Skip to content

something stuck…

February 10, 2009

something pastor pete said sunday actually stuck with me. ok… a lot stuck with me…but this one statement i can not get out of my head.

“every fear in our lives is establishing some kind of limit.”

mmm-hmmm. let that soak in for a second then see if there have been any limits established in your life due to fears…

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 8:47 am

    Any? How about ALL. If I spend $ on something – I fear we won’t have enough to pay bills. If I follow a dream – I fear it’ll take away from my parenting time resulting it rotten kids. If I ask for alone time – I fear hubs will start to resent being home w/ kids. I could go on all day.

  2. February 10, 2009 11:24 am

    I think I have so many fears. I probably have way too many. Sometimes it feels like fear controls my life. I’m working on that but its a hard thing to get over…as there are so many fears.
    I fear saying no to someone when they ask me to do something, even though I don’t want to do what they ask, because then I’ll come across as selfish. I fear putting myself out there in any way resulting in being made fun of or rejected. I fear being too open with my thoughts or feelings because I’m afraid of being judged too harshly.
    Yes, fear has put plenty of limits on my life.

  3. February 10, 2009 12:09 pm

    I feel like life nags at me more to let go of the things I fear now. If I’m afraid of what will happen when I let go of something, the right thing is to let it go. If I fear what will happen if I try something, the answer is usually to try it. I used to have fear and it would paralyze me… now if I have fear the feeling nags at me until I act. I’m finding it more exhausting to stand still in my fear rather than move.

  4. Heidi permalink
    February 10, 2009 1:55 pm

    I’m alot like sarah above, one of my biggest fears is letting go. As long as I hold onto something even if it’s bad, I am in control of it. If I am in control the fear resides.

    The funny thing is I am not a controller, I am quite passive in life. It’s only when it becomes my “heart” stuff when I grab hard from fear.

    So the “limit” becomes I cannot truly be myself when I truly truly want too.

  5. February 10, 2009 2:00 pm

    yeah sure I can relate to this on a daily basis probably. I think limits can keep us safe at times.

  6. February 10, 2009 3:05 pm

    [soaking]

  7. February 10, 2009 4:01 pm

    I allowed fear to control the early part of my life. I have hopefully overcame this disability. I will guess that some fears may have stop me from living life to the fullest when I was young man.

    I still have things that I am afraid of but I work hard at facing them and not letting them limit my life.

    I am a hypochondriac, but I don’t fear death, just illness.

    My fear of heights does limit me from some activities I might otherwise enjoy.

  8. February 10, 2009 4:21 pm

    Fear of the Lord is the beginning of Wisdom: Job 28:28; Ps 111:10 Pr 1:7; 9:10; etc etc.

    ‘A Man’s Gotta know his limitations’: Clint Eastwood (Dirty Harry: The Enforcer)

    As Annie has pointed out in her blog, CallingtoDeep, we need some limits in life – God sets boundaries for us.

    Irrational fears are the ones we should eliminate from our lives.

    Heidi: how do you rationalise your fear of losing control with your commandment in Christ to let God always be in control?

    And sure – i have fears, most irrrational, but based on some particular very emotional time and experiences (‘learnings’) in my life.

    Revisiting those times in your mind and seeing how the lessons we learned no longer still are valid (if they indeed ever truly were) is the key.

    <B

  9. February 10, 2009 6:06 pm

    Hmmm…I’m not sure what this means for me. I can easily tell you that one of my biggest fears is failure or not living up to my potential. But what kind of limit is that fear putting on my life? Maybe it’s limiting my enjoyment and appreciation of the NOW…

  10. Heidi permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:20 pm

    @Love

    I don’t want to sound dumb here. But I am not of what you are asking, could you rephrase maybe?

  11. February 10, 2009 9:35 pm

    Heidi – sure – always happy to explain myself a little more.

    I was going on what you said about your ‘fear’ being less (?) when you feel you have some ‘control’ over the ‘bad’ thing that you are ‘holding’ on to. (and then not ‘letting go’ of?)

    While i am certain many many people feel much the same way and don’t like very much the idea of ‘letting it go’, for a range of what are felt as valid reasons, including wanting to have some ‘say or ‘control’ over our own life and not letting ‘others’ control us through it, what i was wondering was : How much do we as Christians actually Trust in Him – that he will take ‘control’ and do a better job of it than we ever could?

    By taking ‘control’ for ourselves do we not deny Christ? Is this being true to our Faith?

    I’d be interested in any thoughts 🙂

    <B

  12. Heidi permalink
    February 10, 2009 10:18 pm

    @ Love. Thank you for such a challenging question. Since this is a comment box, I am a little leery, but I know my sis Tam’s response. Go ahead.

    This last Friday Love my son Elij lost one his friends as he was hit by a car. My son was on the scene as they feverishly tried to save “patty”. He was 15. My son at that very moment screamed out to God. Why?!! Why not someone else?!! As he returned home he grew silent, I allowed him to grieve without me prodding, just sitting there at the edge of the couch praying under my breath.

    Okay what does this have to do with your question. This past week, I was challenged by my counselor, (yes I am a ministry leader that seeks counsel from a counselor) to write a love letter to Kiera. I stumbled over his question and said Kiera? yes he repeated. So I started last Wednesday emotionally just opening myself up and I wept and I found peace and JOY over a new process for me.

    Grieving and letting go.

    See Kiera is my daughter I lost 19 years ago. Is it a coincidence that Patty’s death and this love letter fell in the same week Love? No.. It was a VERY big God who’s seeking me out to grow deeper within me. I let go alot in that letter Love

    .. fear, trust, fault, blame, and loss. But what did I gain? (after my fear resided)

    I gained back of a memory of being pregnant that very first time. I imagined her toes and fingers and her fuzzy hair. (I lost her in my womb @6 1/2 months), I gained back that utrasound picture packed away of her. It’s now in my bible.

    I cherished her for the very first time. :heavy breath:

    When you hold on YOU do deny Christ of doing a SUPERNATURAL healing. I’m learning to live without fear and letting go, it’s a battle, satan wants me to live in Bondage. But my God, My living God wants me to live in joy and freedom.

    (thanks sis for your box)

  13. February 11, 2009 3:29 am

    I’ve always thought of fears as walls, so working on the principle that walls stop us from going out, and others coming in, that’s some severe limitation.

    The main way this has affected me is the fear of making a fool of myself. I’m fairly over this now, but if I’d done it when I was a teenager, life would have been far less frustrating

    @Heidi – thanks for sharing, your testimony has touched me. I can only imagine what all of that is like. May God’s peace, joy and freedom fill you to overflowing!

  14. Heidi permalink
    February 11, 2009 5:16 am

    @David.. He already has.

  15. February 11, 2009 6:17 am

    Heidi – thank you for your courage in sharing that story, which i assume is (concerning your feelings for Kiera) a fairly recent turn-around for you? Letting it out in ‘public’ so to speak.

    Do you think you could have done that without your counsellors support? Would it have taken longer to without it? Would your reading of Scripture have helped you through in the ‘same’ way to get to where you are now?

    I am just asking such deeply personal questions in the hope that some of the many others who might have their own equally unjust and painful situations they ‘controlled’ by pushing back down and holding on tight to so they don’t ‘escape’ and cause them to ‘lose it’ might find similar courage to yours.

    We ‘do these things when the time is ‘right’ – but i feel most of us are too afraid to begine the process, to open up and let Him have control over such events in our lives and do not ‘Trust’ enough that He can… and that is quite sad, i feel.

    Well Done – and His Peace be with you always.

    <B

  16. Heidi permalink
    February 11, 2009 6:58 am

    As in the past 7 days .. very recent. 🙂

    hmm.. I used the counselor as more as a sounding board, I need a hum or an oh once in awhile in a conversation it seems for personal breakthroughs. Reading God’s word sometimes frustrates me because it’s not about the particular subject I may be facing (in my head) although I know God’s word is the source to my healing.

    My breakthrough has been happening in my blogging and my writing. I am trying to write my own book and already finished 3 chapters. It’s titled “unlocked”

    If I was to to give courage. “just do it” It’s hell crazy and scary and emotions start running and screaming, but God didn’t create these to be locked inside, He gave them to you, me, and everyone so that He may be seen.. Yes, there’s a fight. A battle and that’s where I put on my armor and recite Ephesians 6 over and over again.

    God’s grace is enough.

  17. tweena permalink
    February 11, 2009 8:30 pm

    Can you cross-stitch that on a pillow for me. I need to keep it close…really stuck me.

  18. February 12, 2009 6:07 pm

    That makes a lot of sense!

  19. February 12, 2009 6:58 pm

    heidi – you are a remarkable woman. and i am so honored to know you! thank you for courage to let go and trust!

  20. February 16, 2009 8:52 pm

    ABSOLUTELY. I’ve been working on turning that around alot here lately though. Seriously. If I could list them all, you’d be proud. 😉

Leave a Reply

