Skip to content

small

January 22, 2009

the earth spins at 1,000 mph but it travels through space at an incredible 67,000 mph.

if every star in the milky way were a grain of salt they would fill an olympic sized swimming pool.

the universe contains over 100 billion galaxies.

seriously. wow! isnt that amazing?

i feel so small.

do you ever feel small?

what makes you feel small?

28 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2009 4:49 am

    thinking of how great God is.

  2. January 22, 2009 4:56 am

    Tam – shame on you! πŸ˜€ Do you realize out of the vast billions of galaxies God chose you and I to be His friend – to have a relationship with? We are His greatest creation in the whole universe. Small ? Nope – extremely special, that’s what we are!!! He chose me – wow!! Papa is so blessed.

  3. January 22, 2009 5:10 am

    Standing next to my teen guys…not for size, but for the realization that I have raised 3 young men who will raise kids of their own, who will raise their kids…and the multiplication that has occurred from the beginning of time. We are one tiny piece, yet so very significant.

  4. Heidi permalink
    January 22, 2009 5:56 am

    ~ People do- There are times where I’ll be in a group of people whom are articulate and professional and they make me feel small.

    ~People who limit me- People whom tear me down so they can reach the top and try to sap any worth out of me to fill them.

    learning though… I have a BIG God… and HE fills me. So I can be BIG with my shoulders straight and chin up!!

  5. January 22, 2009 6:09 am

    I think if you ate three decent meals a day you wouldn’t feel so small.
    πŸ˜‰

  6. January 22, 2009 6:13 am

    mountains.

    really big trees.

  7. January 22, 2009 6:40 am

    a XXL t-shirt

  8. January 22, 2009 6:59 am

    when my heart breaks, I feel small, and when everything is out of my control..which is like now..so today I feel small..but its a good thing for me to feel small at times, it magnifies how big my God is.

  9. Mark Thomas permalink
    January 22, 2009 7:29 am

    I feel small when I’m the last one to leave our youth chapel on Wednesday nights and I think about the number of lost kids there are in Denver. It’s a great task and I’m just doing my part, one kid at a time.

  10. January 22, 2009 7:58 am

    a bold, confident person…

  11. January 22, 2009 9:35 am

    emotional pain.

  12. January 22, 2009 9:39 am

    (i should have filtered better when i wrote that. cause it’s not actually the other person who makes me feel small; it’s my own inner dialogue. (as you know from my current post.)…)

  13. TheNorEaster permalink
    January 22, 2009 10:15 am

    What makes me feel small?

    “An atomic bomb.”

  14. January 22, 2009 10:45 am

    God’s greatness. When people show me grace when I don’t deserve it. Friends that love me in spite of myself.

  15. January 22, 2009 11:06 am

    I like that you put it as being small in a good way. I often try to rephrase my thinking and remember that when I feel small because I don’t feel like enough. There are a million instances that can cause it, but like Alece, it’s all really about my reactions.

  16. January 22, 2009 11:46 am

    wow. didnt expect such a wide range of answers.

    thanks for being honest. this is cool.

  17. January 22, 2009 12:28 pm

    The Grand Canyon, Rocky Mountains, Mississippi River, Lincoln Memorial in DC.

    Like everyone else some people like to try and make me feel small, it doesn’t work, except when I see a bunch of high school kids, so many of whom now tower over my 5″10″, even the girls. We are growing em’ big now adays.

  18. January 22, 2009 4:30 pm

    Seeing a photo of the galaxy…
    Then remembering how much bigger than that God is…
    And knowing that He knows me…
    That He loves me…
    Little ol’ me.

  19. January 22, 2009 7:18 pm

    Anyone over five feet.

  20. January 22, 2009 9:13 pm

    Haha! Michelle, you make me laugh!

    My answer is: the intellect of God.

  21. January 22, 2009 11:07 pm

    Flying in an airplane makes me feel small. And receiving gifts. I am not very good at receiving gifts. I usually keep a gift in close proximity to me for a few days, to soak it in. That sounds crazy when I see it in print. But I’ll sleep with something on my nightstand and put it on my desk the next day. It makes me feel loved that someone thought of me. The feeling of having someone do something for me is kind of overwhelming and I retreat a bit. After I soak it in I can find the words to say thank you from my heart. Strange, I know, but true.

  22. January 23, 2009 11:06 am

    Annie: πŸ˜‰

  23. January 23, 2009 11:11 pm

    I think one of your comments needs emphasising again – just so we GET it….

    The Universe – that we have so far been able to detect in some way so far(visually/radio telescopes etc) – contains more than 100 BILLION Galaxies (100 000 000 000)… not simple single stars (each millions of times more massive than our whole planet) but entire Galxies of a hundred thousand to billions of stars each!

    That is more galaxies than there have ever been humans living on planet earth in it’s entire history!!!

    And God made them all – and is all ‘that’. And More, way more besides (all that Scientists can observe to date is less than 5% of what is known to comprise our discovered section of the Universe – the vast majority of it we cannot see, touch or feel but is ‘observed’ purely by the effect it has on the small part we CAN see!!!).

    Now me being me – i just HAVE to ask myself….

    WHY would God make so MUCH more than this little planet?

    Why would He make the Universe SO vast and complex?? It certainly is not just for us weird humans down here i can state with some confidence – heck! – Most of us have not got the slightest CLUE about what is ‘out there’ so He did not put it there ‘for us’ – or if He did – we’ve been the slackest things ever for not fully looking at or appreciating their entirity or purpose.

    And why do we think were SO ‘special’?

    Do we seriously believe God cares more for one of us over any of His Creations, that each in their own way, are truly Magnificent works of art and science?

    I believe most of that feeling is entirely down to our massive ego’s.

    And most people just don’t get that either 😦

    <B

  24. January 23, 2009 11:41 pm

    Sorry – forgot…

    i feel at my smallest when i make mistakes in public and everyone notices… or i feel like everyone has – most folk are actually too busy feeling the same way about their ‘mistakes’ to notice many of mine.

    Fortunately – that is just my massive ego, full of pride, making itself out to be something it really is not and so , when i can remember that above my embarrassment, it’s no bad thing.

    πŸ™‚

    <B

  25. January 24, 2009 12:57 am

    P.S to comment #23…

    Isaiah 40:6-8…

    All flesh is grass, and all the goodliness thereof is as the flower of the field:
    7 The grass withereth, the flower fadeth: because the spirit of the LORD bloweth upon it: surely the people is grass.
    8 The grass withereth, the flower fadeth: but the word of our God shall stand for ever.

    <B

  26. January 24, 2009 5:22 pm

    I’m a whopping 4’11 I always, ALWAYS feel small…

  27. January 29, 2009 11:06 am

    Hey Tam…
    …long time no comment! (this is nate from my friend ivan).
    I actually have been watching the discovery channel series on the universe. For some odd (and hopefully not prideful) reason it, and the stats above, made me feel big. I guess realizing that God takes notice in me, despite the enormousness of the universe.

    I guess when situations are out of my control…that’s what makes me feel small.

  28. January 29, 2009 11:21 am

    i miss Nate 😦

Leave a Reply

