Skip to content

Pimp My Post

April 30, 2009

if youre new here, fridays are a time where this blog belongs to you. well actually, it always does πŸ™‚

but typically, i release this day for you to leave a link in the comments of the best post youve written this week. but today will be a little different.

my dear friend carl suggested that every once in awhile we switch it up and leave a link to our favorite post of the week that someone else has written. but of course! im all about community and sharing the love here – so it shall be πŸ˜‰

let me start this out.

thursday evening i had another opportunity to share in a live chat with the compassion bloggers. and i must say…it was quite overwhelming. the stories that have been shared, verbally, written, video and through pictures have been life changing. even for those of us who arent physically there with them. i watched strong, articulate men and women shed tear after tear as they attempted to put into words what they have witnessed in India.

this isnt about pulling at heart strings. no. this is about awakening our hearts to the realities around us. bringing awareness before our eyes and ears that there are far too many people living in physical, spirutual and economic poverty. living with illnesses that could be cured if they had proper healthcare.

this isnt about guilt trips either. it just is what it is. we have nothing to complain about. that isnt to say that when we get frustrated about little things that its wrong or a sin. not at all! but it is about perspective. look…we dont live in uganda or india. that isnt our life. its hard to relate. but that doesnt negate its reality. and it doesnt make it any less our responsibility. especially if we have the power to do something, anything.

you may have seen it written here before that i am a huge advocate for getting involved in your own community. get out there and rub shoulders with the lost, the hurt, the broken. always be mindful of those opportunites. and if you can reach beyond your own community…then do that too.

heres how you can…

sponsor a child

read some of the amazing stories shared by a few of theΒ  compassion bloggers in india.

they get back home this sunday a.m.. please pray for their safe return. but also for their hearts. i can not imagine what it will be like for them having to leave a place and people i know they love intensely and genuinely. i cant imagine what will go through their minds when they step back onto familiar soil in all its plenty with images of what theyve just experienced fresh on their hearts. im sure it will not be easy.

and also pray and consider sponsoring a child of your very own.

dont forget to leave a link to someone elses post that you enjoyed this week. and be sure to tell them you did so!

58 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2009 11:20 pm

    Great post on a blog I just subscribed to. CLICK HERE to check it out.

    By the way, it was very difficult for me not to link this blog and the Go Girl post. If I were to be honest, IT was my favorite :-).

    • May 1, 2009 7:37 am

      awww – thank you! that all started because of YOU πŸ™‚ and it was super fun, too.

  2. May 1, 2009 12:37 am

    I think this post was both simple, and meaningful.

    And unlike most of the other posts I read this week it did not mention monkey-butts. (Don’t ask!)

    <

    • May 1, 2009 7:41 am

      very nice! the first on her list got me right where i needed it. thanks for the link!

  3. May 1, 2009 1:41 am

    Here is a great idea from Pastor_T’s blog:
    http://whatsthislifefor.org/2009/05/01/do-you-remember-lifeshare/
    I encourage any of you that is not reading his blog daily, to add him to your reader. Thanks for the opportunity to share, Tam!
    Oh, and it does not have monkey-butts in it…..

    • May 1, 2009 3:22 am

      Awww, my first pimping!! Thanks Bryan! πŸ™‚

    • May 1, 2009 7:47 am

      THIS IS A MUST-MUST-MUST READ!!

      thanks for linking this bryan!

  4. May 1, 2009 1:52 am

    Tie for my two favourite posts this week:

    EdFromCT is amazing with his willingness to study the Word while believing he does not Believe… http://edfromct.wordpress.com/2009/04/29/bible-study-thursday-luke-128-10/

    And our Southern African friend Rain has a struggle going on and would like a few answers – wouldn’t we all? πŸ™‚ … http://ivyrain.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/overwhelmed/

    i’m not going to mention my unfavourite post of the week but Tam can guess! 😯

    <B

    • May 1, 2009 9:42 am

      i LOVE Eds studies!

      and ivy rains post…wow…great questions that i wished i had a better answer for, but i did my best.

      and as for your unfavorite post…thats ok. i dont see anything wrong with it. its all natural. but it aint for everyone πŸ˜‰

  5. May 1, 2009 2:25 am

    I pick this post for the same reason, pimp my post has become a must read every Friday.

    Tam does not just blog she creates a community. I envey that in a very good way.

    This past week starting two thursdays ago she did what she always does. Get people moving. Not by themselves but as a family.

    So that is why I chose this post to pimp. https://kassota.wordpress.com/2009/04/27/we-have-a-fort-09-winner/

    It is the epitomy of what Tam is about. I have never met her in person, but can honestly say her heart for God is huge, and her willingness to jus go for it amazing.

    Love ya sis, Peace and Love of Christ to you.

    • May 1, 2009 7:54 am

      so i dont know if you remember the post i wrote awhile back on my morning routine? how i check my e/m on my phone while still laying in bed. i read everything with only one eye open and try to be quiet so i dont wake up mr. inprogress…well this morning…i didnt wake him up…but i did cry when i read this comment. i truly did.

      its been hard finding my place as a blogger. i believe i have lost some readership because i may not be spiritual enough. but this blog only defines a part of me. and the part that you have seen confirms to me that i am still doing something worthwhile – even if i dont write bible studies. im so glad there are writers and bloggers who do that well tho…i learn so much from them! i love that we are one body with many parts, each doing our part. and i have found a way that suits my character to bring people together – thats what i love to do.

      and carl, yes…my heart is Gods! that alone is what inspires me to be me, yet pushes me to find the better me – in and because of HIM.

      so thank you a million thank yous, carl! my heart is overflowing…

      • May 1, 2009 8:29 am

        You are so welcome… Continue doing what you do. Have a Christ Blessed Day

      • May 1, 2009 9:19 am

        don’t worry about the counts. just be true to what your heart tells you to write, and you’ll know God is using you how He needs you to be used. i like you just the way you are. πŸ™‚

        [typing that out totally made me start singing that son in my head.]

        • May 1, 2009 9:27 am

          thank you!

          “dont go’oh changin…to try and please me….”

          thanks a lot gitz πŸ˜•

      • May 1, 2009 11:43 pm

        Tam – it may be possible that some readers have been ‘lost’ because the blog was not ‘spiritual’ enough for them, but i’m sure you have gained many readers because of, rather than in spite of, that.

        You try to show the Real You – the great and the real – the not-quite-so great πŸ˜‰

        I believe you will find that the biggest reason readership might have declined some is due to blogtime and that Twitter is at ‘fault’ -if any one thing is.

        People find it easier to stay in touch with you by Twitter than with blogging – and it seems you with them.

        You connect with more people now than you probably ever did with blogging alone. You can redirect people to your blog with tweets, but the truth is – you don’t need to.

        Tweeting probably serves a purpose – but it is just not for some people.

        If you can find a good balance between the two – and whatever comes to take over from Twitter, and STILL live a real life to as many as you actually meet in person – and still not lose sight of Him in it all by being pulled in too many new and distracting ways in too many different directions – you will continue to be doing very well indeed.

        I’m just thankful for moles and holes and blog-comments πŸ™‚

        Blogging will always hold a special place in my heart.

        <B

        • May 2, 2009 7:38 pm

          i actually wasnt referring to “numbers” when i said that. i have found that i have lost a few followers mainly to a lack of “spiritual” posts. and thats ok. whether or not i write a post full of verses and my interpretation of them or a post about my kids – my life is a life in the Spirit.

          and blogging will always hold a special place in my heart too πŸ˜‰

          • May 3, 2009 12:25 am

            I admire that about you, Tam. πŸ™‚

          • May 7, 2009 8:15 am

            I have to echo Love here. I check your blog EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.

            JUST because of the community you pull together by being yourself.

            I look up to you – even if we don’t converse otherwise …..

            I want to be just like u …. myself, and have a community impacted because of it.

            There are several Bible study blogs.

            But ONLY ONE TAM.

            • May 7, 2009 8:36 am

              wow. i mean, really, wow.

              youve left me a bit speechless and greatly humbled.

              thank you, friend. sincerely…thank you!

  6. May 1, 2009 3:29 am

    I am posting this because it generated the most visits to my blog ever for one day…yeah!

    And since most of us twitter, a little twitter terminology unmasked for everyone..

    http://movingthroughlife.wordpress.com/2009/04/28/twitter-unmasked/

    • May 1, 2009 8:07 am

      hilarious!!! “tweetard”.

      aahhh!!!

    • May 1, 2009 11:27 pm

      J – Tam – and any other Stat-Ho’s out there… i have already pointed out that any post you blog with the word ‘Twitter’ in the title doubles the posts stats!

      Not that i notice things like that, of course πŸ˜‰

      <B

  7. Mike permalink
    May 1, 2009 5:03 am

    Lovely post by the way. Here’s my suggested link.

    http://sbreef.blogspot.com/2009/04/why-me.html

  8. May 1, 2009 5:11 am

    I really enjoyed this post this week:

    http://billycoffey.blogspot.com/2009/04/super-duper-looker-box.html

    • May 1, 2009 8:39 am

      mmm- another great daddy in our mix! such a great post…thanks for that link, tony!

      • Jim2 permalink
        May 1, 2009 12:14 pm

        “Keystone” s comment on this thread made me cry — Good Stuff

        • May 4, 2009 7:39 am

          aww.. dude..

          you made me go read that and I am at work trying to keep from looking like a water balloon full of holes.

          That was inspiring. I may even know how to put that in practice in my own life. My daughter, Lauren, is bound to a wheelchair. One of her favorite things to do is make pictures and art. One of her MOST favorite things to do is hug people. I bet we could put those two things together at a nursing home.

  9. Heidi permalink
    May 1, 2009 6:18 am

    I haven’t been on any blogs this week much, except this one:

    http://withoutwax.tv/2009/04/30/lets-talk-about-sex-compassion-international-india-sex-slavery/

    Many emotions, many prayers..

    • May 1, 2009 7:23 am

      You can’t beat that post Heidi.. It was one of Pete’s best.

    • May 1, 2009 8:41 am

      heidi – i know. these post from the compassion bloggers have been phenomenal and life changing.

      and i havent been around blogs much either. hoping i have more time next week…

  10. May 1, 2009 6:38 am

    The best posts I’ve read this week are definitely the Compassion posts. Which you already linked to, Tam.

    Man, that chat last night was…well, what IS the word for it? It wrecked me. I mean, when Shaun started crying about kids who have never eaten a meal in a restaurant? Well, the ugly cry started then – so much so that my cats were concerned and wondering what the heck was wrong with me!

    • May 1, 2009 8:42 am

      i kept saying the same thing…”that chat wrecked me!” im still shaken by it this morning, actually…

      lots of moving in peoples hearts. this has been a very powerful compassion trip, for sure!

      • May 1, 2009 11:17 am

        Hmmm, I wondered where I got that phrase “it wrecked me.” Maybe I picked it up from you?

        • May 1, 2009 6:33 pm

          ha! no. probably not. but if you look at the hashtag ( #compassionindia ) from last night – several people were using the word “wrecked”. it definitely seemed like the only fitting word.

  11. May 1, 2009 9:16 am

    Honestly, it was so good to hear Brent’s “voice” again in your Thursday swap, I’ll nominate him: https://kassota.wordpress.com/2009/04/29/thursday-swap-5/

    But since everyone here probably already read that, seeing as it was posted here, I’ll also point to Angie’s Compassion blog yesterday… talk about tangible proof that God exists… just look at these photos and read these stories: http://audreycaroline.blogspot.com/2009/04/i-have-been-ridiculed-and-lied-to.html

    • May 1, 2009 9:26 am

      yes – that post from angie was something else. the way she communicated this to us was, well- beyond adequate words to describe really.

      and brenty’s was good too, if i must say so myself πŸ˜‰

  12. lazrus2 permalink
    May 1, 2009 1:27 pm

    I know I don’t usually get involved with your blogpost ‘sharing’, but I just read here http://livingproofministries.blogspot.com/ Beth Moore’s post that you might be interested in reading. I’ve been following her daughter Melissa’s posts re: the Compassion India trip (as well as Pete’s and Angela’s) and have really been impacted by them all. But, Beth’s post (the one below Melissa’s) also has a couple of paragraphs (the 3rd & 4th down) that relate to her own experience in India. I thought you might especially be impacted by it also, so wanted to direct your attention there if you haven’t already read it. I believe God always has a ‘purpose in the pain’ if we’re willing to follow Him through it for the sake of easing others’.

    D-

  13. May 1, 2009 3:51 pm

    I’m sad that I missed the live chat with Compassion bloggers. I’ve been enjoying Pete and Anne’s blogs all week. I was cracking up just now reading about Mary doing the ugly cry and her cats were concerned, lol! Before I click on their blogs each morning I know to have my hankies handy.

    When I stopped by here earlier today I was going to pimp Billy Coffey’s post about the super-duper-looker-box, but then I saw Tony beat me to it. Billy’s post about the pretzels is also very good and the earth day story about Starbucks was really funny. I’m excited that I found his blog… love his stories.

  14. May 1, 2009 8:30 pm

    K, I actually have been waiting (all of a day and a half) for pimp-my-post … because I told a funny (I think) story of how I got stuck in the garage. πŸ˜€

    http://callingtodeep.blogspot.com/2009/04/funny-story-or-at-least-it-was-to-me.html

    • May 7, 2009 8:51 am

      I loved that post lol I really did πŸ™‚ And u know this …. πŸ˜‰
      – me

  15. May 3, 2009 12:12 pm

    Howdy

  16. May 3, 2009 12:13 pm

    Tam

  17. May 3, 2009 12:14 pm

    I

  18. May 3, 2009 12:14 pm

    was

  19. May 3, 2009 12:14 pm

    wondering

  20. May 3, 2009 12:15 pm

    how

  21. May 3, 2009 12:15 pm

    2

  22. May 3, 2009 12:15 pm

    say

  23. May 3, 2009 12:16 pm

    WAZ-UPPPPPPPPP.

  24. May 3, 2009 12:16 pm

    Then

  25. May 3, 2009 12:17 pm

    I thought

  26. May 3, 2009 12:17 pm

    about

  27. May 3, 2009 12:17 pm

    HI-Jacking

  28. May 3, 2009 12:18 pm

    It really works.

  29. May 9, 2009 3:35 am

    sorry…dfsportsblog is one of my offspring…dang he pays way too close attention when I am misbehaving! love ya, catching up on reading your blog..been missing it!

  30. marycooke permalink
    May 11, 2009 1:10 pm

    Very real. Think you will like it too.

    http://sailorscottblog.com/2009/04/01/remedy-for-this-heart/

    Blessings!
    Mary
    http://onewhitetree.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

