Skip to content

inauguration: eVent

January 20, 2009

today is a big day! huge moment in history.

ive been a little set back with all the froo-froo of this inauguration. truth be told, i get a little frustrated with all of these things. the amount of money spent, the news people reporting on the most insignificant details. i dont care at all what michelle obama is wearing. or who carved their crystal bowls. or what kind of dog they have. or which carpets they plan on keeping in the white house.

do you really think that is what we’re interested in? we’re falling apart here as a country. there are starving, homeless and dying people on our streets. there are upright, hard working americans losing their jobs, homes and passion for life, belief in their country.

i dont care what kind of toilet seat the obama girls are choosing for their own bathrooms. or which chef barack will hire.

its days like these, when all this silly stuff is thrown at my face, that i forget what i care about. this happens with each inauguration.

i know this is a celebration. and im genuinely excited for them. truly!

im just looking forward to some focus? we have a lot of problems to face and fix. lets get started.

eVent is an opportunity for you to vent without anyone else here replying to your comment. you can not respond to me or another commenter – but you can vent. vent knowing you wont be attacked.

but please be respectful. i will delete any questionable comment.

eVent away….

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 12:33 pm

    mmmm. just heard about all these little things that have the presidential seal printed on them…napkins, pens, m&m’s. seriously? (thats not a real question) seems silly and wasteful to me.

  2. January 20, 2009 1:01 pm

    hi

    no venting

    just sending love your way!

  3. January 20, 2009 1:09 pm

    haha! youre awesome!

    love you too!

  4. January 20, 2009 1:27 pm

    me too. just sending xoxox.

  5. January 20, 2009 1:51 pm

    i’m with you, girl. i wish they’d take that money and put it towards something useful, since I’m sure their carpets are JUST FINE in the white house.

    btw… i’m pretty sure Michelle Obama’s ensemble today cost more than my yearly salary

  6. January 20, 2009 1:54 pm

    WASTEFUL. I hate big government spending (left and right).

    Though the inauguration is an historic event, no doubt, we the tax payers now need a bailout to cover the cost of that big party. Oh well.

    Hope it was fun. All those millions upon millions of dollars are now GONE.

    Think of how many starving people we could have fed in Africa, India, and Central America.

    Have a great day!

  7. January 20, 2009 2:27 pm

    You know what I think…

    It should be interesting to see how quickly today gets dropped out of the news cycle when people wake up tomorrow and realize that the world is still broken…

  8. January 20, 2009 2:56 pm

    I love your perspective on this. A great point – let’s prioritize people! Thanks for grounding our thoughts on this historic day!

  9. January 20, 2009 5:35 pm

    Today was a great historical day – lets see where our country goes from here. As I watched the parade and thought of how much money was raised by each participating group, I Started thinking of all the money spent today that could have been put to better use. No, not what they spent – but what I spent. A new toilet and bathroom fixtures, (The old ones were okay) I just wanted to upgrade – 400 dollars. I helped friends who are looking at a new car. I ate too much food and drank stuff that did not do me any good – just wanted it. I have a great computer, only one but an expensive one. Yep, too much money wasted today – by me.

  10. January 20, 2009 5:37 pm

    It is history, but why are we ok with all the spending of this inauguration?? Like you, it gets on my last nerve. I think these actions speak louder than words. I’m ready to move on…we are in a mess and I want to see some good decisions be made.

    Blah blah blah

  11. January 20, 2009 5:42 pm

    I think its great that we have a new president, but he isn’t going to be able to sit in the oval office and just look pretty..he will actually be challenged to bring change to this country…so it doesn’t matter how many Obama dolls they make, or plates etc, he is nothing but a face if he doesn’t create the legacy of change he promised…regardless, God places in office who is supposed to be there…so just know that.

  12. January 20, 2009 5:55 pm

    it drives me crazy how much money has been spent on just today. so much for an “economic stimulus package”!

  13. Heidi permalink
    January 20, 2009 6:36 pm

    I am sitting here balancing my checkbook and there’s no fancy seal on it!!!
    Just a HUSHED prayer covering it until our next money source arrives…

  14. January 20, 2009 6:38 pm

    no venting either (although i think papa hit the nail on the head)…

    just sending love!

    today has been frustrating for a lot of people for different reasons.

  15. January 20, 2009 7:59 pm

    I think that too much money was spent today – but I also think all the thousands of people who were employed today to make these events possible will be grateful for their paychecks.

  16. January 20, 2009 8:58 pm

    Well … normally I’d be with you … but I think it is right to celebrate and note the big days. In God’s world, some things are worthy of taking a big pause in life, spending lots of money on, and celebrating. Whether or not Obama is everybody’s idea of a ‘worthy celebration,’ I think the inauguration of a President is. So … yes, I dislike how everyone keeps going onandonandonandonandonandonandonandon about the same details againandagainandagainandagainandagain … (I could not work in the news media!) … but … sometimes the hoopla is good. (not every part of the hoopla! I’m with ya on that) I don’t know. I was watching the inauguration today (which I wouldn’t have been if I hadn’t been married to my husband, lol) and thinking, “the entire US government is taking a pause today to recognize the stepping in of a new leader.” One news commenter noted that some … folks who work with the banks … were outside watching the parade, and that he wished they were actually working on something. But how silly is that?? We are such a workaholic nation that we can’t take one day to pause and recognize a truly huge moment? We spend 3 months trying to get everyone to buy buy buy for Christmas, and then barely let anyone have 24 hours to spend with family before we push them back to the grindstone. I don’t know. I think the moments are worth taking in. As Jesus said, “The poor you will always have with you.” When He said that He was rebuking the disciples for complaining about the perfume being spent on His feet. Some things are worth spending the time and the money on. (Not that I’m comparing Jesus to a presidential inauguration!) I don’t know. Also I think … if there was one single event/project that had the most money spent on it in the Bible, what would it be? It’s rather easy to nail down … the building of the Temple! The Bible records the time and money and energy and celebration that went into that one thing. That was worth it to God, you know? And there were poor people in Israel at that time, too! But it was honoring to God that that much money and time and effort was spent on His Temple. And God was very pleased with their use of that money and time. If we’re judging by a standard of “what does God find pleasing and acceptable” I think that’s a fine critique. If we’re judging by a standard of “tons of people are struggling, how dare they spend money” then I don’t think that’s a good critique. I don’t see anything in Scripture that says that God has that mindset. Actually I see Him sometimes offensively extravagant. (Not truly offensive, just … to people who would be offended.) He doesn’t cringe at being lavish. He sent kings with the gifts of kings on the occasion of His Son’s birth. Do you think some around Bethlehem took offense with Joseph and Mary just because they got such wealth? I think so. It didn’t stop God from doing it though. I don’t know. I guess my point is: there are some things that are worth it. Ok. That’s my rant. (And not directed at anyone!!!)

  17. January 20, 2009 9:01 pm

    I gotta agree w/ you, Tam. I’m over all the hoopla and ready to see some action.

  18. January 20, 2009 9:07 pm

    So much of today was about tradition and I definitely think there is a place for that. In the midst of tele prompters and iphones was the Presidential band playing “hail to the chief” on the same instruments that rung in the first inauguration long ago.

    I do see your point though and it is a valid one.

    I would also add that perception is key. Today the US showed its citizens that the economy will turn around that we are still the best country in the world. Whether is really true will only play out in the future, but this was a chance to show the world and this country that it will be true.

  19. January 20, 2009 10:49 pm

    It makes me crazy that “all” the people here in SA are asking us – (because we are the “expert” on all things U.S.A) and then go on further in the convo to tell us how things here are going to magically change because he is black. Yeah…that is a little wild. I don’t know if that has anything to do with the inauguration…but that has been in my mind as of late.

  20. January 21, 2009 4:55 am

    Being a local (Maryland suburbs of DC) I strongly feel we should rotate these GINORMOUS EVENTS to various cities throughout our country. You know, like the Superbowl, every city gets a chance to host the madness. I think its only fair. It is a shame that most towns haven’t a clue how challenging … i mean enriching… it is to work 8 blocks from congress and 8 blocks from our Commander and Chief. I think even small town USA should have a chance — so everyone gets an opportunity to have jersey barriers blocking traffic through all the main corridors, subway platforms so crowded that people get push off onto the tracks, 100s of port-a-johns adorning their parks, and trash strewn EVERYWHERE.

    I mean why should we hoard all this fun?

    I feel post coming on…

  21. TheNorEaster permalink
    January 21, 2009 8:57 am

    I used to think that the money spent on superbowls and presidential inaugurations was wasteful and it even made me angry until I realized…

    …I have computer.

    And a car.

    Cell phone.

    Microwave.

    Blender.

    Television…

    …the list goes on.

    Anyway.

    It really was a “specks-and-planks” moment.

Leave a Reply

