Skip to content

story behind the avatar

March 29, 2009

when i was in kansas city last september with my friends cathi, kristi and mandy we took LOTS of pics. several of them were flaughter pictures. im not sure who’s responsible for inventing flaughter. you’ll have to ask mandy about that.

anyways, i took my shot atΒ  flaughing and this is what we got. kristi isn’t in this 😦 i think she was skyping with her man. dang priorities πŸ˜‰

and here’s kristi πŸ™‚

isn’t she lovely?

isn’t she wonderful?

isn’t that electrical outlet annoying?

so. what’s the story behind your avatar?

68 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2009 9:40 pm

    Currently the story is that my Snowboard, boots, bindings and jacket are all made by Burton. In essence I ride Burton even if it wasn’t planned, so my avatar is the Burton logo.

    • March 30, 2009 8:10 am

      seriously…ive always wondered what your avi was. cool!

  2. March 29, 2009 10:16 pm

    my dog is cuter than me.

    and I’m cool with that.

    • March 30, 2009 8:10 am

      NOT! woman, you are beautiful! nuff wid-dat πŸ˜•

  3. March 29, 2009 10:44 pm

    Nowhere near as exciting as your story Tam…

    Taken on our balcony when I was dressed up in a suit ready for a job interview in Dec 08. The rest of the shots can be found on FB, and a few on my Worship The Rock page too.

    I like this one cos it looks just like me without giving you any idea what I look like. It’s all about the hair anyway.

    • March 30, 2009 8:11 am

      you got good bang.

      wait. is that awkward? cuz – really…guys and bangs, hard to pull off. you do it well.

      • March 30, 2009 10:58 pm

        I think he looks a bit like Jim Carrey in that shot! You know? Jim Carrey in the movie: “Liar Liar”

  4. March 30, 2009 12:23 am

    Well, ummm, I was sitting in the car waiting for my son to come out of school and the sun was annoying the heck outa me. So, I thought I should make use of the annoying sun.
    What you don’t see is the left side of my face frying from sitting there so long :-).

    • March 30, 2009 8:12 am

      it has that cybil shepherd “moonlighting” effect to it. πŸ˜€

  5. March 30, 2009 12:54 am

    Um, Cathi came up with flaughter….So we just got my return flights…like for NEXT year, 2010. I think we need to start planning. Seriously.

    • March 30, 2009 8:12 am

      GET OUT!!!! lets start planning, lady! yay!!!

  6. March 30, 2009 3:36 am

    I have two avatars that “pop up”! The one on this comment was taken a couple of years ago at the “Grand Canyon of the East”! Any guesses where that is? The one on my blog was taken yesterday by Roxx off my web cam as we chatted – then emailed to me!

    • March 30, 2009 8:13 am

      i have no guesses. i aint good with geography. at all πŸ™„

  7. March 30, 2009 4:34 am

    It was the only picture that made me look skinny?

    I dunno.

    Hi πŸ™‚

    • March 30, 2009 8:14 am

      cindy – you are one of the most striking women i know. you have killer facial features! those amazing eyes, cheekbones. luh-uckeee! πŸ˜‰

  8. Heidi permalink
    March 30, 2009 4:41 am

    Hmmm… A photo shoot picture for work… I’m not great in photos… seriously, so when they come and are free and look decent.. I grab!!

    • March 30, 2009 8:15 am

      i love that you are always grinning in your pics! LOVE. THAT!

  9. March 30, 2009 4:52 am

    Nothing awe inspiring…. my avatar is made from a pic of me and my first son Nikao at a party. Once I find the whole pic again I’ll post it lol πŸ˜‰

    • March 30, 2009 8:15 am

      its the happy-happy-joy-joy avi πŸ™‚

  10. March 30, 2009 4:55 am

    Mine is from a picture taken of me and my niece when she and her brother and my sister came for a visit a couple of years ago. I love the whole picture because we look so much alike save for the hair color…she’s a natural red head and it’s just beautiful…

    • March 30, 2009 8:15 am

      then you need to share the whole pic on your blog with us. i wanta see sis!

  11. March 30, 2009 5:38 am

    I loved the berries in the background…thought it looked a bit like Christmas. I need to make a new one with Spring blossoms. πŸ™„

    • March 30, 2009 8:16 am

      ok. i thought the berries was a hair accessory πŸ˜€

  12. March 30, 2009 5:48 am

    I was standing in a pile of crap at a farm with horses that had bad gas and wanted to flirt with the photographer.

    • March 30, 2009 8:17 am

      i laughed [one eye opened] at this morning when i read it!!!

      yup. you pretty much described it like it was πŸ˜†

      wasnt there a bag lady in there somewhere too?

      • March 30, 2009 6:08 pm

        Yes. She was stumbling around wearing my coat. While her husband…. well… never mind. You had to be there to get it.

  13. March 30, 2009 6:09 am

    First, my kiddo is in it and she’s cute. Second, you can’t see just how much weight I haven’t lost. πŸ™‚ The pic is from a photo shoot last fall, and my mom said I looked pretty. So that’s why I use it!

    • March 30, 2009 8:18 am

      you are pretty! and so is that kiddo! when was this pic taken?

      • March 30, 2009 10:27 am

        Well, thanks, but I wasn’t fishing for compliments! πŸ™‚ It was taken in October of last year. Or maybe September. Somewhere in there!

  14. March 30, 2009 7:41 am

    mine is pretty boring….just cropped my head out of a photo of me in Cabo…

    someday I will come up with something exciting like me eating a taco! (strange and random thoughts in my head right now)

    • March 30, 2009 8:18 am

      yah. i always drool at the ocean behind you. i never noticed you til today πŸ˜‰

  15. March 30, 2009 8:33 am

    The fam’ and I were in the middle of a cross-country drive, and my wife Jen got bored and started doing crazy things with her hair. She decided to take a picture of herself…and without her knowing I made a goofy face in the background.

    I was going about 85mph and couldn’t really tell where she was aiming the camera – so I was actually amazed when I saw the picture. She laughed so hard when she saw it she still loves the pic to this day. For that reason I decided to crop myself out and use it as an avatar.

    Original pic here: http://oldweiler.com/blog/pics/mattandjen.jpg

    • March 30, 2009 9:06 am

      very, very cute!!! i love this story. it has ‘happy memories’ written all over it πŸ™‚

  16. March 30, 2009 9:07 am

    The picture was taken at Letchworth Park in NY. We were on a Senior Adult bus tour trip – I took my bride of over 40 years – it was fun, she still is! πŸ˜€

  17. March 30, 2009 10:39 am

    Well…

    It’s beefy, cheesy and has a misspelled word.

    Works for me πŸ™‚

    • March 30, 2009 2:38 pm

      how come some of the avi’s dont show up here for people??? help.

      • March 30, 2009 10:53 pm

        multiple email addresses…avatar accounts…and forgetting which email address/account to use. At least that was my problem!

  18. March 30, 2009 10:46 am

    I love your flaughter pic and I want one myself…in fact, why don’t I have a picture?? I do have one but your blog must not like it..ha..when I find it, it will be a good story! : )

    • March 30, 2009 2:37 pm

      you need to do a flaughter pic then! would be fun!

  19. March 30, 2009 12:29 pm

    My picture usually doesn’t show up here either. But if it ever does you’ll get to see just how gorgeous I am. HaHa! nawt really. I cropped my head shot out of a family photo. In December ’08 I wanted some family pictures taken in hopes of one turning out well for our Christmas card. As most family photo sessions go with us, things weren’t going well. I’ll try to be brief in explaining the story:

    My son asked his girlfriend to take the pictures since we couldn’t find anyone else last minute. First mistake. The sun was about to set so we frantically drove to the perfect spot overlooking the ocean. Husband was getting cranky since he had 10 others things he’d rather be doing instead. Son and his girlfriend had just gotten into an argument and son wasn’t smiling. He accidentally scratched his ear and blood was dripping. No one had a kleenex to wipe it. He’s on the short side and to make matters worse he was standing in a hole and looks even shorter. There is a nice bushy tree coming out of the back of his head, since we chose an amateur photographer. I also made the mistake of not planning our clothes to match. They should have all been dark neutral colors, but husband and son’s shirts had very busy patterns that clash. I felt like crying because all I wanted was a nice picture of our “happy” little family and everyone else thought it was an inconvenience.

    Aren’tcha glad you asked?

    • March 30, 2009 2:33 pm

      can i be honest???

      im laughing.

      should i feel bad about that πŸ˜•

    • March 30, 2009 10:52 pm

      Oh my. I’m laughing!! Out loud. Sorry!

  20. March 30, 2009 12:46 pm

    Mine is from an acoustic service we did in January. Some of the team were away on an encounter weekend, so we came down off the stage, and had the service with one acoustic guitar and three singers. Nice!

    • March 30, 2009 2:34 pm

      ooooo – that sounds perfect! very nice…

  21. March 30, 2009 1:05 pm

    David and I took that photo after the Enchanted Evening at church. We have taken that kind of photo since right after we were married. Now we try to remember to take it every now and then. This is the best since one of us on our honeymoon.

    • March 30, 2009 1:05 pm

      Of course you can’t see it on wordpress, oh well, since I am on blogger.

      • March 30, 2009 2:35 pm

        bummer, i wanta see it. i’ll have to ask brent about the missing avatars.

  22. March 30, 2009 1:13 pm

    mayn…mine’s boring. i thiiiink it was from a wedding of a girlfriend, and i was the hot bridesmaid. πŸ˜‰

  23. March 30, 2009 2:16 pm

    I have two avatars. The one that appears on my blogging post was cropped from a picture of a man on a bicycle looking out at the horizon. I like to think that is how I start each day, looking forward to whatever the day will bring.

    The other I use for Twitter. An old man on a bench reading a newspaper. One of my favorite activities is finding out what is going on in the world around me. I am physically an old man (65), but engaging life keeps me mentally young.

    I don’t even own a camera, and have no pictures of myself.

    • March 30, 2009 2:37 pm

      yah, ed…we really need to talk about you not having any pics of yourself. some of us would really like to know what our friend looks like??? πŸ˜€

    • March 30, 2009 4:25 pm

      Ed, I’ve totally always thought that avi was a firefighter. I’m not kidding… it looks like a fire blazing in the background.

      I’m such an idiot.

    • March 31, 2009 6:14 am

      I’m with gitz Ed. I totally thought that was a fireman.

  24. March 30, 2009 2:53 pm

    My avitar was taken after mark and I had been wondering the strip in vegas for about 3 hours in the middle of the day. I was so miserable! We found an indoor electric walkway that made me happy – that’s when Mark snapped this picture.

  25. March 30, 2009 4:24 pm

    so one time, at band camp, i was playing the trumpet when all of a sudden i looked back and wings had grown out of my back. i thought i was an angel, but then realized i bird had just landed on my back, then pooped on my shoulder. when i looked over my shoulder again, someone shot this picture of me.

    ok… all of that actually happened… except the bird thing… and me thinking i was an angel… and me playing a trumpet… and band camp.

    that’s all i got.

    • March 30, 2009 4:26 pm

      that movie has made it so every time someone says band camp I bust a gut laughing…

  26. March 30, 2009 4:31 pm

    My avatar pic was from a dinner out with some girlfriends. I came flying into the dinner late from a really bad day, on the verge of tears and good old fashioned melt down. In true friend form, they cheered me up and I got a good pic out of it. πŸ™‚

  27. critzpastor permalink
    March 30, 2009 5:05 pm

    I’m ashamed to say that mine was from our family vacation, but that’s not why I was smiling. It was really the pecan cobbler (pee can) for all non-southerners. It was heavenly!

  28. March 30, 2009 10:44 pm

    Mine was taken at our friend’s New Year’s Party (12.2008-1.2009). I was going into the kitchen for a drink and Jeff was in there…our friend was snapping a pic. of Jeff and I swung around, wrapped my arm around him and smiled! So the pic. was of both of us!! :o)

    I thought I looked really good but jeff didn’t so much…so I cropped myself out, and hope to use this photo of me every time I go to the Hairdresser’s. It was a perfect hair day! You can see the original here!

  29. March 31, 2009 6:24 am

    I’m not even kidding you. It is for February I think. This time I won’t back out. I promise promise promise. I love you to pieces Tammit!! I love you as much as I love sheep.

  30. March 31, 2009 4:31 pm

    Ahhhh…it all makes sense now. πŸ™‚

    The story behind my avatar? Lisa beats me so I have to wear sunglasses a lot.

  31. April 1, 2009 7:06 am

    Sorry I haven’t been around in awhile!

    My avi was taken by myself on a plane ride back from VA. I had my camera, and some beautiful light coming in my teeny tiny airplane window. I was taking pictures of what was out the window, but then I thought it’d be fun to try to take pictures of myself, so I started snapping away. And what do you know! I got some pretty decent pictures! πŸ˜€

    PS: love you, miss you …

  32. traciejane permalink
    April 1, 2009 5:26 pm

    I was photographed by 2 friends on the Jekyll Island causeway last Spring. It felt really awkward because I had not been photographed professionally like that since maybe 15 years ago at Olan Mills. But in the end I was happy because when I saw the final pictures I felt beautiful.
    Here is my shout out to one of the photographers. Check out his blog at http://www.chrismoncus.com/

  33. April 12, 2009 4:51 pm

    so creative, friend. what a fun blog post idea.

    new year’s even sucked. to liven things up, my friend did my hair and makeup, and a photo shoot ensued. of course the editing in picnik is what made all the pics look so good… including the one in my avatar.

    • April 12, 2009 9:35 pm

      yours is one of my favorite avi’s around! its…contemplative, mysterious and sexy. LOVE. IT!

  34. May 20, 2009 7:36 pm

    i’m finally catching up on all your old news…and I just heart this one from head to toe!!!!

    • May 20, 2009 9:47 pm

      i want to relive this moment. over and over and over again!

      wanna? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

