afraid of mice.

  9. January 19, 2009 3:15 pm

    ed – newborns given to the wrong parents is so sad. wow. thats a high number too!

    i think my stomach is eating itself today.

  10. Heidi permalink
    January 19, 2009 3:31 pm

    I am never wearing lipstick again.

    I don’t want scaly lips (hehee)

  11. January 19, 2009 4:14 pm

    haha those are a great set of random facts. I LOVED reading them! Thanks.

    Here’s a random fact for you, from me:
    The first time I met you was when I came to your blog via another person’s wordpress blog
    this second time was via Facebook’s Blog Network application.

    I’d say that this could be a God thing or fact, what do you think? haha thanks for being on the web. Your place is a great place to come and visit. :o)

  12. January 19, 2009 7:11 pm

    wow…i’m with mandy on the dung.

    also – i did know that mondays and toothbrushes. i guess that just means i’m a repository for useless info. or that i could win at jeopardy.

  13. January 19, 2009 8:07 pm

    FYI: My bathroom is so small that if I wanted to keep my toothbrush TWO feet away, I’d have to move it to another room.

  14. January 19, 2009 8:11 pm

    i can’t stop thinking about airborne particles from the flush. i’m running next time i push the flusher.

  15. January 19, 2009 9:41 pm

    @alece & mandy: I’ve known about the flusher for awhile… that’s why you are always supposed to close the lid before you flush to avoid this issues. So you don’t have to run… just close the lid 🙂

  16. January 19, 2009 9:43 pm

    WHA? really?

    hmph.

  17. January 19, 2009 10:13 pm

    half the fun is running! and grabbing toothbrushes on the way out, of course…

  18. January 19, 2009 11:00 pm

    I am a HUGE fan of useless trivia. Something I tweeted the other day: Snails can sleep for up to 3 years. So crazy.

  19. January 19, 2009 11:27 pm

    i know some snails.

  20. January 19, 2009 11:34 pm

    i am not! 😉

    <B

  21. January 19, 2009 11:35 pm

    OK – now i’ve just GOT to try that raisin thing! Thanks Ed.

    <B

  22. January 19, 2009 11:35 pm

    Not sure if you are still up or if anyone will even see this note, but URGENT PRAYER REQUEST –

    My brother, Robert is very congested and saw a doctor earlier (officially yesterday afternoon). The doctor wasn’t concerned so much about his sore throat, but most concerned about his heart rate it was almost 200 while he was just sitting in the office. The doctor told him he needed to admit to the hospital ASAP, but he said no because he doesn’t have health insurance – so he left the office with RX for antibiotics. He called me about 20 minutes ago asking what to do because his heart felt like it’s beating out of his chest – I told him he needs to follow his doctor’s advice and get to the hospital. I asked him if he needed me to call an ambulance and he said NO… he’s on his way to a hospital in TX, but I don’t know which one… Please pray!

  23. January 20, 2009 9:45 am

    Robin – praying for you!!

  24. January 20, 2009 10:10 am

    love – ha! you sure???

    robin – keep us posted.

  25. January 20, 2009 1:10 pm

    fyi – for all who read robins comment above…her brother is home and doing much better. still very ill – but home at least!

  26. January 20, 2009 8:33 pm

    What do you mean ? “are you sure?”

    Do you want me to slime you? :mrgreen:

    <B

  27. January 20, 2009 8:59 pm

    eewww!

  28. January 20, 2009 9:19 pm

    … with Mandy on the dung … that was my first thought.

Leave a Reply

