Skip to content

like, who cares?

April 12, 2009

i noticed something a couple weeks ago. something rather quirky about me. i know. shocking.

its a thing i do that makes no sense at all!

picture this…

sitting on the edge of my bed.

i grab my socks. both socks are right next to me. i grab one.

i pull my left foot up to put my sock on.

i notice the sock in my hand is for the right foot (yes. i can tell this.)

what to do?

it would seem the easiest thing to do would be to grab the left sock, beings my left foot is already prepped and geared to be covered.

but i always switch feet instead. not socks.

are you tracking with me here?

even if im standing. i will about near fall over switching feet instead of just grabbing the right sock for the ready foot. i mean, its not like theres a big risk in grabbing the other sock. odds are, it’ll be the correct one 😕

ok. i know this is silly. and you just wasted 32 seconds reading this nonsense. but my brain is mush(ier) after this amazing Easter weekend! so….this is the best ive got.

so, as my punishment, you may now share one of your silliest quirks.

68 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2009 10:13 pm

    When I’m riding in a car, I push my toes down at each sign post, electric pole, etc. as if I’m stepping over an imaginary line protruding from each one. I have internal debates about how big it has to be to count… sometimes I only do electric poles, and sometimes I do even the smallest mile markers.

    I also am unsettled if a flight of stairs doesn’t have exactly fifteen steps… for some reason the rhythm of 15 is resonant with me. When my family lived in Rogue River, our house had 15 steps, and I would always start with my right foot and count: “one-two-three-four-five-six-seven-eight/nine-ten-eleven-twelve-thirteen-fourteen-fifteen” (for some reason there is a distinct break between the 8 and the 9). When we moved to another house, there was only fourteen steps, so I would start counting with my right step on the floor directly in front of the stairs and count to 15 that way. Um… so weird.

  2. April 12, 2009 10:14 pm

    Oh, and I canNOT put my right shoe or sock on first. NO. WRONG.
    Must. Start. With. Left. It gives me the heebs to put my right shoe or sock on first.

    • April 12, 2009 10:22 pm

      You are SO cool! And SO much more screwed up than me.

      Phew…

  3. April 13, 2009 12:00 am

    i always read the Snapple fact under the lid before i take a sip. every time. no matter how parched i may be.

  4. April 13, 2009 1:48 am

    My wife won’t believe me but M&M’s have different flavors. Red=Cherry, Green=Lime, Yellow=Lemon, Blue=Blue Berry, Dark Brown=Dark Chocolate, Brown= Chocolate of course.

    At night when I goto bed, I always check to see if the Garage Door is down and set the alarm. I do this every night. If I lay down and say to myself, “Is the garage door down?” I have to get up and check even if I can see the red light of the set alarm in our bedroom. I can not go to sleep until I check it.

    I always hit the lock button on my cars remote Twice….

    Dang, I didn’t think I would be able to come up with anything. 🙂

    Peace and Love Sis

  5. Heidi permalink
    April 13, 2009 4:22 am

    When I go over a speedbump in my car, I ever so slightly lift my bum.

  6. April 13, 2009 4:35 am

    I do the exact same thing. My wife always laughs at my quirks, because she has none…and that drives me crazy! 🙂

    When I get dressed, I pull my pants up and fasten them, then put my t-shirt on, then unfasten my pants to tuck my shirt in. She always asks my I don’t put the shirt on first, but that is NOT how it’s done!

    When I’m washing dishes, I have to stop between each one and dry my hands before grabbing the next dish.

    In the closet, all my shirts have to face the same way (right) and pants folded the same…oh, and the hook, “hooks” from the front. No reaching around the bar to hang something up.

    There are many more, but I think I’ve revealed myself enough for one episode. 🙂

    Ok, so maybe I AM a little OCD. My wife is so non-OCD that it drives me crazy sometimes.

    Oh, and there totally is a left and right sock!

  7. April 13, 2009 4:51 am

    (I’m much more disturbed by the fact that you think there’s a right and left sock…)

    My shoes have to be the same tightness or I can’t workout.

    • April 13, 2009 5:10 am

      Me too! if they’re uneven, I feel like I’m going to run in circles!

    • April 13, 2009 9:12 am

      mandy – my big toe is actually bigger than the rest of my toes, hence…big toe. therefor, it leaves a slightly bigger imprint and protrudes out a little farther than the rest of the sock. if i were to put the left sock on the right foot, then i would have extra sockage down by my little toe and then that would get all bulked and scrunched up and THAT would drive me nuts!

      • April 14, 2009 10:25 am

        But your premise is that there’s a left and right sock. THAT is nuts. How can you tell which is which??

        • April 14, 2009 1:26 pm

          there is a left and right. but not right out of the package. but as soon as theyre on my feet, my little toesies start manipulating them and forming the perfect left and right sock.

          and remember, actually i didnt mention this, i dont wear socks with my shoes – i wear them around the house. and i dont care how clean you keep your floors – your socks will get dirty. fast. i wear mine all day long and even after a good washing – there are still imprints from my feet on them

          clear?

  8. April 13, 2009 5:06 am

    I had to think very hard… didn’t think I had any, but here’s one…

    If I’m drinking soft drink (you guys call it soda?) from a bottle, every time I take a swig I have to cap it back again…. just in case someone knocks the drink over when it’s on the table – I wouldn’t lose any of it because it spilled!

  9. April 13, 2009 5:20 am

    I wanna know what distinguishes one sock from the other. This post actually forced me to remove my shoes and look and they are EXACTLY the same. This made me go to the sock drawer and whataya know….ALL THE SAME.
    So, are socks made differently in Oregon? Is there a rightfootsockshop.com that I’m missing. Truly, inquiring minds want to know.

    • April 13, 2009 9:13 am

      see my reply to mandy. you all are just weird 😕

  10. April 13, 2009 5:59 am

    I guess I am as quirky as you…. I see no problem with your foot-swithching-ways. After all, your hands are prepped to put on a sock…to me it seems easier, and much more common-sensible to do it the way that you do. Why put down one sock and reach for the other? But you might want to consider balancing yourself better, first….maybe….just a thought. I don’t want you to fall over and bump your head. Am I crazy?

    I’m sure I have many quirks, but not the ability to notice them. Come spend a day with me and then you can tell me all about my quirks.

  11. April 13, 2009 6:02 am

    Oh MY….I just read the other comments….there is a lot of OCD here. Who knew?

  12. April 13, 2009 6:02 am

    What is it with feet-related quirks? Mine’s about socks too…

    My mother showed me how to fold socks a certain way (too difficult for me to explain at midnight like it is here now, or any other time of the day). Her mother and her mother before that had all used the same method.

    To this day, Diane doesn’t get it (and I wouldn’t expect her to)…but I HAVE to refold all my socks into the requisite fold before I can put them on.

    But, um…there’s no left/right socks. Not in sensible Australia anyway…

    Freaky Americans.

  13. Sharon Mac permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:46 am

    Tam,
    I do this too! And to reply to Mandy’s point…I just seem to be able to know which foot I usually wear a sock on…imprints form…But I never change sock and ALWAYS change foot. I stand alongside your quirkiness!
    Sharon Mac (Mandy’s wee N.Irish friend).

    • April 13, 2009 9:14 am

      finally…a *normal* person! bless you, Sharon!!! 😉

      • lsnjgagle permalink
        April 13, 2009 10:11 am

        Hey, I agreed from the start! 🙂 Oh I think I got my avatar fixed now, thanks!

        • lsnjgagle permalink
          April 13, 2009 10:17 am

          This is Jonathan by the way…

          • April 13, 2009 10:26 am

            yay. youre fixed! and youre right…you agreed too…ok thats a few of us normal ones! we shall overcome!!

            and you totally look like George Michael from Wham in that avi. i had to do a double take 😯

            • lsnjgagle permalink
              April 13, 2009 10:54 am

              George Michael? Really? Never heard that one before…

              New avatar coming up! 🙂

              • April 13, 2009 11:17 am

                That wasn’t an insult. Really! I like the new one too 😀

  14. April 13, 2009 6:50 am

    no sock related quirks per say….but now I am paranoid….maybe I do have them and never realized it…

    my list of quirks is way too long for a simple response but I will give you my biggest…

    I have to put my shoes on before my pants…. so that I do not wrinkle my pants. After all, I have spent countless and precious minutes ironing them so I do not wish to disturb my beautiful work 🙂

  15. April 13, 2009 7:04 am

    Just a side note, do I have to have a wordpress account to have an avatar other than that green thingy?

    • April 13, 2009 9:17 am

      hey jonathan! 🙂 no, i dont think you need a wordpress acct to get your pic here. go to http://www.gravatar.com and upload a pic there and that avatar will follow you around everywhere you go, regardless. pretty cool. i think thats how it works at least 😕

  16. April 13, 2009 7:57 am

    You are funny. 🙂

    Odd quirks? My hubby thinks it’s strange that I pick up things on the floor with my feet whenever possible. I don’t think this is too strange. My whole family does it. But … there you are.

    • April 13, 2009 9:18 am

      ya know, annie…this lends a wee bit support to us once being monkeys. im just sayin’ 😉

    • April 13, 2009 7:02 pm

      LOL Annie… I don’t do it wherever possible, but I do pick things up with my feet pretty often – saves the hassle of bending over!

      I used to flick my pants off my foot into the air and catch it, too… again, saves the hassle of bending over! Once I did that while at secondary school while changing in my classroom before P.E. – and got catcalls from the girls in the other class room who could see me through the half open folding doors between the two classes… didn’t even know they could see me!

      • April 13, 2009 8:18 pm

        “saves the hassle of bending over!”

        hahaha!!! THAT is SO funny!

        • April 14, 2009 7:35 am

          HAHA! Rob, your story is SO funny! And yes – It does save the hassle of bending over! I’m pretty sure if my feet had thumbs (do monkey’s feet have thumbs?) they would operate as two additional hands. That’d be nice! I could use them!

    • lsnjgagle permalink
      April 14, 2009 3:47 am

      After 5 Pregnancies, my wife doesn’t even use her hands to pick anything up any more, lol. She’ll clean a whole room and not even bend over! 🙂

      • April 14, 2009 7:38 am

        i dont even know how to respond to this…

        😯

  17. April 13, 2009 8:23 am

    I will have to ask my wife what my quirks are… whatever they are, I must think them ‘normal’.

    It must take you ‘sock-nuts’ forever to match socks… “Now, where is that left sock to go with this right one? I sure hope the dryer didn’t eat it. What good is a right sock without a left?”

    🙂

    • April 13, 2009 9:18 am

      exactly! its tough being me 😯

    • lsnjgagle permalink
      April 13, 2009 11:34 am

      I don’t match my socks up, I have one small drawer just for my socks, and I “hand pick” them to wear that day. Problem solved! 🙂

    • April 13, 2009 8:41 pm

      I think my wife keeps my socks in a basket so that everyday can be an ‘Easter Egg Hunt’…

      I would like to know what happens to that missing sock, however.

      • lsnjgagle permalink
        April 14, 2009 3:51 am

        It’s a conspiracy between the Dryer makers and hobos. The dryer literally eats it and digests it into lint. The hobos know when a sock has been eaten and come in the night to collect the lint. They then make sweaters and more socks. True story.

  18. April 13, 2009 9:20 am

    i feel i should state that i am fully aware of how fortunate i am to have socks and feet. i am NOT complaining. just making a pointless observation.

    as you were….

  19. April 13, 2009 9:36 am

    Bologna sandwich…. bread, mustard, cheese, and bologna. Then when it is all together, it MUST be squished. Flat. Flip it and squish again. Then I rip off the crusts and eat that part first, and if needed, I continue squishing as I eat the rest.

    I’m sure I have more, but that one is the hardest… I don’t eat bologna sandwiches in public. 😀

    • April 13, 2009 9:40 am

      and the public thanks you.

      😉 😆

  20. April 13, 2009 9:42 am

    As well they should….

  21. April 13, 2009 10:49 am

    There are right and left foot socks?

    I have follow same breakfast routine every day. I cut up a banana in bite size pieces first. Then make a cup of black tea, using a timer to make sure the tea is brewed for 5 minutes.

    Next I toast one piece of Qat Nut bread and put Peanut Butter on it. I cut the bread into eight squares I always eat the bread first than the banana.

    Last I make another cup of tea, green tea. I use a temperature gauge to make sure the water is 180 degrees, and seep the tea for exactly 3 minutes.

    Any questions about why I live alone? 🙂

  22. April 13, 2009 11:16 am

    Tam, honey, I love you, but that is weird. And by “that,” I mean that you can tell which foot your socks go on! How can you even tell that?

    However, I’m a bit odd myself. A friend and I had quite a long discussion a couple years back about whether we were OCD and didn’t know it, because we discovered that we both have the weird habit of counting things. I count stairs, phone rings, shirts in the laundry. I don’t know why, but I count things.

    • April 13, 2009 11:19 am

      Look. As long as you love me, I’m ok with being weird.

  23. April 13, 2009 11:52 am

    I don’t get the imprint thing. Sure, there’s an imprint after taking them off at the end of the day, but wouldn’t it go away in the washer? At least…my socks come out imprint-free.

    @seven–I do the same thing…left foot MUST be first. And always sock-shoe-sock-shoe. None of that two socks on before one shoe.

    The things on my dresser have to be aligned a certain way before I can go to sleep. If I lay down and realize that they’re not right, then I will get back up, no matter how tired I am. Sometimes I have to get up several times until it’s just right.

    My drink always has to be on the left side. I have made people move their drinks at the movies if they have the nerve to try to put their drink in MY cup holder. Luckily, my family is trained now. 🙂

  24. April 13, 2009 12:24 pm

    wow. we got some ocd’ers up in here!

    i love it!!!

  25. April 13, 2009 12:54 pm

    the silverware in the dishwasher thing is arranged/loaded by type. Makes the unloading WAY easier. Training others takes some patience, but it’s worth it.

    I scratch my head with only one finger (unless my hair is straight that day, then it varies)..I think it’s so I don’t disturb the curls?

    I scoop/scrape the juice/seeds out of tomato slices before using them.

    I too need my laced shoes to be of equal tightness. Sometimes I just tell myself to get over it and go, but it takes a minute. I also kind of stress out if I’m walking on uneven pavement… I think about if one leg is being impacted unevenly. Again, I tell myself to get over it and continue, nothin’ I can do to change the sidewalk.

    I shake milk. Pretty sure this comes from having soymilk as a kid and not cow’s milk. Unshaked soymilk=yucky. So, it’s habit and I shake pretty much every uncarbonated liquid before pouring.

    • lsnjgagle permalink
      April 14, 2009 3:56 am

      My wife refuses to load the dishwasher now. She knows that I will come up after her and rearrange the whole thing anyway. I’ve tried to teach her and she just will not learn. 🙂

      I don’t get the tomato thing though. The juice is the best part!

  26. April 13, 2009 12:55 pm

    I’m glad you clarified the right and left sock situation to Mandy, because I was confused for a moment and beginning to wonder if I had been doing this wrong my entire life. I guess my toes are within the normal size-staggered range since they don’t leave imprints.

    Okay, now for my weirdness:

    We keep our trashcans on the side of the house. We have a blue can for recyclables, a black can for regular garbage, and two greenery recyclables. It bugs me if they are out of order… My order. One green can has to be closest to the backyard, then the blue, then the other green closer to the front yard, and then the black closest to the street. No one else in our house knows about this special order, but I have been known to rearrange them on occasion.

    • April 13, 2009 2:51 pm

      what if you told the rest of the family about your color coding ways??? maybe they can help make things “right” 😉

  27. April 13, 2009 12:56 pm

    Of course there is a right and left sock. Otherwise how would we know which sock to put on first? Duh!!! You can’t just go putting right socks on willy-nilly, the left foot must be properly covered first.

    What are you people, anarchists??

    (Yes, I put on my left sock first, so for me I would have to change socks, because changing feet is just not an option.)

    • jimm2 permalink
      April 13, 2009 2:17 pm

      Next you’ll be telling me there is a right and left shoe!

      I guess I am a little compulsive when it comes to washing dishes – it drives me crazy to see plates stacked on top of bowls in the sink – it’s somehow “unsafe” and loading the dishwasher is something my wife and I just cannot agree on. The good thing is, as long as the other person does it, we’ll let them do it the “wrong” way. I think it was DL Moody that said “I like the way I do it better than the way you don’t do it at all”

    • April 13, 2009 2:51 pm

      i think we’re ll out of our minds.

      yup.

      😀

  28. April 13, 2009 12:56 pm

    “unshaked”???? 😦 I meant “unshaken”.

    And yet another quirk, I can’t stand typos. I found one in CS Lewis’s “The Great Divorce”, and even though it’s a favorite, I had a hard time with that. Silly book editors.

    • April 13, 2009 2:50 pm

      ooooo. i am the queen of typos. how on earth did you get through this post???

      {tips hat}

    • lsnjgagle permalink
      April 14, 2009 3:58 am

      Twitter drives me nuts because of that! I love twitter, but it’s all I can do to get through someones post that they’ve squeezed down to 140 characters.

  29. April 13, 2009 2:35 pm

    I’m completely normal and have no quirks.

    I also lie sometimes.

    [borrowing a laptop… I feel so out of touch!!!]

  30. April 13, 2009 11:50 pm

    i did EXACTLY the same thing recently – sitting on the edge of my bed and switched feet rather than sock!:shock:

    At my age it has more to do with being unable to stand and put socks on feet, hence the siting down part – but i still ‘noticed’ and decided to swap feet!

    This is NOT my silliest quirk – just wanted you to know – we have some ‘stuff’ in common 🙂

    <B

Leave a Reply

