Skip to content

thursday swap

April 22, 2009

todays swap comes from an actual real life friend! her name is amy & you can find her at solace girl. amy and i have known each other for almost 18 years, maybe πŸ˜• and shes older. her and her husband gave me the nickname “tamalamadingdong”. oh…and “nasty”. dont ask.

anyhow…amy has to be one of the most genuine and real people i have ever met. i kinda gushed about her over on her blog – so you can read more on what i feel about this fine woman over at her place. but to start you off…here’s her post.

**********************************************************************************************

I used to dream about being Amelia Earhart. I wouldn’t include the part where she dies tragically and under somewhat mysterious circumstances. I would dream about her role as a female pilot who set many firsts for her gender. She was the first woman to fly across the Atlantic. She was also the first woman to fly solo nonstop coast to coast and set the women’s nonstop transcontinental speed record. The firsts continue on and on. I romanticized all of them. I put myself in her leather pilot jacket, with the silk scarf perfectly draped around my neck, and stepped into her Lockheed plane. Soon I would be flying over the Pacific on my way to tropical destinations.

Why was I so fascinated by a woman whose life ended so tragically? I think it comes back to what I said earlier about how she stepped out on her own to accomplish something that no other woman had before. She was a visionary. She had a dream, a passion that needed to be fulfilled. Some people thought that she was crazy for it.

I want to live my life with that kind of passion. I want to dream until I’m no longer able. I want my kiddos to see that, and know that it’s okay to believe that J could be part of the first Mars exploration team or for Em to be President of the United States. Dreamers push the boundary. Dreamers make the unbelievable believable.

Someday I’m going to fly a plane.

What’s your dream?

34 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 9:35 pm

    Wow, Amy… it took 0.5 seconds for me to get wrapped up into your dream! That’s good writing. πŸ™‚

    So many blog posts lately have been about hopes and dreams… both things I’ve really had to let go of in order to keep my sanity and deal with my reality. I think what I’m learning to do is embrace what is and learn to love it like it’s my dream.

    • April 22, 2009 9:36 pm

      PS: Good job, Tam, for remembering to swap this week!!! Must be all that Power90 keeping your brain focused πŸ˜‰

  2. April 22, 2009 11:41 pm

    Hope Writing Wednesday went well for you today? πŸ™‚

    i’m wondering if you are able to receive e-mails since three of my last ones remain unanswered? ( yeah yeah, Patience is a whatever) πŸ˜‰

    i do fully realiSe life is crazy busy these days ( well, not for me obviously!) πŸ™‚ and time is so short and it is impossible to do EVERYTHING for everybody else yada-yada-yada

    Something something something about squeaky wheels….

    love you ‘DingDong’ πŸ™‚

    <B

    • April 23, 2009 7:30 am

      uh. uh. uh.

      i actually have a pic i need to send you. it will surprise you!

    • April 23, 2009 1:52 pm

      oh great. now im DingDong.

      • April 23, 2009 7:54 pm

        Not forgetting TamalamaMama! πŸ˜‰

        How about ‘Avon’? (pronounced ‘Ay-von’) πŸ™‚

        <B

        • April 23, 2009 8:18 pm

          huh? i dont wanna be called avon.

          youre not fully awake are you?

          • April 23, 2009 10:28 pm

            i have NEVER claimed to be FULLY awake Tam πŸ˜‰

            i do try to always pay as much attention as i possibly can though πŸ™‚

            <B

  3. April 23, 2009 1:21 am

    The nagging thought of a book still lurks in my heart.
    It will happen, just need to get the thoughts out of my heart onto paper.

    Thanks for sharing. Peace and Love.

    • April 23, 2009 1:51 pm

      “The nagging thought of a book” – “nagging”…i know! it is like that isnt it? well…from experience…listen to the nag. its always wisest.

  4. April 23, 2009 3:05 am

    my dream is to start and become ceo of a large company….won’t say doing what simply because i am pushing to make this a reality…
    the reason i want to do this is so that i can generate philanthropic efforts off of it and also…of course…retire in the islands one day πŸ™‚

    • April 23, 2009 1:50 pm

      youve totally got me wondering now. dang…throw us a bone. yah? no?

  5. Heidi permalink
    April 23, 2009 4:40 am

    My dream would be to have my son back in church.

    Nothing else matters at the moment but that.

    • April 23, 2009 1:49 pm

      praying for that dream to come true, sis….

  6. April 23, 2009 8:13 am

    Tam- You silly gal. You had such nice things to say about me. I have two other dreams. To write a screen play AND submit it to a producer somewhere somehow someway, and to write and publish a book. Hope you are soaking up the sun and those sore muscles. I am a little sore from trying to add more miles on to my walk before that half marathon I said that I was going to walk. Why? Why? Why? Oh, because I said I was going to get back into shape this year.

    • April 23, 2009 8:21 am

      Uh oh… you mean I am supposed to get in shape before walking?

      I am going to die this weekend… great… that wasn’t in my plans at all. Now I have to reshuffle everything! πŸ˜‰

      Our youth are doing an “Invisible Children Rescue” this weekend to highlight the need for our government to get involved with the problem in Africa that is being caused by Joseph Kony. We will be walking 18 miles to get the media interested.

      I wonder if I can bring a skateboard or at least one roller skate and a piece of rope. That way they can drag my sweating corpse to the final site.

      • April 23, 2009 1:47 pm

        you are just a little comedian arent you?

        we were blessed to have the founders of invisible children at our church a few years ago. really…there are no words to convey the sinking feeling in my gut, my spirit when i first heard about and saw the lives of these precious ones.

        praying for your youth there!!

    • April 23, 2009 1:49 pm

      amy – we’re ready for you all to come down and stay with us! our pool is almost ready too! say you will. please??

  7. April 23, 2009 9:54 am

    great post! hm. my dream? honestly?
    to sing opera professionally in some of the biggest, most prestigious opera houses in the world. in vienna, italy, england, new york, houston, sydney, etc. with all of my heart, i want to (will) do this. β™₯ Lord willing, of course. πŸ™‚

    • April 23, 2009 1:44 pm

      and until then…sing with all your heart here. as i know you already do. and i STILL need to hear you girl πŸ˜€

      oh. and when you go to sydney to perform…can i come? kthx!

  8. April 23, 2009 10:43 am

    my dream?

    well i kind of just ironically answered that in this meme I just posted and I was just going to tag Tam to do it too…LOL

    you can see it here.

  9. April 23, 2009 12:16 pm

    I actually want to open and own a craft brewery. And go surfing.

    • April 23, 2009 1:43 pm

      nate – i know brent would absolutely dig having his own brewery. he is so taken by the difference tastes and approaches and techniques to good beer. its really an art.

      so do you see yourself achieving this someday?

      • April 24, 2009 8:37 am

        Hopefully! Five year (max) goal…

        • April 24, 2009 11:52 am

          you know…you really should do this in southern oregon. we have more breweries than churches! and theyre all great. we need more.

  10. April 23, 2009 1:29 pm

    I dream of writing a book.

  11. April 23, 2009 9:28 pm

    Yes! And Tam, make that dream a reality. You aren’t that far away. Just leap and finish it.

Leave a Reply

