Skip to content

and mine shall be called…

March 10, 2009

Portions – “it’s what you need

i’ve always thought, if i had enough money to open a restaurant i would call it “Portions”.

and you might have guessed…i would only serve the correct portions of food. now, i know this may not go over well with most people. but it should! we eat WAY too much food.

i wouldn’t necessarily serve only “healthy” food, by way of preparation and such…but i would give you the correct amount. bad food is bad but is even worse when overly consumed. but it isn’t that bad in moderation, right? right.

i’d probably charge a flat rate for lunch and a flat rate for dinner. say… 7 bucks and 10 bucks. i dunno. just throwing stuff out there.

anyhoo…if you had all the money you needed to start up a business or to invent something new…what would it be?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 10:36 pm

    AMEN! to ‘Portions’ – Please open a branch in Perth – ‘k?

    Split the money 50-50.

    Half to fund my invention of a battery that is ‘rechargeable’ through human kinetic energy – we waste enormous amounts of our useable energy that would be put to better use powering our laptops, i-pods, blackberry’s, torches, i-phones, mp3 players, etc etc. and we would save the massive polution problem of ‘used’ batteries that pumps milions of tonnes of heavy metal waste into our environemnt each year.

    Half to go into forming an outreach program that draws in the ‘wasted’ youth who have no decent role models to follow, teaching them how to look within and find their talent ( gift) so they can build up self-respect in positive ways rather than in destructive and negative ones as many do now. Mentors needed! Once successful i would ‘export it’ far and wide.:-)

    <B

  2. March 10, 2009 11:04 pm

    [but i like leftovers, tam! there’s something to be said for getting two meals outta my eat-out experience…]

  3. March 11, 2009 12:01 am

    First time I was in the US I was blown away by how HUGE the portions were. And most Americans complain our serving sizes are way too small when they visit here.

    Perspective, I guess 🙂 And yes, everything in moderation = healthy attitude.

    Anyway, while I’m eating my nouvelle cuisine portion sizes, I’d like to invent the definitive doovalacky. It would sell like hotcakes along with all the thing-a-ma-jigs and thing-a-ma-bobs.

  4. March 11, 2009 12:09 am

    On a more serious note – I am totally behind love’s battery thing. We are such horrendous users of energy. And companies like Honda are proving that it can be done so much better when we put our minds to it with their funky Clarity. Not perfect sure, but a step in the right direction.

  5. March 11, 2009 12:14 am

    If I had enough money to start up a business, I think I would start my own stationary shop! I love designing my own stationary in Illustrator, and I love card making.

    Our portion sizes are HUGE! I agree though, whenever we go out, I usually ask for a box as soon as we get our food, and box up 1/2 of it for the next days lunch. 🙂 (The exception is Red Robin. Burgers are gross reheated)

  6. March 11, 2009 1:25 am

    It would have to be The Bloggers Cafe! A kind of “artsy” environment with a Starbucks tilt for creative minds to come pour it out.
    With FREE wifi, no doubt!

    Let me just say this: As I sit here in the AM and skim through the 70 or so blogs I subscribe to, I noticed that this and about 4 others are actually read completely. To me, that says a lot about the content here.

    Thanks for that!

  7. Heidi permalink
    March 11, 2009 3:58 am

    I do believe most portions are too big. EXCEPT sushi, there’s never enough sushi. I guess because it’s so dang expensive!!!

    Definately a bed and breakfast… Probably on the Oregon coast (like Coos Bay)
    or maybe in Bend.

    Or maybe in Maine

    Anywhere… I guess.

  8. March 11, 2009 4:11 am

    A dinner theater/art gallery! Working towards getting it open in 3-5 years. Overlooking Lake Michigan. Yup, definitely with you on portions. Go to expensive restaurants, you get a tiny bit of food on tiny plates…only they are not really tiny, they are NORMAL portions! lol! I used to work at a restaurant in town here, and watch people consume 3000 calories in ONE meal, just because of huge portions! Crazy!

  9. March 11, 2009 4:16 am

    A coffee/book/lunch place, with an outdoor area so people could bring their dogs. With a garden them. Flowers everywhere.

  10. March 11, 2009 5:21 am

    I would come to your restaurant. I’ve always dreamed of building a rustic coffee shop/recording studio/radio station in the mountains of Colorado. There would be a rec room for youth to hang out late into the night and the radio station would play anything but what is already on the radio.

    Apparently I’ve given this a lot of thought…..hmmmm….

  11. March 11, 2009 6:14 am

    Mmmmm. Portions.

    Unlimited resources? Hmm, I’d probably design and develop a subscription based children’s ministry program creator. Especially geared towards churches that may not be able to hire a huge staff or build Disney World in their children’s wing.

    It would be a “block driven” software that allows the user to download blocks of content to create a customized children’s gathering from start to finish…complete with original music and just the right “portion sized” teaching and activity blocks.

    I don’t know. I might have thought about this a few times. 🙂

    It’s not to say that small churches HAVE to do children’s ministry on a grand scale, but when kid’s zone out on nickelodeon and disney all week and then come to a flannel board sunday school class…we kind of wonder why we turn a way for a second and then look back to see them sitting on the ceiling, hanging out a window, or eating the paper fishes and loaves that were supposed to be in the baskets on the board next to the Disciples.

  12. March 11, 2009 6:40 am

    Oh goodness, me?

    I have inventions flitting through my head constantly. Never enough to actually remember/implement them. My own business? I really don’t know. The thought of owning my own business really scares me more than thrills me. Perhaps it is still in my future somewhere.

    Love your idea. And working in restaurants for 11 years – yes, our portion sizes are WAY too big. Completely ridiculous. It gets on my nerves, actually, because so many things would function better if the portion sizes (and content in most cases!) were accurate. I get frustrated with the fact that many of our portion sizes are enough for two meals – and thus many people don’t get anything other than the meal. I know this may sound like a good idea to many, but have a relaxing, 2 – 3 course meal is much more satisfying to the guest than a one-hit wonder. And plus – lots of people can’t eat the portions to begin with so they split food. And yes – a lot of this is from the perspective of the money involved. But I’m on the end that makes a living off of that money. I make a larger tip on a larger tab; the restaurant makes more of a profit on higher sales – the whole thing runs on people buying stuff. So I feel like it shoots everybody on our end in the foot to make portion sizes SO huge that no one other than a body builder could properly eat it! And on the other end – I mean, do people really enjoy feeling like they have to roll themselves out of the restaurant? Do youreally like that the majority of options when you go out to eat could take a week for your system to get over? Doesn’t sound so enjoyable to me. And as a completely ‘nuther side note: people think they can’t eat salad before a meal because they won’t have enough room. I have discovered an interesting phenomenon, though. Vegetables and leafy greens eaten before a meal, actually helps you eat the entree. Fancy that! The crazy health food people were right! I have observed this, though, just by waiting tables. The times I get ‘oh my goodness, I couldn’t possibly fit another bite in!!’ with expressions of very-near illness, is when folks went straight to the entree. When they have a salad – not so much. Almost regardless of what entree they have.

    Ok, anyhoo. So I apparently went on a mini-rant there. :] Loves y’alls!

  13. March 11, 2009 6:46 am

    I would definitely buy all the expensive outboard gear I to start a pro studio.

  14. March 11, 2009 9:17 am

    I love the restaurant idea! I’m always amazed when people criticize a place for “small portions,” I suppose I view food as quality over quantity…

    I think I’d open a boutique of some kind. My wife and I love clothes, music and a touch of everything else. I’d just want to open a cool shoppe, who knows if we’d sell anything 🙂

  15. March 11, 2009 9:35 am

    I love your business idea! It reminds me of my favourite restaurant in Victoria called The Green Cuisine.and I totally agree we do eat too much food.

  16. March 11, 2009 10:05 am

    toby – that is the biggest blogging compliment. i am totally humbled by that. thank you!!

  17. March 11, 2009 10:19 am

    mandy, that is a cool site. i love the page where you select what food needs to be used up then a bunch of recipes pop up. brilliant!

    thanks

  18. March 11, 2009 10:50 am

    Portions is BRILLIANT!!! I think it should be a side-by-side venture with Alece’s Leftovers (kind of like how KFC and Long John Silver’s is together… only your restaurant would be cool and hip).

    Eat at Portions and get a to-go from Leftovers on the way out to have for lunch the next day. Or, if you’re like me, for a midnight snack…

  19. March 11, 2009 11:00 am

    i’m in, fritz!

    (and i’ll join you for that midnight snack!)

  20. Heidi permalink
    March 11, 2009 11:11 am

    or for breakfast!!!

    nothing like chinese for breakfast!!

  21. March 11, 2009 11:16 am

    hahahahahahaha!!!!

    😆

  22. March 11, 2009 11:29 am

    mmm… chinese. Alece, could you bring Chinese for our midnight snack tonight? i’ll pay you when you get here.

  23. March 11, 2009 3:33 pm

    on.
    my.
    way.

  24. March 11, 2009 3:48 pm

    I would open a Men’s Custom Clothing store….high end suits, ties etc.

    Strnage, but I have always wanted to do this.

  25. March 11, 2009 9:23 pm

    i luv Annie – just wanted to say dat 🙂

    Heidi – i think it might also have something to do with the Japanese (who are mostly a small bunch-o-folk – excepting the Sumo!!!) 🙂 having a far better idea of what constitutes ‘sufficient’ than Americans generally do – bigger does not equate to ‘better’.

    It’s about a balance between quality and quantity – which is exactly what our bodies need and we are so badly forgetting in our modern world.

    ***********
    It is actually healthier for us (we live longer, more productive and effective lives) if we leave a meal feeling like we could eat ‘more’, if we are always partly ‘hungry’, than if we actually force ourselves to fit all we are offered in ‘because we paid for this’! (or even worse because they are giving it ‘for free’).

    A partly empty digestive system works best allowing the maximum conversion of nutrients to meet the body’s need – not overloading it so it has to strain to function at all.

    And i learned his the hard way 🙂

    <B

  26. March 13, 2009 11:16 am

    That’s a good idea Tam.

Leave a Reply

