Skip to content

today

March 13, 2009

today, friday, is supposed to be a beautiful day. with temps nearing 70 degrees and a mostly sunny sky. aaahhhhhh…..

[back to you, charlie…]

brent and i will be doing lots of yard work today. im planting bulbs. is it too late for that? i dunno.

kass is singing the national anthem for her school this morning. video to follow.

she’s also going to the spring dance later tonight. πŸ˜• i mean, πŸ™‚ i’m so happy for her. but dang it…out all night, with hormonal boys in the same room. with music. and dancing. oy.

brent and i chaperoned one of these dances once and hold-me-down-make-me-blush-get-them-off-the-dance-floor was that an experience!

kota is playing drums for his music class today. i’m so proud of him!

i’m gonna try to drink my weight, only changing pounds to ounces, in water today. or not. i’ll let you know.

ever so grateful for Gods patience with me. ever humbled by His mercy.

i have a lot going through my head right now. it’s been a weird couple of days. thinking about writing a disclaimer of sorts here for the blog. i’m letting that thought brew a bit more before i decide.

speaking of brew…this is my 11th day without coffee! yay! i don’t think i miss it much. i enjoy the taste of it but i only had decaf so i’m not missing out on the boost. i’ve graduated (thinking positively) to hot teas and hot chocolate. me likey.

yup. so that’s about it. i don’t think i’ve ever written a post like this. strangely boring. and yet, i’m publishing it anyway…

what are your plans today? this weekend?

41 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2009 2:59 am

    Church doing a Parents Night Out tonight…..(que Marvin Gaye music) Need I say more? No, really, we’ll go out to eat, come home and she’ll watch a movie while I pretend to watch that same movie :-).
    Oh and according to Dr. Stillman (author of the diet I have been on) anything over 80 ounces of water a day and you are sure to gain water weight. He says the average Joe doesn’t expel any more than 80 a day :-).

  2. March 13, 2009 4:59 am

    gym – done
    shower – done
    breakfast – done
    leading worship at chapel
    work in IT
    lunch with IT
    home for nap
    do nothing
    babysit for friends
    sleep in tomorrow
    do nothing
    lead worship on sunday
    talk to Shelly on the phone
    do nothing
    dread Monday

  3. March 13, 2009 6:38 am

    sounds like a busy day!

    today…
    daniel has the day off!
    finish passing out doorhangers for our seminar
    clean & purge
    finish my book

    tomorrow…
    leadership meeting at church w/ anointed speaker!

  4. March 13, 2009 6:40 am

    it’s my last weekend at cedarcreek. so final packing and words of wisdom. haha

  5. March 13, 2009 7:01 am

    Well, we have Christina this weekend. Tonight we are taking on the biggest kid gathering. We do a babysitting swap with some friends so we both can have date night and don’t have to pay for a sitter. It is our Friday for that. They have two kids that are very good friends with the boys. So precious. Christina is having her friend Grace come over for a sleepover. So I already added one and soon will add 3. Yikes. But it will be a fun full house!

  6. March 13, 2009 7:02 am

    Yardwork, if the rain ever stops!
    Painting, if the rain doesn’t stop.
    Resting, if I get to do the first two.

  7. March 13, 2009 7:10 am

    My plans today are to clean the house, blog, get some loft-time, maybe eat some Taco Johns, finish a video I’m working on.

    Saturday I’ll getting together with a producer friend to work on a mix, then JudiFree and I are headed to Bone’s house for a St. Patty’s day celebration.

    Sunday is church, then rehearsal, then relax time, then Breaking Bad.

  8. March 13, 2009 7:28 am

    70 degrees. 70 DEGREES!?!?! how is that even remotely fair?

    [prepare yourself for mucho whining]

    after days…weeks, even…of wonderful 80 degree weather, it has been 36 and rainy for the past three days. i’m a texas girl. i just wasn’t made for this kinda weather.

    wanna ship me some sunshine?

  9. Heidi permalink
    March 13, 2009 7:31 am

    BIG WEEKEND!

    Our New campus (church) is being birthed on Sunday (on my bllog) so until then I am:

    1. working
    2. Helping my daughter work on SAT’s
    3. Sleep
    4. Be at theatre at 6 am, build up and tear down X3 until 10 am
    5. Help pass out 5000 door hangers
    6. Servant evangelism passing out water at little league
    7. Eat sushi
    8 sleep.

    Then get up again 6 am to see a church birthed…

    I’ll be exhausted to the bone… BUT I can’t wait. I hope I don’t cry tooo much!!

  10. March 13, 2009 7:38 am

    I agree with Joy. 70 degrees? I want that…it’s supposed to be snowing tomorrow.

    Glad to hear you’ve been doing well without coffee. I haven’t had a cup of coffee since early January because of my doctors. I’m a Seattle girl, I need my coffee. But I think I’ve finally learned that life can go on without my soy cappuccino. So now it’s just tea for me.

    As for this weekend…just getting work done, leading a small group of high school girls from church just like every saturday, church on sunday, and praying that it doesn’t snow tomorrow.

    Have fun in that 70 degree weather. I’m only slightly jealous.

  11. Jim2 permalink
    March 13, 2009 7:48 am

    more than jealous of the 70s – we had snow in Nashville yesterday – after 80 on Monday or Tuesday – crazy.
    This is my weekend to put in 20 hours at the good ol’ second job, so not a lot else will get done besides cooking and cleaning

  12. March 13, 2009 8:54 am

    We’re doing yard work today?

    πŸ™‚

  13. March 13, 2009 9:57 am

    Have to find a fun activity for the younger 2 since the oldest is going to her last IN sleepover.

    I seriously need to pack more stuff.

    Looking for a new place to live. We decided to not buy a house right away. So are now looking for a rental until we find what we want.

    Considering going to Cracker Barrel. I wanna go once before we move to the West Coast.

    Pay bills.

  14. March 13, 2009 11:30 am

    People who block the aisle at the grocery store and could care less that I am waiting to walk through

    People who almost run my children and I over as we cross in the cross walk on our way into the grocery store

    Grocery shopping in general

  15. March 13, 2009 11:30 am

    toby – youre right. i had it wrong. dang. so if i drank half my weight in oz it would still be lower than that…so i think im safe. thanks for clarifying that πŸ˜‰

    mandy – you have nothin planned for tomorrow? wanna come sing with me??? tell shelly hi. and i think shes beautiful! watched a vid of you two last night.

    danielle – i LOVE to purge. i lvoe going through drawers and closets and getting rid of stuff. although ive done it so much lately we barely have anything else to get rid of. my kids freak out when they see me coming toward their rooms with a hefty bag 😯

    samantha – wow girl! id love to be a fly on the wall of your house today. have fun! stay sane!

    chelle – well…how did the weather treat you??? hopefully you got to rest πŸ™‚

    mark – what is “loft-time”? it sounds relaxing…hope it is!

    joy – girl, why dont you just ship yourself here???!!! huh? huh? good idea, right? right!

    heidi – cant wait to hear how the new church takes off! col is so lucky she has a mom who can help with the SAT’s. my kids, if looking for me to help, um…well – that just wont work out well for them πŸ˜•

    mandie – why did you have to cut out coffee? my stomach wasnt feeling well so it was recommended to me by a couple different friends that maybe cuttin that out would help…and it has. next on my list to cut out = laundry!

    jim2 – 20 hours this weekend? wow!! im sorry. but so grateful you have a job too! take care of you πŸ˜‰

    brent – well….as of 12:30 pm – nope.

    mandyC – im thinking i should fly out and help you pack. oh…and hang out with your daughters too! yah. thats it.

  16. March 13, 2009 11:32 am

    hey nate! SO dang good to see you! you need to shoot me an e/m and fill me in on the latest nate adventures πŸ˜‰

  17. March 13, 2009 12:39 pm

    The temps here may make it into the 50’s. At least I can see signs that Spring is on the way.

    Saturday will be spent with my cousine and her son. We’ll be having something Italian for lunch.

    Then a Science Book Club chat, and basketball tournaments on TV.

    Sunday will be mostly sports on TV. I hope to finish William Least Heat-Moons “Roads to Quoz”.

  18. March 13, 2009 12:43 pm

    Brandi is going to a Beth Moore conference all weekend so I’ve go the boys. Should be good times!

  19. March 13, 2009 2:02 pm

    Tam! Loft-time is hanging out in my man-loft on Fridays (or any other day for that matter) in my comfy (the one) chair, with cold beverages, HD TV, pretzels (or other man-food), MacBook Pros, and utter relaxation.

    You could say it’s relaxing.

  20. March 13, 2009 2:35 pm

    Friday morning usual – almost –

    Went to the shelter – “MaryAnn” is gone – not good – pray for her wherever she is at.
    Took 4 residents job searching – some good applications submitted.
    Listened as mama prayed for our group as we left to go job searching.
    Cried lots – today is our last Friday at the Shelter until next December.
    Cried again as we left to go home – they gave us a card signed by staff & residents.

    God bless you MaryAnn wherever you are. Mama & papa love you.

  21. March 13, 2009 4:21 pm

    Once the wonderful @machroi wakes, I’m looking fwd to spending a wonderful autumn day with her.

    In the meantime, I can get my reader under control here on the balcony as the birds sing/chirp/tweet/gurgle/ding (love native wildlife), enjoying my breakfast/brunch/whatevermealthisis and writing a bit of a song or 3…

    Sorry, I think I posted all of that on twitter already…

  22. March 13, 2009 5:10 pm

    Tam -Whatever you may be – boring will never be one of them! πŸ˜‰

    Good luck with your ‘ruminations’ (ponderings) i’m sure they can only be of service to you πŸ™‚ and he will Guide you as always πŸ˜‰

    I’m going down to the BEACH today πŸ™‚ ( wiggle wiggle) to see the Sculpture by the Beach at Cottesloe ( i’ll remember you to the beach and bouy and Ocean, David!) then off to see a boat show with some good friends and probably have a Coffee (my one for the week) and maybe some ‘goodies’ in the balmy 90 degree clear blue sunshiney day (Hey – thiis might be my last chance to rub it in for a while – our Summer has ‘officially’ ended last month – it’s only going to be 101 on Sunday!)

    As for the ‘average’ Joe only passing 80 oz or less, i think ‘Doc’ Stillman should ponder that a little more.. according to every poll and source i read Americans are drastically DEhydrated (in part due to the love of the diuretic – caffeine) and so will do everything they can to RETAIN their badly needed water.. thus reducing kidney function, blood quality) hence the ‘average’ Joe (and Joan) won’t be ‘peeing’ all that much out. So 80 oz is probably less than ‘optimal’.

    Once you start drinking water to excess the body ‘fills’ up to it’s desired level then gets rid of the excess ‘naturally’ – once it has gotten used to the fact that there is no ‘drought’ on and it can safely not retain a surplus for future ‘needs’.

    Unless you send your body ‘mixed’ signals – like drinking water then drinking a drug that makes you want to express it out of your system making your body unsure if it is ( ahem ) coming or going πŸ˜‰

    It is about finding the ‘right’ balance – as with most things i guess?

    <B

    • March 14, 2009 2:43 am

      I somehow managed to post my response to this down on your other entry Love…how clever of me !… ;P

  23. March 13, 2009 5:30 pm

    For the record, Doc Stillman is dead :-). He left behind a book….I read it….Lost 80 pounds…..gained it all back…..Losing it again.
    I don’t argue with a man that has brought me that kind of success.
    But again, he’s dead. Probably didn’t drink enough water.

  24. March 13, 2009 6:10 pm

    Sorry to hear that Toby! (Doc and the gained it back)

    the thing about diets is….

    You can change your circumstances – temporarily. If you don’t change your ‘heart’ the circumstances return to the way they were before you changed them ( mostly) what we all need to learn about dieting is – it begins in the heart, but human desire alone is not ‘enough’ – most times we need greater change than our ‘desire’.

    Otherwise we would all be ‘perfect’ by now because we desire to be like Him πŸ˜‰

    Much of our fallibility we could learn to overcome if someone helped us understand more about why we think the way we do – and how to improve it.

    The Bible has quite a bit to say on that topic – if we all could but read and understand it more.

    To me it would be of far greater benefit to people who want to lose weight (or do anything ‘different’ if we first paid our money to a psychologist than to Jenny Craig or the diet industry πŸ™‚

    <B

    • March 14, 2009 2:41 am

      Ah Cottesloe… πŸ™‚

      Anyway, we had a fantabulous day – which will appear on my blog sometime later

      Speaking of blogs – I’m liking the tweaks to yours Tam, and the photo banner is beautiful – very rural, reminding me of my childhood…

  25. March 13, 2009 6:55 pm

    ed – you make the retired life look so appealing! i hope you have a fabulous weekend, friend πŸ˜‰

    pete – i know shes gone. and im praying for those boys 😯

    mark – that sounds like a place id like to hang out in too! hope you were able to today…

    papa – i think youve had the best friday morning so far! im so glad you and mama are there for those folks. what a true blessing you are…i love you papa!

    david – cool. i missed all that on twitter today…so thanks for the update? and your morning sounds simply divine!

    Love – nope. didnt have a boring day at all. got a lot stuff done. lots of yard work and planting. my tulips will have to bloom next spring now…but i can wait. they’ll be beautiful! i did plant some pansies tho…very pretty πŸ™‚

    toby – “But again, he’s dead. Probably didn’t drink enough water.” dang it if that didnt make me laugh πŸ˜•

  26. March 13, 2009 9:59 pm

    “she’s also going to the spring dance later tonight. i mean, i’m so happy for her. but dang it…out all night, with hormonal boys in the same room. with music. and dancing. oy.”

    this entire sentence just gave me a flashback to my freshman year, first dance I went to my mom said “there will be older hormonal boys there. make sure they don’t take their shirts off.” 😯 HAHAHAHA!!!! She sounded just like that sentence. Especially the “with music. and dancing. oy.” part. πŸ˜†

    Today was rather insane for me. Went to train station to see a friend passing through. Picked up lunch. Took it home. Ate. Took Dylan to doctor. There for over 2 hours. Home. Dinner. Hang with boys. Bed. Blog. Phone calls. Here. πŸ˜‰ The insane part was taking Dylan to the doctor. He has the flu….not the stomach flu, the OTHER flu. 😦 My poor baby.

  27. March 13, 2009 10:00 pm

    p.s. that is the longest blogroll in the whole dang world I think. 😯

    • March 13, 2009 10:19 pm

      haha! i know. its crazy ginormous. i’m gonna be working on it next week. it’ll have it’s own page soon.

  28. March 13, 2009 11:46 pm

    tam…i had to cut out the coffee (and anything else with caffine) because I have chronic headaches and the drs. wanted to see if that would help. i didn’t.
    but i’m glad to hear that being coffee-less is helping with your stomach.
    and laundry might not be a bad thing to cut out. maybe i’ll start that one tonight…that pile of dirty laundry on my floor does not look too exciting.

  29. March 14, 2009 12:53 am

    Yes, to make you laugh!!
    Sometimes I ask myself, “do ya think they actually take you seriously?” (yes, I talk to myself just like I would someone else).
    Good to hear sarcasm is translated over the ocean!

  30. March 14, 2009 7:56 am

    Congrats on 11 days w/o coffee, Tam! Wow! How did the water thing go? I try to drink 100 oz. a day – which is very far from my weight, but still, it’s a lot.

    Our plans for the weekend changed at midnight on Thursday, when my daughter woke up sick. Turns out she has two ear infections – poor kiddo is NOT feeling good. So the St. Patrick’s Day festival, parade and BBQ contest is out. 😦 Hoping she’s better in time for church or at least Bible study tomorrow night.

  31. March 15, 2009 12:12 am

    so did you pee nonstop???

    • March 16, 2009 5:22 pm

      no. i failed that goal. but i pretty much hit the goal yesterday and oddly enough…i didnt pee a lot. i must have needed it. i need oreos more, tho. yup.

      • March 16, 2009 5:26 pm

        hi tamfriend!

        • March 16, 2009 6:11 pm

          hi sweet cakes! whuhtsuhhappenin?

          • March 16, 2009 6:42 pm

            gym let me know how much he missed me when i saw him today.

            bastard.

            • March 16, 2009 7:12 pm

              Ugh! He is so ruthless and insensitive. See? That’s why I dumped him!

  32. March 15, 2009 3:29 pm

    Not boring at all! I’m jealous it’s 70 already. 😦 We feel greatly blessed with 49 degree weather. It did drop down to 5 a few days ago. 😦 Oh. And I had to scrape ice.

    By the way, I love the new blog look. πŸ™‚

    • March 16, 2009 5:23 pm

      scraping ice is NOT fun!

      blog still is gonna get tweaked some more…but i like it better.

      thanks!

Leave a Reply

