Skip to content

i am not

January 27, 2009

last friday was an interesting day here at inProgress. i called my husband out in my post for not stopping by here more often to get involved. ya know, like i do at his place. then a weird guy friend, 5th place street, came and tried to start a little ruckus. in his feeble attempt to stand up for brent, he ultimately went down in flames. dont mess with me, peeps πŸ˜€

then…he tried to label my blog. he wrote a post a few weeks back listing 5 ways you know you have a mom blog. his list is not official and was mostly derived from blog stat envy, but, oh well. here is his list…

5) You have ever used the words β€œcute,” β€œadorable” or β€œsweet husband” in one of your posts.
4) You include pictures of your kids on the title banner of your blog!
3) You have minions. In other words you can ramble on about nothing and your mindless commenters eat it up!
2) You have the Widget on your blog that shows how big your baby is growing each day!
1) If you have a Category on your blog marked Recipe!

Honorable Mention
You end a post β€œWhat are some of the funny things your kids have done? ) β€œ

this is probably a good time to say that this dude aint so bad. just a little tightly wound. we actually

have get to see him next week when we’re in nashville for a conference.

but i want to ask you…what do you think makes up a mom blog? and/or, do you rate blogs? and how?
56 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2009 12:38 am

    I really can’t put words to it, but I rate blogs by how long I make it through a post without looking away. It’s very, very rare that I ever get through an entire post, but should I ever, I immediately subscribe :-). Again, not sure what it is, but it will be different for me then it is for anyone else.
    Gotta have some humor, some sarcasm, some seriousness and I guess people who are “easy on the eyes” doesn’t hurt either!
    Being a new reader here, had it not been for this post, I wouldn’t know you were a Mom. That says it all, right?
    Send me a 125×125 if ya want some free advertising :-).

  2. January 27, 2009 1:15 am

    (this is gonna be good…)

  3. January 27, 2009 1:24 am

    So what if 5th Street has a Mom Blog. Why are you giving him a hard time, just ’cause he’s using the Mom Blog format? He should have the right to write a Mom Blog if he wants to. Tam, you should be more open minded and accept when someone else chooses to do a Mom Blog.

    I’m just sayin’.

    BTW, love your non-Mom Blog format.

  4. January 27, 2009 3:08 am

    I do rate blogs, and it makes a difference how often I go there..rate them by..
    relevance
    length
    amusing
    informative

    it does not mean I do not like the blogs that fit or don’t fit in these categories, just depends on what kind of MOM I am today. πŸ˜‰

  5. January 27, 2009 4:02 am

    i think its funny that half the comments already are from guys. thanks boys!

    i dont rate blogs as much as i just connect with certain people. some of the blogs i go to daily are like bible studies for me. some are random. some are deep in other areas, personal. some are music and arts oriented. and all the authors are people i connect with. the content isnt as much an issue for me as is the relationship. oh…and some are mom blogs πŸ˜‰

  6. January 27, 2009 4:19 am

    toby – i am a mom. i have a 14 yr old daughter and a 12 yr old son. im also a wife, a friend, a servant, a writer, a goofball, a dreamer, a procrastinator, a Christ Follower (mmmm, i love my Savior!) a very tired woman at this moment who cant sleep, a healed woman from her past, a scatter brain and, uh…what was i saying… yah so, this blog is a collection of all that and more. no label. just me.

    alece – i know πŸ˜€

    mark – [hangs my head in shame.]

    darla – ok. i do admit….length is a big factor for me. occasionally tho, a long post can suck me in. if theyre a good writer theyll keep my attention. and i love me some princess bloggin!!!

  7. January 27, 2009 4:39 am

    Ok, I’m not blonde, but it may seem that was cuz I just figured out that you are the same Tam from the “MyStory” post @ caffeinatedfaith.com…right?
    It’s all coming together now :-).

  8. January 27, 2009 4:43 am

    toby – thats right! thats me. one of my many sides πŸ˜‰

  9. January 27, 2009 4:44 am

    Now that my iMac has recovered from deciding 12 apps was possibly pushing it a little far, back to comment on this non-Mom blog.

    I rate blogs as well, but seeing how I’ve managed not to divulge my methodology on how that’s done so far, I’ll continue to keep it under wraps until some vulnerable moment when it is forced out of me…

    Oh – really glad you’re not masculine too – that would just be weird.

  10. January 27, 2009 4:46 am

    Where’s Conway’s comment btw – surely he/she/it has something constructive and edifying to add to the discussion?

  11. January 27, 2009 4:51 am

    david – aha! so are you saying this is a “non mom blog”? πŸ˜‰

    12 apps? a bit much, indeed!

    and watch those vulnerable moments. there are some cuh-ray-zee people here who will get it out of you!

  12. Heidi permalink
    January 27, 2009 5:36 am

    This is a very personal question.Wow… I do rate blogs and I know my blog gets rated. So I am cool about that.No hard feelings. Oh I tend to write long!! Ha!

    Mom blog term: Bothers me. Only because it’s a label. I do honestly stay away from alot of mom blogs to a degree why?? Honestly? I don’t match up.
    I am not a SAHM (I hate that acronymn, because working moms don’t have one)

    I am a working mom who is incredibly busy.
    I don’t come home a serve dinner all the time, sometimes I put tv dinners in the microwave!!!, my kids have been in day care almost all there life, I yell at my kids at times for leaving their laundry on the floor, sometimes I leave dishes in the sink. ETC.

    BUT… this is where I turn around, most mom blogs tell you that I am not GODLY adequate because I work away from the home and I do all that stuff.

    That crushes me… So why would I sit there and read it. My life circumstances that are in private nature, don’t allow me to stay home. I am the sole source of income.
    But I love my children, sometimes write about them (I wrote my last post about my son) I love my God like no ones business, I am leader, and fierce friend and

    GUESS WHAT? adequate in my God’s eyes.

    I do go to certain blogs EVERYDAY. People I love mostly… because in my busy life I need edification right now, because it’ not always easy. I go to places who stir my soul ALOT. This constitues to about 3-4 blogs a day. I’m done.

    Here at InProgress I get about everything in one stop and that’s why I come here.

    I’ve built a relationship with author’s heart here and I hold it fiercely.

    My soul is so stirred…

    And I laugh. and laugh…

  13. January 27, 2009 6:26 am

    Wow and RIGHT ON Heidi!!!

    I’m a SAD (talk about irritating acronyms) for the time being and I don’t know of any other SAD blogs. But I can guarantee you I wouldn’t be reading from those who are perfect. I tend to migrate toward other broken people so I can feel at home :-).

  14. January 27, 2009 7:02 am

    nice guy or not, that list makes me a little mad. Mindless commentors? Other mothers might have lost their minds somewhere along the way, but we most certainly are not dumb.

    I have kids in my banner, I have categories for food. Does that make my commentors mindless?

    whatever.

  15. January 27, 2009 7:15 am

    sorry, but I have to add one more thing….while I do talk about wrangling my gremlins(children), I also blog about being a cashier, an artist, a child of God and a musician. It’s called being a well rounded person.

  16. January 27, 2009 7:23 am

    hmmm, I can’t say that I rate blogs per say. But if they have good content, and they seem authentic, I will most likely continue to go back. I just honestly love reading about other’s lives and what’s going on inside of them. Does that make me nosey??? πŸ˜‰

  17. January 27, 2009 7:26 am

    Interesting topic! I struggle with this, because when I started my blog, I absolutely did NOT want to be a mommy blogger. But here’s the thing – I am a mom. But like Tam talked about, that’s not all I am. I work outside of my home…and certainly inside it, too! I’m a wife, a friend, a Christian, a daughter, a scrapbooker, a photographer (kind of), a musician (again…kind of), a dreamer, a lover, a sinner…oh wait, now I’m singing Steve Miller…

    As for how I rate other blogs: I read and subscribe to blogs written by people I like. If I can “hear” the person through his or her posts and feel it’s someone I’d like to be friends with in “real” life, then I want to keep reading. It’s that simple. So, just like my “real life” friends are diverse, so are my blog friends.

    On one last note, I would never call your blog a mommy blog, Tam. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

  18. Heidi permalink
    January 27, 2009 7:26 am

    @Carrie.. I love you blog… Keep writing and I love your pictures!!!

  19. January 27, 2009 8:07 am

    I definitely have a schizophrenic (sp) blog. Some days, I very much write a mom blog….but I write about other things, including, anything I darn well want to write about. I don’t think I classify blogs. Like you….I read blogs of people I have a connection with. It works for me.

  20. January 27, 2009 8:40 am

    I love how a certain someone hasn’t made his way over to defend himself. πŸ˜†

    I’m totally a mom blog. That was the whole point of my blog although it differs from time to time and I am SERIOUSLY lacking in posting about my kids, much to the dismay of the grandparents. πŸ˜• But really now, we live in the frozen tundra so until summer, I’ve got nothin’ interesting to say. πŸ˜† It would look like this:

    we got up
    we ate
    we did not get out of our jams
    we watched some cartoons
    we played
    we ate lunch
    we napped
    I made dinner
    they played
    they watched sports with daddy
    we ate dinner
    they played
    we cleaned
    they went to bed
    I stayed up until 3am on this here dang computer.

    END.

  21. January 27, 2009 8:43 am

    First of all, I don’t consciously classify blogs, but each definitely has a feel to it. I firmly believe that Mom Blogs have their place. We can’t all go to MOPS and even if we could, some of our kids are too old to fit in with the toddlers in the childcare dept. at the meetings. It’s just awkward.

    Second, I would say I’m so much more than a Mom, but Mom is an honorable term. There are three people in this world who want me more than anybody when they are sick. ‘Nuf said?

    Third, I would take a pot shot at 5th Street, but I got a good laugh out of his criteria for a Mom blog. Witty Guy (who has fun judging other blogs) Blogs have their place, too. We need those guys to keep us on our toes and make us stand proud, knowing that we printed a recipe from Brandiandboys this morning and will dutifully blog on how the whole wheat muffins turned out–complete with pictures.

    Finally, Tam, you have older kids who are in the ‘coolness’ phase of life, and coolness is written all over your blog. Have great day!

  22. January 27, 2009 9:31 am

    Is a “Mom Blog” like “Mom Jeans”?

    Ok. so, in that certain person’s list of whatever, I guess I have a Mom blog… but I don’t have Mom jeans so there’s that.

    I don’t think I’ve ever “rated” a blog or a post… I just choose to read what captures my attention. Though I may not “rate” you, I will BE-rate you… and judge you behind your back… and to your face. It’s okay if you do the same for me though πŸ™‚

  23. January 27, 2009 9:47 am

    Ok, Brandy you asked for it, here I am!!!

    First, Carrie it’s a joke!!!! Don’t take it so serious!!!

    Second, don’t misunderstand, I’m not bad-mouthing moms!!! To be honest with you, I have a mom! I know, it’s hard to believe!!

    Third, there is nothing wrong with it!! There is nothing more valuable in this world than being a mother! Celebrate your mom blogs!! I’m just trying to liberate the mom bloggers! (no bra burning please)

  24. January 27, 2009 9:47 am

    Heidi: you are a WOOHM πŸ˜‰

  25. January 27, 2009 10:44 am

    connections. connections. connections.

    That’s what blogs are all about for me. I don’t have kids so I love hearing stories about others’ peeps. I love ones that are funny and lighten my heart. I love ones that are serious and make me think. I love ones that are artful, like photography, that mesmerize me and allow me to pretend like I know how they did that. I like ones where people travel because I get to see photos of places I’ll never go. I like ones that poor out their heart and hurts because I can hopefully be a little bit helpful to them. I like ones that just connect because we get each other somehow.

  26. Heidi permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:56 am

    I’m a WOOHM!!!!

    I love it. I love being a WOOHM!!

    Thanks Bran girl , now I feel so included. Ha!!

  27. January 27, 2009 11:34 am

    I have a mom blog. That is pretty much all I talk about. My blog is not really read, but helps relatives know what is going on. I guess I am not deep enough for others to care. It probably is boring.

  28. January 27, 2009 11:55 am

    BTW Tam, I don’t know if you realize this but…. you have a MOM BLOG!!!

  29. Heidi permalink
    January 27, 2009 12:31 pm

    I have a confession to make..

    I went to all the blogs today ^^^ and I enjoyed every single one.

    I was so blind to not go there before… Some awesomre photos, posts and goals.

    Thank You!!!

    Mom Blogs ROCK!!

  30. mommycub permalink
    January 27, 2009 1:51 pm

    Okay. I will confess that I am 5thstreet’s wife. I love the irony (and further proof of his facetious intentions) that my “call name” is mommycub. Rest assured that he just loves to mess around. The main influencers in HIS decision to blog were from “mom bloggers”, whom he loves dearly. He and Tam, who I can’t wait meet next weekend, have a deliciously shared wacky since of humor that involves a lot of jabbing at each other back and forth, which need not give anyone stress. It DOES give ME a well needed laugh. πŸ™‚ Keep after him Tam!!!

  31. January 27, 2009 2:25 pm

    hey girl!!! im cracking up at your comment. you “confessed” to being his wife 😯

    i kid.

    but yes….this post was a jab at him but more to see how/if people rate blogs.

    i was really hoping people would go back to fridays post and see what i did to 5thstreets name every time he commented. OH MY STARS THAT WAS FUN!!!

  32. January 27, 2009 2:37 pm

    i’ve just loved reading this conversation! πŸ˜‰

  33. January 27, 2009 2:40 pm

    all the bloggers that have commented here represent something completely unique from the other. like carrie said…well rounded. i love it! this is what makes this community so fabulous. different backgrounds, schools of thoughts, interests…all coming together. not cookie cutter. not conforming. just being who we are. no apologies.

  34. January 27, 2009 2:40 pm

    sorry I didn’t get the “joke”. I feel a little dumb leaving my comment. I had no idea it was some kind of jabbing thing going on. I’ll lurk silently from now on.

  35. January 27, 2009 2:42 pm

    @tam “Oh my stars”. What kind of saying is that??

    I think some good happened here today. I see Mom bloggers coming to grips with the fact that it’s ok to be a mom blogger! You might call me a Liberator of Mom Bloggers. Maybe the Pied Pipper of mom bloggers!

  36. mommycub permalink
    January 27, 2009 3:04 pm

    It WAS absolutely hysterical!!! I’m not talking a little chuckle… it brought full throtle laughter!! WE stood there just coming up with stuff to say so we could test your creativity!!

    I’m just beginning to read some blogs (yours included milady), but I would say that I rate blogs… at least in my head, not out loud (different from my husband obviously :)). I rate/enjoy them based on whether it is written well with wit, and has something I connect with (friends, homeschoolers, people married to goofballs).

    Wanted to make sure I answered your question at the end of today’s post. πŸ™‚

  37. January 27, 2009 3:05 pm

    carrie – no, no, no! it wasnt a joke. i was seriously jabbing at him yes. but mostly wanting to prove a point. and i think the point was proven, hence my last comment. i happen to agree with your comments and support you 100%. again, further supporting that we all come from different places, with different types of blogs and styles and it doesnt matter…we are still a community that sticks together. so….if you go to just lurking around here – that would make me sad. didnt mean to offend you girl. ever.

  38. January 27, 2009 3:05 pm

    5th – shut up.

  39. January 27, 2009 3:09 pm

    mommycub – so you were in on fridays chaos, eh???? hmmm…..

  40. January 27, 2009 3:15 pm

    Your a Mom Blog!!!!!

  41. mommycub permalink
    January 27, 2009 3:25 pm

    Uhhh- did I say that I was involved? (“beep, beep, beep” says the bus backing up)

    Seriously, how do you guys make all the different “smiley faces”. I couldn’t look at your wide-eyed one without laughing.

    @carrie PLEASE don’t consider yourself “dumb” you just think at a higher level than several of us! πŸ˜€

    @5th (I like the abbreviation). Your comment quota is full for the day!

  42. January 27, 2009 3:28 pm

    Nope it’s not! I get fifty a day on this mom blog!

  43. January 27, 2009 3:38 pm

    @mommycub and tam: thanks. I think I just need to read the previous comments from now on. I totally missed last Friday’s comments, even though I did leave one…just didn’t read the others.

  44. January 27, 2009 3:42 pm

    mommycub – the shock face is : shock : only without spacing.

    “you just think at a higher level than several of us!”

    one of my favorite lines ever written here!

    carrie- i love you!!

  45. January 27, 2009 4:08 pm

    that list is so true!!!

    hahaha. I hope whenever I get married and have kids, my wife has a blog.

    But by that time, who knows what the internet will look like. We may not even have blogs.

  46. January 27, 2009 4:37 pm

    I love that you love well-rounded blogs (and groups of people)! πŸ˜€ REALLY love that.

    I do categorize. It helps my brain. I categorize by relationship. Blogging to me is highly about building relationships. But I can’t build a relationship with everyone *hear: exhaustion* so I categorize by the level at which I connect with them personally … which means I have to get over to their blogs STAT! lol.

    So that’s me.

    But strangely the things I write about are almost entirely cerebral. Not so much relationship-building. I’m an odd duck. But that’s what comes out!

  47. January 27, 2009 6:09 pm

    this is a strangely appetizing comment string.

    when I’m inspired or confused by my role as a mom, I write mommy posts.
    when I’m inspired or confused by my role as a worship leader, I write worship leader posts
    when I’m inspired or confused by my role as a person-in-the-world, I write person-in-the-world posts.

    and the kids are in the banner b/c they’re more attractive than pictures of worship planning calendars.

    πŸ™‚

  48. January 27, 2009 6:33 pm

    Mom blog or not.. Tams blog is about love, and just being accepted for who you are when you are her.

    Even my goofy self can be just that goofy, and Tam totally gets it.

    Do I rate blogs? No. Blog’s all have their own personality. Imagine that? Just like there owners…..

    Peace and love sis.

  49. January 27, 2009 7:15 pm

    Okay, the list is hysterical. Technically, I’m not a mom blog.

    And there you go.

  50. January 27, 2009 9:43 pm

    I love your blog. Some blogs are hard for me to comment to because I don’t really relate with them or all they talk about is writing, kids, or significant others. I by no means mean to offend anyone but I’m no mother and I”m single and I do enjoy writing but thats about it. So for me I enjoy reading blogs that give a little bit of everything. Again I mean no disrespect or offense to anyone. Please don’t take it personally.

  51. January 27, 2009 9:54 pm

    Tam,
    I was wondering if there was anyway that I could talk to you..through email or something. I don’t have your email address or any way to get in touch with you so I was wondering if we could talk.

  52. January 27, 2009 11:26 pm

    1) If you have a Category on your blog marked Recipe!I have a category marked ““Recipe for disaster”. Does that count?

  53. January 27, 2009 11:37 pm

    ha! hov- you have a mom blog!:lol:

  54. January 28, 2009 8:45 am

    That’s OK, I like moms (mums over here) and I like cooking. You should taste my Dutch Baby. Prachtig!

  55. February 3, 2009 10:03 pm

    I just read this post and I have no idea what you are talking about.

Leave a Reply

