Skip to content

will you be my teacher? kthx.

March 30, 2009

i need your help!

it is no secret that i have developed some very bad writing habits. i dont use capital letters. i dont use punctuations. and when i do, theyre mostly wrong. i still dont know the difference between effect and affect. SHHHH! just. stop trying.

so i went back and picked a post to re-post for you all to read over and correct.

you are my teachers. i am your student. but this is kindergarten. so i get a nap at 11:15 followed by 2 graham crackers and chocolate milk 😀

yes. so, where was i? the post. i chose this one because i wrote it from two different time frames and im sure i made several mistakes in making that clear. in addition to all the grammatical errors, this should keep you pretty busy 😉

original post below. if youd like to read the comments to it, go here.

************************************************************************************************

A Letter From The Future

tam, im writing you a letter from the future. well, actually, you’re writing you. i’m sitting here 10 years down the road from where you are right now…

kass and kota have left the home. they are happy and well adjusted.

you and brent…still happily married.

but i’m, you’re, sitting here now going over things quietly in your mind. every thought seems to begin with an, “i should have…”

i should have spent more time with the kids.

i should have spent less time worrying about what others thought.

i should have built up my husband more often.

i should have bought stock in Nabisco.

i should have spent more time with the lady in the cereal aisle that day…i knew she was hurting. but i was too tired to stick around.

i should have listened more. i might have learned more.

i should have apologized to that friend. i miss her.

i should have put others first more often.

i should have lived with more discipline.

i should have stepped out in faith those times I knew God was saying… Go, child. Trust Me.

tam, i sent you this letter because i believe in you. because last night, you wept over lost time. tam, you can do more. you were made for more. you’re capable of more. invest into others. believe in the abilities God gave you. believe in the dream He planted in your heart. believe in others. i don’t want you to look back with regrets. instead, i want you to look back on this letter and say, “i’m glad i…”

also…oreos becomes its own food group.

if you received a letter from your future self; what might it say?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2009 10:28 pm

    I wonder how i completely missed this post when it was printed the first time?? (even though i apparently wrote a joint comment reply with Miss Mandy and a few others concerning your poor digestive system ) 😉

    I believe i have mentioned a few times that i think you are a better writer than you are wiling to take credit for. I have not found anything i would ‘correct’ in THIS post.

    I am fairly sure that will come as a huge surprise to you.

    We can ALL do ‘more’, we can all do ‘better’, we can all see others who live their life the way we wish we ‘could’.

    i believe it is important for us to live our life as HE wants/wills, not as we or ‘others’ think we ‘should’.

    For me that means growing in our understanding of Him and how we can be more like Jesus in our ability to live IN Him (and the Father) ALL the time.

    Only then can we know what we ‘should’ do -what He wants for us and for us to ‘do’ in this life so as to gain in the next.

    It might be 4 months late but here’s a ’tissue’…

    Maybe in future you can let your tears be tears of Joy for what you have gained over what you have ‘lost’?

    🙂

    <B

  2. March 31, 2009 12:53 am

    i am no help at all..i re read it, still love it, and see nothing wrong with it. 😯 honestly…you write, and just let someone else edit..spelling, proper english..punctuation…i don’t think many writers do this on their own.. but you are a special student..i give you an A for effort! hahaha

  3. March 31, 2009 4:22 am

    Here’s how I would have done this letter. I’m sure it’s not 100% perfect, but it’s my attempt anyway!

    Tam,
    I’m writing you a letter from the future. Well, actually, you’re writing you. I’m sitting here 10 years down the road from where you are right now; Kass and Kota have left the home, they are happy and well adjusted. You and Brent, still happily married.
    But I’m/you’re sitting here now going over things quietly in your mind. Every thought seems to begin with an, “I should have…”:

    I should have spent more time with the kids.
    I should have spent less time worrying about what others thought.
    I should have built up my husband more often.
    I should have bought stock in Nabisco.
    I should have spent more time with the lady in the cereal aisle that day. I knew she was hurting, but I was too tired to stick around.
    I should have listened more, I might have learned more.
    I should have apologized to that friend. I miss her.
    I should have put others first more often.
    I should have lived with more discipline.
    I should have stepped out in faith those times I knew God was saying, “Go, child. Trust Me.”

    Tam, I sent you this letter because I believe in you, because last night you wept over lost time. Tam, you can do more. You were made for more. You’re capable of more. Invest into others. Believe in the abilities God gave you. Believe in the dream He planted in your heart. Believe in others. I don’t want you to look back with regrets. Instead, I want you to look back on this letter and say, “I’m glad I…”

    Oh, and also…Oreos becomes its own food group.

    • March 31, 2009 7:09 am

      i see you fixed the capitals and stuff, but did you fix any grammatical (wording) errors?

      • March 31, 2009 7:47 am

        You know, I didn’t. I don’t think that there is anything that should be changed. These are your words, and as far as I’m concerned, it’s exactly as it should be…

        Is there something particular that you are not sure of?

        I enjoy reading when the writer writes the way they speak. You do that…and you do it VERY well. I would be presumptuous to make any changes in that respect.

        And to some of the other points made here, I’m not even sure that it’s “necessary” to change anything else about this including the non-use of capital letters. We are entering into a generation of readers who do not use, and are not held, to the same standards in writing that were taught when I was in school. Writing is a progressive, evolving mode of communication that is in the midst of a major change right now with the use of text messaging, twitter and blogging! If you are comfortable with your writing minus the caps then go for it! My only caution is the use of commas. Not every pause needs a coma….

        • March 31, 2009 8:15 am

          hmm. thank you lori. youre right…writing is much different these days than it was when i was in high school in the mid 80’s. very easy going.

          i remember once in school, i handed in a report that i had worked very long and hard on. i read it aloud to my family multiple times and made sure it was perfect. got it back with low C grade on it. i was devastated. english teacher said the content was great, the research was good, but it read too much how i talked, not professional enough. he told me i should never write how i sound, there is a standard.

          with you, i really dont think that holds as much weight today…for which i am grateful. cause the standard then…sounded so old fashioned. no one talked liked that. very unnatural, ya know?

          so…all this to say…i think i need to keep “me” in my writing but perhaps be a bit more mindful of the smaller stuff (like commas) which i really dont know how to use 😀

  4. Heidi permalink
    March 31, 2009 4:36 am

    Why change YOU.

    Don’t let the world EDIT your essays of life.

    Just write and allow it to flow.

  5. March 31, 2009 6:10 am

    I love to edit, I love my red pen, I love to correct people. However, I don’t think you should worry about these things for now.

    JUST GET YOUR STORY ON PAPER, LADY!

    (And then, when you’re ready, I’d be happy to take a gander and help you with your affect and effect…and all those non-capitalized letters!)

  6. March 31, 2009 6:53 am

    I have to say, when I was reading this post I didn’t care a thing about finding your grammatical errors. I was too busy being hit by this one. Wow. I don’t wanta live with “I should haves” in my life. I really don’t. Although I can think of a few I already do live with. Amazing post Tam!

    p.s. this is theREALrachelrowell in case you don’t remember me. 😉 I’ve been such a flunk around blogworld lately. Glad to finally have a day to try and catch up a little on what I’ve been missing. Love ya!

    • March 31, 2009 7:12 am

      hi beautiful stranger! ive been a recluse in blog land lately. i think a lot of us have. and its OKAY! but it is good to see your face 😉

  7. March 31, 2009 7:11 am

    seriously. i thought youd all have a field day with this one! i wanted you to. really!

    😀

    i know part of who i am is a very relaxed writer – but there is a point where it just gets ridiculous. dont you think???

    hmmmm. maybe not. perhaps i should relax a bit on this…

    • March 31, 2009 9:46 am

      Well, it depends on if you’re talking about your blog or your book. Your book, I believe, will need more “structure” grammatically. But for your blog? I think most of us come here because we love YOU and love hearing YOUR voice – no matter how little you punctuate or capitalize!

  8. Heidi permalink
    March 31, 2009 7:15 am

    Maybe it’s the relax part that we fell in love with.
    with life of ridgidness, it’s refreshing.

    I just the love the realness, even if you don’t know what a capital or semi-colon is.

    • March 31, 2009 7:24 am

      haha!

      i just dont like to SAY semi-colon 😯

  9. March 31, 2009 7:54 am

    not my area of expertise…..

    here is the way I look at it….you are not having to write to teach, but for others to read and be entertained…..it is what makes your post unique (not poor grammar or spelling, your style)

  10. March 31, 2009 8:35 am

    It is beautiful as it is worded and written. It touched me.

  11. March 31, 2009 9:45 am

    😯
    I’m not even sure where to begin.
    But this may helpa: http://www.drgrammar.org/faqs/

  12. March 31, 2009 9:48 pm

    Tam, you know I can’t pass up an opportunity to proofread… let me just preface this by saying I totally agree with everyone that YOUR job is to write. The editing is someone else’s job. I love the way you write and I think if you worried about capitalization and punctuation it wouldn’t have the same flow and heart.

    That said… here goes.

    Tam,

    I’m writing you a letter from the future. Well, actually, you’re writing you. I’m sitting here 10 years down the road from where you are right now…

    Kass and Kota have left the home; they are happy and well adjusted.
    You and Brent are still happily married.

    But right now I’m– you’re– sitting here going over things quietly in your mind, and every thought seems to begin with “I should have…”

    I should have spent more time with the kids.

    I should have spent less time worrying about what others thought.

    I should have built up my husband more often.

    I should have bought stock in Nabisco.

    I should have spent more time with the lady in the cereal aisle that day…i knew she was hurting, but I was too tired to stick around.

    I should have listened more… I might have learned more.

    I should have apologized to that friend. I miss her.

    I should have put others first more often.

    I should have lived with more discipline.

    I should have stepped out in faith those times I knew God was saying “Go, child. Trust Me.”

    Tam, I am sending you this letter because I believe in you; because last night, you wept over lost time. Tam, you can do more. You were made for more. You’re capable of more. Invest in others. Believe in the abilities God gave you; believe in the dream He planted in your heart; believe in others. I don’t want you to look back with regrets. Instead, I want you to look back on this letter and say, “I’m glad I…”

    Also, in the future… Oreos are their own food group.

    — Word Nerd over-and-out
    Hope that helps…

  13. April 1, 2009 3:47 am

    Like everyone else has said, the way you write is right for you.

    If you were doing research papers, then the advice of your high school teacher would ring true.

    But you’re not. You’re writing about real life Tam. Your life. And so it should sound like you. I think I’ve actually heard your voice once (maybe twice), but I heard it all the time when I read your writing.

    You don’t need me or any other English-language nutter freak to correct the grammar because you would be removed.

    ‘Course, sometimes there are things which are just unforgivable…such as poor newspaper editing. But in the real world, language changes quickly.

    And as long as u dont start talkin in txt spk on ur blog, Ill be happy, 4eva. GBU.

Leave a Reply

