Skip to content

he’s the ‘queen of diamonds’

March 31, 2009

lil pete asked on his blog this morning if his man card was in question. you see, he uses a scrunchy-scrubby thingy in the shower that he calls a loofah. bless is heart.

petey with shower-scrunchy

pete2

man with loofah

manloofah1

anyhoo… i have some hygiene questions for you all – men and women.

do you sing in the shower?

do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah? (there is a difference petey)

bubble baths, bath salts?

do you use body wash or bar soap? on a rope? πŸ˜€

how many times a week do you shower?

now a question for the men…

when you were younger – did you actually wash your hair and body in the shower? im serious here! my boy can walk out of a 20 minute shower and you could fry an egg on the grease from his hair.

help me out here πŸ˜•

37 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 9:01 am

    always…NO…no…bodywash…7+…yes, kota needs some intervention…

  2. March 31, 2009 9:09 am

    Sing in the Shower – Check
    Scrunchy Scrubber/Loofah – I think its actually a sponge
    bubble baths/bath salts – Nope.
    body wash/bar soap/rope-a-soap – Body Wash (great invention)
    Times a Week – At Least once a day (can’t get through a day without it)
    Man-Only Question – how far are we going back? before 5th grade, probably not; after 5th grade, definitely

  3. March 31, 2009 9:15 am

    do you sing in the shower?NOPE

    do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah? (there is a difference petey) NOPE

    bubble baths, bath salts? IF I HAVE TO PICK ONE….SALTS….BUT NORMALLY NOTHING.

    do you use body wash or bar soap? on a rope? BAR SOAP….DIAL

    how many times a week do you shower? DEPENDS ON WHAT I HAVE GOING ON THAT WEEK. SERIOUSLY. 😯

  4. March 31, 2009 9:17 am

    Hmmm….I’m not very girly about the shower am I? πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

  5. March 31, 2009 9:20 am

    Sing in the Shower – Sometimes
    Scrunchy Scrubber/Loofah – Both but prefer my poof (Scrunchy Scrubber)
    bubble baths/bath salts – Prefer Bubbles
    body wash/bar soap/rope-a-soap – Shower Gel/Body Wash
    Times a Week – Once a Day & Wash hair only 2 times a week. It is hecka dry

    Regarding Men Only….I have a 16 year old son that has his own Shower Poof and Body Gel. He also takes 45 minute showers if we let him. He showers every single day and some days twice.

    Also…I was trying to be quiet about Pete’s “Loofah”…LOL I am glad that a few of you called him on the fact that that isn’t a Loofah. LOL

  6. Patrick permalink
    March 31, 2009 9:21 am

    Irish Spring Bar-I am old fashioned!
    Just the Bar and me! No Loofa here! Again may I repeat myself-Old Fashioned!
    Shower but I do like Bath Salt Scrub from the Black Sea! (Aquired from one of those Island Vendors at the mall! Good Stuff on the old Feetsies!)
    Have an 8 year old and I am with you! Sometimes I wonder! I am sure I did the same when younger! But then I found out the Opposite Gender did not favor this!
    He will come around! I promise!

  7. Patrick permalink
    March 31, 2009 9:22 am

    Oh and yes Sing everyday!!! Great Verbratto!!!!
    I double as an alarm clock for the rest of the house!

  8. March 31, 2009 9:24 am

    -I don’t sing in the shower because it would make my daugther cry.

    -I have to say in Pete’s defense I thought what he was holding was a loofah. Whatever he is holding is what I use too. I guess I don’t know the difference either. πŸ™‚ I’m embarrassed to say that I’m an Aesthetician, and I don’t know the difference. Please explain!

    -I don’t take baths, just showers, so no salts for me.

    -I use body wash. The kind with the little exfoliation beads in them. Love me some exfoliation gloves too!

    -I shower everyday, but only wash my hair a few times a week because I’m trying to keep it from falling out. It is waaaay over processed!!

    My little brother does the same thing. He’s 13 and my mom has to make him take a shower AND check to see that he did wash after he get’s out. He likes to just wash his hair in the sink. What is up with that?? I told him that he has a girlfriend now and girls like boys that wash their bodies. He just rolled his eyes and walked away. Who knows!

  9. March 31, 2009 9:40 am

    do you sing in the shower? – yes
    do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah? – loofah
    bubble baths, bath salts? – Nope!
    do you use body wash or bar soap? on a rope? – Bar soup
    how many times a week do you shower? – Everyday!

    I am not too girly about bath things but I NEED TO BE CLEAN. I absolutely hate the feeling when I didnt’ shower. UGH πŸ˜›

  10. March 31, 2009 9:44 am

    If I’m home alone, I absolutely sing the in the shower. I mean, the acoustics in there are awesome!

  11. March 31, 2009 10:02 am

    do you sing in the shower?
    nope. i used to, then somewhere along the way, the echo started to creep me out.

    do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah?
    scruncy-scrubber

    bubble baths, bath salts?
    no baths for me.

    do you use body wash or bar soap? on a rope?
    body wash.

    how many times a week do you shower?
    every day, unless i’m really not going anywhere and therefore don’t get dressed. but i only wash my hair every other day.

  12. Patrick permalink
    March 31, 2009 10:09 am

    Oh yeah! I forgot to mention! I may be old fashioned but I do like Pedicures! Ugly Feet! Pretty Toes!
    Plus it really embarrases the 8 year old son at the pool during the summer when I add some colors and designs!!
    Got the idea a from some guy at the airport who does Triathalons!

    • March 31, 2009 10:12 am

      OH. MY. GOODNESS!

      side. hurting. from laugh….eeen!!!

  13. March 31, 2009 10:13 am

    Do I sing in the shower? – Yes (worship songs or the song I really can’t stand that is stuck in my head….)

    I’m a scrunchie girl.

    Can’t use bubble bath/bath salts cos I’m allergic to them.

    I use Johnson’s baby top-to-toe wash for the same reason – I’m allergic to lots of showergels & shampoos

    Showering – daily in summer, daily/every second day in winter (because it’s just too flippin’ cold)

    On Kota’s showering – Brother #2 of mine seemed to be allergic to water when he was a teen. He smelled soooo bad! You couldn’t tell the grease on his hair because it was too short & dark, but yeah, you had to MAKE him wash. At one point my mother threatened to strip him down and wash him herself if he didn’t. My oldest brother showered all the time, and my youngest brother has got that teenage boy aroma now although he does shower regularly – however not sure how well his actual cleaning of himself is…

  14. March 31, 2009 10:28 am

    do you sing in the shower? sometimes. when i have the energy.

    do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah? (there is a difference petey) NO. Here’s the thing: I think they’re unsanitary. You can’t put them in the washer without them falling apart, which means your dead skin cells are just sitting on it. Eww.

    bubble baths, bath salts? Salts. And nothing too smelly or it affects my lungs.

    do you use body wash or bar soap? on a rope? Aveeno body wash

    how many times a week do you shower? shower or bath every day… love a long soak in a hot bath.

  15. Heidi permalink
    March 31, 2009 10:45 am

    Sing in the Shower – Never
    Scrunchy Scrubber/Loofah – bath rag
    bubble baths/bath salts – oils or aveeno
    body wash/bar soap/rope-a-soap – Ivory
    EVERYDAY…. Twice!! one in A.M. and P.M.

    Regarding Men Only….I have an almost 16 year old son takes 2 showers a day. Uses AXE in the middle. He loves showers and his hair.

  16. March 31, 2009 11:00 am

    Yes, I sing in the shower with my scrunchy! πŸ™‚

    • March 31, 2009 11:05 am

      you mean…you sing in the shower TO your scrunchy.

      • March 31, 2009 11:10 am

        “oh shower-scrunchy, how i love thee
        you make me feel so very manly.

        although the others beg to differ
        i swear my allegiance to my scrubby sister

        no real loofah shall end this affair
        with my shower-scrunchy
        doing its share
        of making me feel so soft and supple
        i’ll leave the loofahs to the manly people”

  17. March 31, 2009 11:02 am

    Sing in the shower – sometimes
    Scrunchy/Loofah – Scrunchy sometimes, sometimes just my hands and the soap πŸ™‚
    Bath salts? No… I shower exclusively
    How many times in a week do I shower? Mostly daily… at least once on the weekend if Im lazy ha!
    Men only? – Well, my wife is still telling me about washing my hair….I have dandruff so the dry scalp flakes make my clothes look like they are dusted with sugar… or dull snowflakes (not like I’ve ever seen real snow anyway…) lol

    • March 31, 2009 11:04 am

      youve never seen real snow???

      • March 31, 2009 8:49 pm

        seriously?! Never seen snow? Oh how I envy you right now. πŸ˜†

        • April 1, 2009 7:13 am

          Ok, I gotta say … my friend and I just called bajanpoet there last night, and she asked him what the weather was like in Barbados. He said he didn’t really know how to tell us because they go by Celsius … so she asked if he could go outside in barefeet. “Of course!” “So you don’t have to wear a coat?” “Coat??!!?! We don’t have coats! I don’t even sleep with any coverings on the bed!”

          HAHAHAHA. And then it also came out that he’s never seen snow. πŸ˜€

  18. March 31, 2009 11:29 am

    do you sing in the shower? Always

    do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah? (there is a difference petey) I use sharp rocks.

    bubble baths, bath salts? Sulfuric acid

    do you use body wash or bar soap? on a rope? πŸ˜€ I use whiskey

    how many times a week do you shower? At least once a year.

    now a question for the men…

    when you were younger – did you actually wash your hair and body in the shower? im serious here! my boy can walk out of a 20 minute shower and you could fry an egg on the grease from his hair.

    Yes.

  19. March 31, 2009 12:07 pm

    Pete has stepped in it now…Tam is even calling him out…oh boy

    do you sing in the shower? nope…wife won’t let me πŸ™‚

    do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah? neither…I told Pete this earlier…its a man thing

    bubble baths, bath salts? neither

    do you use body wash or bar soap? on a rope? soap

    how many times a week do you shower? at least 7…usually a few extras tossed in there so probably 10-14

    now a question for the men…

    when you were younger – did you actually wash your hair and body in the shower? im serious here! my boy can walk out of a 20 minute shower and you could fry an egg on the grease from his hair. Yes I did…no hair now so I can do it all in under 2 minutes and greesy free

  20. March 31, 2009 12:34 pm

    I sing all the time, everywhere, in my head, rarely with my mouth.

    I have had girlfriends who scrubbed my down, but never a loofah. πŸ™‚

    No bubble baths. At night I shower to get clean then have a relaxing soak in bath water as hot as I can stand it.

    I have used Irish Spring soap for years. I use only Neutrogena Facial Cleansing Bar for my face.

    How many times a week!? I shower every morning, also when I get home on a hot summer day, and shower and soak in a hot bath every night. My water company sends me a Christmas card every year. πŸ™‚

    When I was a young man, and even more vain than I am now, I shampooed my hair every morning before I went out. That may be one reason I am bald now. πŸ™‚

    • March 31, 2009 8:50 pm

      “I have had girlfriends who scrubbed my down, but never a loofah. ”

      😯 ED! You crack me up!!!! heehee πŸ˜†

  21. March 31, 2009 1:20 pm

    i ALWAYS sing in the shower…. and i’m pretty sure you could hear me from across the lake.

    i have both a scrunchy thing and a loofah. use ’em both!

    i rarely take bubble baths…or baths at all. small tub. 😦

    body wash, usually. but i’ll confess….there IS soap on a rope in my shower…

    i’ll be honest…i probly shower about three or four times a week in the winter….i have really dry skin, so i do the whole wipe-myself-down-with-a-rag bit to stay fresh. but with texas summer approaching it’s more like every day or every other day if i just happen to stay so clean or if i’m all locked up in the house…or if i’m camping.

    i can’t believe i just confessed to that. πŸ™‚

    • March 31, 2009 2:09 pm

      your confession….me too! very dry skin! so i have to do the same thing. and im always clean and smell nice. im sure you are and do too. so there! πŸ˜‰

  22. March 31, 2009 2:19 pm

    I don’t sing in the shower

    I don’t use anything to wash my body, just shampoo and water rub it around.

    I shower when I need to, here you have it my admission that I just don’t like the whole shower thing and I am not like doing anything that makes me really sweaty. I just don’t get the whole shower every day thing it seems overkill to me.

  23. March 31, 2009 3:42 pm

    Hmmm…shower hygiene…

    I use a scrunchy with shower gel. Bath and Body Works — Warm Vanilla Sugar. Love it! Vanilla shampoo and conditioner. Vanilla lotion afterwards with Vanilla body spray…just ’cause.

    Yes.

    I also light vanilla candles throughout my home.

    You’d think it’d smell better, but not with two dogs and two cats and two BOYS!!! 😯

    I do what I can.

  24. March 31, 2009 6:03 pm

    do you sing in the shower? YOU BET YOUR SWEEY BATOOTIE. THIS MORNING’S SONG WAS THE ELEPHANT LOVE MEDLY FROM MOULIN ROUGE.

    do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah? (there is a difference petey) SCRUCHY SCRUBBER IN CAROLINA BLUE

    bubble baths, bath salts? UM…SHOWERS

    do you use body wash or bar soap? on a rope? BODY WASH. OLD SPICE HIGH ENDURANCE PURE SPORT SCENT

    how many times a week do you shower? AT LEAST 7

    now a question for the men…

    when you were younger – did you actually wash your hair and body in the shower? im serious here! my boy can walk out of a 20 minute shower and you could fry an egg on the grease from his hair. I WASHED BOTH. HECK. WHY WOULDN’T YOU. OTHERWISE YOU ARE JUST MAKING MORE WORK FOR YOURSELF.

  25. March 31, 2009 7:44 pm

    do you sing in the shower? YES only sometimes

    do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah? NO only my hubby uses a loofah, and it’s on the end of a stick!

    bubble baths, bath salts? WHEN I WAS YOUNGER now I’m allergic.

    do you use body wash or bar soap? BODY WASH. When I was younger I would use just water

    how many times a week do you shower? every other day, every since I was a teenager it’s been this way, before that I can’t remember.

  26. April 1, 2009 4:02 am

    Shower Singing – no, I don’t want to wake Diane or the neighbours

    Loofah Scrunch Scrubber – yes, though currently liking a crocheted soap thing from my sister Cee Lew

    Bubble Bath / Salts – very rarely take a bath (I do love them though, and always bubbles if I do)

    Body Wash/Soap – I did this already

    Cleansing Time – at one point, I was religious about 9 showers a week. These days, I shower when needed…usually once a day, but sometimes less, sometimes more.

    Man-Only Question – I’ve been going to a hairdresser, not a barber/mum, since before I was 10…so yes, I washed…and conditioned. One of the shampoos I now use is very manly and made from stout beer (thank you Lush). Grrr.

  27. April 1, 2009 7:09 am

    My problem is that a shower is less about getting clean and more about a chamber or portal, as it were, from one mental state to another.

    So if I am shifting gears from say, working in my office to heading out for a meeting, I need a shower, whether I’m dirty or not.

    My wife gives me a hard time when I take a shower before I head to the gym to play basketball.

    This often leads to days where I take 3 showers.

  28. April 1, 2009 7:16 am

    Yes, I sing
    scrubbie, but also washcloth – depends on my mood.
    Bath salts mostly I guess. I like bubbles, but … don’t use bubble bath.
    Body wash.
    7
    Not a man, but … my brothers sure fit in that category! Unexplainable! (however, my husband doesn’t. He can’t stand being dirty. Takes 11-16 showers a week, depending on the weather and how active he was that day.)

  29. April 4, 2009 12:02 am

    this is too fun! πŸ™‚
    do you sing in the shower? occasionally. not as much as i should. πŸ˜‰ (I blame sleep-deprivation … ;))

    do you use or scrunchy-scrubber or a loofah? a scrunchy-scrubber or shower gloves

    bubble baths, bath salts? I wish, but our tub is kinda yucky so I only take showers.

    do you use body wash or bar soap? on a rope? body wash, for sure!

    how many times a week do you shower? 7. It’s the highlight of my day. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

