Skip to content

quote

February 23, 2009

Never argue with a fool. Someone watching may not be able to tell the difference. – anonymous

i heart this quote. seriously. that is a good word right there!

what is your favorite quote?

[yes. i am brain dead and couldn’t come up with a post. my sincere apologies.]





26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 11:39 pm

    Changes every day – currently it is:

    ” It is human nature to think wisely and act in an absurd fashion – Anatole France

    🙂

    <B

  2. traciejane permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:24 am

    I think this one would be my favorite ever:

    “One of the most difficult tests of our faithfulness to God’s call comes when His timing of events does not correspond with our expectations. Many of us will give up and move on to a place or task where success comes easier and sooner. But a few will remain where God sent them-in spite of disappointment, suffering and lack of results. They will cling to His promises, learn endurance and, in His time, reap a mighty harvest.”

    ~K.P. Yohannan

  3. February 24, 2009 4:42 am

    Love’s quote is great, I’ve been thinking about today.

    And now yours Tam, which to me says something very very similar. And reminds me of some of the stuff I see on Twitter from time to time…sometimes I wanna jump in (actually lots of the time), but I know it’s a lost cause.

    I’ve never been a quote person myself. Don’t know why. I’m also close to being brain-dead, and bed beckons, so I’m not going to ponder that too deeply.

    Anyway, better go and put on my fluoro jammies and go sleep under the glitterball… 😉

  4. February 24, 2009 5:04 am

    TOTALLY a good quote… yes, YES!

    The quote I’m chewing on most these days is the one I’ve got on my sidebar…

    “It’s not only children who grow. Parents do too. As much as we watch to see what our children do with their lives, they are watching us to see what we do with ours. I can’t tell my children to reach for the sun. All I can do is reach for it, myself.”

    — Joyce Maynard

  5. February 24, 2009 5:04 am

    Do or do not… there is no try. —Yoda

  6. February 24, 2009 5:09 am

    “Preach the gospel everyday of your life. If necessary, use words.” St. Francis of Assisi

  7. February 24, 2009 5:14 am

    “Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear – not absence of fear. ”

    Mark Twain

  8. February 24, 2009 5:18 am

    Why is there so much space between your last line and the comment button? Strange…
    hi

  9. Heidi permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:28 am

    I love quotes. So I have so many, this week probably this one:

    “Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, it’s at the end of your arm, as you get older, remember you have another hand: The first is to help yourself, the second is to help others” Audrey Hepburn

    Love you

  10. Jim2 permalink
    February 24, 2009 6:22 am

    I’d heard this quote before, but was unaware of the context until I saw it on Randy Alcorn’s blog talking about are we willing to be hated for the cause of Christ (rather than because we are hateful) http://randyalcorn.blogspot.com/2009/01/are-you-willing-to-be-hated-for.html As D. L. Moody said when someone criticized his approach to evangelism, “I like the way I do it better than the way you don’t do it.”

  11. February 24, 2009 7:05 am

    I love quotes! Yours is a good one. My favorite is the one I have on my blog:

    The thing that is really hard, and really amazing, is giving up on being perfect and beginning the work of becoming yourself.
    ~ Anna Quindlen

  12. February 24, 2009 8:00 am

    I love love love this one. Made me chuckle a little because it reminded me of a time that I did just that.

    “There is no success in life to be found apart from right living.”

  13. February 24, 2009 9:28 am

    That’s a great quote.

    My favourite is an Albert Einstein quote that has encouraged me for years, especially when I feel shot down or attacked and negated/invalidated:

    “Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.”

  14. February 24, 2009 9:57 am

    i have so many more awesome quotes to ad to my book. these are great ones!!!

    mandy- i have NO idea. i couldnt fix it when editing. grrr.

  15. February 24, 2009 2:29 pm

    In [God’s] hands the pain and hurt look less like scars and more like character. -Sara Groves, Less Like Scars

  16. February 24, 2009 5:04 pm

    My three favorites that I try to live by:

    “Have courage for the great sorrows in life and patience for the small ones. And when you have finished your daily task, go to sleep in peace. God is awake.”
    ~Victor Hugo

    “It is such folly to pass one’s time fretting instead of resting quietly on the heart of Jesus.”
    ~ St. Therese of Lisieux

    “I can be changed by what happens to me. I refuse to be reduced by it.”
    ~Maya Angelou

  17. February 24, 2009 7:05 pm

    “Question everything” – Albert Einstein

    I don’t really have one. haha. That is a real quote, and it’s the first that popped into my head – and one I can relate to for sure – but … I don’t do favorites very well.

  18. February 24, 2009 8:50 pm

    Ohhh, I’m borrowing this…(stealing)….. : )

    I’m in Corvallis, I teach and husband is on staff at a local church!

  19. February 27, 2009 4:21 pm

    Your quote collection is fabulous, woman!

  20. March 1, 2009 12:05 pm

    Ok. Seriously. Asking about a favorite quote is a HARD question…

    There’s this line in 28 Days at the end where she tells her (ex)boyfriend that she’s trying to make her outsides match her insides. That might be my favorite…

    Hmmm… maybe I’m gonna watch 28 Days today. 🙂

  21. March 1, 2009 12:22 pm

    I can’t find 28 Days. It’s my favorite. DANGIT.

    Do you have it??
    TAMMIT!!!!

  22. March 1, 2009 12:28 pm

    It’s gone.
    GGGRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. March 1, 2009 12:29 pm

    SURSLY.
    This ain’t funny.

  24. March 1, 2009 12:47 pm

    I’m still bitter.
    ok.
    bye now.

  25. March 1, 2009 1:17 pm

    I decided to eat caramel ice-cream to numb the pain. It didn’t work. And now I should go to the gym…. sigh

    Ok. bye again.

  26. March 1, 2009 9:18 pm

    Drew suggested I watch Miss Congeniality instead – he even said he’d watch it with me…. I didn’t.
    BUT, later tonight, I called him on my way home from a women’s worship service – he said he was watching “a movie”…
    What movie?
    Miss Congeniality.
    All by himself….
    WHEN did my husband start liking chick-flicks?!?

    AND WHERE IS MY 28 DAYS??????
    tammit

Leave a Reply

