Skip to content

right about now…

February 2, 2009

…i’m on my way to nashville with brent. well, i wont be on the plane til 6a.m. pst.

we arrive at…heck, i have no idea! but brent and the pilot do, so, i’m good!

anyhoo…we’ll be gone until next monday and although i will be checking in often, i might not have as much time to interact 😦

i hope i’m wrong about that though 😉

so, i want to spend this week getting to know more about you, my extended family.

lets start it off with…

your most embarrassing moment!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 12:35 am

    Soooooo, if you’re going to ask a question every day on your blog this week, would it be wrong of me if I just went ahead and took that question and used it to inspire a story for MY blog the next day? In other words, you’d come up with the questions, I’d come up with my answer, and then I’d write it on my blog and wouldn’t have to waste any time beating my head against a wall trying to come up with something to post about each day. 🙂 This is starting to sound better to me by the second…

    I might could like this arrangement (that was for Mandy so she would feel at home while you’re gone).

  2. February 2, 2009 1:01 am

    I believe you were present for one of mine. 😆

  3. February 2, 2009 4:25 am

    Hey, at least I’ve signed up for WordPress so you can get my grinning face all over your blog. One step at a time – it will happen.

    Anyway, back on topic :

    When I was 8, I rather resembled a beachball, so why I was playing one of the sigly stepusters in Rindercella I have no idea – the script did at least call for ‘athletic boys’ for this cross-dressing child’s play (disturbed yet?).

    My character had a scene where he/she had to blow his/her nose. Weeks of rehearsal went without hitch. Not so the performance in front of hundreds. Snotty mics are not nice at any age…

  4. February 2, 2009 6:07 am

    Two words:
    1) Toilet
    2) Paper

  5. February 2, 2009 6:07 am

    Funny thing is, I wasn’t that “embarrassed”… go figure.

  6. February 2, 2009 6:54 am

    When I was a freshman in high school, I played on the basketball team. At one game (thankfully an away game), I literally tripped over my own two feet and fell flat on my face. (Well, my bruised knees would say flat on my knees, but you know what I mean.)

    To make it so much worse, my jerkface of a coach yelled out, “Watch out for that line!” Because I tripped right by one of the painted lines on the court. And because he was a sick son of a gun.

    I’ve done many stupid things since then and had many embarrassing episodes, but that does take the cake. Especially since some of my “friends” still think it’s hilarious to caution me against tripping over lines.

    Funny.

  7. February 2, 2009 6:54 am

    My most embarrassing moment can only be told in person…it’s a doozy!

    Second most embarrassing is standard high school nightmare material:

    I was in gym class cutting up and making a bunch of girls laugh (actually participating in gym wasn’t really my thing). Well, there I was with 5 or 6 girls and some guys standing around laughing at my jokes and ridiculousness when my friend Joshua comes up behind me and rips my gym shorts down.

    The problem, however, was that the waistband on my shorts was pretty tight, but the waistband on my boxers was not in the least. So with the gym shorts, came the boxers. Yep, a whole bunch of my classmates got a real good look at the cash and prizes that day.

  8. February 2, 2009 8:24 am

    I was doing a photo story on cowboys for my photography class in college. I was going on a good old round up. First the very tough cowboy gave me chaps, and I realized quickly why cowboys wear tight jeans. My baggy jeans and the chaps didn’t really work together so while the tough cowboy got very annoyed with me I finally got them on.
    Next, he gave me the easiest horse he had, but I don’t know anything about horses and this wasn’t any trail horse. I fixed my camera to sit at my chest so I could hold the reins. As we approached the cattle, the cowboy realized the gate was open and so started running his horse to close it before all the cattle moved into that pasture. Me wanting to keep up got my horse going and realized quickly how bad an idea that was as my camera bounced off my chest and hit me in my face. I slowed down and caught up to the cowboy, who was annoyed at my utter lack to be of any use. You see he wasn’t just going to let me take pictures, I had to earn my keep herding those cattle.
    I was in the back while he was leading the front. Suddenly he had to go off to shut yet another gate and I was left alone to herd those cattle. A cow decided to divert, probably knew this was his chance, and I followed to herd him the right way. Somehow that cow decided just to stop. I tried to kick my horse to get him going. My horse stopped and the cow stood his ground only turning around to moo. So there I was with nothing to do, but wait for the cowboy who I knew would be none too happy. He returned and helped me out very annoyed that I couldn’t handle such a small task. We then had to take the long way to the pasture because of my mistake.
    In the end the cow were where they should have been and the cowboy didn’t kill me. As for my photo story I think I got an A or a B. I think my photos were pretty good, especially under the circumstances.

  9. February 2, 2009 10:06 am

    It’s too long to tell and as Sarah said…it might just need to be a post.

    Hope your time in TN is MAH-velous!!

  10. February 2, 2009 11:22 am

    omg – hands down -this past year! We had our new puppy in his first day of obedience class. He kept jumping at me for a treat when all of a sudden, his paws stuck too my all-too-easy-fit pants and before I could shoo him off . . . . well . . . . all of a sudden Puppy Kindergarten went X-rated. My dog de-pants’d me.

  11. February 2, 2009 12:25 pm

    I don’t have any embarrassing moments.

    Actually … the deal is that I don’t remember them. I think because I hate being embarrassed to such a degree that I refuse to think about them and block them out of my memory. Every once in an odd while I remember something … and get embarrassed to myself and laugh at myself. And then try to forget it.

    Do I have deep-seated issues?

  12. Jim2 permalink
    February 2, 2009 1:07 pm

    too many to count, so I guess there’s not just one doozie that sticks out – maybe that is a good thing. My mom was one of those people that just don’t embarrass, so my childhood was spent in dread of what she was going to do next

  13. February 2, 2009 1:58 pm

    Not lying… I just called my best friend to figure out what my most embarrassing moment was, and we seriously can’t think of one. Don’t get me wrong… I’ve done stupid stuff, just nothing I was terribly embarrassed by…

    This is going to drive me nuts…

  14. February 2, 2009 2:21 pm

    Far too many embarrassing moments to pick one as the most embarrassing.

    Marching proudly in some grade school play, and walking right off the stage.

    I have already talked about the time in NYC where I walked into a street sign when my attention was focused on a “healthy” young girl walking on the other side of the street.

    Countless times I have meet someone, even women who I had apparently dated, and had no clue what their name was.

  15. Blessed1 permalink
    February 2, 2009 8:48 pm

    Two things:
    White shorts
    My period

    Enough said …

  16. February 2, 2009 10:31 pm

    An embarrassing moment??? 😯

    i’m way to ‘cool’ to ever make myself embarassed! 😉

    Actually, the truth is i am way to boring to ever be noticed – even when i stuff up – so i never get embarrassed.

    Not since junior school anyway and my memory won’t stretch back that far for personally embarrassing events 😉

    I think i hear my mum calling – got to go…

    <B

  17. February 3, 2009 5:23 am

    The moment was after the e-moment…
    I MEAN…
    I woke up in the middle of the night, and I guess fell back asleep,
    and my window sill was like right next to my pillow, and instead of falling on the pillow,
    I hit my forehead on the wilndow sil…
    and got to go to my first day of highschool the next day with the huge-butt bruise!

  18. February 3, 2009 5:53 am

    BAD! Very bad! I was having a discussion (Gossip/”prayer concern”) on the phone about someone in the church. After dumping the garbage, I finally realized that the person I was talking to – was the “guilty” party! I had called the wrong person – wrong number! They just let me rattle on – not a good thing. At least we can both laugh about it today!

  19. February 3, 2009 7:50 am

    Oh dear. Actually, Blessed1 reminded me of an incident … same occurrence. Only I was … 13? … so I was totally new to the ‘period’ thing, and we spent the day at an amusement park (hear: water). White shorts, white socks, white shoes … All of which was tinged pink by somewhere around noon. We didn’t go home ’til about 6:00 that night. My aunt (who we went with) never mentioned anything … and I was praying in my young “what should I do??” mind that no one was noticing. I really have no idea if anyone ever did.

  20. February 3, 2009 10:25 am

    I was a freshman in high school. A few of my middle school friends (none of which went to my hs) got together for Veteran’s Day at one of the guy’s house. We ordered pizza and were sitting out on the back patio by the pool. All of a sudden, I fell backwards in my chair and did a full backwards somersault…in a skirt. In front of the boy I liked.

  21. February 3, 2009 1:18 pm

    I was on a swim team at a local gym… We got a new coach who made us to various exercises before we actually got in the pool (in our swimsuits… so awkward). One day we were doing sit-ups, with a partner holding our feet. I sat up… and farted. Because it was in an indoor pool room, it echoed around the pool, and everyone cracked up. I was mortified, but I also felt really bad for my partner, because I had basically just farted in her face. So terrible.

  22. February 3, 2009 1:51 pm

    girl… my whole life is an embarrassing moment. i don’t even remember.

  23. Gabriel permalink
    February 3, 2009 2:13 pm

    Hmmmm I cant exactly find the most embarrassing moment but ill keep thinking.

  24. February 3, 2009 9:55 pm

    So one of my first jobs was working at In-N-Out and as I was working drive thru, late one night I heard a commotion and looked over only to discover a kid (teenager)standing on the hand out counter NAKED dancing a few feet from me. We had to call the police to have them (him and his peeps) from the store. They were all wasted. So when that was all taken care of, one of my friends who was working with me (who knew I was a virgin) said loudly “I bet that was the first time you have ever seen a wiener, huh???!!!” Yeah, great….that was fantastic.

  25. February 3, 2009 11:12 pm

    RE-DO!!! Tonight… most embarrassing moment during Worship Band Practice.

    We’re packing up our instruments when a bandmate says: “My case is totally deteriorating!”

    Me… not thinking: “Your Mom is deteriorating!”

    *Silence*

    Ya, her Mom passed away a few years ago.

    Finally, she says, “Ya, you’re probably right.”

    OMG!!! I didn’t even realize I said it till she responded. I could have dug my own grave right then and there. So what did I do??? I twittered it for everyone to know what an IDIOT I am.

    Seriously… what is wrong with me?

  26. February 3, 2009 11:12 pm

    I’ll probably have one for you tomorrow too…

    … see… my whole life = embarrassing moment.

  27. February 4, 2009 4:35 am

    I was on an airplane headed to Dallas Texas with a group of Mary Kay ladies. The guy next to me had to use the restroom, as I stood up to let him pass I hear my friend behind me crack up laughing. Then I hear 5-6 of my group start laughing. I turn around to see what the commotion is….it’s me…the elastic in my skirt had snapped. I was standing in front of this man, all my friends & the entire airplane full of people…in a pink thong.

    I had to sit next to that guy the rest of the flight. I think my face matched my undies.

  28. February 4, 2009 7:10 am

    Why do we “die of embarrassment” then turn around and tell everyone we know what we did?

    ONE of my most embarrassing moments:
    I was walking down the side walk in a tiny town – you know, the one where everyone knows everything everyone else does – and tripped over… nothing. Fell right in front of the (not “a”, but “the”) restaurant window. I got up, brushed my self off, turned around and went back to my vehicle thinking I’d never leave my house again.

    This was just a few years ago. I do leave my house but I am very careful when I walk over that part of the side walk.

  29. Heidi permalink
    February 4, 2009 6:06 pm

    whoopie
    76 ford pinto
    danish exchange student

  30. February 5, 2009 11:55 am

    I am really new around here but oh well…
    At a national trade show last year and I take one of my clients over to a neighboring booth to introduce them to a friends company that provides a great product for schools.

    As I am approaching the booth, I trip on my clients strap on her briefcase.

    I begin to fall and reach for a chair that I though the back was facing me. It was not.

    As I fall over the back of the chair, my foot catches the corner of the table that is supporting the entire trade show booth.

    It tips, causing the entire 20 ft booth to collapse spilling out into the isles at the Grand Ole Opry Convention Center in front of hundreds of people.

    The people I work with from my company..did they help..nope…laughing to hard to get off the floor and help.

  31. February 6, 2009 10:27 pm

    sheesh – you all have had some pretty bad moments!

    thanks for the entertainment 😀

    my most embarrassing moment…it was in church. we, the worship team, were all up singing during communion. a nice soft, slow song. the people were quiet, reflective, communing. i sat on the stool on stage next to another vocalist and watched as the people were having their moment with the Lord when i decided to rest my foot on the monitor (before in-ears) just to the side of me when the weight of my foot caused it to tip forward, which caused me to tip forward, right off my stool and onto the the ground. in front of everybody. WHILE ALSO holding my mic, making sure to hit every hard surface with it on my way south. CRASH – BOOM – BANG!!!!

    saweeee….

Leave a Reply

