Skip to content

“Dude, i just….”

April 13, 2009

i’ve given my blog to my girl today. i had to have her share this šŸ˜Æ

Hey everybody! Kass here. Most of you already know about my story today, but for those of you who don’t, here it is:

After lunch at school, me and 60 other freshman go off campus to a place called the land lab. It’s pretty much a farm. You have pigs, horses, chickens (I know, weird mix). We also have two man-made ponds with hundreds of fish in each. Anyways, we all partnered up and are now attempting to make 5′ by 5′ gardens. So today we were tilling the soil and a friend found a worm. My partner and I went over to see if he was going to eat it or not. Well, he chickened out and held out the worm to me. Obviously they wanted to see if I’d actually eat a live worm. To be honest with you, and as weird as it may sound, I actually wanted to try it… So I did. He gave me the worm and I put it in my mouth and swallowed it whole! Disgusting, I know! They were surprised that i actually ATE A WORM!!! Ewww! But, boys being boys, they thought it was awesome! And I thought it was… awkward. A boy chickened out in eating a worm and then a girl whooped his butt and swallowed it whole! For some reason that makes me giggle. šŸ˜€

What is the craziest thing you remember doing when you were in Highschool?

[and below you will find the text conversation she had with her dad right after she ate the worm. lord help me!]

worm

kasshair

43 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 9:13 pm

    Wow….thats awesome and i’m speechless

  2. April 13, 2009 9:20 pm

    Kass – you ROCK!

    i ate a worm once… just to prove the same thing (weird being that I’m a germaphobe… whatever). Anyway… I DIDN’T swallow it whole, cuz the dare was to chew it. It was GRIT-TY!

    good protein though šŸ™‚

  3. April 13, 2009 9:26 pm

    You’re all set for witchety grubs and goannas when you come to Australia then šŸ˜‰

    When that twitpic came up earlier though, I had one of my “laugh so hard in the office that people come to see if I’m OK” moments.

    And that was just because you called Brent “Dude”…

    • April 13, 2009 9:30 pm

      “witchety grubs and goannas”

      i DONT EEEEEVEN wanna know…

      uh-uh-nope.

  4. April 13, 2009 9:27 pm

    eww, Kass. lol.

    the craziest thing i ever did in high school was dissecting baby pig… FOR A GRADE! i can still smell it. *puke*

  5. April 13, 2009 9:30 pm

    when kass gets home from school tomorrow she’ll read and respond to you all. but for now…youre stuck with the disgusted mom.

  6. April 13, 2009 9:35 pm

    I guess I should answer the question too huh…

    Craziest thing in High School…where to start…um…pobably one of our Barbershop Quartet antics…

    Getting a boater stuck in the chapel ceiling which was 60 feet high after a “who can get their boater to break the chapel ceiling plaster competitions”…

    Boys eh

    • April 13, 2009 9:38 pm

      funny memory and all. but even funnier is that “#prorably” has now turned into “#pobably”

      šŸ˜‰

      • April 13, 2009 9:41 pm

        I #prorably have issues with probably, and I #pobably always will.

  7. April 13, 2009 10:15 pm

    Dude, that is awesome!
    I would have to be promised a TON of money to do that.

    Tam, thanks for your comments on my photos! Even though you were disguised as your hubby!
    If you’re ever in San Diego, let me know and I’d love to shoot you! With my lens, I mean! And I’ll be sure to let you put your socks on how ever you need to!

  8. April 13, 2009 10:17 pm

    I actually asked the most popular boy out to prom. He said no, so I asked every other guy I liked one by one. All said no. To this day I am so glad I did it! Wished I would have done it sooner, instead of wasting time talking about it and thinking about it instead of just being done with it. By the way I went to prom with a guy friend and I looked awesome, bet one of them regretting their answer to me.

  9. April 13, 2009 11:47 pm

    you’re ready for africa, kass!

  10. April 14, 2009 12:01 am

    That’s gross for so many reasons šŸ˜‰

    Not the least of which is that worm would have been one of the BEST things you could have given to your garden bed!!

    As i recall, Jesus was not a big follower of the idea of giving in to a dare from anyone?

    Not quite sure why anyone else would then either?

    Just who is it we are put here on earth to impress anyway??

    <B

  11. April 14, 2009 1:28 am

    Craziest thing I did in highschool? Well this is a family show and I don’t want to be sent to my room by Tam.

    So how about the time my friends and I used a railed road crossing to play Dukes of Hazard in a chevy Blazer.

    The landing was a bit more violent than we figured it would be, but we landed wheels down.

    As for the worm? Well um…nope not me.

  12. April 14, 2009 2:04 am

    That’s it! I’m sending my daughter to you Tam cuz I want ya to mold her the same way ya did Kass.
    That’s a big ole bunch of awesomeness right there!

    The best part is Dad doesn’t respond with “you did what!?”, but HAHA, Love you!
    That’s priceless!

    Because this is a family program, I will not leave my crazy high school stories here!

    You’re welcome :-).

  13. Heidi permalink
    April 14, 2009 4:09 am

    WE put a beetle in the library, a 69 convertible beetle (the principals)

    Ate grasshopper/ants. (popcorn)

    • April 14, 2009 6:34 am

      That is too funny….see comment below to see what we did with a VW….and I thought we were original

  14. April 14, 2009 4:56 am

    Kass, a girl after my own heart….ahhhhh LOL You rock girl!

    Craziest thing in highschool. I seem to remember a little bon-fire on my parents property and “borrowing” some pallets from our neighbor….only to find out the next morning, they were holding in about 40 head of cattle….

  15. April 14, 2009 5:50 am

    hmmmmmmmmmm

    i got nuthin…

  16. April 14, 2009 6:32 am

    First – the story rocked!!

    Second – the conversation between your daughter and your husband rocked EVEN more!

    I want a friend named moose. ;(

    I do have a friend that we call Goob.

    High school.. high school. wow that was so long ago that I don’t remember if I did anything wild and crazy… at least that I will admit to. šŸ™‚

  17. April 14, 2009 6:32 am

    Kass totally rocks.

    My list is long from High School and can I first put the disclaimer in “that in no way I am responsible for the ideas expressed here that can lead to the jail time of your youth”
    whew ..now that’s off my chest. this could be very freeing!

    Some of the strangest things we did in High School

    Stole our rival schools mascot (A Ram) and dyed it our school colors Green and Gold- Go Blazers Baby! (no enviro comments please…and no peta comments…we used food coloring that was completely land friendly and only took a few weeks to wash off the ram šŸ™‚ )

    Dis-assembled a VW Bug on the ground and then re-assembled said VW Bug on top of the High School (Senior prank and pure act of ingenuity)

    and finally….a bunch of us bought an old RV. We used it to haul about 12 of us everywhere we went especially football games.

    and no one needs to send me any e-mails about how my 6 year old daughter will learn from all of this and get even with me some day 10 years from now….I am fully aware and she will be in a convent becoming a nun by then!

  18. April 14, 2009 7:06 am

    notice kass didnt text ME about her little snack

    šŸ˜•

  19. April 14, 2009 7:10 am

    I just ate a worm + Dude, I HAVE to text my dad = all things that weren’t quite my reality in high school. šŸ™‚

    Excellent story all ’round, family o’ Hodges. Tam, perhaps you should whip up some sauces, etc that might make the worms more acceptable…

  20. April 14, 2009 8:14 am

    Craziest thing? I could tell ya. But I’d have to kill ya.

    • April 14, 2009 8:31 am

      “But Iā€™d have to kill ya”

      my daughter just ate a worm! please tell me!!

  21. April 14, 2009 9:13 am

    Ha! I think what cracks me up most is how the situation went immediately from “they found a worm” to “we went to see if he’d eat it.” As if that’s the most logical response to finding a worm – eating it!

    • April 14, 2009 9:41 am

      hahahaha! VERY funny!

      i guess that IS the most logical response for Freshmen šŸ˜•

  22. April 14, 2009 12:56 pm

    The craziest thing I remember doing in high school was going to my last class of the day, Science, intoxicated. But actually that was more stupid than crazy.

    The only way I would eat a worm is if I was on Survivor playing for the million dollar prize. Swallowing it whole sounds like the best idea, but what I’m dying to know is, did Kass feel it wiggling in her stomach afterwards?

  23. April 14, 2009 1:05 pm

    I’d have to think a minute before I could come up with the craziest thing… but I can for sure top Crystals. We dissected pigs, but THEN we dissected cats. I LOVED it. (I know, it’s sick.) So anyway, my dad was going to be butchering a hog for a hog roast we were having (I know that sounds hick, but it’s really fun). For extra credit, I cut the eyes out of the pig and brought them in for Advanced Biology so we could dissect them.

    But at least I didn’t eat them. šŸ˜‰

    BTW, I had an old boyfriend who I am positive broke up with me because he hated that I called everyone ‘Dude.’ I was lucky to be rid of him. šŸ™‚

  24. lazrus2 permalink
    April 14, 2009 4:33 pm

    Well, in high school, I did the ‘fetal pig’ thing too, but in college it was a cat(already dead and in formaldehye) and euthanizing live hamsters to make fresh organ cross sections for a special cell biology project. I hated that since they were so cute, and I felt so bad going to the pet store leaving the impression they were going to be my pets
    ={.

    The more ‘weird’ thing in college was for a Field Zoology summer class. I had a spider collection, but felt so bad having to kill them to mount that I kept a live jumping spider (so cute and interesting)in an ant farm (no ants – I don’t do ‘torture’=). Of course I had to feed it, and to do that went outside the dorm to catch flies for it (not an easy job). Of course,I did that when no one was around so as not to have to explain it.

    At least I didn’t eat any of them — though I did dissect earthworms in Jr. High I think.

    D-

  25. April 14, 2009 5:39 pm

    Kass – you’re impressive!
    i’m not.
    šŸ™‚

  26. April 14, 2009 7:32 pm

    that’s awesome. i think my favorite is that she text’d dad to tell ’em. that is super cool. i’m believing we’ll have that same kind of relationships with our girls in 10 years too…they’ll let us know goofy, serious and wierd things about their day.

    i ate worms in high school too…but i was in africa.

  27. April 14, 2009 8:11 pm

    The craziest thing….Hmmm….Not crazy to me but when I’ve told others about it, I get looks and comments galore.
    My mother and I were totally best friends.I arranged with my counselor to meet with the principal and my teachers.I asked their permission for her to go to school with me.The principal thought that was wonderful.We had a total blast.
    Mother was my Prom date too.The last semester of my senior year in hs is one I will NEVER forget.

  28. April 14, 2009 8:19 pm

    I’m going with lighting my jeans on fire during class with hairspray and a lighter. I was suspended…WORTH IT! : )

    • April 14, 2009 8:33 pm

      i dont really know you, but dang, this does not surprise me at. all.

  29. April 15, 2009 11:38 am

    HAHA!!!!!!! Go Kass!! (BTW Kass, you look totally awesome in that hair. šŸ˜€ )

  30. April 20, 2009 3:12 pm

    I love being in your life. You and your family make me happy!!!

Leave a Reply

