Skip to content

zippers, remodeling and bees – oh my!

February 19, 2009

wednesday morning – 10:00 a.m. it’s time to get out of my house, find a little cafe where i can write a little. i get in my car and head for jacksonville to a quaint coffee shop that has a great atmosphere and even better pastries. i arrive about 10 or so minutes later, walk in only to find no available seats. not one! for some reason i stood in line to order a coffee, all the while thinking “what tam? are you gonna sit on the ground and drink this? just leave.” do you know how embarrassing that is to walk into a store, then turn around and immediately walk out? weeeeird.

but i did.

so i drive back into town with another cafe in mind called the vault. i pull up and my phone rings. its the high school wanting me to come in right away to sub. decisions, decisions. i tell them i can’t. i have “appointments” for the afternoon. yay me!

i get out of the car, grab my puter, hold my head up high and walk toward the shop. what? what’s this??? a sign…

“sorry for the inconvenience. the vault is closed for remodeling. please check back.”

whuh-uht!! seriously?

phlurlrgul!!!

i get back into my car to head to another cafe in town, cafe diem. not thrilled about this last alternative. i don’t care for their coffee and the food is OH-ver priced. but i give it a shot anyway. i walk in and there’s only one person in there. JACK POT!

i walk up to the counter and order a decaf-skinny-mocha, reach down into my purse for my wallet and realize my zipper is down! sheesh, tam. get it together woman 😕

i laugh. finish dressing. walk over to the seating area. ya know…where the one person is? yah. the one person sitting at the table where the one and only electrical outlet resides. yeah-uh-huh. i know. remarkable, isn’t it? and he just happens to have a plug in there the size of a chihuahua. so i plop down near him and give him the evil look of christianly grace.

then. i write. i do ok. i wasn’t prepared like i should’ve been. i’m not in a “groove” yet. so lets just fast forward to my exit, shall we?

as if finding a place to write wasn’t entertaining enough for me this day, i now can’t get into my car. why, you ask? because there is a reunion, of sorts, taking place all around it. by a SWARM OF BEES! were God’s little angels feeling a little ornery this wednesday? perhaps a bit mischevious?

i start swooshing, flailing my arms and even flicked one of the boogers off my door. i get in quickly, take a breath and rush home. rush? yes. because the food i ate at the cafe i wasn’t thrilled about going to, wasn’t thrilled about being in my tummy either.

and this is the first installment of Writing Wednesday.

**********************************************************************

EDITED TO ADD

i wrote a post for ourcc that just went up. for all you a part of that community – go read for some encouragement 😉

33 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 1:40 am

    S.H.U.T.U.P.

    A freaking swarm of bees? It was just like the plight of Job, only your plight was bad service, incomplete dressing, bad coffee and having to share. But the swarm of bees… TOTALLY would’ve happened to Job.

    Maybe.

    Yeah, ok, maybe it just SEEMED like a Job moment to your friend who had wished you a perfect day. 🙂

    But on a high note, you totally had something to blog about 🙂

  2. February 19, 2009 2:44 am

    Classic. At least the guy in the coffee shop didn’t hit on you.

  3. February 19, 2009 3:52 am

    Oh dear! It’s like all the elements of the universe were having a laugh with you.

    I guess it makes for a good story though….

    Hope next Wednesday goes a little more smoothly.

  4. February 19, 2009 4:45 am

    hahaha!!

    Ok, ready? I find my best writing does not come at a schedule time but it does come because of a scheduled time. All of the scheduled time ultimately leads to some inspiration and in a couple of hours I might write one or two months worth of scheduled time. I cannot schedule those couple of hours so when it hits, I start typing. Think of Wednesdays (or at least some Wednesdays) as practice writing.

  5. February 19, 2009 4:58 am

    i’m so glad your zipper was down! you needed that giggle.

    keep at it. if God has prompted you to write out your story, you’ll honor Him by being obedient to the process. just ask Him to lead you to that process. He will. and i’m beginning to wonder if His process does NOT involve a coffee shop????

    try a library. i hear the other pages, the silence, and the smell of book spines can be very motivating. 🙂 just a thought.

  6. February 19, 2009 5:03 am

    I really just want to laugh, but since I seem to do that to Pokinatcha all the time, I’m trying not to…

    It’s not working though…

    Pity TokBox didn’t work for you today (I mean yesterday…it’s just gone Friday here…), but was good fun to see & hear you for a bit.

    Hope the next instalment is a bit more fruitful.

    At least the laughter has dropped to a smirk now…

  7. February 19, 2009 5:03 am

    You ever hear the joke about the guy in the flood, and the car, boat and helicopter come to rescue him? He turns them down saying “God will save me!” As the water is rising over the roof of his house and he’s drowning, he cries out “Why God, didn’t you save me?” To which God replies “I sent you a car, a boat and a helicopter? What more do you want?”

    After the second coffee shop, I think I’d be wondering if God had other plans for my day!

  8. February 19, 2009 5:09 am

    Hmmm.. Wonder what it would be like to have Tam as a sub teacher in High School.

    Tam: Ok everyone get out your iPhones and MacBooks, today we are going to learn blogging and twittering.

    Students Thinking to themselves: Do you think she knows her zipper is down?

    —-

    Keep at it Tam the groove will come.

    Peace and love

  9. February 19, 2009 5:48 am

    Oh dear!

    What a story…..

  10. February 19, 2009 6:51 am

    Now, I could be wrong, but your story just makes me think – WOW! God must have uh-MAZ-ing things planned for your book for the forces to be working So Hard against you!!!!

    Um, and to be honest, your story also made me laugh. sorry.

  11. Heidi permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:36 am

    Mary… You hit it right on the nose.

    This book is beyond our imagination of what God is going to do with it. So Satan just started stirring up the bees, cafe, zipper, and the school calling.

    Ya know what… God is going to honor you for turning down the money for Him.

    Just watch out!!!

  12. February 19, 2009 8:06 am

    I’m with the two above me there – Satan always tries any amount of petty (or not so petty) things to get us off track, uninspired, discouraged, and unproductive. Laugh in his face. Seriously. That’s all he had available? You’re on the winning side! (For me – I’m usually late to things. Just … happens. And frequently I find little resistance to my lateness. ;p But the times when I really make an effort to honor my husband and get somewhere on time … the universe sweeps down to intimidate me. I usually still end up late – through no fault of my own! But … it’s so obvious you know?

    And it totally was a funny story. No wonder the other cafe only had one person if there was one plug in the whole place. Sheesh!

  13. February 19, 2009 9:47 am

    im glad some of you got a laugh out of this. and honestly, it was kinda funny to me too. ask gitz. i called her to gripe a little about it 😀 thanks girl!

    i also believe too that the enemy does NOT want me to follow through. and….sorry sucker…but ive given you way toooo much control in this already. so i choose not to even acknowledge you. cuz you have no power over me. but thanks for playing and giving me a good laugh.

    as you were…

  14. February 19, 2009 10:23 am

    Did you happen to see my toilet paper at that coffee shop? I left it outside last time I was there… 😯

  15. boffthewall permalink
    February 19, 2009 10:37 am

    That would have made for a pretty hilarious SNL skit! Sorry about the bees though, there is NOTHING pleasant about those pesky buggers! 🙂

  16. February 19, 2009 1:21 pm

    this is funny. heehee 😆

    Did you see my sister?? 😉

  17. February 19, 2009 2:17 pm

    mandy – no. but i have a pic full of memories if you want that? 😀

    brandy – isnt your sister working in j’ville? i didnt go to that one. i went to the good bean. i forgot about pony espresso. next time!

  18. February 19, 2009 2:39 pm

    1. give thanks to the Lord above that you have that many cafe choices
    2. good job with the perseverance!!! seriously! After all of that, and you didn’t actually fire up the twitter and tell us all about it at that moment? THAT my friend was you flexing your giant self-discipline muscles. I’m proud of you.

    I like ric’s comment up at #4. That’s great encouragement for anyone trying to focus on a regular basis.

  19. February 19, 2009 3:25 pm

    You were griping? I didn’t notice through the smile of getting to hear your voice 🙂

  20. February 19, 2009 3:40 pm

    🙂

  21. February 19, 2009 4:23 pm

    sheer craziness.

    i’d have given up i think.

  22. February 19, 2009 5:07 pm

    Oh that is so sad that The Vault is remodelling…AGAIN! I do have to say though…that I think their food/drinks were better before they got bought out by the new owners. still good, just not great!

    And your bee story? Totally me….a week ago!

  23. February 19, 2009 5:10 pm

    what the heck??? seriously??? BEES?

    that’s awesome!

  24. February 19, 2009 6:04 pm

    Ok, that had me a little stressed out. I admire you for hanging in there bc I would have so ditched the idea and moved onto to something completely different.

    Per-se-dang-vere!!!

    And…..stupid bees. Seriously.

  25. February 19, 2009 6:26 pm

    So much craziness! Someday you should come to my coffee shop to write… it’s fairly quiet and I am pretty sure we have a bunch of plugs upstairs where the seating is.

    Also our coffee is better. 🙂

  26. February 19, 2009 9:21 pm

    pretty funny, tam. specially bout the bees! and the zipper. =)

  27. February 20, 2009 4:24 pm

    Yeah…I think you are in trouble with Brooke for not stopping by her shop…after all, it sounds like you went to every other shop in town!

  28. February 20, 2009 7:20 pm

    Welcome to MY world!

    Except those things more often happen these days when i am trying to help out some friends by taking them to a nice restaurant (closed today for ‘family’ reasons) or show them something unique (only open Tuesday to Friday – we show up Monday!) etc etc so i end up looking like a dork who is jinxed (“love’s luck” has become a frequent expression – fortunately they are VERY forgiving (good) friends).

    It’s the first day – if this keeps happening by the fifth Wednesdaythen i might think God has other plans.

    I would NOT under any circumstances suggest you try tempting Satan to ‘Bring it On’

    Resisting ‘temptation’ when it shows up is one thing (that Jesus did!) – Asking for ‘trouble’ was not. Trust me – Satan is NOT someone you ever want to P Off!

    I’m so glad you stuck it out and saw this day ( morning) through Hun 🙂

    <B

  29. February 20, 2009 7:37 pm

    hey Love – maybe we’re related! my big brother perhaps? got 5 bucks??? 😀

    and im not tempting satan. at all. im stating a fact. when i say im not acknowledging him, im saying i refuse to fall into his traps by allowing his schemes to dictate the outcome of my efforts. and also…great is HE who IS in me. amen!

  30. February 20, 2009 7:38 pm

    oh. and my guess is…satan already IS pissed off 😉

  31. March 9, 2009 3:45 am

    SO impressed and motivated that you persevered and DID it. YAY you!

Trackbacks

  1. By George, I think I’ve got it!! « JustLori
  2. Sharing Sunday « Our Creative Community

Leave a Reply

