Skip to content

skim milk & self-tanner

March 17, 2009

[i uploaded this vid twice and the audio is still off. sorry.]

59 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 11:10 am

    ooh la la! love your skim-milkiness.

    and friend? you have gorgeous hair.

  2. March 17, 2009 11:11 am

    [and nope… i’m not a tanner. i don’t even like laying out… i get bored. and, well, hot! not fun. but… my olive skin can get mighty dark when it gets adequate sunlight. when i was 16 i spent 2 months in africa… and by the end of the trip, i took a picture next to my african translator… our arms were the same color!]

    • March 17, 2009 11:19 am

      and im part greek, but i didnt get the greek skin 😦 i cant lay in the sun for long cuz it causes inflammation, so i have to be careful. smelly self-tanner will have to do.

      hows gym today? has he let up at all?

      • March 17, 2009 4:59 pm

        he said to tell you he misses you.

        • March 17, 2009 5:45 pm

          well, you can tell gym that i said im over him. ive moved on to 10lbs (formerly known as “free weights”) we’re happy now.

  3. Heidi permalink
    March 17, 2009 11:25 am

    My driving arm (left arm) is beautifully tanned from work.

    I do as much as I can I do natural.(thanks San Diego) But I do use a tanner.

    o’ by the way…. You are beautiful!!

    • March 17, 2009 1:53 pm

      i read once that more people in here on this side of the world have skin cancer on the left side of their bodies – and the opposite is true for peeps down under. they linked it to driving. specifically people who drive lots for a living but feel they dont need spf cause theyre not actually outside. interesting.

      so take care of you!

      • Heidi permalink
        March 17, 2009 1:59 pm

        I have too because of my health.. be careful, although I wear SPF 35, I am still browner on that arm, especially my hand (funny) anyhoo.

        I don’t like how I feel when I have too much sun… I get real sick.
        so alot of my work shirts are long sleeved.

        There’s only one me.. Thanks for reminding me of that.

        • March 17, 2009 2:02 pm

          me too. if im out in the sun/heat too long i get sick. like my body feels like a big bruise. ive learned to listen to it very closely nowadays πŸ˜‰

      • March 17, 2009 3:12 pm

        And yeah, this is true.

        • March 17, 2009 3:18 pm

          cool! so we can believe some of what we read πŸ˜‰

  4. March 17, 2009 11:27 am

    Well, ummmm, I let my wife answer this one and she says since the sun apparently does not like Germany, she’s a spray tan kinda gal.
    There ya have it!
    I’m kinda like a gorilla and the dark hair makes me look tan :-).

  5. March 17, 2009 11:29 am

    Umm..Well…Ummm….

    • March 17, 2009 1:54 pm

      should i take this response as an admission?

      do you fake and bake, carl????

      • March 17, 2009 4:16 pm

        No.. I just didn’t know how to reply.

        Just seems inappropriate to talk about your legs and tanning…. :embarrassed:

        • March 17, 2009 4:21 pm

          no need to be embarrassed. at least i dont think so…

          oh shoot. shoud i have been embarrassed?

          😯

  6. March 17, 2009 11:58 am

    You have more color to your skin than me right now so I’m not sure what type of milk that makes me?? πŸ™‚ Since I’ve had my daughter I look differently at things such as tanning beds now so I’ve started doing the “fancy” spray tan. (but I haven’t even done that in months!) I haven’t yet to figure out the correct method for applying the self tan without looking like I’m in the zebra family. Can’t wait to see the results of your tan!

    • March 17, 2009 12:11 pm

      how long do spray tans last? and does your face get sprayed too?

      how old is your daughter?

      i cant wait to see the results either! if only it didnt smell, tho.

      • Heidi permalink
        March 17, 2009 12:28 pm

        I got sprayed tanned for a friends anniversary party that I was wearing a strapless for. The spray tan is more yellowish and it does smell Not Coppertone either. You look like you have jaundice.

        Banana Republic cocounut fantasy works wonders if your health allows you to sit in the sun. (not mine unfortunately).

      • March 17, 2009 6:37 pm

        If your lucky the spray tan will last a week, usually just five days. It sprays your entire body, including your face. You can do light, medium, or dark. I’d stay away from the dark because you might come out looking like you were just on Dancing with the Stars. There are several different types of spray now. The newest one (the one I’ve done) is called Versa Spa and it looks a lot more natural in medium. My daughter is 6 months old and my body hasn’t seen sun or spray since before she was born. I’m going tomorrow for a spray before I fly out to see my husband. If I turn jaundicey I’ll be sure to warn you!

        After I went back and read my reply it sounds like I’m a salesman for the stuff! Oh well…

        • March 17, 2009 7:19 pm

          πŸ™‚

          if i had a body like one of those dancing with the stars chicks i wouldnt mind lookin all orange πŸ˜‰

          can i ask how much it cost?

          wheres your hubs?

          • March 18, 2009 6:16 am

            Yes, I am married to a RED. πŸ™‚ My husband is one of the guitar players, the one that’s not the twin. I’m so glad you guys like their new record, I love it but I’m also a little biased. I’m tanning because one of our stops is Vegas, and I’ve never been but heard it’s pretty hot there (no pun intended) πŸ˜‰ so my legs will be seen.

            The spray tan isn’t cheap but for an instant tan it’s worth it. Not sure if you guys have a Sun Tan City where you live but on Sundays they have half off days. You can get one spray tan for about $18.00. You can also become a monthly member and you get all your sprays for about the same price. Otherwise it’s $35-40 a visit. EEK! Since I cancelled my membership a while back they called and gave me two free visits trying to buy my love. πŸ™‚

  7. Jim2 permalink
    March 17, 2009 12:14 pm

    Not so much. When I was a kid, it was the “super severe sunburn to start the summer” the ok the rest of the time. Now I just sport the “high blood pressure” tan

  8. March 17, 2009 12:24 pm

    This is the first year since I was a teenager that I have been going to a tanning bed. For about the past month. In Northern Michigan, it’s snow from October till April and I just decided I needed some sunshine. More to feel like it’s summer than for a tan! I have irish skin that is either always white or red, so not much of a tan. I used to use Jergen’s self tan on my face though, noticed a teeny bit of difference. Soft skin!

  9. March 17, 2009 12:37 pm

    ’bout this time of year i try and sneak in a fake and bake, and will occassionally slap on some tan in a can, but this year i am side tracking myself from the extra moola to do so because I JUST GOT A TKT FOR RUNNING A YELLOW LIGHT… yellow means stop, not go… or in my case the difference between pale and color.

  10. March 17, 2009 12:47 pm

    you’re cute.

    i have three unopened bottles of Jergens Natural Glow Express that I’m going to send you. LOVE it. The “express” version is a little more expensive, but it doesn’t have such a “fake tan” smell and when it wore off it wore off totally even. I am so crazy crazy white that when other lotions wore off they left me blotchy and I looked like I had a skin disease.

    my first choice would be to sit in the sunshine. i also used to love love love laying in a tanning bed (my parents have one in our basement … they used to go to Jamaica a lot on vacation and figured it was cheaper just to have a bed than pay for sessions). I couldn’t lay on that hard surface now to save my life, so I turned to lotions, and the one I’m sending you is the one I liked best.

    i’m trying to come to terms with the fact that i’m never going to see sunshine, fresh air or the outside of my four walls ever again, ever, so I’m trying to find the positive. One is that I don’t have to bother with self-tanning because I’m never going to be out of the house where people can see me. πŸ™‚ Hence, my self-tanner is your self-tanner. Show off them legs, baby!

  11. March 17, 2009 1:07 pm

    First of all, your hair looks gorgeous and your legs do not look milky white! I have tried a couple tanning lotions over the years, but never found one that looked like a natural color. Have you ever used that Jergens before? I’m curious to see the results. I have never tried the spray-on tan and have never been to a tanning bed. Living in San Diego and being outside often walking our dog, running, and enjoying the beach in summer, I get plenty of sun. And I usually use spf 30 and still get sun without even trying.

  12. March 17, 2009 1:23 pm

    Oh, I forgot…Please send an email to help@vimeo.com and tell em about the audio and video separation. They keep telling me that’s it must be JUST my computer cuz it’s fine on their end. BULL! :-).

    • March 17, 2009 1:44 pm

      email sent.

      and i was nice, too πŸ˜€

      • March 17, 2009 1:46 pm

        Video and audio were perfectly synchronized for me.

  13. March 17, 2009 1:45 pm

    I don’t tan, I burn. Mostly because I reflect. That’s how white I am. If I take my shirt off on the beach, girls come and use my back as a mirror for their makeup. NASA once approached me to see if they could bounce a laser off me to measure the distance to the moon. I’m the only person in existence that can survive Superman’s red eye-rays because they just reflect right back at him and hurt him. That’s how much I reflect. So when I attempt to get a tan, I end up burnt in about 3 seconds flat, which then peels off after about a decade, leaving nice new shiny white reflective skin, just waiting to be burned.

    Some of that might not be true.

    • March 17, 2009 1:48 pm

      where do you get this stuff?!!

      hilarious!

  14. March 17, 2009 3:03 pm

    Here in the land of no-ozone (actually, that’s false now…but I shouldn’t be making that public should I) everyone burns even if they don’t think they are. My Aboriginal & Fijian friends complain about getting sunburnt…! I don’t know what sort of skin cancer awareness stuff goes on o/s, but here we are bombarded with it, and the TV ads are gross.

    As a result, I don’t leave the house without SPF50 these days, though when I was young SPF15+ was as high as it went.

    Diane was chastised by a taxi driver in Darwin for being outside between 10 and 2. He was horrified that someone with her lovely Irish skin was even allowed outside in Darwin. Kinda funny.

    And to echo James…video/audio was in sync.

  15. March 17, 2009 4:43 pm

    Oh my gosh, I certainly hope you didn’t think I was trying to make you jealous. Sometimes I don’t explain myself very well. I do not have pretty skin. I’ve gotten waaay too much sun over the years and that’s why I don’t try to get a tan, but instead use sunblock. I’m just out in the sun daily because of the outdoor things I like to do. Okay, I feel better that I clarified that.

    • March 17, 2009 5:42 pm

      awwww, no…not at all. im jealous you live in san diego, by the beach. i miss so. ca A LOT!!!

      πŸ˜‰

      • Heidi permalink
        March 17, 2009 5:56 pm

        I hear San Diego’s beaches are glorious in the mornings.

        …waves crashing, sipping on Starbucks, praying, praising, waiting for sunrise… hmmmmm

        πŸ™‚

        SoCal misses you too.

  16. March 17, 2009 5:59 pm

    Ya. White. Just like the piece of paper πŸ™„

    At least I’m glad I got mentioned before the gynecologist…

  17. March 17, 2009 8:39 pm

    k, so call me shallow or whatever, but i go tanning. at least at first… i’m not brave enough to lay out as a whitey. seems so backwards, but in order to lay out to get tan, i must first be, well, tan. or at least almost tan. no pastiness allowed. and even though it’s my own back porch, ya never know when a boat might drive by…or maybe a plane. just being cautious.

    oh, and i don’t do the whole lay-down bed. ick. i use the stand up ones. they’re faster, too.

    • March 17, 2009 10:18 pm

      you get me laughing so hard sometimes, woman!!!!

  18. March 17, 2009 8:40 pm

    oooh hey, do you think the sun could still make me tan through a self-tanner? like…if i just skipped the bed, using a self-tanner instead, and then went out in the sun…would i still be able to soak up the rays???

    • March 17, 2009 10:18 pm

      i think it still works in the sun too. but you still need spf, girl@ im a stickler for spf’s. got it?!?!

  19. March 17, 2009 9:37 pm

    We’ve just about finished a 6-8 month long series of ads on our TV showing a 26 year old lady of part asian (yellow ‘tanned’ skin) background who died last year as a result of skin cancer believed to have been as a result of her use of Tanning Beds from her teens. She was a mother and knew she was going to die and had to explain to her kids what was coming for her and them. She felt strongly enough to warn as many as she could about the dangers of UV tanning beds and sun-tanning in general and made several appearances on our news services/current affairs shows, as well as making the adverts for the Australian Cancer Council..

    As a person who spent six weeks unable to walk while a skin graft on my foot was trying to heal after a 2 inch diameter piece of my foot was cut out to remove the melanoma sunburn from my childhood had caused me i can attest to the fact that tans are not worth die(y)ing for.

    I believe the wisest course of action is to find a HEALTHY balance for your body and the sun as it applies to your latitude of residence and do not fall for the absurdness of TV and glossy magazines who want you to believe that a tan is a must-have accessory and not a potential life (wife) killer.

    A century or so ago pale skin was considered the most natural and beautiful throughout the ‘fashionable’ world – no-one ever died because they were not tanned enough.

    We need some sunlight in order to meet our body’s need for vitamin d – we don’t ‘need’ a tan – despite what the fashion/cosmetic industries tries to make us believe. A tan is simply the natural result of healthy skin having EXCESS doses of sunlight (UV Rays) as it tries to alter it’s cellular structure to avoid getting skin cancer.

    What you save in tanning sprays and lotions you could put to airline tickets… need i say more? πŸ™‚

    <B

    • March 17, 2009 10:22 pm

      that is so sad, love.

      i used to tan a lot, in the sun, into my mid 20’s. the last time i tanned, excessively, was in 2005 when i went to maui with the fam. i hated how old it made me look. πŸ˜•

      i dont mind, all that much, my fair skin. i just dont care to see my little blue veins, ya know? πŸ˜‰

      id have to go without A LOT of lotions for A LOT of years to save enough for airline tickets!

      • March 17, 2009 10:43 pm

        I’m not just talking to Australia you understand – a round trip to Boston for example = six? bottles of ‘tan’? πŸ˜‰

        <B

        • March 17, 2009 10:57 pm

          Round trip to Boston is 300 bucks. Should I take up an offering? πŸ˜‰

          • March 17, 2009 11:36 pm

            $300? – not that you’ve been checking all that much – right ? πŸ˜‰

            A little sacrifice on your part – a little generosity on other people’s part – and a little help from You-know-Who = hello Mandypants πŸ˜‰

            Hmmm… an ‘offering’… Hmmm…..

            <B

          • March 19, 2009 6:40 pm

            did you check that price tag just for that comment? just curious…

  20. March 17, 2009 9:47 pm

    P.S. Did Vimeo fix the sound or was the fact mine was like David’s and James’ unusual?

    … and i think there is NOTHING wrong with the way God made you originally – you are free to disagree with us. πŸ˜‰ ( i am NOT saying we should not attempt to correct the imperfections this world causes us to ‘adopt’, please understand).

    <B

    • March 17, 2009 10:24 pm

      it works for some and not others. i dunno. their video guy emailed me tho. he was very nice and offered to fix any link i sent him.

      and i dont disagree with you. i think what God has done with us all is quite beautiful and miraculous πŸ˜‰

  21. March 17, 2009 10:06 pm

    your skim milk legs are still tanner than mine. good grief. let me know how that stuff works. self-tanner is always so orange on me.

    • March 17, 2009 10:25 pm

      i think i’ll be posting a follow up vid of my results.

      😯

  22. March 18, 2009 8:25 am

    This is funny. I loved reading all the responses. This is a very important subject I know. My answer is the Sun does it for me. I do not lay out though. Being half Mexican helps too. πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to see the results!!

  23. March 18, 2009 10:01 am

    hahahaaha hot mama hot mama!!! love those white legs!!! LOL you are cracking me up with this and I have sound!!!

    okay usually the sun, but it has not mixed well with my meds sooo I tried the tanning booth..OMG i thought this is what it must be like to be in a casket, and I immediately wanted out of it! my daughter was very disappointed in my tanning or lack of..soooo now I am going to try your stuff!! hahaha I am seriously glowing!! scary stuff!

    • March 18, 2009 10:05 am

      yah. and its been a long winter for you there too. and your glow… is just that angelic glow that is about you πŸ˜‰

  24. March 19, 2009 8:46 am

    My computer screen will never be the same.

    • March 19, 2009 8:48 am

      said from the avatar wearing sunglasses.

      😎

  25. March 19, 2009 2:27 pm

    girl… I LOVE skim milk. i think it’s beautiful. i’m yellow-tan all year round. in the summer… i’m more dark tan. i like white.

Leave a Reply

