Skip to content

twitter or group blogging?

March 17, 2009

i have somehow convinced several of you to start twittering. a couple of you fought it – but now you see the beauty, right?

there are still a bunch who dont twitter and have no idea what it is.

heres a 2 minute video explaining exactly what twitter is.

i love twittering! i have met some great people there. and the cool thing about it is…youre either there or youre not. theres no pressure to be on twitter at all. for those afraid of commitment, that should be appealing πŸ˜‰

if youre not convinced, or feel twitter is still too much for you, or you dont wanta set up an acct…wordpress has this new theme (worth the read through) which has some similarities to twitter. its considered group blogging. updates are instant, no need to refresh, great for group discussions and stuff. it looks fun.

so anyhoo…i just thought id throw that out for any of you who might be interested.

do you twitter? whats your twitter name so we can follow you?

67 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 10:45 pm

    I made a twitter account and then deleted it within a few days (probably about six-nine months ago). I decided I’ll take it up later when I have a Blackberry or something like that. Won’t that make a big difference, if I have an iPhone or a Blackberry?

    BTW, you so could not break up with me.

    • March 17, 2009 10:55 pm

      I don’t think it makes a different. Lots of people who use it don’t have either. There are no rules to it, really.

      And you’re right. I could never dump you. Dang.

      • March 18, 2009 8:37 am

        i text it with my regular ol’ flip phone…

        • March 18, 2009 9:13 am

          Can you believe I don’t have a text plan on my phone right now? That will change in a few weeks…maybe I’ll twitter then. Will my children still remember my name if I start Twittering? Will it take tons of self control, or do I just limit the number of people I follow? School me, Twitter bugs.

  2. March 17, 2009 11:29 pm

    Hmmmm…

    so if ‘someone’ created a new blog with the P2 theme… ( snag – the ‘someone would need to leave the blog – andtherefore their computer logged in all the time 24.7… maybe)?

    We could use it like a ‘drop by’ coffee shop sort of.. something like ‘Central Perk’ to share posts of ‘common interest’ or ‘fast response comments’ like a ‘chat’?

    While still keeping our own blogs as our own blogs and just ‘hang out’ with the ‘homeys’ whenever we had time or felt like it πŸ™‚

    We could share the password by word of mouth if this was felt it was needed so as to ensure no idiots could alter posts but all could ‘own’ the same blog – a common community blog!

    With or without mobile phones??

    i likee. πŸ™‚

    <B

  3. March 18, 2009 3:59 am

    I’ve gotten where I like twitter more than blogs! Feel like I’m cheating.

  4. March 18, 2009 4:17 am

    @russhutto if anyone cares to follow.

    I use a “group blogging” format for a family fitness challenge that I manage. Everyone that is participating has a login and password and check in weekly with their results. It works pretty nicely.

    I could also see it being beneficial for a church staff or company blog etc.

  5. March 18, 2009 4:24 am

    @Pastor_T πŸ™‚

    Love Twitter! Keeps me in contact with those I miss sooooo much back home and with Tweetdeck and Twittelator, I can put tweets in groups to follow closely….or not :-).
    Definitely can’t take the place of my love for the blog though. There’s only so much I can say in 140 characters.

  6. Heidi permalink
    March 18, 2009 4:46 am

    @cassgirl

    I like Twitter. I also loved to blog.
    hmmm

  7. March 18, 2009 4:46 am

    Anita-no iphone or blackberry here–just a basic phone w texting. And even that’s not needed–can do all from web if in front of computer a lot. You can turn on/off updated to your phone as u want (u might want to follow some on your phone, some just updates online). I also use tweetdeck and create groups so some are divided out–makes it easier for when I’m offline for a while to catch up. If u do use just a phone w text–make sure u have unlimited texting!! πŸ˜‰
    btw–I’m @rindy963

    • March 18, 2009 9:15 am

      Thanks, Rindy. This is helpful. I don’t know what tweetdeck is, but I get the idea: controls exist and they can keep me sane? I don’t text at all because it isn’t unlimited and I’m a bit of a talker. Looking at new plans because my teenager wants a new phone. I’m thinking I’ll take advantage of the opportunity.

      • March 18, 2009 10:32 am

        definitely get unlimited texting if you decide to twitter again!

        i left a comment below explaining it all a bit more…

        • March 19, 2009 2:17 pm

          unless you have an iPhone or Blackberry + data plan. then you have twitterfon or twitterberry. no texting there πŸ™‚

  8. TheNorEaster permalink
    March 18, 2009 5:13 am

    I do not like green eggs and ham.
    I do not like them Sam I am.

  9. March 18, 2009 6:38 am

    I’ve never done the Twitter thing. Trying to decide still whether I should… but then again, I used to say that about blogging too lol

    Tam I LOVE this new theme… awesome!

    (BTW – my blog isn’t on ur blogroll! Where’d it go?? 😦 ) I checked – TWICE :waaah: πŸ˜†

    If I keep up reading this thread I might just start Twittering for the heck of it!

  10. March 18, 2009 7:49 am

    I do not love Twitter yet. But I’m @givingupperfect if anyone would like to follow. πŸ™‚

  11. March 18, 2009 8:26 am

    “…her friends followed her updates and learned that she recently discovered a passion for van halen…”

    same thing happened to me! ha. if i weren’t already doing it, this video would make me wanna. i LOVE twitter, but i can’t get any of my friends to do it. 😦

    maybe i should share the video!

  12. March 18, 2009 9:09 am

    I didn’t get the point of twitter at first. But now I LOVE it. Probably more than any other social networking tool right now.

    @mjdagenhart

  13. boffthewall permalink
    March 18, 2009 9:11 am

    I do twitter, but i feel like i’m not there enough to really enjoy it. I forgot to twitter more than a few times a day, and unless i’m at my computer i don’t usually check it. I do like following celebs though! Kind of an inside peak into their real world!

  14. March 18, 2009 9:27 am

    I did it. I have no idea how to use it yet – but I already have 2 followers…. wow … the connectedness of the internet…. @bajanpoet has just been created! ….. Now what????? 😯

  15. March 18, 2009 9:57 am

    hey everybody!

    ok, so twitter is more simple than it appears. its microblogging. instant messaging on steroids. it can be another outlet to make more friends or to hook up solely with people in specific fields of interests to you. whatever you want it to be. you are in complete control of how it works for you.

    you have followers and you follow people.

    you can follow anyone you want. you can also unfollow them
    anyone can follow you too, unless you block them
    so the control still stays in your hands.

    you can talk (tweet) to everyone on the main timeline simply by putting a thought out there. you, and others, can reply to any tweet simply by hitting the reply button.

    if you want to communicate something to one of your followers that is more private or personal, you can Direct Message them, or DM’em.

    twitter has aided brent, you can follow him here http://twitter.com/inworship , in the areas of technology, church programming ideas, networking with other pastors.

    ive seen it used for instant prayer requests! which i love so much. the twitter family is fiercely loyal.

    and for those who have only texting on their phones, you can still use twitter. you can send updates via text, and send photos to twitter too (if you have a camera phone of course) but you just wont be able to see any other twitters or replies to you without a data plan (internet) on your phone. with the exception of if someone DM’s you (Direct Messaging) those can come through in your texts and i believe you can DM back too.

    if ive got something wrong, or left something out, fix or add to it any twits out there πŸ˜‰

  16. March 18, 2009 9:59 am

    i forgot. my twitter is

    http://twitter.com/inprogress

    go to the link – hit the follow button – and voila!

  17. March 18, 2009 10:04 am

    I love twitter! and you all can follow me if you don’t mind following someone who is lost most of the time..

    @dohdarla and don’t ask DOH! i do everyday at least once..and I am okay with that.

  18. March 18, 2009 10:14 am

    oh yeah….me thinks you’re already following me. but anyhoo.

    @coloraturajoy

  19. March 18, 2009 10:15 am

    so far we have

    darla at http://twitter.com/dohdarla
    bajanpoet at http://twitter.com/bajanpoet
    boffthewall at http://twitter.com/boffthewall
    marisa at http://twitter.com/mjdagenhart
    mary at http://twitter.com/givingupperfect
    rindy at http://twitter.com/rindy963
    heidi at http://twitter.com/cassgirl
    toby at http://twitter.com/Pastor_T
    russ at http://twitter.com/russhutto
    joy at http://twitter.com/coloraturajoy
    mandie at http://twitter.com/mandiesodoma
    fran at http://twitter.com/franthomas
    kelly at http://twitter.com/kellychorley
    ed at http://twitter.com/EdFromCT
    shawn at http://twitter.com/shawnw

    ive only left the full addresses of those who included their twitter name in their comments…just in case you purposely left yours out, i didnt want to add yours to the list.

    its easier to find people with the full address. this will take you to their home page and you can simply hit the follow button…of course you need a twitter account first πŸ˜‰

  20. March 18, 2009 10:22 am

    i said that i never would, but i gave in…
    @mandiesodoma

    • March 18, 2009 10:29 am

      ooo-ooo. another one bites the dust!

      πŸ˜€

  21. March 18, 2009 10:23 am

    You are a stalker.

  22. March 18, 2009 10:58 am

    @Anita… girl, you should twitter. And trust me on this… Tam will pester you until you do. I speak from experience.

    I’m a random twitterer, but when I’m on it I love it. I just haven’t had much energy lately and being up at the computer is required for me to twitter (I don’t have a cell phone, so it has to be the computer). I do think I would twitter a ton more if I had a cell.

    http://www.twitter.com/gitzengirl

    • March 18, 2009 11:15 am

      you love me. come on! you cant help it either πŸ˜€

      • March 18, 2009 11:24 am

        true ‘dat

        (said the whitest girl on the planet… seriously… I’m whiter than that white paper from your video… i got your white beat by a mile…)

        • March 18, 2009 11:27 am

          i want pics to prove it.

          πŸ™‚

          • March 18, 2009 11:31 am

            you just think my avi is of the dog… it’s really me… i’m that white.

            • March 18, 2009 12:17 pm

              Hey whitey!!!

              We should have a ‘ghost writers’ convention. HAHA! White as a …

              ok, nevermind.

              It’s always sucky when you explain your own joke.

              • March 18, 2009 12:25 pm

                I nominate you Casper, president of the ghost writer’s club…

                • March 18, 2009 12:49 pm

                  haha! i cant wait to see where you two are gonna take this one πŸ˜‰

                  • Heidi permalink
                    March 18, 2009 12:58 pm

                    At least you have an excuse Gitz, you live in Iowa with no sun ever.
                    Here I am living in San Diego with beautiful beaches like todays and I am lighter than Riley… just sayin

                • March 19, 2009 7:25 am

                  Are we nominating based on whiteness or on writing ability? I’ve got a fair chance on the first one (only met one other person in my life who was whiter than I am) – the second one … perhaps not so much.

                  So we have an undersecretary? treasurer? board members? We could have quite the guild here …

  23. March 18, 2009 12:51 pm

    Twitter is great for keeping up with my long distance friends. I use my blog for longer messages and for asking general questions. I twitter daily and blog a couple of times a week.

    I don’t even own a cell phone.

    I think twitter is more fun because it’s short messages. Creating a blog post takes longer.

    Twitter & blogging put the social into social networking. I now have friends all over the world.

    My blog & twitter account have the same name:

    http://twitter.com/EdFromCT

  24. March 18, 2009 1:04 pm

    I don’t twitter. I’m just thrilled if anyone reads and comments on my blog. I can’t imagine anyone would want to know what I’m up to all throughout the day. Sadly, not even my own husband.

    • March 18, 2009 1:16 pm

      id follow you on twitter. its the little updates and random thoughts that are so intriguing to me. you might like twitter quite a bit for that. i find i chat with people more on twitter than i do blogging.

  25. March 18, 2009 2:00 pm

    i forgot to mention my kids twitter too. you can follow them here…

    kass at http://twitter.com/kassincahoots
    kota at http://twitter.com/kotaincahoots

  26. March 18, 2009 3:25 pm

    I caved about a month ago. It’s fun, but sometimes there is just too much to read. Didn’t know about tweetdeck, that will help! Took me a couple of weeks to figure out what RT was, it’s like learning a new language! Mine is http://twitter.com/kellychorley

    • March 18, 2009 3:44 pm

      me too! had no idea for far toooo long what RT meant. as with anything, there will be little tips and tricks to learn. but all in all…its pretty simple and intuitive.

      i also dont spend any time following up on peoples tweets. when its been awhile since ive checked, tho, i’ll scroll back 30 minutes or so and just browse…but thats it.

  27. March 18, 2009 3:38 pm

    Wow, a GREAT new group of peeps to follow. Fantastic! I’ve had a Twitter account for a while but when Los started following me about 18 mo. ago (and let me know he wanted me to tweet more) what could I say? I had to do it. Almost 4500 tweets later, I’m still trucking.

    That being said, I’m http://twitter.com/shawnw . πŸ™‚

    • March 18, 2009 3:42 pm

      cool! boy, that los has some power.

      • March 18, 2009 3:51 pm

        Some tips for you new Tweeters:

        1) TwitApps Replies – http://twitapps.com/replies/ – if someone takes the time to chat with you on Twitter, to me, it’s only fair to respond in kind. This will email you when someone @’s you so you don’t miss them.

        2) Twimailer – http://twimailer.com/ – It does a *much* better job telling you who’s started following you. You can see a sample Twimailer email here: http://twitpic.com/1u7bq

        3) Twhirl ( http://twhirl.org ) or Tweetdeck ( http://tweetdeck.com ) – these are clients that run on your PC that check your tweetstream (is that what it’s called?) automagically for you. They require Adobe AIR ( http://www.adobe.com/products/air/ ) to run.

        Hope this helps!

        • March 18, 2009 4:00 pm

          shawn thank you!!!

          i use twhirl. my mac doesnt have enough ram to run tweetdeck. so sad 😦

          • March 18, 2009 4:02 pm

            No worries, I’m a twhirl user anyway. I prefer it to TweetDeck.

  28. March 18, 2009 5:04 pm

    well, i think you know i’m all about twittering!!! LOVE IT. sometimes its just quick and easy and fun but also has depth when you want to find it or send it. I love it.

    I’m glad to know ya! And, I’m Franthomas on twitter. πŸ™‚

  29. March 19, 2009 5:57 am

    How’d I miss this one? Oh yes, work…haha

    I love twitter too. I twittered before I blogged…but then again, it’s all happened pretty fast as you know.

    My Twittername is @dg4G at the moment. I might change it though. I’ve had that, um , thing since I was in high school and that’s about 20 years ago. Not sure what I’d change it to though since my real name is being used by some of my doppelgangers πŸ˜‰

    • pokinatcha permalink
      March 20, 2009 12:10 am

      Are you changing it to something with a #nump root word? Bwaaaaahaha!

      • March 20, 2009 1:39 am

        Hmmm, maybe I should…to make it go with Diane’s new domain name.

        Then again, I wouldn’t want to deprive Ron if he wanted to use it…

        Anyway, to do mine properly… with a link … it’s dg4G … for the moment

  30. critzpastor permalink
    March 19, 2009 6:37 am

    Just started tweetin’ a few weeks ago. I love being able to keep in touch with friends, although I have a lot to learn about how this whole thing works. My wife is even tweeting, but usually only following. My tweet address is http://twitter.com/jackhays

  31. March 19, 2009 7:47 am

    @solacegirl

  32. March 19, 2009 8:26 am

    thanks for the 2-minute video.
    I am now about to launch my own tweets thanks to you.

  33. Matt Oldweiler permalink
    March 19, 2009 10:43 am

    Twitter is the bees-knees for sure. I love it.

    http://twitter.com/oldweiler

    (in fact – due to an utter lack of cool friends or family members that will take the time to leave a comment – I think I might abandon my site http://oldweiler.com and just use Twitter)

    Love your blog btw.

    • March 19, 2009 11:46 am

      thanks for stopping by matt! i feel twitter is much more interactive than blogging. at least on an instantaneous basis. which is why i like it so much. glad to meet a new twit πŸ˜‰

      • Matt Oldweiler permalink
        March 19, 2009 5:19 pm

        Usually it takes people a week or so to realize I’m a twit.

        • March 19, 2009 5:23 pm

          oh. well i have expert twit detection skills.

  34. March 19, 2009 1:51 pm

    psh. of COURSE I twitter! πŸ˜‰

  35. March 19, 2009 2:24 pm

    i seriously haven’t read blogs in a week. it’s CRAZYTOWN over here… so this is the first place i stopped… cuz you’re my favorite. don’t tell anyone.

    http://www.twitter.com/jclayville

    but i’m noisy… so follow with care… or whatever.

  36. March 19, 2009 2:28 pm

    OH YEAH! I Tweet. Just started sort of. If you see the number of updates I’ve done you may not think I JUST STARTED…haha I’m actually loving it. Never thought I would.

    My name on Twitter:

    Demara

    haha my first name. How easy is that hey!?!?!
    now my password. that’s a little harder to remember…for me.

    Thanks for letting me know about that group blogging stuff. but I’m not sure I have enough time to invest in that AND my blog AND Twitter AND Facebook…eek! There’s just so much going on. I’ve had thoughts of quitting FB. Now that I started Tweeting. Hmmm…but I’ve been requested to stay on FB…so I will.

    Just not as often as Twitter or my Blog.
    sya
    and yes let’s follow eachother on Twitter!!!

  37. pokinatcha permalink
    March 20, 2009 12:15 am

    I love twitter and I’m super noisy too! Followers beware!
    http://twitter.com/Pokinatcha

Leave a Reply

