Skip to content

stats schmats

March 15, 2009

I’m a competitive person. just a little πŸ˜€

When I first started blogging, I looked at my stats multiple times a day. I kept track of my Technorati ranking on a weekly basis and went around to several blogs hoping to find myself on their blogroll. I was obsessed!

[ok. this isnt working. some of you may have noticed capital letters up there ^^^where theyre suppose to be and even a few apostrophes. but dang if this post hasnt taken me 3 minutes to write already. i tried]

back to our regularly scheduled program…

anyhoo…when i do decide to check on my stats i see they are dropping consistently. although it doesnt concern me like it has in the past, it does make me wonder why. have you seen this happen on your blog in recent months too?

i know most of the readers here probably arent concerned with their numbers at all. and i think thats great! but some of you might be. either way is ok!

so for those of you who might be interested in some helpful posts to inspire and educate you in regards to your blog, ive included some links from ProBlogger. i love perusing around ProBlogger. it contains invaluable tips and ideas!

Growing your blog

Writing content (What’s your bread and butter?)

Blog tips for bloggers who have been around awhile

28 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2009 10:29 pm

    just a little!

    Do we blog to give? or to get? or to develop relationships?

    if it is the latter we need to be responsive to those relationships – to ‘give’ and to also ‘take’ – this gets so difficult the more relationships we have and the less time we can therefore give of ourselves to each one of them.

    we cannot be all things to all people. i believe we can either try to touch many people in a little way – or touch a few people in a major way but we can’t do both at once.

    i find the lowest points to my stats are when i put the least time into it – and into the blogs of others.

    i guess it all depends upon one’s goals/motives as to why someone might want to increase their stats ad infinitum?

    is there a point where ‘enough is enough’ for one person?

    what would be a ‘good’ number of stats to have a day/week? i think i have more free time than most and for me it would be between 10 to 100 (closer to ten than 100) πŸ˜‰

    (that’s bloggers who leave comments, whom i ‘know’ – there can be as many readers who only ever lurk as they wish since they do not require me to give my time ‘directly’, but as per my whim of posting)

    <B

  2. March 15, 2009 10:44 pm

    I rarely look at my stats. I used to be obsessed with them too which wasn’t good since I originally started blogging so that I could document my life and thoughts… also so my family could peek into my/our lives.

    I’ve never wanted to blog for the numbers, but I noticed the more I got into it, the more I started to compare myself to other bloggers and having stat envy. I didn’t like that in me… so I check in on my stats maybe once every other week now. HOWEVER… for you… I just checked it… and it’s down right now too. Guess it’s not just you πŸ™‚

    With that said… I definitely don’t mind new readers πŸ™‚

  3. March 15, 2009 11:03 pm

    I’m such a blog-idiot. I really don’t know anything about making a good blog or promoting it. To be honest, I’m not sure what size blog mine is compared to others, if mine should be bigger or not by now.

    I’ve purposely shied away from reading anything about what would make it better, though, because I’m a little afraid that I’ll start wanting to make it into something it’s not meant to be. I just started it because I so missed the challenge of writing … and when all of these amazing people fell into my life I realized that starting this blog was so much bigger than what I intended. I think God used it to let me know that I wasn’t as alone in these four walls as I thought I was. And if someone feels a little less alone because I tell them my stories about my life and my dog, all the better.

    My stats are pretty unchanging. I get about 350 people a day, and if that’s all the bigger it ever gets that’s cool with me. I feel like those 350 people are a gift that were wrapped up and handed to me as a way to find fellowship, and they are helping me find my voice. And that’s pretty amazing.

    And I found you. What more could a girl ask for? πŸ˜‰

  4. March 16, 2009 2:54 am

    I think your stat program is broken :-)!

  5. March 16, 2009 5:01 am

    I’m with Gitz. I started my blog with one purpose – to glorify God by testifying of his hand on my life. I didn’t want it to be about the numbers … although I do check my stats often (just like to see that little line go up and down – sue me!) I do like it when it goes up lol … who doesn’t… but I don’t feel like I want to go advertising the blog or anything.

    I have read and am subscribed to Problogger, though… and I decided one time to see what would happen if I put the blog on Digg and Technocrati and subscribe to other blogs which are in my ‘niche’ according to Problogger’s author…. and I did see an increase, a bit.. but I only did that as an experiment. Ultimately, I may try a couple experimental runs from time to time, but I am happy as I am. I pray that who sees the blog is who is led to it by the LORD, people who he wants me to help. That’s what I think.

  6. March 16, 2009 5:33 am

    darn this economy. it’s even reachin’ our blog stats.
    perhaps a bail-out blogger’s bill should do the trick?

  7. March 16, 2009 5:43 am

    Tam,

    I’m a frequent reader, but an infrequent commenter. I think as more people enjoy reading more blogs, they tend to use services like Google Reader or other rss readers to keep up with them to avoid the hassle of stopping by several blogs each day hoping for a new post. If I understand it right, you don’t get a “hit” on most site traffic counters unless someone actually visits your web page, so unless someone comes here directly to make a comment, they might just be reading your content in their rss feed reader. So you could have a lot of people reading who never show up in your stats. I would probably be one of those.

    Don’t let the stats keep you down. πŸ™‚

    Mark

  8. Heidi permalink
    March 16, 2009 6:12 am

    You are still reaching the hearts of many…..

    I know that personally.

  9. March 16, 2009 6:46 am

    I’m pretty new at this as you know, so the fact I’m on that list over there at the right is really the only stat that matters.

    For the record though, since I moved to WordPress, my stats have skyrocketed. I mean, going from 1 to anything over 2 is over 100% increase πŸ™‚

    To be fair, I think the increased traffic has much more to do with the more loony content of my blog since I made that move. A more authentic me, which is the whole point really isn’t it.

    ‘Course the fact I’ve managed to con some of you bloggers into being friends with us loopy Sydneysiders has likely helped a bit too. What were you thinking.

  10. March 16, 2009 7:08 am

    I don’t even know how to check my stats so you can see how out of it I am. My blog is mainly for family and friends. Sure I want to become famous and have a million comments, but it just isn’t going to happen.

    • March 16, 2009 7:21 am

      ooo-ooo! i wanna be famous too! and a dollar for each of those million comments wouldn’t hurt either =D

  11. March 16, 2009 7:20 am

    love – i dont think there is a “good number” of stats that one should have. it definitely depends on the goal of the blogger. i know for most of us here, blogging has been about relationships and reaching out to others-sharing our story-so i can definitely understand if someone would desire to increase their readership.

    im glad you brought up free time too πŸ™‚ since shutting my computer down on sundays, and most of fri-sat, it has afforded me a lot more time! but i think anyone can do that regardless the amt of readers they have.

    jenni – im gonna be implementing a couple new things here that might help us all with our readership πŸ˜‰ stay tuned this week!

    gitz – you have no idea how thankful i am you started that blog of yours! this is what its about for me…relationships! youve been a blessing since day one…love you mucho!

    toby – i think its on vacation from all bloggers right now. and i also think its Twitters fault πŸ˜‰

    bajan – like gitz, you have an amazing ministry at your place. and the purpose of ministry is to “go out”. its part of the great commission. so im hoping for positive results by adding a couple things this week here on my blog. we’ll see…stay tuned.

    joy – only you!!! one day i’ll have to share my early morning reading ritual and you’ll understand why laughing at your comment was so difficult for me πŸ˜€

    mark – well, hello! nice to meet you πŸ™‚ i had forgotten about people using readers. the numbers dont bum me out at all like they have in the past. although i have been curious as to why. i see it being a trend right now. a small cause, like i said above, may be Twitter. i love me the Twitter tho!

    thanks for coming over and sharing, mark. i appreciate that…

    heidi – you made my heart smile. huge! thank you! love you, sis πŸ™‚

    david – im so glad you came over to WP. i knew it would benefit you. yes! be yourself. warts and all…even if people dont understand it or like it…be YOU. cause the people you want staying around are the people who like you for being you…thats so important πŸ˜‰ and we like you oz-man πŸ™‚

    • March 16, 2009 10:40 am

      I just had the craziest urge to fly to Oregon and hug you. πŸ˜‰

      • March 16, 2009 11:19 am

        urges to fly and urges to pee can sometimes get confused…

    • March 16, 2009 11:09 am

      oh, do tell!

    • March 18, 2009 12:18 am

      “so i can definitely understand if someone would desire to increase their readership. ”

      i also understand that desire all too well Tam – i also understand that none of us can increase the amount of time in our day/week/life beyond a certain amount.

      Those two things mean the more readers we have that we try to establish a decent, lasting, relationship with the less time we can put into each relationship and therefore the less likely we become to understand what it is they are sharing with us – it works both ways. The less time such a person has to write/talk with us the less clearly they are understood or time they have to clarify misunderstandings that can arise in cyberspace from time to time.

      Something i am personally very painfully aware of at times.

      Keeping ‘track’ of large numbers of relationships (ie more than 100) gets somewhat ‘overwhelming’ to most people i believe – in not wanting to let some people ‘down’ that is exactly what we can end up doing.

      <B

  12. March 16, 2009 7:40 am

    A stat ho I am not. Although I do check from time to time, and … so I don’t check. πŸ™‚ I value authenticity and genuineness in people, as well as a like-mindedness (thus ‘calling to deep’ I suppose). My blog is more about staying true to where God is leading me, and what God is saying to me, than it is trying to ‘get’ a certain audience. The teacher in me wants a HUGE audience, and everyone to walk away feeling like they had Thanksgiving meal – but you know, I tried to cook Thanskgiving meal, and … it didn’t turn out so good. Well, it did, but – 3 hours too late. So … I think I don’t want more than I can handle. And God knows what I can handle better than I do – so I leave the stats to Him. πŸ™‚ That’s me.

  13. March 16, 2009 9:53 am

    we will have to do something about those stats! yes mine have dropped too, and there wasn’t that much to be dropping in the first place..but I really haven’t been investing much into it either.. Soooo I have some ideas about how to raise your stats…interested?? i will email later after i get home..ooooo i am going to think up stuff all afternoon!! hahaha love you!!

  14. March 16, 2009 10:06 am

    I desire relationship beyond the superficial. I don’t know if that’s possible in Blogland. It is a connection to more people than I’ve had in a long time. It does help me to feel there is some sort of community “out there”, but I don’t want to be just another number. That bugs me, actually.

    I blog to talk about Jesus. It’s an outlet for teaching and sharing my love for Him. And maybe in the effort, someone will come to know Him better…I hope.

    At the very least, it keeps my mind on Him. Makes me disciplined to search out the Word. And the encouragement I get from others, keeps my head above water…most days.

  15. March 16, 2009 11:27 am

    annie – youve known for a long time that ive been a lurker at your place, with the occasional drive-by. i love your content! your posts are so deep and informative. theyre like bible studies i chew on for days. they challenge me…and more often than not, i cant find good words to say, ya know? but its because you get me thinking on a whole other level. thank you for that!

    darla – hey princess! i think the majority of peoples stats have fallen. for no bad reason, i think. just the ebb and flow, i guess. would love to hear your ideas. im posting a couple ideas this week too – should be fun! i love you too! miss you!

    chelle – you know…i think relationships beyond the superficial are very possible in blogland. in fact, for us, our family, we know it is. it takes discernment tho, thats for sure. you, annie and darla are SO good about teaching and sharing! its like an online church! so your desire and purpose for blogging has had a great effect on me in that way. plus…i got to get to know you…yay!

    • March 17, 2009 7:27 am

      Thank you, m’am. I needed that word of encouragement.

      Love you, TammyJo!!

  16. March 16, 2009 11:43 am

    I can tend to be a stats junkie.

    Not as much as when I started since I have little to no traffic anyway πŸ™‚

    What I have noticed is odd spikes. 5-6 hits one day, 35 the next etc…

  17. March 16, 2009 1:01 pm

    I hardly know what a stat IS, much less how to check them! Okay, so that’s an exaggeration, but I’m so far behind on the techy side of blogging that even if I wanted to know (and all right, so maybe I do) how many people love my blog, I wouldn’t know how to find out.

    As a Reader person, I’ll tell you what I can’t stand. It’s when people are so concerned about getting hits on their site that they don’t have their whole post show up in Reader. I hate that. Thank you for not doing that. And no offense to anyone who does. Except that it bugs me.

  18. March 16, 2009 1:13 pm

    I use to check my blog stats often. If I worked at, posted daily, spent time commenting on a lot other blogs, I could increase my stats. However that made blogging less like fun and more like work.

    It was funny when I did look at my stats for 2009 I noticed the number of hits double. Then I saw that most hits were because I had posted a picture of a “Lilly of the Valley” on a post. On a google search under “Lily of the Valley” my blog comes up. People aren’t reading my blog more they are just looking at that picture. πŸ™‚

  19. March 17, 2009 10:57 am

    I used to care about my stats, when I switched to WP, because I thought it was so cool that you COULD see your stats. Like Ed, I noticed that if I posted everyday, commented on every stinkin’ blog I read, replied to all of my comments instantly, my stats would be rockin. But I just don’t have time for that anymore. I’m trying to give up on caring about if I have a “popular” blog anymore. I honestly haven’t purposely checked my stats in MONTHS. When I go to my dashboard it pops up first thing, but that’s just the nature of the dashboard. πŸ˜‰ If I have to shmooze to make someone ready my blog, then I’d rather not. The people who comment on a regular basis I have made heart connections with, and even if they only come around every so often, I smile at their words. I am glad to know they visited. But I would do it anyway…..mostly because I know I’ve got grandparents reading. πŸ˜‰

  20. March 17, 2009 8:59 pm

    i saw this on a website i subscribe to for employment for professional writers:

    “Blogging has become a must have for businesses of all sizes. If you or your client is in the market for a blog, look no further. We look at six popular blogging platforms and services – learn more about each and choose one that fits your needs. ”

    I saw blogging as a way to say what i as an individual had to share with others, free of charge – a kind of ‘public personal diary’ rather than ‘promotional tool’ for profit.

    Now it seems it is also a business ‘must have’.

    Makes me a little sad.

    i guess i shoulda seen it comin’?

    <B

  21. March 18, 2009 4:02 am

    My stats have tanked over the past month. Call me, I have a theory! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

