Skip to content

break out the icy hot!

April 19, 2009

dang it if brent and i havent been inspired by a fellow twit. i say dang it – cuz the result of this inspiration will bring pain. but it will also bring good.

we’re going to be doing the Power 90 Program again πŸ˜• …i mean πŸ˜€

we went through it about 5 or 6ish years ago and each lost 20 lbs. i have managed to keep that off but it doesnt mean im in shape any longer.

being someone who lives with lupus, my physical health is vitally important. the type of lupus i have effects my joints and some of my major organs. im not an extreme case, but am very aware of its presence each day. some days more than others.

having constant joint pain has resulted in my shying away from physical activity as much as possible. which, really, is only making matters worse for me.

so…even though i will likely experience more pain in the beginning than the average person, im gonna go for it and know that the pay off will be well worth it!

what is your exercise program?

and is anyone else interested in joining the power 90 workout with us?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2009 9:42 pm

    Tomorrow I enter the deep levels of hell…

  2. April 19, 2009 10:12 pm

    YEA FOR YOU!!!!

    I will so be your biggest cheerleader on this… but I also want to encourage you to start slow and listen to your body. It will let you know when or if it’s too much. But trust me, move as much as you can while you can. You’ll never look back and wish you hadn’t done it… and it will stave off so many problems in the long run.

    This is so great for you both! I actually sat through a half hour infomercial for Slim in 6 at 3am yesterday, remembering the days I would have bought it in a heartbeat. Of course, back then I looked like the “after” photo, and now I look like the “before” picture!

    • April 19, 2009 10:21 pm

      yes ma’am…i will start off slow, for sure!

      “But trust me, move as much as you can while you can.”

      (you know what im doing right now, dont you?)

      i love you, gitz!!

  3. April 20, 2009 12:23 am

    Exercise. Apart from jumping around on stage (which I’m only semi-joking about being part of my exercise regime), there’s walking.

    At one point, there was lots of walking. Many kilometres of powerwalking. Now there’s not so much.

    I’ve hovered around the same weight for almost 8 years now – fluctuating, but basically within 5kgs (11 pounds). I used to be 100lb heavier than I am now, and keeping it off has been easier than I thought, but definitely involves listening to your body about when/what/how to eat as well as exercise.

    But I am less fit than I’ve been in the past. Must work on that, though I don’t know if Power90 is what we’d do (not available locally from my research (which could be wrong), so it would need importing). Hmmm…

  4. April 20, 2009 3:08 am

    I have watched Russ talk about this and the success he’s having with it, but death doesn’t sound appealing to me, so I’ll stick with my Wii Fit :-).

    I have to admit though…I’m just slightly irritated when skinny people talk about losing weight. (Can I get an AMEN from the fat folks?!!)

    Best of luck to ya!!

  5. April 20, 2009 3:14 am

    Yay. No pain no gain, right?

    I’m in week 8 of P90X. Love it.

    I’m 20 lbs down. Haven’t really lost any weight the last 4 weeks, but my clothes are falling off of me and I’m starting to see abs so that’s a good thing.

    I didn’t take a before pic, but I’ve got a few from last year at the beach. Yuck!

    Keep it up! Or….get started!

  6. Heidi permalink
    April 20, 2009 4:04 am

    Hmmmm.. sounds interesting

  7. April 20, 2009 4:38 am

    My exercise program is pretty much walking and staying active. I hurt on many parts of this 38-year old body so anything more might just break me.

    So I walk. And pretty darn fast, ifidosaysomyself.

  8. April 20, 2009 4:49 am

    Power 90 sounds like the name of a show on TBN.

  9. Jim2 permalink
    April 20, 2009 5:24 am

    Yeah, I’m on the Mark Lowry exercise plan, half a situp in the morning, the other half of it when I go to bed. It’s gonna be ugly when we go to the beach for a week next month. I only heard about power 90 recently, but more power to you for starting and sticking with it!

  10. April 20, 2009 7:36 am

    My wife made me buy the Wii Fit.. It about killed me trying to do the hula hoop thing because I was laughing at how ridiculous we all looked swinging our hips to an invisible hoop.

    And then I didn’t read the instructions very well about the 2 minute run. I thought it said to try and PASS the mii that was running ahead. It said NOT to pass. So there I was running like a mad man unable to pass that stupid mii and Charlie Brown blew by me at one point in the run.

    It nearly killed me. Exercise is dangerous!!

  11. April 20, 2009 8:00 am

    just starting something after a long time off and an additional 30 lbs…

    used to be a pro athlete (ages ages ages) ag0 and what I find is that I tend to hit the gym really hard and then have a ton of trouble because the muscles just aint what they used to be! then, I stop.

    A typical workout for me is 30-45 minutes on the eliptical trainer and then an hour on weights….this of course if prior to injuring myself and crawling home to have to wait another week before being able to do it again….just not very effective since I am no longer 30 and in super shape πŸ™‚

    I might just have to look into this Power90 thing…. I have figured since I am turning 40 in a couple of weeks, and am totally going to self absorb myself into a mid-life crisis, now is a great time to get fit again.

    My goal, 30 lbs off by end of summer (August 1)….and I need all the help I can get!

  12. April 20, 2009 9:05 am

    I always thought I hated exercise, but I’ve finally found something that I like – bike riding. I sold my car and now I’m a 100%, full-time, all weather, bike commuter. Living in Portland makes it easy, it’s really very bike friendly. I should, however, keep better watch over how I eat – I have about 10ish pounds i want to lose before summer … so my shorts fit again … goodbye nachos, hello grilled chicken.

  13. April 20, 2009 11:02 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your lupus and that you suffer with joint pain. Good for you and Brent for starting your new program, and how fun that you’re doing it together. Fitness has many good perks. I wish you both well with it.

    I happen to love to exercise. Running, weights, tennis, hiking, etc. Today I posted about a new workout I’ve been cross-training with called Ultrafit by Cindy Whitmarsh. She mixes cardio, plyometric moves, weight training, core strengthening, and stretching. I’m lovin’ it! I heart sweating. πŸ™‚

  14. April 20, 2009 2:06 pm

    Do you prefer Tylenol, Advil or Codeine πŸ™‚ AB RIPPER????? Serious? I’m praying…. πŸ˜‰

  15. April 20, 2009 2:25 pm

    There are some people in the world who love to exercise, I am not one of them.

    For me exercise is something I need to keep at. If I stop, like in winter, it is ten times harder to start again.

    As I get older I have found it is even more important to exercise, especially streaching. Old joints tighten up very quickly. I start every day with 15 minutes of slow, streaching, exercise. If I don’t my back will start acting up.

    My health habits started to go down hill when I was in my 40’s. When I was first diagnosed with diabetes I was 25 lbs overweight, 175 at 5’10”. Being a diabetic was good for my health because it has provided me with the motivation to watch my diet and stay in shape.

    I have found that for me to stay on an exercise routine I needed to find something I could enjoy. I do love to walk in the freash air, at the beach and in the park. I try to power walk three miles a day, weather permitting. If you dread exercising than you are far more likley to stop doing it.

    The goal of exercising shouldn’t be a specific target. That may motivate you to reach your goal, but won’t necessarily help you stay at it.

    The most important factor in an exercise program is that it must be something you can see yourself doing the rest of your life. Find something you can get some enjoyment out of, dancing, walking in the park, swimming.

  16. April 20, 2009 3:07 pm

    Oh crap. I really do need to loose weight. Okay, so I can’t get this program or whatever…but I will start something tomorrow and see what happens. Yoga and fabulous here I come.

  17. April 20, 2009 11:06 pm

    I’d probably be happier about going on a diet if the word did not start with D,I,E…

    When i say: Less of me – more of Him i suppose that has to include the body apoplectic πŸ™‚ Physically, there can only be so much ‘less of me’ that one can attempt before it becomes unhealthy – anorexics please note well!

    Exercise was invented as a way of dying healthier! πŸ˜‰

    i have to exercise early in the morning – before my brain figures out what I’m doing. πŸ™‚

    a while back i spent $8000 for a 12 month health club membership and did not lose a single pound… seems even for that kind of money you still have turn up and to do all the work yourself! 😯

    Joking aside i firmly believe that in Both Aus and USA there are more people who are on the wrong side of eating to an excess than is a good ‘balance’ than on the right side. I don’t believe i am on the former side but do admit to eating some things that are not as healthy as they could be for me and exercising less than a healthy person needs to on a daily basis.

    Even so, Power 90 looks a little more than i am prepared to commit three months and more to.

    i am now well on my way to my goal of 77 kilos (four to go) and a waist below 99 cm (also four to go) by June. Mostly through cutting back on servings and some strenuous Gardening and a little walking – a lifestyle i can maintain long term.

    For anyone wishing a health way to exercise that does not leave your muscles and joints in pain but which gives great results i can thoroughly recommend learning Tai Chi – once you have the basic pattern memorised you can do it anywhere there is a open area: stage, garden, park, beach – all for free if you get a how to book/video (or you can join a class for a few bucks an hour until you understand how it is to be done).

    Good luck with our program Tam, InWorship. πŸ™‚

    <B

  18. April 20, 2009 11:08 pm

    * (Y)our program, i meant πŸ˜‰

    <B

  19. April 22, 2009 7:36 am

    Right now I’m training for a half-marathon on May 17th. It’s kicking my butt, but I’m making progress. I still wouldn’t consider myself a “runner” yet, but I’m getting there.

    For the pain, I highly recommend Lush’s Wiccy Magic Muscle Massage Bars – all natural w/ cinnamon and other oils. Totally melts the pain away. If you’ve never tried them before ,you must. Utter indulgence! Now that you’ve kicked the coffee habit, you can replace it w/ lovely all-natural, handmade bath and body products

  20. April 22, 2009 8:18 am

    you are so strong. very inspiring.

  21. April 23, 2009 2:09 pm

    exercise program.

    I have an exercise program?

  22. April 28, 2009 4:50 am

    Hey! I know I’m wayyyyyyy behind here, but just wanted to chime in. I had no idea you have Lupus. I was tested for that a host of other things a few years ago because I was experiencing make-me-want-to-cry-every-time-I-move pain. I still battle seasons of chronic joint and muscle pain but it’s remained undiagnosed. I’ve found that staying active has actually helped me feel more consistently better. I hope that this will do the same for you. Just wanted to say that I’m praying for you. Once again, you amaze me!

Leave a Reply

