Skip to content

childhood facts

January 30, 2009

when i was a little girl, i preferred playing in the mud with tonka trucks over playing with dolls and barbies.

i watched the movie Jaws when i was in the 3rd grade, i think, and for weeks afterward i would not sit on the toilet. i just knew jaws junior was gonna swim up and have himself some ham hock!

i shaved one eyebrow off when i was 5.

my grandpa used to cut my hair. he’d put a bowl on my head and cut all the hair off around it. no, grandpa. i do not look like dorothy hamill.

i pierced my own ears when i was in the 10th grade. i wanted a 3rd set of holes, we couldnt afford it, so i did it myself. i took a sewing needle and jammed it on through. voila! a bloody, swollen crime scene! both ears 😯

my favorite cartoons were scooby doo, flinstones and tom and jerry.

i went to a different school each year up until the 9th grade.

*******************************************************************************************************************

k. your turn. what are some kid facts about you?

36 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2009 6:04 am

    Haha… I shaved my legs when I was 6 or 7 (Did I mention I had 7 sisters)… Well I tried, the six inch gash up my right leg stopped me…

    When I was 6 I was so sick on Christmas I couldn’t open any of my presents.(That is not a very fun fact I know)

    Some of the best times were playing Kick the Can, SPUD, and other games outside with the 20 or so other kids on our street.

    Playing basketball in grade school, I scored 30 points between 2 games, that were played on the same day. The cooler thing was there was another kid on our team that had 30 points also between the games. We one the city Tourney.

    I am sure I will come up with more… I will come back later.

  2. Heidi permalink
    January 30, 2009 6:07 am

    I cut off a ponytail for the paperboy (he was hot!!!) Remember rupunzel?
    I served beer at my parents wedding.
    I hated Camp Fire girls!
    I had my first real kiss at Canon Beach.
    I threw up all over the cashier at the Tillamook Cheese factory during a field trip.
    My mom was a politician.
    I learn to drive in a 65 Chevy pickup
    I rollerskated every Friday and Saturday night, I was hot in my leggings (im so old)
    Barry Manilow was my first concert.
    I smoked for the very first time in the church parking lot.

  3. Jim2 permalink
    January 30, 2009 6:28 am

    Heidi, does that make you a deacon?

    twice I had to get stiches in my upper lip, once for sliding down the hallway (linoleum floors) on a pillow shaped like a turtle – facefirst into a bookshelf, another time walking backwards down the street yelling at my sister, turned around right into a mailbox.
    I remember digging holes and tunnels in the backyard with my friends

    5th grade I got a certificate for reading 110 books during the school year

    meeting a van load of hippies (at least in my eight year old eyes) from Oregon that spent the night at our house on the way to and from a mission trip to Mexico

    big blisters on my feet from running barefoot across a freshly paved road

    church 5 times a week, sunday morning, sunday night, Kids Klub Tuesday night, prayer meeting wednesday night, youth group friday or saturday night

  4. January 30, 2009 6:42 am

    i grew up in a tiny town and loved anything and everything horse related. i had barbies… but they all rode horses. instead of having the barbie house… i had a miniature barn with little haybales that barbie played in!

  5. January 30, 2009 6:45 am

    Pierced your own ears?!?! Owww!

    Favorite cartoons were Johnny Quest, Speed Racer, Gigantor, & Foghorn Leghorn.

    In the 6th grade they showed our class the VD scared straight / sex ed film. I went home and announced that no girl was going to kiss me until she had a blood test. My family loves to re-live that moment every time we get together. (If you’re ever around my fam and you hear a reference to “blood test” that would be the inside joke)

  6. January 30, 2009 6:47 am

    and…you were a mean girl in high school. right? right?

    I got my first typewriter when I was 12. It was the best gift I ever received.
    We lived on a lake in Texas that was actually a camping grounds for a local grocery store chain and we had a playground right outside our back yard. One of our favorite games was to hang our butts off the spinning merry go round and our dog Bo would chase us and try to bite our butts.

    We called this game butt butt.

  7. January 30, 2009 6:48 am

    I was hit by a car when I was 2, pronounced dead, in a coma for 2 weeks, and forced to wear a football helmet for a year to prevent anything from touching my head.

    My parents were divorced when I was 2

    I got hit by a car AGAIN when I was 8. I tried to get up and walk away, but the guy that hit me made me wait for an ambulance. I had a big bruise on my hip from where I landed on my butt and a dent in my hip that is still there today.

    When I was younger, I was always picked on for being fat. The bullies would hit and spit on me and I never fought back.
    Another fat kid told me one day, “you and I should attack the next person who picks on us.” It happened to be the “school bully” or the “bully of bullies”. We hurt him pretty bad. I haven’t been picked on again since then. That was 3rd grade :-).

    Between my freshman and sophomore year of high school, I lost 90 pounds. I kept it off until my wife was pregnant with our first. I am now trying to lose it again :-)…and the wife is pregnant…not a good combo.

    Thank God for every inch of me. He could have ended it 33 years ago!

  8. January 30, 2009 6:53 am

    (This will be when I was about 4)

    The Spice Girls were awesome xD!!!!!

    I use to play with my best friends’ barbies sometimes xD

    I use to love cassette tapes alot, for music.

    Pokemon was the best thing in the world for me.

  9. January 30, 2009 7:41 am

    My 1st concert was Styx and I owned every one of their albums!

    I “inherited” my older siblings 8-track player and my fav 8-tracks were ELO and Steve Miller Band

    I got a black eye the day of my jr prom (we had to go to school in the morning, I had PE and walked into a tennis racket!)

    Fav cartoon was the Jetsons

    There was a show called Romper Room and every day they would “look into the tv” and say the names of all the kids that they saw watching…I kept waiting…but with a name like Rindy, it never happened! 😦

    I rode dirt bikes, drove tractors, built forts in the woods, rode snowmobiles and played sports with all the boys in the neighborhood

    The only toy I remember having was an EasyBake Oven

    Yes….I’m old πŸ˜‰ but I live so young!! πŸ™‚

  10. January 30, 2009 7:46 am

    My first puppy was carried off by an eagle when I was 5 ! 😯 I would have traded with the eagle – my baby brother for the puppy back!

    I lived horses – still do – lived on a farm and had 10 square miles of woods, trails, lakes to ride in as a kid – ages 8 through 17. I could drive and harness a horse by the time I was 12.

    I Have never smoked one cigarette or had a beer – never.

    My uncle did give me a small shot of whiskey when I was about 7 – for a cold! 😯

    Favorite comics – Bugs Bunny – Elmer Fudd

    Broke my arm at the age of 10 – bike accident – cried when I had to leave the hospital snd go home – I had a blast in the children’s ward! πŸ˜€

  11. January 30, 2009 8:09 am

    I broke my brother’s arm.

  12. January 30, 2009 8:46 am

    still trying to get over your ears and Mandy’s brother’s arm

  13. January 30, 2009 8:55 am

    when i was 2, my mother says i used to pinch my brother through the bars of his play pen every time she left the room so that she would come back.

    i was the first in my family to break a bone…broke my ankle trying to stop a swing when i was 7. earlier that same summer my sister dropped me in a swimming pool and i ended up with stitches in the back of my head. i pushed her through a glass storm door when i was 12.

    my brother and i used to pretend we were twins even though we are 21 months apart.

    we were never allowed to watch TV…especially cartoons….so i’m not sure i can comment on that.

    i learned to play guitar at summer camp which i went to every single summer.

    i went to two different high schools, spent 2 years at each. hated that.

  14. January 30, 2009 9:13 am

    This requires some thought…will get back to on this one. About to drive home, so will no doubt reminisce (sp?) while stuck in the rush hour traffic.

    PS – Love your blog!! πŸ™‚

  15. January 30, 2009 9:31 am

    I was three the first time I sang in church and spent the next 30 years singing to my heart’s content.

    I was teased incessantly for my freckles. By the time I was in junior high I would not wear shorts or sleeveless shirts. Life was HOT in Texas!

    I wasn’t allowed to have my ears pierced until I was eighteen. 😯

    I wasn’t allowed to go to any dances, even when my best friend was voted Prom Queen our senior year. I can’t dance to this day…never learned. So when I talk about doing the “happy dance” well, let’s just say, it’s hilarious! (I’m so not cool.)

    My favorite cartoons were Tom and Jerry, Bugs Bunny and Popeye.

  16. January 30, 2009 9:31 am

    Oh, and my sister broke my arm. πŸ‘Ώ

  17. January 30, 2009 9:52 am

    voltron and thundercats were my cartoons of choice.

    i had blonde hair.

    i was awesome.

  18. January 30, 2009 10:06 am

    I was devastated when we moved from crime-filled downtown to uptown. Turns out the kids in the downtown area are very nice, while the uptown kids were brutal to me.

    I was very blonde and it changed in high school to brown.

    I smoked in 5th grade for a short period…peer pressure.

    I came home crying in 3rd grade because I got a D in math. I thought I wouldn’t be able to go to college.

  19. January 30, 2009 11:47 am

    Oh, Tam, this is totally up my alley (reminiscing about childhood and admitting random facts about myself), but I’m coming up blank at the moment. I am, however, thoroughly enjoying reading everyone else’s posts! πŸ™‚

  20. Jim2 permalink
    January 30, 2009 12:38 pm

    a couple more.

    I went to the same elementary school (8 years) and high school, but have attended 5 different colleges

    first movie – Ten Commandments – at the drive in with the whole family

    used to fight over who got to sit in the “way back” in the Volkswagen Bug

    riding bikes all summer long, climbing trees, picking weeds for mom – 5 cents a bucket

  21. January 30, 2009 2:51 pm

    You pierced you own ears??? okie dokie…

    I dropped my brother when he was 9 months old… I was trying to put him in his chair and he did a flip onto the floor. He’s fine now and going to be 35 this year.

    My first concert was Kenny Rogers at the Canadian National Exhibition in Ottawa.

    I played one of Santa’s elves in Gr. 4. The other two guys who were elves had to wear green tights and the teacher gave me her green sweats! She was an awesome teacher!

    I took my first plane trip when I was 9 months old… I don’t remember it though.

    My favorite cartoons were The Flintstones (It used to come on during lunch time and I got to watch it when I came home for lunch from school), Scooby Doo… oh then there was HR Puffinstuff (That dates me!)

  22. January 30, 2009 6:34 pm

    @ papa – An eagle, what are the odds of that…

    I also pierced my own ear on a dare in chemistry class. Used a starter earring, just pushed it through…

    First concert was E.L.O in 7th grade 1978…

    Started playing bass guitar with my grandfather’s band at age 12. we played “real” counrty & western music. Hank Williams, Sons of the Pioneers, Merle Haggard etc.
    Played my first gig 1 week after picking it up. I put tape on the guitar neck with the note names written on it…

    Almost failed English in 11th grade because my teacher, who was also a bartender at a club we used to gig at had been serving me for a year thinking i was old enough to drink. I walked into his class on the first day and said hey Steve, how’s it goin’ oops my bad πŸ™„

    favorite cartoons were Rocky and Bulwinkle & Peabody and his boy Sherman…

  23. January 30, 2009 6:47 pm

    I’ve been to the oddest collection of concerts ever.

    In order:

    Whitney Houston
    Def Leppard
    Amy Grant
    Elton John

    Funniest thing is I never thought about it or realized until this moment.

  24. January 30, 2009 7:00 pm

    @praise365 – very slim – but it happened. My father later shot an eagle, it was actually trying to pick up a baby – the mother was petrified – and was panic stricken –

  25. January 30, 2009 7:09 pm

    @papa- no no no tell me that did not happen.. 😯

    -my brother and I made a homemade bomb and blew a 2 foot hole in our yard (beatings were in order)
    -played marbles and won all the marbles..but then there is no game..no one else had any..not much fun in that.
    -a friend got popped for dui, and the police gave me her keys, I was worst, younger and no license.. huh? okay..
    -loved the same cartoons as Ric..hahahaha dude we are the same age..I am so sure!
    – i was a very rebellious kid
    -always wore earrings that didn’t match, and bobos different colors, and big cheap sunglasses..I believed I was sooo cool! hahahaha
    -my first car was a 67 dodge monico (yup it looked like bat man), had to climb literally under the hood to start it.. (its as big as whale and it sits about twenty!)
    -ditched PA lots and ran to Maryland, because it was fun! fast cars, and things I don’t promote anymore..

  26. January 30, 2009 7:29 pm

    @darla – I was a small boy, about the age of 5, I vaguely remember the story, but it was true. The baby was fine, and my dad the hero –

  27. January 30, 2009 8:07 pm

    scott and darla – you are a match made in heaven. your stories are cracking me up!!!

    ive loved reading these today! perfect end to the week…

    thanks everyone!!

  28. Heather B permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:21 pm

    My family took me to see E.T. when I was five. I cried through the whole thing…then subsequently had night mares about E.T. being in my toybox, closet, bathroom…for years.

    I had two imaginary friends when I was 3 or 4… Captain Dan and Elvira. No one knows where the names came from.

    I had a lot of pets as a child. One was a mother cat, who ate a poisonous lizard while pregnant. As a result, the kittens were missing limbs. 😯 I named them accordingly: four-legged, three-legged and two-legged. haha!
    Well, that’s all I’ve got for now! This was fun!!

  29. January 30, 2009 8:55 pm

    I got a GI Joe instead of a Barbie when I was like 3.
    When I was 4, I wanted to be a truck driver
    I made up my first rhyme when I was 2. My grandparents bought me a hot fudge sundae from Shoney’s and I took one bite and then stood up in the chair, and at the top of my lungs shouted “Yummy, yummy in my tummy”
    I beat up a boy on the playground when I was in kindergarten.
    My mother sent me to a private school where I had to wear skirts everyday. I wore gym shorts under my skirt until I was in the 6th grade. It is hard to hang upside down on the monkey bars in a skirt!

  30. January 30, 2009 9:23 pm

    The first song I knew all the lyrics to was the one and only Phil Collins, “Iiii can’t dance, Iiii can’t sing. . .”

    I was put in ballet, ‘cus my parents thought I’d like it. When we were supposed to be doing ballet-type things in a circle, I’d just start running around everyone (to prove just how fast I was). Ultimately, it was decided that I was more of a sports girl than a ballet girl.

  31. January 30, 2009 9:29 pm

    Oh Tam, I love these lists. Hope you don’t mind, I might do a similar one on my blog, but I’ll definitely give you credit for the idea, okay?

    I also pierced my own ear. Just the right side. I had both ears done by a professional a few years earlier, but decided I wanted two on one side. I hung a clothespin on my ear until it felt numb, then poked it with a sterilized sewing needle. The hole is crooked and it was infected for a long time. Dork move.

  32. January 31, 2009 6:47 am

    you pierced your own ears? you were THAT girl? holy moly!

    i never owned a barbie

    only child & tom boy…i spent of my time outdoors playing in mud

  33. January 31, 2009 9:34 am

    Your ear piercing story – no way!!! I could never do that.

    I was a wimp. Which, I can say of myself now, but a teacher told me I was a wimp in 5th grade and I was righteously mad that she would ever say that to a kid!

    I never ever let anyone pull my teeth … or wiggle them … or touch them … at all. They pretty much had to fall out on their own in my sleep.

    I woke up one morning with gum in my hair. To this day, I have no idea how it got there. I do not remember chewing gum the night before. Mom didn’t believe that story, of course … but it’s true!

    I have never had any broken bones, nor ever had any stitches. I have been to the emergency room once – for pink eye (my eyes were … the color of a tomato).

    My brothers and sister and I taught ourselves the “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers” dance … you know, the one at the barn raisin’?

    I went to public school for one year of schooling – my senior year.

  34. January 31, 2009 10:35 pm

    Ok…..

    Had an accident at 2 or 3 weeks of age…. a guy who ironically was coming to see me (a family friend, I was told) accidentally hit my mother while on his bicycle. That blow made her fall down and drop me on the left side of my head. To this day I have a soft spot where the surgeons had to remove a part of my skull, as it was pressing onto my brain (THANK GOD FOR MIRACLES!)

    Told a girl I liked her during my early teen years – and she RAN in the opposite direction…. still don’t know why…. took a good long time to get over…

    Tried to swing on a pull cord by my teeth…. not wise…. pulled both of my front teeth out, I think…

    Was so enthusiastic about the Bible during Sunday School that no one wanted me on the other team when we were playing Bible boxing and stuff like that…. I had to eventually respectfully decline joining any teams so that the others could get a chance to answer the questions!

    Challenged the elders in my church to think about what they believed by insinuating that the only way Jesus could understand how I felt as a young man going through sexual temptations is if he’d had a girlfriend….. man, you should have seen the old people cry heresy and blasphemy!

    I know it’s late…. sorry about that… I came up blank when I first saw the post. I LOVE these lists! I definitely will try to do one on my own blog once I’m done the series I’m currently doing…

  35. January 31, 2009 10:43 pm

    these have been so fun, strange and concerning.

    πŸ˜€

  36. February 3, 2009 9:58 pm

    My birthday is April fools day.

Leave a Reply

