Skip to content

MTTV: Heaven’s Kitchen

January 26, 2009

i have been schooled in the ways of southern cookin y’all. yes, i just wrote out “y’all”. and it will be the one and only time too.

you all know i have an aversion to soggy food. it just ain’t right. but when mandy was here, we insisted she make us some dumplin’s. even though i had no intention of eating them – i still wanted to learn how to cook the sogginess for my strange family to enjoy in the years to come.

so, we thought we’d video the cooking lesson for you all to learn mandy’s dumplin ways…

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 5:00 am

    I promise ya I will have my laptop in the kitchen tonight so I can have this playing as I cook. Not good for the diet, but LOOKS FREAKIN AWESOME!

  2. January 26, 2009 5:07 am

    funny stuff!

    Hey I wanted to know if you want to link up our blogs? mine is http://TheEvolutionofGod.wordpress.com

    I’ll add your’s now!

    tim

  3. January 26, 2009 6:40 am

    i’m hungry.

  4. January 26, 2009 6:57 am

    I’m way hungry…does that come in a vegetarian? Because seriously…my mouth is watering. If not whatever…I’m not really all that committed. Kidding, kidding. Sort of.

  5. January 26, 2009 7:19 am

    Lima beans are amazing! Love them.

    Now, if you’d had some friend okra on the side and then sliced tomatoes with cucumbers and onions tossed together with vinegar and a little pepper…mmm…mmm…perfection!!

  6. January 26, 2009 7:35 am

    applepie — are you really goin’ veggie?!

    tam — i’m surprised mandy didn’t insist you cut the chicken with scissors!

  7. January 26, 2009 7:47 am

    Chickin ‘n’ dumplins is a good meal. I just can’t get on board w/ the sweet tea.

  8. January 26, 2009 8:04 am

    Yummy! Thanks for sharing such a delicious experience with us. 🙂

  9. January 26, 2009 8:19 am

    I so wanna make that now!! Only problem is I am SURE that my husband (semi-picky eater) and my daughter (horribly picky eater) won’t even give it a chance!!!

    I have an idea. Why don’t I just come over some night and you can make it (I’ll bring all the ingredients, including the correct “whop biscuits”) and then everyone will be happy!! Sound good?

    Lemmeknowhen, k?

  10. January 26, 2009 9:54 am

    Ok, I’m thinking about cooking this for my family. It looks really yummy!!! But how do I make the carrots???

  11. January 26, 2009 10:56 am

    So, Tam… does this mean you like soggy food now, or just the one soggy food?

    I’m pretty sure I would have devoured the chicken and dumplings, but I would have let you all keep the lima beans and cooked carrots. I’m not a bean girl, unless it has the words “Bush’s” and “Baked” in front of it.

  12. January 26, 2009 11:03 am

    hate limas, don’t care what you do to them..NO..

    Chicken n dumplings I do like, but I never used the grands..that is interesting..my grandma taught me how to make it, she is from OK, and i make my dumplings from scratch..hahah y’alll know what “scratch” means?

  13. January 26, 2009 11:09 am

    Chance was watching with me and he just said, “Hey… that’s MY soup!”

  14. January 26, 2009 11:27 am

    I was born in LA, raised in MS and have lived in SC since ’76. You can’t get any more Southern than I am.

    However, I can’t stand grits, greens or dumplins. I can tolerate sweet potatoes.

    My wife makes the absolute BEST smotherd chicken! It’s always my “Birthday dinner!”

  15. January 26, 2009 11:33 am

    fyi – i am perfectly aware that mandy cheated a little. but seriously people, have you ever tried to call mandy out on something??? take cover!!!

  16. January 26, 2009 12:02 pm

    My grandmother’s from Oklahoma too, Darla!!!

    I know scratch!

    But you don’t like limas???

    Something’s wrong there.

  17. January 26, 2009 1:08 pm

    Looks good and I plan try it sometime too.
    But, uh, what is that glazed carrot side you speak of? I eat them raw, steamed, slightly boiled with butter and salt, in stew, with roast, but I do not recall ever having glazed carrots…

  18. January 26, 2009 2:52 pm

    Since I can boil water, and open cans as well as any cook, this is a recipe even I could do. I hesitate to say “made” since everything was “store bought”. My grandmother made great dumplins but I don’t remember her using Grands “whampin” dough.

    Kass – “interesting” – which is what I say when being polite even though I would rather have eat swamp bugs than what was served.

    I would however enjoy anything with butter and bacon in it. Do they make butter and bacon ice cream?

    I did enjoy the video, especially Brent’s producing. Rachel Ray had better watch her back. 🙂

  19. January 26, 2009 4:02 pm

    Very good! I love chicken N’ Dumplin’s !! Lima Beans ?? “interesting!”

  20. January 26, 2009 7:07 pm

    looking in the pantry and fridge now to see if I can make this happen for dinner tomorrow..

    Chicken- Check
    Chicken Stock- Check
    Baking Powder- Check
    Creamy Chicken Soup- no check (wonder if cream of mushroom will work, May have to use corn starch here to thicken )
    Whompen biscuits… Nope. .I will modify though and make biscuit dough from scratch if I have to, and ad pepper and other seasoning to the pot…

    Hmmmm.. I can make it work..

  21. January 26, 2009 7:22 pm

    carl – you will definitely want to use cream of chicken. it is the flavoring. i dont think mushroom will work. i’ll mail you a can. hold on!

  22. January 27, 2009 7:51 am

    Lemme just say that the baking powder is a key ingredient. Learning the hard way RIGHT NOW :-0!

  23. January 27, 2009 6:26 pm

    Tam.. Hold the shipment..

    http://twitpic.com/17zwk

    That is home made from scratch (No whompen biscuits), chicken and dumplings.

    I may have to challenge Mandy to a cook off… 😀

  24. January 27, 2009 6:53 pm

    mmmm- that looks good. strangely.

  25. February 17, 2009 9:07 am

    I finally watched your video. 😀 I laughed! I’m not that much of a southern person myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

