Skip to content

casting

January 21, 2009

“…casting all your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you.” 1 peter 5:7

i’ve read this verse a hundred times. it always looks so warm and fuzzy. i find myself saying, “yes. it’s all yours God. here you go!” then…before i know it – i’m burdened with worry again.

worry = anxiety, stress. a troubled state of mind.

i too easily get caught up in my own thoughts. and when weighed down with worry, my thoughts are not as clear. they are scattered and irrational. my pastor said last week that “worry is unreasonable”. yup. that is so right on! the silly arguments and down talking i have had with myself. oh. my. goodness. unreasonable.

“whoever trusts in his own mind is a fool, but he who walks in wisdom will be delivered.” proverbs 28:26

i know that when i ask for wisdom He gives it. all i need to do most the time is look for it. it’s there in the first verse regarding worry.

cast.

casting = to transfer. to throw off.

i tell Him i don’t want to worry. i ask Him to help take my anxiety away. i wonder where my stress is coming from.

i’m not casting. i’m…boomeranging. i’m “throwing” it out and waiting for it to return. and i grab it right back.

and another day is wasted.

to be honest here. i’m not as bad as i used to be. but people, it can get pretty unreasonable up in my head. and that spills out into every area of life. my marriage, my parenting, my friendships, my ministry. it wears me out and robs a good day of extraordinary potential. not good.

“worry doesn’t empty tomorrow of sorrow. it empties today of strength.” – corrie ten boom

that is all.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 5:48 am

    Really? What are you worried about?

  2. January 21, 2009 5:56 am

    Corrie was so wise. Listen we all have worries…we’re human. BUT you’re really trying to figure it all out and truly cast your concerns/worries on the Lord. He will bless that and give you the encouragement and support you need to feel successful at it. Pretty soon, YOU WILL BE.

    No, life isn’t easy…yes things will bother us from time to time. We all get bogged down and sapped of energy. BUT those of us who really try to hand and ‘let go’ of our worries, in faith, knowing Jesus has our back…have it a whole lot easier. Life may not be easier for those of us, but the process of the trials sure can be when we know we have our harbor in the Lord and we’re casting. He’s our strength Tam. Let go of what you’re worried about and just say – here you go…I’m not in control…and have faith and complete trust in you.

    Tomorrow that doubt and worry may sneak up again…so go through the process of casting over and over.

    Sorry….didn’t mean to babble this early in the morning.

    Love you!

  3. January 21, 2009 9:15 am

    Dieing to self. So hard, yet so easy.

    it makes everything so clear.

  4. January 21, 2009 10:47 am

    It’s interesting what words will make us think of. At first, reading your post, I thought about casting when you fish. (Not that I fish, but I’ve seen it done, okay?) You really throw it out there. Far. Away.

    But then I realized that when you fish, you’re actually waiting for the perfect moment to reel it back in. So that definition of casting didn’t really work.

    “It empties today of strength.” That’s so true. If I’m really worried about something, I can get so wrapped up in my head, in my MESS, that I forget to LIVE.

  5. January 21, 2009 10:47 am

    I used to worry all of the time. I don’t know if I truly got revelation or deliverance or what, but now, I am as free as a bird. In fact, I have a hard time concentrating on the things that I “should” be worrying about.

    I have every confidence that you will find peace because you are diligently seeking God for it!!!

  6. January 21, 2009 10:56 am

    I understand this, and it reminds me of something that was spoken to my heart years ago as I stared at lyrics to the praise song at church, ” Why are you worrying about that again, I had it safely in my hands, Why do you keep taking it back?”

    Yea, why lol.

    I learned to let Him have it and keep it; but it comes down to the whole ” trust” thing, we are taught that we can’t ” trust” anyone, so its hard to trust God, because whether we know it or not; the thought of people in this world, take precedence on our present perceptions of God.

    That’s why we worry I think. We think WE can do it better, because trusting Him would be a better plan B then plan A….

    And we don’t seem to realize how wrong we are!:)

  7. lazrus2 permalink
    January 21, 2009 11:11 am

    Last week our link group discussed the sermon about ‘Worry’ and were questioning whether there is a difference between ‘worry’ and ‘concern’.

    I just now looked up scriptures for both, and there does seem to be a place where ‘concern’ is validated. Even though the same Greek word is used, it is disapproved in Mt. 6:25 “…don’t worry…” yet approved in 1 Cor. 12:25: “(do)…care for”. Another more ‘neutral’ use is confessed by Paul in his ‘burden of concern’ for the churches in 2 Cor. 11:28. That seemed to be ‘of the Lord’, yet it was what he did with it that counted, as he said in Phil 4:6-7:

    “Don’t worry(derivative of the same word) about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all He has done. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” NLT

    There’s also another word translated, ‘earnest care’ that is even described as ‘given by God’ as in 2 Cor. 7:11-12 and 2 Cor. 8:16.

    So, I think there are valid concerns God approves and even ‘gives’ us, but only to drive us to our knees seeking His will in them as well as His direction for us in our part regarding them. He may actually keep ‘bringing them back’ (vs. our ‘taking them back’) if there’s more we need to ‘hear’ from Him about it in the process of ‘casting it’ upon Him again.

    ‘Just a thought I’ve found true for my own ‘concerns’.

    D-

  8. January 21, 2009 11:15 am

    its not that im worried about something specific right now. like i said, im not as much of a worrier as i used to be. but sometimes i do “stress” over things that either i cant change, or, are so far in the future it may end up a moot point to even be considering anyways.

    i just think its always good to have this “worry” reminder. we all fall into it one way or another….

    life takes some unexpected turn.

    you get news that shatters your world.

    your kids start rebelling.

    your health fails.

    you lose a friend.

    you cant pay rent.

    we worry about all those things. but God just wants us to transfer that to Him and wait on Him. He holds tomorrow….not us. so who knows, but Him, what lies ahead.

  9. January 21, 2009 11:19 am

    D – exactly. i like that! thank you.

    thats pretty much what im saying, as well, in my last little paragraph in the comment above.

    there is def. a difference between the two. one thing that, for me, seals the deal on worry over concern…is if im obsessing over it. yah…thats pretty much a knee bender right there.

  10. January 21, 2009 11:37 am

    love this…right before i came to you i hit publish on a post talking about take the lazy way out and handing it over to God. i am a worry wort. Praising Him that he loves us so much to take that worry from us.

  11. Heidi permalink
    January 21, 2009 12:02 pm

    So are worried about not having your two chapters not done by next week…

    Just sayin πŸ™‚

    I’m working on this… I have not mastered it. But God’s Grace is awesome.

  12. January 21, 2009 12:23 pm

    meg – isnt God funny like that? πŸ˜‰

    heidi – um, no? πŸ˜€

  13. Heidi permalink
    January 21, 2009 12:38 pm

    So you are done?

  14. January 21, 2009 12:47 pm

    I get this… I used to do it all the time. It didn’t even have to be anything specific; just random thoughts that filled my brain and took up the space so it left no room for peace.

    I used to think, “I’m letting this go” but I realized it wasn’t working because thinking it isn’t an action. I’ve learned that I have to take action against my worry in order to really let it go.

    Did that make sense?

  15. January 21, 2009 12:48 pm

    complete sense!

  16. January 21, 2009 3:11 pm

    I think worry, anxiety, etc. all begins (of course) in our mind. According to Holy Scripture we are to take every thought captive (perhaps by beginning to pray when these thoughts first begin to present themself).

    It is also important to realize that thoughts can not be “fought” by other thoughts. Thoughts can only be “broken” by the spoken word. (ie, He has created me to be the head and not the tail. Ten thousand my fall by my side but no harm will come near me nor my home. Greater is He that is in me than He that is in the world. etc.)

    2 Corinthians 10:3-5 (New International Version)

    3For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. 4The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. 5We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

    Ephesians 6:
    18through all prayer and supplication praying at all times in the Spirit, and in regard to this same, watching in all perseverance and supplication for all the saintsβ€”19and in behalf of me, that to me may be given a word in the opening of my mouth, in freedom, to make known the secret of the good news, 20for which I am an ambassador in a chain, that in it I may speak freelyβ€”as it behoveth me to speak.

  17. January 21, 2009 3:57 pm

    I am very good at laying things at HIS feet, and then picking it up again on my way out. Its a hard one for me, especially if it has anything to do with the people I love the nearest and dearest to my heart. I often wonder if that I means I don’t trust HIM with them. I certainly should..mmmmm

    I also find it interesting that this verse was written by a fisherman, and his choice of verbs is “cast”. which as you said does not mean to just lay it down, or even to give it, but to throw it away from your self.

    Good for me to think about tonight, and to pray about…

    Maybe we should give it to HIM more like “go deep” and throw with all our might. πŸ˜‰ just me and my rambling thoughts… Love you

  18. January 21, 2009 4:07 pm

    mscc54 – yes, indeed. it does start in our minds. negative in, negative out. we have to change our thought processes. rom 12.

    darla – i love your thoughts! most of my worry usually is “concern” for people. yah, as if He doesnt know better. love you too!

  19. January 21, 2009 4:11 pm

    I always think I have a good idea, and think HE should do it a much easier way..but then I can’t multi task… πŸ˜† so HIS ideas are better, I just want to help..

  20. January 21, 2009 4:13 pm

    i can totally hear you saying this, and hear your laugh. its making me smile. BIG!

  21. January 21, 2009 4:38 pm

    i’ve casted more like a fisherman — all set to reel it back in. and reel i do.

    i need to get better at this “transfer, throw off” stuff.

    i mean… do i really think i’m more capable to handle it than HE is?! talk about foolish.

  22. January 21, 2009 4:42 pm

    I hate worrying, but I do it LOTS.

    I have learned to listen to praise music when I find myself not letting go of a thought, or arguing with someone in my mind. It helps.

    For a long time I really didn’t think He cared so I wouldn’t cast my worries. I’m glad I’m over that. He really does care about every little thing.

  23. Heidi permalink
    January 21, 2009 4:44 pm

    i want you to know that you completely ignored me up there.

    but I am not worry. I was thinking throughout the day about this post and how I worry. a simple quote came to my mind that my mom used to say over and over again it goes like this:
    “Every evening I turn my worries over to God. He’s going to be up all night anyway”
    I tend to believe this.

    God’s awesome!!

  24. January 21, 2009 4:59 pm

    heidi – darn. i didnt intentionally ignore you. shoot. my answer? no, im not done…YET! πŸ˜€

    michelle – i do the same thing – listen to music. music is the one thing that can instantly transform my mood and perspective. its a necessity for me!

    alece – you and me both, girlfriend.

  25. January 21, 2009 10:44 pm

    That quote at the end is AWESOME. Wow.

  26. January 21, 2009 11:05 pm

    Tam~You definitely echoed my sentiments in this post; I was feeling the exact same way today and just like you, at the end of it all I feel like what a waste of a day. Eventually I cried and prayed in a closet and had more peace but it was like why did I have to spend majority of the day feeling anxious or concerned about things that I can’t control especially when I serve a God who can handle it all for me? But when I think that way, I have to remind myself that I’m human and more often than ever, I’m going to choose to worry for a bit before I take it to God and let Him handle it for me. The good news is that I can take it to Him, whenever I have the sense to do so (!) and He’ll replace the worry with peace, the uncertainty with hope, and the stress with strength. Thank you for this πŸ™‚ Love you!

  27. January 22, 2009 12:12 am

    annie – my pastor shared that a couple weeks ago and i havent forgotten it. and for me, thats reeeeal good! πŸ˜‰

    les – He is good all the time. even in our worry. He is aware and knows. im learning to trust more and more…

Leave a Reply

