Skip to content

thursday swap

April 15, 2009

this is my 4th thursday swap and i have dropped the ball on two of them already. this time, i emailed my real life friend amy at solacegirl but discovered at nearly 10pm wednesday night that none of my emails were getting through to her 😦 i couldnt figure out why i wasnt getting any response. im so sorry amy! next week???

and because it is very late and i should be asleep right now, i will leave you with this…

i always check behind the shower curtain before i go to the bathroom.

ok. your turn.

49 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 11:34 pm

    you have no idea how badly I want to fly to Oregon and jump out from behind your shower curtain.

    you are so lucky I’m homebound.

    πŸ˜‰

  2. April 16, 2009 4:51 am

    I always check if it’s a #moistpickle before I eat it! I can’t stand those #moistpickles.

    Just kidding, I don’t have a quirk for that one.

    • April 16, 2009 9:06 am

      you just had to bring ‘that’ into it didnt ya?!!

  3. April 16, 2009 5:02 am

    If everyone would just stop for a second and picture you doing this, I think all of our days would be brightened. Maybe it’s just me who laughed hysterically….I’m easily amused.

    After finishing a fountain drink, I have to roll up the straw and chew on it for a bit. ALWAYS! Sometimes I’ll steal the wife’s straw too. Makes her scream unpleasantries at me—which is also fun for me.

    • April 16, 2009 9:07 am

      dude – i hope no one is picturing me in the bathroom 😯

      πŸ˜€

      and the straw thing…youre weird.

  4. moistpickle permalink
    April 16, 2009 5:05 am

    Wow. I got a blog comment credited to me. To cool!!!

  5. April 16, 2009 6:02 am

    Do you keep your toilet paper behind the shower curtain?

    I know that I make sure to have some on hand before getting to business otherwise.. well, you know the walk.

    • April 16, 2009 9:08 am

      no. but i should. id feel better about looking behind the curtain if i did πŸ™‚

  6. April 16, 2009 7:16 am

    i like the kids to get off the bus smiling especially the little ones, so today, one brought a musical bear that played “Twist again”..yep today they had to twist and get their groove on before i let them out! what a hoot! I do stuff like that random and senseless to most people..i think they are ordering me a drug test! hahaha

    • April 16, 2009 9:09 am

      i wanta be a kid again just so you could be my bus driver. but you understand, in order for that to actually happen YOU wouldnt be able to be a kid with me…youd have to drive the bus. sawree πŸ˜€

  7. April 16, 2009 7:33 am

    I always brush my teeth right after waking up, even though almost immediately I will eat and drink. I just can’t stand tasting that gross morning breath. It ruins food and drink.

  8. Jim2 permalink
    April 16, 2009 7:50 am

    another good thing to check in the bathroom – seat up or down – very traumatic childhood memory there

    • April 16, 2009 9:10 am

      oh no! traumatic memory for you? someone left the seat down?

      πŸ˜‰

      • Jim2 permalink
        April 16, 2009 11:44 am

        at night, dad left the ring up and I fell in – very cold!

  9. April 16, 2009 9:04 am

    I have (and use) 2 toothbrushes.

    • April 16, 2009 9:10 am

      get out!!

      really???

      • April 16, 2009 9:36 am

        yep. one to just go over my teeth, get anything out of there (also used to brush retainers :/). and the other to really scrub.

        all of my friends who have seen this in action make crazy fun of me. i think it’s perfectly rational. why would i want the same toothbrush to do all of those jobs?

  10. April 16, 2009 9:54 am

    Ahh… that happens. People will just have to wait another week!

    Lets see, I smell dishrags before I use them to make sure that they don’t smell sour.

    • April 16, 2009 4:38 pm

      this is how tired i am. i read “dishrags” as “discharge”. i was thinking, “what is wrong with amy!?”

  11. April 16, 2009 10:12 am

    Do you do this at other people’s houses, too?

    Because sometimes when I have company, I do a surface clean of the bathroom but cross my fingers that nobody will pull back the shower curtain and see my not-clean shower…

    • April 16, 2009 4:40 pm

      ya know. i do occasionally. its definitely a quirk of mine.

      you run your fingers across the counter or sumpin? THAT is funny! i instantly look at the floor. i cant stand a dirty floor. yet my bathroom floors are THE HARDEST to keep clean with kass and my hair all over the place. disgusting!

      • April 17, 2009 10:02 am

        For the record, Miss Tam, if real important (or new to my house) company is coming, I clean the floors real good. Should you ever make it back to KC and to my house, that would include you. So there’d be no chance of you seeing how much hair the floor normally has on it! (I know – it’s so gross, but so hard to control! My husband and I both have lots of hair…and then there’s the cats…)

        I can’t believe I’m talking about how not clean my bathroom is. See what you make me do??

  12. April 16, 2009 12:55 pm

    When I make coffe at home, I have to have the first poured cup.
    For some reason it tastes better than the second cup.

    • April 16, 2009 4:41 pm

      reminds me of how when my kids get a smoothie, or a shake, they know i get the first sip. i tell them theyre just tithing to me.

      πŸ˜€

  13. April 16, 2009 2:02 pm

    After seeing the shower scene in Psycho I did switch to taking just baths for a few years.

    The only thing that can sneak up on you in the bath tub is the occasional spider.

    There is nothing like taking a nice relaxing soak and then opening your eyes to see a spider floating in front of your face.

    • April 16, 2009 4:42 pm

      better a floating spider than a “tootsie roll”.

      im just sayin

      😯

  14. April 16, 2009 3:34 pm

    Speaking of spiders Ed, they have a great knack of hiding behind shower curtains, right long the top – some times you stick your hands in the webbing and you don’t know it when you grab the curtain to slide it back, then when you go let go the spider softly crawls on the back of your hand. I always check the back of my hand for spiders after moving the curtain. Oh, hi Tam.

    • April 16, 2009 4:42 pm

      ha!!! leave it to papa to make everyone feel more at ease..

      πŸ˜†

  15. April 16, 2009 3:55 pm

    i usually leave my shower curtain open…so nothing could possible be lurking. I only close it occassionally, and usually when we have guests over!

    • April 16, 2009 4:43 pm

      i used to do that too…but then it would never dry out. and you know that slimy build up the liners get on’em? *shivers*

      • April 17, 2009 6:42 pm

        i am CONSTANTLY going behind landry and pulling the shower curtain closed. sigh…cain’t teach that boy nuttin.

        • April 17, 2009 11:38 pm

          i gave up on brent a long time ago. cant be trained.

  16. April 16, 2009 4:03 pm

    I feel the need to offer my apologies for my part in the whole #m___p___ thingy.

    I was going to do that on Twitter but thought better of it πŸ™‚

    Still, it’s pretty funny in an “I’m really 12” kind of way…

    • April 16, 2009 4:45 pm

      between you and me….the moistpickle thingy IS funny!

      no need to apologize πŸ˜‰

      and should i ask diane if youre quirky at all? huh???

  17. April 16, 2009 4:07 pm

    Oh, and I’m not quirky at all. 8-o

  18. April 16, 2009 4:47 pm

    I always smell milk before pouring it…always. New milk, smell it. Milk I just poured….smell it if I am pouring again into something else.

    At least I will never drink sour milk though πŸ™‚

    • April 16, 2009 7:13 pm

      i drank too many cups of sour milk as a kiddo at my aunts house. so i do the same thing!!

  19. April 16, 2009 6:53 pm

    Yeah!!! The author of thid blog thinks I am funny!!!

    I am dilly and sweet!!! Funny also!!!!!

  20. April 16, 2009 7:06 pm

    check behind the shower curtain? YIKES! I KNOW what you mean. Ever since 1991 when I was 12, I have done this too.

    It was 1992, I was sitting on the toilet, when I heard what to me (keep in mind I had a HUGE imagination) at the time sounded like, a VERY LARGE hand moving the curtain from the inside!

    I sat VERY still.

    stared at the curtain

    It moved AGAIN!!!

    my family of three was VERY close and went to the bathroom with the door open ALL the time!

    So I did what any sister would I imagine, I called for my brother, who was 3 years old at the time, to come to the bathroom. While still sitting there, I said, “move the curtain!” He said, “why?”

    I said, “just move it!”

    He moved it.

    nothing

    So I told him “It seemed like a large hand was behind the curtain moving it, because it WAS moving!! Are you SURE there’s nothing there?”

    He didn’t JUST move the curtain this time, but looked behind it, and THAT’S when we both saw IT jump OUT AT US!!!

    It was a field mouse.

    We lived in the city. And well. We think it came up the drain.

    I ended up catching and keeping the mouse as a pet, just for it to get loose when I was cleaning it’s cage for the FIRST time. While my mom and I searched for it, we found it, it’s tail sticking out from under a book. A book my mom had thrown down on the floor from the shelf, when she was looking behind all the books! Poor little guy! He was a cutie, even though he scared the heck out of me

    Oh btw, I use a transparent shower curtain now! but would prefer glass doors. πŸ˜‰ And I will ALWAYS have a plug on my drain!

    • April 16, 2009 7:14 pm

      i am one ginromous goose bump right now.

      and you kept it?!?!!?!?!?!?!!!!!!

  21. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 16, 2009 7:59 pm

    Um…I never check behind the shower curtain before using the bathroom…?

  22. April 17, 2009 6:45 pm

    i still run and jump onto my bed out of fear that some scary thing will reach out and grab at my ankles.

Leave a Reply

