Skip to content

straight ahead…

April 28, 2009

“Keep your eyes focused on what is right, and look straight ahead to what is good.” – Proverbs 4:25

i dont know what your day entails today. but i do know for me, sometimes i get flustered with the circumstances around me. with things undone from yesterday. and with things to come that leave me wondering.

so today, i want to challenge and encourage us all to focus on what is good and right. i dont know where you are at right now – but im certain there are positive things for you to focus on – something to place your Hope in – something that keeps you going.

if we can pray for you…please let us know in the comments…

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 8:20 am

    girl. i needed this today. i’ve got unfinished research papers and songs yet to be memorized flying at me with full force today.

    dear 5:01 PM tomorrow,

    please come slowly. i need more tiiiiime. kthx.

  2. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 28, 2009 8:30 am

    Prayer? Well, you asked…

    http://thenoreaster.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/in-the-middle-of-the-night/

  3. Heidi permalink
    April 28, 2009 8:41 am

    This was a very timely reminder!!

  4. April 28, 2009 8:47 am

    don’t know if you’ve seen the “This is the Day” video yet, but man it was a great reminder to help me maintain my focus on my many blessings!

    thanks for this reminder.

    and here’s the video link…
    http://www.withoutwax.tv

  5. April 28, 2009 9:03 am

    love you all. will devote time to the links provided and will be praying for you all throughout my day…

  6. April 28, 2009 10:16 am

    Russ highlighted a blog that was about a couple who just went through a miscarriage. They have been on my heart and today I have been listening to Tenth Avenue North today and I connected to them through a song. I would ask that you pray for them today.

    Hold My Heart

    How long must I pray, must I pray to You?
    How long must I wait, must I wait for You?
    How long ’til I see Your face, see You shining through?
    I’m on my knees, begging You to notice me.
    I’m on my knees, Father will you turn to me?

    One tear in the driving rain,
    One voice in a sea of pain
    Could the maker of the stars
    Hear the sound of my breakin’ heart?
    One light, that’s all I am
    Right now I can barely stand
    If You’re everything You say You are
    Won’t You come close and hold my heart

    I’ve been so afraid, afraid to close my eyes
    So much can slip away before I say goodbye.
    But if there’s no other way, I’m done asking why.
    Cuz I’m on my knees, begging You to turn to me
    I’m on my knees, Father will you run to me?

    One tear in the driving rain,
    One voice in a sea of pain
    Could the maker of the stars
    Hear the sound of my breakin’ heart?
    One light, that’s all I am
    Right now I can barely stand
    If You’re everything You say You are
    Won’t You come close and hold my heart.

    So many questions without answers, Your promises remain
    I can’t sleep but I’ll take my chances to hear You call my name
    To hear You call my name

    One tear in the driving rain,
    One voice in a sea of pain
    Could the maker of the stars
    Hear the sound of my breakin’ heart?
    One light, that’s all I am
    Right now I can barely stand
    If You’re everything You say You are
    Won’t You come close and hold my heart.

    Hold my heart, could you hold my heart?
    Hold my heart.

  7. April 28, 2009 10:24 am

    By the way… the proverb you listed has a matching verse in the NT. Philippians 4:8.

  8. April 28, 2009 11:19 am

    I am in a good place today so I will place my effort towards those who need some prayer right now…
    Thanks for a “life’s little reminder” Tam!

  9. April 28, 2009 3:04 pm

    good word.
    I’ve had the sinus crud all weekend and this week – NyQuil the last two nights, and the fever kicked in today, I’m pretty sure i’ve got some sinus infection stuff going on. Would love prayer – we’re supposed to go camping @ Disney this weekend.

  10. April 28, 2009 9:39 pm

    Very Well Said Tam 🙂

    Listening to what others say concerning their lives it becomes increasingly clear to me that the thing we ALL need to have our Hope in and to Focus on does NOT lie in this world we spend our earthly life in.

    So few of us seem to understand that – or how to actually DO it.

    So many seem to want to try to bring God into us down here and want to try to gain faith from their attempts to do so.

    They completely MISS that God exists all around and through them – ALL the time – it is because we can only focus on our own self and wants and the things of this world we surround ourselves with that we feel he should show Himself to us – make His presence felt in our life.

    We ALL need to keep the focus first and foremost on Him all the time -and then live what life he leads us into for our Spiritual Growth as a result of us Keeping Him firmly in front of ‘us’ at all times – where He belongs.

    Not to think about Him once a while and then go straight back to thinking first about the ‘small stuff’.of us and our daily, earthly life.

    He has given us all that we NEED to do this – it is now up to all of us to learn fully how to DO it.

    Many seem to make it much harder than it ever really needs to be – they keep putting themself before Him and that is just not going to ‘work’ to achieve the goal they most desire.

    I would pray that those who desire to perfect their Faith never put earthly matters ahead of those of our Spirit He has provided for us.

    Tony’s Phillipian’s Quote is of good wisdom – as is 2 Cor 5:7…

    “For we walk by faith, not by sight”

    Don’t focus on the Good with your earthly eyes first, but rather with your heavenly Faith, then let your eyes and body follow your Faith, always.

    <B

  11. traciejane permalink
    April 29, 2009 2:28 am

    I made a decision two weeks ago to have cancer genetic testing per my mom’s young death from cancer. I went to Mayo Clinic 2 weeks ago today and still waiting for results. My prayer is that if there is something it would be found, and if there isn’t I still would praise God. Either way I want to praise God. So I need prayer… especially today because I hope to get the results soon. Waiting is agony.

    • April 29, 2009 6:49 am

      “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

      I am praying those verses from Philippians chapter 4 for you. May you have peace.

      • traciejane permalink
        April 29, 2009 12:48 pm

        Wow. Thank you TONY!

  12. April 29, 2009 7:53 am

    I’m glad I read this today. To focus on what is good and right.

    That’s my prayer request. I need help to do this.

    Thanks.

  13. lazrus2 permalink
    April 29, 2009 9:55 am

    AMEN to this post, and especially LWBUT’s comment (extensive embellishment of it =) above!!

    I didn’t read all the previous comments, but has Hebrews 12 been referenced yet? I think it applies too:

    “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily hinders our progress. And let us run with endurance the race that God has set before us. 2 We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, on whom our faith depends from start to finish. He was willing to die a shameful death on the cross because of the joy he knew would be his afterward. Now he is seated in the place of highest honor beside God’s throne in heaven. 3 Think about all he endured when sinful people did such terrible things to him, so that you don’t become weary and give up.” -Heb 12:1-4 NLT

    D-

Leave a Reply

