Skip to content

pick your phobia

February 26, 2009

i think phobia words are interesting. but i had no idea there were so many of them. i stumbled onto a list of phobias and found some pretty interesting ones. here are a few.

motor vehicles – motophobia … can i just say, i love to say the word “vehicular”?

mother-in-law –  pentheraphobia

thinking – phronemophobia

fecal matter – scatophobia

figure 8 – octophobia … really?

phobias – phobophobia … hahahahaha!

ants – Pmyrmecophobia … thats ME!

chins – geniophobia … only if mine starts growing hair

fear of long words – hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia

k. you have to admit, some of these are pretty funny and almost sound made up.

so…i thought we can come up with our own phobias!

i’ll start.

fear of…

blog block – illpostophobia

doorknobs – inoroutophobia

thumbs – fonzophobia

shag carpet – deshagophobia

come on! it’s late. i’m tired.

your turn.

GO!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2009 12:12 am

    Fear of: Trying – icantophobia.
    Flying – Splatophobia
    Dieing – Endophobia
    Dyeing – Chromophobia (from the Greek: khroma – colour)
    Crying – Tearyphobia
    Buying – Cashsplashophobia 🙂
    Lying – Pinocchiophobia.

    <B

  2. February 27, 2009 12:13 am

    Last one might also apply to fear of long noses.

    Fear of CHINS??? what the heck is THAT about?? 😯

    <B

  3. February 27, 2009 12:59 am

    PCs- Windozophobia

    Hangnailophobia–self explanatory

    publicfartophobia–Yeah, that skeers me

    tripandfallonmyfaceophobia–Got great balance for a fat guy, but still…I’m skeered

    cantmakeittothepottyophobia–Yeah, well as you said, it’s late…Oh wait, its 10am. sorry, no excuse then :-).

  4. February 27, 2009 2:06 am

    emetophobia – fear of vomit.

    If you look it up in the dictionary there is a a picture of me there.

    looflushophobia – fear of the toilet flushing (anyone else terrified of that when they were a kid?!)

  5. February 27, 2009 3:06 am

    Nocommentaphobia–Fear of no comments on you blog.

    Statadownaphobia– Fear your blog stats will go down

    Twitignoraphoboia– The fear your blog has that you will ignore it for twitter. (I think we know who’s blog has this one 😉 😀 )

    @aphbioa- the fear of no replys on twitter

    RTaphobia – the fear of not being re-tweeted.

    I am sure I will have more as the day goes on.

    Peace and Love

  6. February 27, 2009 4:59 am

    Can’t drive by a coffee shop – brewaphobia

    old age – past 65 – almostgonephobia

    where’s mama ? – gottahavephobia

  7. February 27, 2009 5:10 am

    Twitaspamaphobia – fear of spam followers
    Phishaphobia – fear of important fake letters from your bank
    Googledomiphobia – fear that one day every website will be owned by Google.
    Bigpilesostuffophobia – fear of my desk.
    Twangaphobia – fear of a snapping guitar string during a poignent worship moment.

  8. February 27, 2009 5:35 am

    I have nothing to add. But I feel the obligation to publicly declare that your made up words had me laughing OUT LOUD this morning. Throwing my head back and everything. For some reason, I honestly didn’t see it coming.
    You have officially made my day.
    Thank you for bringing funny back…

  9. February 27, 2009 5:54 am

    Fear of photographers -stoleasoulaphobia
    Fear of worship songs – repeatachorusaphobia
    Fear of Heaven – Ilikeithotaphobia
    Fear of the beach – sandinmycrackaphobia

    Well that was fun. Great blog.

  10. February 27, 2009 6:05 am

    dropareaderphobia fear of declining RSS subscribers.
    manwichaphobia fear of sloppy joes.
    latherupaphobia fear of shower gel and/or loofas.
    engagephobia fear of deep conversation.

    and two that I struggle with in a major way:

    judosimianiaphobia fear of karate monkeys.
    conflagrantrockymountaincanaryeophobia fear of fiery donkeys.

  11. February 27, 2009 6:17 am

    Very funny. I’m barely awake and not feeling creative, but thanks for the smiles 🙂

  12. February 27, 2009 7:12 am

    Pognophobia always makes me giggle. Not because a fear of beards is funny but because the sound of the word amuses me.

    Pog, pog, pog.

    He he.

  13. February 27, 2009 7:17 am

    Coulrophobia…fear of clowns…

    I really truly want to punch everyone of them I see in the face…I know, not very Christian.

    The worst of all are the Shriners Clowns….lord help me

  14. February 27, 2009 7:28 am

    Haha, Joseph! Clowns can be scary!

    All of these are so funny. I’m terrified of trains. Would that be railaphobia? I don’t know. I can’t even think about too many train words, and I’m not funny this morning. Can I just laugh at everyone else’s clever ideas? 🙂

  15. February 27, 2009 7:28 am

    can you imagine being afraid of thinking? Geesh. That would be like borderline insanity

  16. February 27, 2009 7:38 am

    fear of doctors: probophobia

    fear of OBGYN: ohnoyoudontophobia

    fear of orthopedic surgeons: ohnotagainophobia

    fear of physical therapists: ouchophobia

    Ok, so you can see that i’m a little hung up on the medical stuff right now…

  17. February 27, 2009 8:16 am

    squishedheadphotophobia— Fear of the first picture in your flicker photos —->

  18. February 27, 2009 9:06 am

    Fear of hair cuts – buzzphobia (my boys have this)
    Fear of my kids getting hurt – momworryphobia
    Fear of my kids growing up, leaving – momwon’tletgophobia
    Fear of not having chips – munchlessphobia (I love chips)
    Fear of running out of coke – musthavecokephobia

  19. February 27, 2009 9:44 am

    I’m thinking I have too many real phobias to go making up new ones. Wait. I get it. Pull out the really weird ones, like

    swervenflyophobia–fear of loosing control in a curve

    ickybicophobia–fear of using community ink pens at the bank or grocery store

    whosehandshavebeenhereophobia– fear of shopping cart handles and used books

    fecalbristleophobia–fear of fecal matter getting into the bristles of your toothbrush when you flush the potty (I am responsible for at least one person developing this phobia–he keeps his toothbrush in his nightstand)

    flatufalbeverophobia–fear of tiny stink particles from flatulence falling into one’s drink. These people are easy to spot as they immediately pop their hand over their drink if someone passes gas.

  20. February 27, 2009 9:59 am

    nosebagphobia-yes its true I have that condition…extra nosey people who ask many questions without really being close enough to know me, scare me to death! I will instantly withdrawal, and wear cheap sunglasses hoping to diguise myself whenever they are approaching..

    also fatmouthphobia- similiar to nosebagphobia yet slightly different…the fat mouth usually speaks at the wrong times, loudly and profanely, insisting on knowing everything, while ignorance falls from their mouth…those really scare me too! 🙄

  21. February 27, 2009 11:18 am

    (Muah! forgot to say..LOVE YOU!)

  22. Gabriel permalink
    February 27, 2009 1:32 pm

    wasnt the fear of long words from me? anyways, those are some pretty nice words 😛

    Cant think of any but I made up one:

    icantthinkofaphobiaphobia

  23. February 27, 2009 3:29 pm

    gabriel – youve mentioned it before – ive known about it for awhile and its actually a real word. very funny! i like your made up phobia 😆

  24. February 27, 2009 3:30 pm

    fear of having to look at someone elses pimple = iwantapopyourzitophobia

  25. February 27, 2009 4:05 pm

    unibrowphobia- scary stuff 😆

  26. Heidi permalink
    February 27, 2009 4:31 pm

    I read this post 3 times and I can’t think,

    It’s either I’ve grown another grey hair OR it’s lack of sleep!

  27. February 27, 2009 9:09 pm

    Fear of having to make up phobias and then have mental block – makeupblockphobia

  28. March 4, 2009 5:49 pm

    one of my life goals is to learn how to say “hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia” correctly.

  29. PiterMcfersonz permalink
    June 29, 2011 9:15 pm

    I will be straight-forward: no one like when things like this happen to them. So, I have to reveal this fairly safe experience

  30. Sandy permalink
    January 8, 2013 6:13 am

    Bovinaphobia: The fear that cows are watching you.

Leave a Reply

