Skip to content

fun with the alphabet

April 7, 2009

i met a new blogger yesterday who had this fun thingy-bop on his blog so ive decided to borrow it 😀

thanks bub!

ABC’s – Embellished


A – Age: 38

B – Baseball Game or Ballet: no

C – Chore you hate: cleaning the showers!

D – Dream Vacation: oahu!

E – Easter candy: solid dark chocolate bunny

F – Favorite Flowers:
daisy and tulips

G – Games: mind 😕

H – Height: 5′ 8

I – Instrument you play: spoons 😀

J – Job title: ceo of the hodge lodge

K – Kindergarten Memory: chocolate milk and graham crackers!

L – Luxury you live without:
expendable cash

M – Mexican food choice: chips and salsa

N – Nickname: tamalamadingdong

O – Overnight hospital stay: too many to count

P – Pet Peeve: hearing people chew

Q – Quotes you like: Roses are red, violets are blue, I’m a schizophrenic and so am I.
— Bill Murray (What about Bob)

R – Rainforest or Redwoods: yes

S – Siblings:
oh boy. here we go. 3 half sisters. 2 half brothers. 2 foster brothers. and 3 other temporary siblings who were actually my cousins by blood but my mom married my uncle (her sisters ex-hubs) so that made his children (my cousins) my sisters, which made my uncle, my step dad…my mom, my aunt. and…im not sure what that made me. confused 😕

T – Television favorites: what not to wear, monk, ncis

U – Ultimate dessert:
oreos!

V – Vegetable you dislike:
brussel sprouts

W – Ways you run late: i run late when my kids are running late. i am rarely ever late on my own!

X – X-rays you’ve had: foot, teeth, arm, chest

Y – Yummy food you make:
roast! and molasses cookies 😀

Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite:
monkeys! (i agree Bub. i love monkeys!!!)

so, you all can do this in the comments if ya wanna 😉

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 8:57 pm

    A – Age: 38

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: Baseball Game

    C – Chore you hate: Laundry

    D – Dream Vacation: Don’t know.

    E – Easter candy: Dark Chocolate covered marshmallows.

    F – Favorite Flowers: Lilacs

    G – Games: Any

    H – Height: 6′ 4

    I – Instrument you play: I can whistle

    J – Job title: VP of Applications Development

    K – Kindergarten Memory: naps and running away from school

    L – Luxury you live without: Home Theatre?

    M – Mexican food choice: Tres Leches Cake

    N – Nickname: Tone Loc

    O – Overnight hospital stay: When I was born and appendicitis

    P – Pet Peeve: people eating in the movies… especially from plastic packages

    Q – Quotes you like: single and double

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: Redwoods

    S – Siblings: 3 brothers. 1 older and 2 younger

    T – Television favorites: American Idol, Survivor, & Amazing Race…. & Sports

    U – Ultimate dessert: Kisses from my wife. 😉

    V – Vegetable you dislike: onions

    W – Ways you run late: I don’t even understand this question.

    X – X-rays you’ve had: teeth, head, tailbone, foot

    Y – Yummy food you make: grilled meat!!

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: penguins

  2. April 7, 2009 9:14 pm

    A – Age: 20

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: baseball game. any day.

    C – Chore you hate: dishes. my back tells me so.

    D – Dream Vacation: europe.

    E – Easter candy: those little chocolate eggs.

    F – Favorite Flowers: lillies, orchids.

    G – Games: cranium, risk, monopoly, settlers of catan

    H – Height: 5’5

    I – Instrument you play: used to play drums

    J – Job title: full time student?

    K – Kindergarten Memory: fighting with this kid over scissors. that didn’t go well…

    L – Luxury you live without: regular hair cuts, manicures, etc.

    M – Mexican food choice: burritos of any kind.

    N – Nickname: missa, mars, marsbars

    O – Overnight hospital stay: just when i was born.

    P – Pet Peeve: other people putting their clothes in MY hamper.

    Q – Quotes you like: “I tell you, the more I think, the more I feel that there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people.” –Vincent van Gogh

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: redwoods–though they make me feel a little claustrophobic

    S – Siblings: 1 brother

    T – Television favorites: friends, house, the big bang theory, how i met your mother

    U – Ultimate dessert: dutch apple pie from disneyland, anything with nutella

    V – Vegetable you dislike: squash

    W – Ways you run late: oversleeping

    X – X-rays you’ve had: teeth, knees, back

    Y – Yummy food you make: chocolate chip cookies

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: penguins, tigers

  3. Diane permalink
    April 7, 2009 9:58 pm

    Always up for a wee diversion. 🙂

    A – Age: 35

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: Ballet

    C – Chore you hate: cleaning the bathroom

    D – Dream Vacation: a gourmet cooking tour of Italy.

    E – Easter candy: ooh. A chocolate Bilby!

    F – Favorite Flowers: peonies.

    G – Games: Cranium, every time.

    H – Height: 5′ 6.

    I – Instrument you play: the Mac keyboard 🙂

    J – Job title: Video editor & wannabe designer.

    K – Kindergarten Memory: lukewarm milky tea and soggy toast.

    L – Luxury you live without: being able to just buy ‘stuff’.

    M – Mexican food choice: empanadas. It’s been too long.

    N – Nickname: Brucey (from people who knew me pre-marriage)

    O – Overnight hospital stay: just one, pesky gallbladder.

    P – Pet Peeve: shouty neighbours who smoke on their balcony.

    Q – Quotes you like: “If you read history you will find that the Christians who did
    most for the present world were precisely those who thought most of the
    next. It is since Christians have largely ceased to think of the other world
    that they have become so ineffective in this.” – C.S. Lewis

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: both, as long as they’re not being wiped out.

    S – Siblings: 1 big sister.

    T – Television favorites: Grand Designs, Time Team, Ellen, Who Do You Think
    You Are?

    U – Ultimate dessert: Rice pudding.

    V – Vegetable you dislike: Gosh, that’s tough. I don’t eat too much pumpkin.

    W – Ways you run late: overestimating how long it’ll take me to get ready.

    X – X-rays you’ve had: chest and abdomen.

    Y – Yummy food you make: chicken pasta, bread, beef & Guinness pie

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: I love otters, they are awesome.

  4. April 8, 2009 1:49 am

    A – Age: 44

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: baseball game

    C – Chore you hate: dishes

    D – Dream Vacation: Hawaii–Kauai sounds awesome

    E – Easter candy: chocolate, chocolate, chocolate–with peanut butter even better

    F – Favorite Flowers: anything bright

    G – Games: anything with my guys, even tho I usually lose!

    H – Height: 5′ 3″

    I – Instrument you play: used to play saxophone

    J – Job title: working on this one–right now temp physical therapist, church planter

    K – Kindergarten Memory: oh, so many…and all of a very mean teacher!

    L – Luxury you live without: just about everything right now

    M – Mexican food choice: yes! all

    N – Nickname: none

    O – Overnight hospital stay: oh yeah, lots of surgeries

    P – Pet Peeve: people who are always late, or don’t follow through with what they say

    Q – Quotes you like: Galatians 6:9 So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: both

    S – Siblings: I thought I was 1 of 5 kids, but at age 41 found out my father wasn’t really my father and the “real” father had a daughter…so technically I’m the only child of my bio parents…but I have at least 5 half-siblings. But then again, there may be more to this story I don’t know yet 😉

    T – Television favorites: house, 24, bones, the office, 30 rock

    U – Ultimate dessert: ice cream, my son’s awesome cheesecake

    V – Vegetable you dislike: cooked spinach…it’s a scar from my mother’s cooking that will never go away 😉

    W – Ways you run late: see letter P!

    X – X-rays you’ve had: Yup, just about every part of the body at least a few times (that’s what you get when you have joints that dislocate and you play sports!)

    Y – Yummy food you make: nothing special, all pretty good, nothing “to die for”

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: ones that are awake and moving! except the snakes–no, they can stay still, in another zoo, away from my sight…

  5. April 8, 2009 2:12 am

    A – Age: 36 (turn 37 this Sunday)

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: baseball

    C – Chore you hate: laundry

    D – Dream Vacation: camping and fishing anywhere

    E – Easter candy: Peeps

    F – Favorite Flowers: mini daffodils

    G – Games: Monkey in the middle (with my two little monkeys)

    H – Height: 5′ 11″

    I – Instrument you play: I Sing

    J – Job title: stay @ home dad

    K – Kindergarten Memory: naptime

    L – Luxury you live without: extra money

    M – Mexican food choice: any

    N – Nickname: Dadda

    O – Overnight hospital stay: yea, appendectomy

    P – Pet Peeve: Poor Communication

    Q – Quotes you like: “No Expectations = No Disappointments”

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: Redwoods

    S – Siblings: Three older sisters, 42 in Denver, Colorado, 47 here in Pittsburgh area, and 57 in Cleveland, Ohio.

    T – Television favorites: NCIS, House, Grey s Anatomy, Dog Whisperer, Pittsburgh Penguins Game

    U – Ultimate dessert: DQ

    V – Vegetable you dislike: Beets

    W – Ways you run late: My wife states that I dilly dally…..

    X – X-rays you’ve had: Arm & Leg

    Y – Yummy food you make: Brunch

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: Gorilla’s

  6. April 8, 2009 5:13 am

    Age: 35

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: ballet

    C – Chore you hate: don’t like or hate any more than any other

    D – Dream Vacation: Peru (that’s today’s dream anyway)

    E – Easter candy: hollow dark chocolate any-shaped-thing…a Bilby is fun

    F – Favorite Flowers: roses

    G – Games: Cranium

    H – Height: 5′ 11

    I – Instrument you play: GarageBand, and I often use my voice as an instrument

    J – Job title: Chief Operating Officer (paid) / Music Director (unpaid)

    K – Kindergarten Memory: lying on the floor watching the ceiling fans instead of napping

    L – Luxury you live without: cash (seems a common theme here…)

    M – Mexican food choice: nachos

    N – Nickname: David Davey Johnny Be Goody Goody Goodwin (that’s the short version)

    O – Overnight hospital stay: nope

    P – Pet Peeve: false humility

    Q – Quotes you like: Even a stopped clock tells the right time twice a day

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: don’t ask me to choose

    S – Siblings: 2 sisters, I’m in the middle.

    T – Television favorites: Top Gear, The Simpsons, Family Guy, Rockwiz

    U – Ultimate dessert: having to think too long for this one…

    V – Vegetable you dislike: squash

    W – Ways you run late: Usually waiting for someone…but sometimes I’ll be late of my own volition, just cause…

    X – X-rays you’ve had: foot, arm, teeth, chest, kidneys

    Y – Yummy food you make: stuffed potatoes

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: meerkats

  7. Jim2 permalink
    April 8, 2009 5:33 am

    A – Age: 48

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: Baseball

    C – Chore you hate: Cleaning the gutters

    D – Dream Vacation: Australia!!

    E – Easter candy: Peeps

    F – Favorite Flowers: Whole Wheat

    G – Games: Scrabble, Pictionary

    H – Height: 6’1″

    I – Instrument you play: Trumpet, piano – very poorly

    J – Job title: Salesman

    K – Kindergarten Memory: the long walk home (about 4 blocks)

    L – Luxury you live without: time to relax

    M – Mexican food choice: Chile rellenos like mom makes

    N – Nickname: Gee-um (it’s a southern thing)

    O – Overnight hospital stay: 5

    P – Pet Peeve: laziness, irresponsibility

    Q – Quotes you like: Romans 5: 8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: Redwoods

    S – Siblings: 2 sisters

    T – Television favorites: AVP

    U – Ultimate dessert: Marie Callendars German Chocolate Pie

    V – Vegetable you dislike: Brussel sprouts – are tomatoes a vegetable?

    W – Ways you run late: Lose track of time on the computer

    X – X-rays you’ve had: chest, wrist, knees, teeth

    Y – Yummy food you make: killer chile con queso

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: Tiger

  8. Heidi permalink
    April 8, 2009 5:54 am

    A – Age: 42

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: Baseball

    C – Chore you hate: toilets

    D – Dream Vacation: Bali

    E – Easter candy: Cadbury eggs

    F – Favorite Flowers: purple roses

    G – Games: Yahtzee, cranium

    H – Height: 5’6

    I – Instrument you play: NONE

    J – Job title: Insurance adjuster

    K – Kindergarten Memory: Eating elmer’s glue

    L – Luxury you live without: time to myself

    M – Mexican food choice: Just one?? Tortas

    N – Nickname: Heidi Sue

    O – Overnight hospital stay: too many

    P – Pet Peeve: telling me I can’t

    Q – Quotes you like: It’s beauty that captures your attention; personality which captures your heart

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: Redwoods

    S – Siblings: 2 sisters

    T – Television favorites: What not to wear, House

    U – Ultimate dessert: my mom’s orange mousse pie

    V – Vegetable you dislike: peas

    W – Ways you run late: KIDS and my HUSBAND

    X – X-rays you’ve had: chest!

    Y – Yummy food you make: My turkey rocks

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: Baboon, love his butt!!

    Reply

  9. April 8, 2009 5:59 am

    I did this on my blog last week! http://tinyurl.com/cpv74v

    Actually, I got the idea from Angie (thearthurclan.blogspot.com), then Brenda (bsidethesea.blogspot.com) got the idea from me. And I bet Bub got the idea from her! Fun, fun!!

    Hey – I love NCIS, too!

  10. April 8, 2009 6:08 am

    Fun! Don’t think I will, though. 😦 Sorry Tam. I only have so much time right now … (And your list of siblings is outrageous. 🙂 No full sisters or brothers, huh? I have 3 brothers, 1 sister, 1 step sister and 1 step brother. Ok, I just answered that question, I guess. 🙂 )

  11. April 8, 2009 6:52 am

    A – Age: 33 (until Friday!)

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: Baseball Game

    C – Chore you hate: Putting Laundry Away (I felt the need to be specific since I can actually DO laundry ’til the cows come home…it’s just getting it back in the closets and drawers that is the hard part)

    D – Dream Vacation: Currently it’s trying to get the fam’ down to Disney World this fall!

    E – Easter candy: Stale Peeps

    F – Favorite Flowers: Snap-dragons

    G – Games: Celebrity-Salad-Spinner (a game we invented during my college years…need I say more?)

    H – Height: 6′

    I – Instrument you play: Piano

    J – Job title: Senior Engineer

    K – Kindergarten Memory: My teacher’s name was Mrs. Hinkle 😉

    L – Luxury you live without: Eh…I got everything I need. 🙂

    M – Mexican food choice: Green Chili (Spicy enough to make your head sweat!!)

    N – Nickname: Odie

    O – Overnight hospital stay: The first few months of my life were spent in hospitals…but since then? Only a few here and there.

    P – Pet Peeve: People who smack their gum.

    Q – Quotes you like: “Today was good. Today was fun. Tomorrow is another one.” – Dr. Seuss

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: Rainforest

    S – Siblings: 1 brother (but I’ve had a few ‘step-siblings’ sprinkled throughout my years)

    T – Television favorites: Friends, CSI, Numb3rs & 90210 (yeah…I said it)

    U – Ultimate dessert: Heath Bar Blizzard from DQ

    V – Vegetable you dislike: Canned Sweet Peas (yuck)

    Ways you run late: I NEVER run late

    X – X-rays you’ve had: Teeth, knees, hands

    Y – Yummy food you make: Jambalaya and Cornbread

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: Tiger

  12. April 8, 2009 6:52 am

    Have you ever tried deep fried oreos with ice cream and fudge on top?! Mmmm, it’ll make you wanna slap yo mamma!! 🙂

    • Jim2 permalink
      April 8, 2009 11:51 am

      Wild guess – you’re from the south? we love to deep fry EVERYTHING!

    • April 8, 2009 12:40 pm

      no i havent. i cant even imagine what that would taste like, girl! you are southern fried crazy 😉

  13. April 8, 2009 6:56 am

    A – Age: 30

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: Neither

    C – Chore you hate: Cleaning the gutters (Gotta agree, Jim2!)

    D – Dream Vacation: hmmm USA!!! Visit all my friends in the blogosphere

    E – Easter candy: chocolate, any chocolate

    F – Favorite Flowers: what’s an edible flower?

    G – Games: hmm…. Scrabble

    H – Height: 5′ 7″

    I – Instrument you play: I can sing!

    J – Job title: Application Support Technician ( ie programmer)

    K – Kindergarten Memory: don’t know….

    L – Luxury you live without: time to relax lol (gotta agree with Jim2 there again!)

    M – Mexican food choice: hmm… not much Mexican food where I live….

    N – Nickname: Ren (my wife’s shortened my middle name which is Rene’)

    O – Overnight hospital stay: for myself or with my children?

    P – Pet Peeve: ppl interrupting me when I talk. I. HATE. that.

    Q – Quotes you like: hmmm my own: “No applause. Just money!”

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: Rain forest

    S – Siblings: 1 younger sister

    T – Television favorites: ALL CSIs, Smallville.

    U – Ultimate dessert: Strawberry Smoothies

    V – Vegetable you dislike: beets

    W – Ways you run late: Lose track of time on the computer (Jim2 and I must be brothers!)

    X – X-rays you’ve had: hip

    Y – Yummy food you make: baked chicken, rice and peas (Sunday dinner!)

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: Tiger

    • Jim2 permalink
      April 8, 2009 11:53 am

      amen to the beets! I have more chances to hate them, my wife only makes brussel sprouts once a year.

      • April 8, 2009 12:41 pm

        “my wife only makes brussel sprouts once a year.”

        why make them at all? is it an annual religious ceremony thing? 😉

        • Jim2 permalink
          April 8, 2009 12:54 pm

          she makes them whenever her brother comes to visit – his wife refuses to make them.

  14. April 8, 2009 12:36 pm

    I wrote mine on Friday so I’m sure you won’t mind if I pimp my post early, right? 🙂 Here’s the link if anyone is interested:

    http://bsidethesea.blogspot.com/2009/04/my-abcs.html

    It’s not really fair that you cheated and said “both” for rainforests and redwoods. That was a very hard decision for me to choose between. Do you happen to live near any redwoods?

    The solid dark chocolate bunny sounds so yummy and brought back good memories from my childhood. I used to eat the ears off first. How about you?

    Ewww, I agree that pickled beets are digusting!

    • April 8, 2009 12:42 pm

      i ate the ears off first too! isnt that the way its supposed to be done? 😉

      i know. i did cheat. 😕 yes, i live about 2 hours from the redwoods. they are quite breathtaking!!! its been said a million times before, but God really took His time out here creating the west coast 🙂

  15. April 8, 2009 1:33 pm

    OH FUN! Something to make me procrastinate even more at the moment! Thanks Tam

    A – Age: $# until May (let’s see if you can figure that one out) I figure any day about the dirt is a good day!

    B – Baseball Game or Ballet: Baseball

    C – Chore you hate: cleaning the toilet! Which is what I should be doing

    D – Dream Vacation: Hawaii->Sydney, Australia->Javea, Spain-> London, England-> St. Vincent, W.I.->Barbados, W.I->Montreal (in Springtime)

    E – Easter candy: none really

    F – Favorite Flowers: Gardinas

    G – Games: video

    H – Height: 5′7

    I – Instrument you play: Guitar, iPod

    J – Job title: Assistant Manager

    K – Kindergarten Memory: Playing the the sandbox we had in the class & Singing “God Save the Queen”

    L – Luxury you live without: All

    M – Mexican food choice: salsa to drown out the rest of it

    N – Nickname: Mommmieeeee (done in a 2 yo and 4 yo voice)

    O – Overnight hospital stay: only with childbirths

    P – Pet Peeve: People who clip their nails in public places

    Q – Quotes you like: Wherever you are be All there – not sure who said it

    R – Rainforest or Redwoods: Rainforest

    S – Siblings: 1 borther who is 9 years younger (same parents, incase you were wondering)

    T – Television favorites: Cold case, Top Chef, Little People Big World

    U – Ultimate dessert: Pavlova

    V – Vegetable you dislike: Egg plant

    W – Ways you run late: getting chikdren ready

    X – X-rays you’ve had: foot, legs, teeth, chest

    Y – Yummy food you make: Roasted anything

    Z – Zoo animal that’s your favorite: Tiger

  16. April 8, 2009 9:33 pm

    THX for that! about siblings? I thought my life was complicated…but now that I see yours mine’s not so bad. I think. 😉

    I did this same meme a couple weeks ago.

    I got it from Mari (she’s linked to on my sidebar).

    And I noticed that some of the questions are different on mine.

    Take a look here if you like: http://www.demarablog.com/2009/03/24/alphabet-meme/?preview=true&preview_id=1443&preview_nonce=15447d415f

  17. April 9, 2009 8:28 am

    I just did it… and posted it on my blog!

    http://jenniclayville.com/?p=2461

Leave a Reply

