Skip to content

fortin fun!

April 24, 2009

remember…fort pics and/or posts are due monday!

we’re building ours sunday after church.

rules=

you must be involved in the building of the fort.

if you are submitting pics of a past build – you must have been involved in the process.

the fort can be in or outside.

and get others involved! make it a family thing, or a group-friend thing.

get creative!

HAVE FUN!!!

weekend question…

what is your favorite childhood memory?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2009 12:18 am

    New Years Eve parties at Grandma and Grandpa’s house. Euchre tournaments that they actually let me play in.
    Well, as long as I followed the only rule….”NEVER trump Grandpa’s Ace” (euchre players will understand).
    Sometimes Grandpa would slip me a drink of Cold Duck! (that’s some mighty cheap wine for those of you envisioning pulling a quacker outa the fridge)

    I miss them both dearly!

  2. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 25, 2009 2:05 am

    Favorite childhood memory?

    It’s a toss up between the time my brother spit up his Cheerios because he was laughing so hard and when he broke the bottom of a bottle of salad dressing while trying to open it.

    And then, of course, there was that time he stole my seat during Saturday morning cartoons and I put peanut butter in his hair to get it back.

    There’s just something funny about food not being in its proper place.

    And then there was the time we playing “High-Den-Go-Seek” and my sister hid under the covers of her bed and my brother jumped on it and she screamed because she couldn’t see him coming. And the look on my brother’s face when she screamed was priceless.

  3. April 25, 2009 3:48 am

    When my sister (the middle of my three older sisters) took me to bye a birthday gift for my 10th birthday. It was my first record player. I did not have any albums, so she let me borrow all of hers. Fleetwood Mac, Elton John, Queen, Joan Jett, Pink Floyd. I remember that when she got her next pay check, she bought me a 45 of Queen’s Another One Bites The Dust. I’m not sure my parents were all that pleased with all the blaring music from this Genre coming from my room at age 10. But these are times I remember fondly.

  4. April 25, 2009 3:52 am

    totally the boat on the lake….I grew up in Olympia WA (not Western Australia if Love checks in), on a lake. In high school, I gained total control of the boat. Me and my friends would stay out on the lake in the summer all day…
    Best memories…

  5. April 25, 2009 7:26 am

    Road trips…definitely road trips.

    We were totally the Simpsons kids…from about 1 km into the journey…but we also had a ritual of kisses and cuddles on arrival. Fun times 🙂

  6. April 25, 2009 9:10 am

    oh, i have so many. but the one that came to mind first was and still is so treasured by me. it was the day before christmas. i was probably about five or six. my very young, single mother and my three brothers and i all shared a tiny, dilapidated, two bedroom trailor that probably saw its peak in 1975.

    two ladies with wonderfully kind faces came to the door, and my mom answered it. they hugged.

    “who are they?” i asked my mom.
    “friends of mine.” my mom said.

    i had never seen them before, but they carried in trash bag after trash bag of things and set them in our living room. while they stood there talking to my mom, i couldn’t help but notice on the top of one of the bags was a little girl’s sweater–just my size. they must have seen me notice it with big eyes, because they told me it was for me.

    i was elated. i’d never seen a sweater so beautiful. it had an iron-on of a panda bear in the snow with christmas trees and sparkly snowflakes, and it was outlined with silver puff paint. i leaned my head over the large bag with the sweater on top and breathed in as deeply as i could. it smelled so wonderful! nothing i owned ever smelled this good. i couldn’t wrap my mind around how a sweater could smell so sweet. (that is such a vivid part of this memory for me).

    my family was on the receiving end of a wonderful charity called “The Giving Tree”, which blesses less fortunate and poverty-stricken families with clothes and goodies for christmas. i didn’t know it then, but when i put two and two together when i was older, my heart swelled with gratitude. and my eyes swell with tears even now, because i know that this is where the heart of christianity lies.

    i’m working on starting a similar program for needy families in the area i live now. and i would encourage anyone who lives in an area where a program like this is already set up to get involved. the sacrifice is more than worth it. 🙂

    • April 25, 2009 8:59 pm

      this put about a hundred different smiles on my face as i read thru it. i love seeing people being the church. taking care of their community. and look at the impact and impression that left on you. ahhh…goose bump chills!

  7. April 25, 2009 9:10 am

    oh my word! that was so long!!! i’m sorry…got carried away.

    • April 25, 2009 4:41 pm

      don’t apologize … it was definitely worth reading.

      • April 25, 2009 8:37 pm

        thanks lady! 🙂

        • April 26, 2009 11:12 pm

          Definitlely agree with Gitz here – there is definitely no need to apologise – in fact – i think thanks are in order for it – Thanks J-R! 🙂

          i KNOW Tam agrees with me (on this one!) 😉

          <B

      • April 26, 2009 11:57 pm

        Definitely worth reading. Every church/community I’ve lived in has had this kind of program – they are so valuable.

        And yes, exactly what James was referring to when he talked about pure and undefiled religion 🙂

  8. April 25, 2009 10:43 pm

    fav. childhood memory?
    I’m not sure if I have a fav.
    but I’d say mud wrestling with my Step-Sister was A LOT of fun!!!

    I loved getting SO dirty that are ENTIRE bodies were covered in nice thick mud from head to toe!

  9. April 26, 2009 11:26 am

    Aww, man… I just realized I can’t take part in the fort fun. 😦 I can’t scan in any old photos of forts until I get my own computer hooked up to my own printer/scanner. *sigh*

    Maybe I’ll write a flashback friday about it sometime…

  10. April 26, 2009 5:57 pm

    OK Tam…It is done. The outside fort is complete…how do you want me to get you a photo of it? Is there a way to post it?

  11. April 26, 2009 11:40 pm

    How do i pick just ONE favourite memory from Childhood?

    I’m not sure if i am remarkably blessed compared to most (OK – i know i am and i’m very thankful for it!) but i have thousands of happy memories from my ‘early’ days.

    Christmas was always a very special time for my family of 3 and is the source of many cherished memories. My Dad being pretty much atheist though, it was more about the love we shared between us than any wider or greater Love.

    Self-sacrifice in the giving to others than One Sacrifice given for all.

    Having two parents who worked hard and yet could not afford a car of their own i have many happy memories of time spent in the care of my Single Aunt who was a school teacher and would take me for many excursions to historic churches, beautiful country parks and museums where i gained a wide experience and awareness of culture and appreciation for natural beauty outside my city life, that i would otherwise have been a ‘prisoner’ of for much of my childhood.

    One of my most treasured memories are of warm summer school holidays spent with friends sliding down a long grassy hill turned into hay by the sun on cardboard boxes we had found and turned into racing ‘cars’.

    And a final moment was the time one Winter when i was able to take control of the ‘huge’ sled my Dad had made for the first time all on my own and slid down ‘Hill 60’ (named for having a 60 degree slope) and made just about the longest slide of the day. The initial fear of facing the long steep slope ahead soon gave way to ultimate exhilaration as i gained speed but kept control without having to rely upon my Dad’s finer driving skills to reach the bottom of the run.

    It was a very good feeling at 5 or 6 or so to realise i was gaining my independence and could achieve something without relying upon someone else controlling things for my ‘benefit’.

    <B

Leave a Reply

