Skip to content

covered…

April 10, 2009

tonight as we took communion together as a family i was struck with a thought. i have no idea if its been hit on before…but it certainly took my breath.

as i pictured in my mind the brutal, torturous death Jesus endured for me, i kept hearing over and over “His blood covers all my sin…His blood covers all my sin…”

i thought of the first nails that pierced His hands…and they bled. out of His hands poured out blood, covering them. covering mine. covering my own hands that would sin against Him over and over. blood poured out of His hands…to cover my hands.

His feet. nails drove through His feet…and they bled. blood covered His feet…which covered my feet and all the places they would go that would sin against Him.

the crown. the crown of thorns placed on His head. thorns that dug into His flesh…and He bled. His blood, poured from His head…covering my mind, my thoughts, that would sin against Him.

His blood, poured out, covered my sin.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2009 10:59 pm

    When Kota tweeted about your #hodgeclan communion, I welled up. I’ve never met you guys (in the conventional sense), but I was struck by how incredibly special this was.

    And then to think how that pales to absolutely nothing (in the most beautiful way) when placed next to what Jesus did for us on that Cross and in those days in hell when He took back the keys of life from satan…I’m surprised I’m not a constant mess of tears.

    Oh, wait…

    • April 11, 2009 8:26 pm

      well now youve gone and made me cry…

      something about this Easter that has been, i dont know…multi sensory (for lack of better words) He’s just gettin us, getting to us, on all fronts. it is beyond beautiful and overwhelming! He is far, far too good to us, david…

  2. April 11, 2009 1:39 am

    Covered, what a great feeling.
    I love this time of year.
    Great Share!!

  3. April 11, 2009 2:15 am

    I forgot to say, Have a wonderful Easter with your family, Tam!

    • April 11, 2009 8:28 pm

      Happy Easter to you and yours as well! i love this time of year too. Spring brings new life and the story of His resurrection raises even more lives. new life all around!

  4. April 11, 2009 3:53 am

    β€œHe himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed.”- 1 Peter 2:24

    Happy Easter.. Peace and love sis.

  5. April 11, 2009 5:45 am

    covered, not in shame, but in His love, grace, mercy and forgiveness

    so much blood, pain and sacrifice to raise us up from our own death

    He Is Risen!

    • April 11, 2009 8:29 pm

      yes…NOT in shame. i love that!!

      love you girl!

  6. Heidi permalink
    April 11, 2009 6:00 am

    Covered

  7. April 11, 2009 6:20 am

    Thank you, Tam.

  8. April 11, 2009 10:28 am

    YUP!

    I am in love with the one who bled and keeps bleeding for me everyday. every time. i sin.

    I did a Good Friday post, you might like to see, sort of along these same lines…

    • April 11, 2009 8:31 pm

      yes…i will check that out this week. thank you!

      i love the flower in your hair πŸ˜‰

  9. April 11, 2009 4:56 pm

    There is an old hymn Tam called; “Covered by the blood”.

    Words go something like this;

    My iniquities so vast have been blotted out at last, they are all covered by the blood!”

    Find it – listen to it – so very basic! It will grip your heart and soul~

    • April 11, 2009 8:32 pm

      i got your email with the lyrics, papa…wow…brought me to tears… thank you for sending that!

      love you! love mama!

  10. April 11, 2009 5:16 pm

    Beautifully said and so true! Thankful doesn’t begon to cover how I feel this Easter season. I am humbled to serve the One True God. πŸ™‚

    • April 11, 2009 8:33 pm

      “thankful” for me doesnt quite do it either. i get so frustrated at times cause i truly cannot find the perfect word…

      but im humbled….right along with you.

  11. April 11, 2009 7:51 pm

    That was beautiful insight, Tam. Thanks for sharing. And I agree with David how special it is that you as a family take communion together. Praying that will be possible in my home one day. Happy Easter Hodge family!

    • April 11, 2009 8:35 pm

      i pray it will be possible too, friend…

      happy Easter, Brenda πŸ™‚

  12. April 12, 2009 5:10 pm

    i’ve told you this before, i know… but i so wish i could WATCH you do family.

  13. April 13, 2009 7:54 am

    I’m with Alece there. :_) Beautiful word picture, Tam. Hey I saw you last week. πŸ™‚ Were you visiting MN, or … was I just missing you?

    • April 13, 2009 7:58 am

      I miss you too! You need to email me…catch me up.

Leave a Reply

