Skip to content

my week at twitter

March 6, 2009

My son, @kotaincahoots , cleaned his room w/out being asked today, then came out & said lunch smelled “delightful”. Huh???

@dg4G it could be catastrophic to put a match anywhere near @inworship

“Use soft words and hard arguments.” – Anonymous

ok. time to make myself presentable. wish me luck! or, wish others luck. either way.

my deodorant tastes salty. dont ask.

Daughter had appt today. Waited for dr. in the exam room for an HOUR!!! Yah. I had words with her. (Dr.)

http://twitpic.com/1umtr – Filling out some medical paper work. They asked!

@jclayville i cant watch scary movies. @inworship LOVES them. but we all know he aint right.

@kotaincahoots STOP JUMPING ON YOUR BED!

my XM stations at home dont have a disco channel. FAIL.

im out of hormone pills. thinkin of not paying the 46 bucks to get more and just quit cold-turkey. hmmm…

“You can’t build a reputation on what you are going to do.”- Henry Ford

i just consumed 200 calories in less than 3 minutes. one pop tart. ONE! sigh.

http://twitpic.com/1w4gn – Salon Mama at it again!

“Don’t be afraid to go out on a limb. That’s where the fruit is.”H. Jackson Browne

@franthomas it is so ok in our church not to be ok. and if someones not ok with that, then thats not ok. seriously.

******************************************************************************************************************

whats the longest youve waited in a dr’s office? and did you say anything to the doc about it?

do you watch scary movies?

whats your favorite snack food?


22 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 11:36 pm

    twtitter? haha. I think the longest I’ve ever waited was probably 30 minutes. But a different time at the orthodontists office I waited for 1 hour. The assistants got their wires crossed and forgot to tell the doctor she needed to see me. Yah, it’s boring sitting in a chair for an hour…

    Scary movies? Definitely not. I have a bad habit of not sleeping after watching them. I watched Nightmare on Elm Street in 6th grade (even though I wasn’t supposed to) and couldn’t sleep without the light on for about a week! The Ring didn’t fare well either.

    Snack food varies on mood. If it’s salty definitely either Cheez-its or Salt & Vinegar chips. If it’s sweet then Dark Chocolate or Raisenets 😀

  2. March 6, 2009 11:37 pm

    i almost never go to a Dr’s EARLIER than the appointment time. About an hour – give or take – for a ‘6 minute’ consult. And no – i have had the same Dr for some 20 years and hew was always methodical and slow when you visited him but usually not many patients and no double bookings so you got reasonable service.. then he moved into a ‘multi-practice’ set of waiting rooms and they book like crazy and he gets WAY behind schedule (and THEY double and even triple book the same sessions, i’m sure) I don’t waste my breath.

    Sure! scarier the better – have not physically ‘jumped’ at a movie though since i first saw ‘Jaws’ in the early 80’s Movies seem to have lost the art of creating suspense – either going for gore and special effects or dragging it out in too predictable a fashion nowadays. 😦

    i gotta pick just ONE??? 😯 – mmmmm… fruit! No – yoghurt! – No! Fruit! 🙂

    <B

  3. March 6, 2009 11:39 pm

    No – wait – can i say Chocolate??? 😀

    (but only on alternate, odd-numbered days – it’s a diet thing)

    <B

  4. March 7, 2009 12:04 am

    My main doctor, Annie, is my own personal God-send. She was the one who kept pushing until I found the right diagnosis and kept me sane. Back in the day, I would wait 3 hours in the waiting room and an hour in the exam room… but it was worth it. Now that I am as bad as I am, she has me make my appointments on the day they don’t normally see patients so I get right in and am not exposed to unnecessary illness. I think wait times are atrocious, but if you’re sick enough and need a good doctor, it’s worth the wait.

    I like suspenseful movies where there are lots of twists and turns and mysteries, but not scary movies. Will not watch scary movies to save my life.

    Favorite snack food? I’ve been craving oranges like a maniac lately… but I do love me a frozen oreo. Or a microwave s’more.

  5. March 7, 2009 12:36 am

    2hrs in the walk-in clinic for Doc. When I had cut myself and needed stitches! I brought an ice pack in with me. and by the time the Doc got there the ice had melted and the blood was starting to pour. It was bad!

    fav. snack food right now? would have to be banana pudding in the little triangle type container, with a little cool whip sprayed on top! It tastes like a banana creme pie. mmm… yummy 😛

    Scary movies? hmmm…i suppose i do sometimes. I really don’t like them though.

    Although my fav. scary movie would have to be: Sixth Sense
    have you seen it?

    I’m on Twitter too.
    Follow me if you like.
    http://twitter.com/Demara

  6. March 7, 2009 6:11 am

    1) I don’t remember and probably not
    2) Only if they are by M. Knight Shyamalan. And only the not-so-scary ones by him.
    3) Anything from your pantry.

  7. March 7, 2009 6:18 am

    PS: I noticed. At second glance. Happy?

  8. March 7, 2009 7:20 am

    1. I waited for an hour in the lobby & finally got called back. Then waited for 30 min. in the private room. I got up & walked to the front counter & told them I was leaving & would not pay for the visit since I never got to see anyone. Walked next door to urgent care & was in & out in 30 min.

    2. I never watch scary movies. I still have nightmares. I don’t watch the news for that same reason.

    3. Pringles.

  9. Heidi permalink
    March 7, 2009 7:39 am

    (ahemm.. you missed something)

    1 hour

    nope.. I am not a scary movie kinda of person

    depends on my mood salty or sweet

  10. March 7, 2009 8:28 am

    uno. not sure. never had to wait that long.
    dos. i’m with mandy. only the m. night shamalamamalamamalaman.
    tres. currently? fresh cut pineapple a la hubby. he’s so the best at cutting them. i don’t go near them until he’s done! but they’re sooooooooooo much better than the canned version!

  11. March 7, 2009 10:53 am

    1) I waited an hour in the exam room for the gynecologist the first time I went. It just HAD to be that kind of appointment the one time I had to wait a significant amount of time. I didn’t say anything…I was already anxiety-ridden.

    2) I’ll watch them, but they’re not a preference. I enjoy them for the humor. The last movie I found scary was the Sixth Sense. Oh, Identity is a pretty good one too.

    3) Goldfish. Or cookie dough pop tarts.

  12. March 7, 2009 11:01 am

    dang it.

    i spelled “twitter” twTitter”

    sigh.

    i fixed it.

  13. March 7, 2009 11:44 am

    I do NOT watch scary movies. No can do. I have trouble seeing what people see in them. (Darkness? Evil? Fear? How is that entertaining? Perhaps inworship can shed some light on the matter.)

  14. March 7, 2009 12:03 pm

    annie – i know. the scary movie does nothing for me either.

    ive asked brent before about this. the fact is, hes just not easily spooked. but i remember once he told me that having worked in a production company before and being a part of all the behind the scenes goings ons, that he cant watch movies without seeing the grips, camera men, craft services table with all the doughnuts and chips on it, cabling, lighting, and boom mics hovering over each scene. thats what he sees. but hes weird.

    i prefer a good comedy!!

  15. March 7, 2009 2:41 pm

    Ok so… First I’m hooked to twitter because of your interesting twitter weekly updates and my deciding to check it out and falling in love… LOL SO… if you don’t mind… I’ll also take your idea of twitter updates on wordpress cuz I think it’s just too great of stuff not to share wit people… 🙂

    For your questions:

    I’ve waited 4 hours for a dr before and I was highly upset about it…

    I watch SOME scary movies… they don’t scare me… and as long as the plot it good they’re enjoyable just as any other genre of movie…. Now… I’m picky with the ones I do watch… I mean there is a difference between scary and horror… and just the underlying influences therein… ok sorry for the sermon… all that to say I’ll watch a non-demonic scary movie anyday and others not so much

    My favorite snack food is CLEARLY pop tarts which is what prompted a 45 min twitter about it 😉 That the instigator left *cough* *cough*

  16. March 7, 2009 3:43 pm

    I waited two hours in the waiting room t and then another hour in the little room. It was a follow up appointment for my blood pressure…which was extremely high when the doctor finally came in. I told them it was low when I got there, three hours ago. At my next appointment I only had to wait ten minutes.

    Scary movies, I’m not to into scary movies but I do like a good ghost story once in a while.

    My favorite snack food lately has been celery and ranch dip.

  17. March 7, 2009 3:47 pm

    My longest wait in a doctor’s office was when I took my 90 year old mother-in-law who had Alzheimer’s to one of her appointments. The doctor made us wait for 1 hour in the waiting room. MIL was confused about why we were there and kept wanting to leave. She wore Depends and I was praying for no accidents that I would have had to clean up (sorry). And yes, I had words with that doctor and he never made us wait that long again.

    I don’t watch scary movies. I have enough fears already and I don’t want movies to put more fear into my mind.

    My favorite snack food is probably tortilla chips and salsa. Even better… add guacamole.

  18. March 7, 2009 8:55 pm

    well at least twtitter is really fun to say.

  19. March 8, 2009 5:18 am

    Longest doc wait was 2 hours… In parts of Oz, where docs are few, this is normal. Unfun, but normal… The docs usually apologise profusely before you’d have a chance to say anything to them anyway.

    I like a certain breed of scary movies, but I’m more suspense or just plain twisted…like Memento

    Doritos Cheese Supreme if I’m going with store-bought, otherwise any of the goodies @machroi bakes when she’s not editing videos for church.

  20. March 8, 2009 6:13 pm

    David, Memento was brilliant!

  21. March 8, 2009 7:27 pm

    A week ago I sat for two hours at urgent care. I did say something, but I was feeling so horrible that I didn’t push too hard even when the doc didn’t say much and just offered me vicodin since I wasn’t fighting a bacterial flu. HUH? Once I was officially out of my pj’s I let them know how I felt about my visit.

    I like mildly scary psychological thrillers. I still may have to close my eyes from time to time like for Silence of The Lambs.

    Right now my favorite snack food is plain potato chips.

  22. March 8, 2009 7:42 pm

    Tam? Ever parachuted? Bungee-jumped? Base Jumped? Put your physical life in a place where there is danger for the thrill of the adrenalin rush you get by ‘cheating’ death?

    Me either but it’s all about the natural high you get from adrenaline. (so i’m told, frankly i think the proponents are just nuts) 😉

    The scary movie thing has something of that about it… you get a bigger ‘buzz’ from your entertainment than you get from a ‘normal’ (and so therefore ‘boring’, for some) movie.

    Unless it has a good engaging storyline as well though you might as well go and jump of a cliff…. (don’t forget the parachute!) 🙂

    i didn’t say scary movies were my favourite kind, as i did say, i have not seen a ‘good’ one in quite a while.

    it’s a case of different strokes for different folks i s’pose?

    <B

Leave a Reply

