Skip to content

dont be ashamed of your parts

May 4, 2009

1 Corinthians 12 talks about spiritual gifts and each doing our part.

i think about our parts a lot. are we really doing our part? am i doing mine? or are we doing the part we want because it looks more fun, desirable or fulfilling?

“Are we all apostles? Are we all prophets? Are we all teachers? Do we all have the power to do miracles? Do we all have the gift of healing? Do we all have the ability to speak in unknown languages? Do we all have the ability to interpret unknown languages? Of course not! So you should earnestly desire the most helpful gifts.

and sometimes…the most helpful gifts may not be the one we want. but it really isnt about us, is it?

what is your gift? do you know? are you playing your part? are you looking at someone elses part and desiring theirs? meanwhile, not attending to your own while the body suffers from a bum part.

worse yet…are you doing anything at all? or are you, meaning “we”, just sitting back and observing; pointing out what all the other parts are doing wrong?

have you found your place? i guess thats what im asking. and how did you know that that place was your part to play?

68 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 10:47 pm

    “while the body suffers from a bum part”

    Is that meant to be funny? Because it is.

    I think I am gradually finding what part(s) I am, mainly by finding what I am not. If something feels wrong for me, I realise it is probably not who or what I am meant to be, but when I do something that feels so ‘right’ I know I am on the wrong track.

    I think I’m about 40% there, but I hope I’m picking up speed.

    • May 5, 2009 7:01 am

      ha! it kinda was tongue and cheek- but i still wanted to get my point across ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. May 5, 2009 12:07 am

    This thought consumes me (and Diane), but in a good consuming way…

    Ever since we read & studied John Bevere’sDriven By Eternity, it’s changed the way we look at everything. Literally, everything.

    So, yes…we know…and to a large extent, we are living those parts, though some are for a future season too. But we’re preparing in the meantime, not lazing around…waiting aimlessly. Rather, we’re waiting purposefully. And sometimes a lot less patiently than we should be.

    We know these parts are right by the peace we have, confirmation from accountability partners, a feeling that “this garment” fits – which is different to it always being comfortable…

    Neither of us want a bum part – literally or figuratively – ever again. What’s the good in retreading old ground, especially ground has heinous as a bum part?

    • May 5, 2009 7:06 am

      โ€œthis garmentโ€ fits – which is different to it always being comfortableโ€ฆ”

      this is really what inspired this post. that exact thought right there. forgoing our part because its uncomfortable, or not “upfront” enough, not glamorous or recognizable, or scary, or tiring…blah,blah…

      we’ve had many people come thru the music ministry desiring that part but being in the wrong place. great person in the wrong spot. and although their part might enhance the ministry it isnt benefiting the Body if its not the right calling/gift being exercised. in fact, as the scripture points out, it is hurting the body by withholding its service from other areas.

      playing the right part could have more to do with dying to self, fleeing the flesh, than anything else…i suppose.

      • May 7, 2009 12:17 am

        I totally agree Tam – dying to self means putting on the clothes God has made for us…

        Hmmm – I know a song that’s (kinda) about that ๐Ÿ™‚

    • May 5, 2009 1:49 pm

      We know these parts are right by the peace we have, confirmation from accountability partners, a feeling that โ€œthis garmentโ€ fits – which is different to it always being comfortableโ€ฆ

      Very pithy quote, that….

      Garments that fit but that are not always comfortable…. I like the sound of that… and I can SO relate….

      • May 7, 2009 12:19 am

        Thanks! You always bless me so much with your comments on here (and I stalk your blog too…), so I’m glad to have been a blessing to you ๐Ÿ™‚

        • May 7, 2009 11:43 am

          Aaaah! A Stalker!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

          Well David… I’m glad God has blessed you! Now, come on, stop stalking and comment! ๐Ÿ˜†

  3. May 5, 2009 1:53 am

    We are called to action by Christ. Math 28. For God’s word to be active and living we must take action as Christ commanded.
    It is our part to let God us as he sees fit. Our bum parts is what Christ came to fix.

    People tell me I am a naturall encourager. I will accept that, but only through God do I have that gift.

    Peace and Love.

    • May 5, 2009 7:08 am

      action. thats a good word.

      thats a whole other post right there ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. May 5, 2009 2:09 am

    Just so you know, I LOVE this post and look forward to reading the answers! For me, I don’t know if I have found my place or my part, BUT I do know I will spend my life listening to Him and serving Him.
    So many of us have outside pressures and influences where they are being TOLD what they’re called to do and being TOLD that what they’re doing is wrong. I have these influences, but fortunately I’m not praying to them or asking them for answers.
    I believe I am called to bring the lost to Him….through song, blogs, meeting people at the grocery store, etc. My part may change tomorrow, if that’s His plan and where ever He leads, I shall go.

    • May 5, 2009 7:12 am

      perfect! in my humble opinion….perfect!

      its hard sometimes to overcome the thoughts and judgments of others…but youre right…theyre not God. theyre not the ones equipping you with gifts. He is. i believe guidance can come from those God puts in our lives – but HE is the last Word.

      and, toby…i love that you are using your gifts in AND outside the church. its something that tony hits on below. and God can us absolutely anything to bring people to Him….even through blogging! amen!

  5. Heidi permalink
    May 5, 2009 3:39 am

    Wanting to be used for His kingdom is the ONLY thing that takes precendent in my life.

    I have tried to be many parts, but I have found my place now. I’m not comfortable or growing fatty, just looking at it real.

    • May 5, 2009 7:14 am

      how is serving different different when compared to playing the right part or playing another part?

      what are your thoughts and experience in that?

      im so glad youre where youre supposed to be! and i know you serve with everything youve got too!

      love you, sis…

      • Heidi permalink
        May 5, 2009 11:46 am

        ie: I cannot get up and sing like you do.
        I don’t do children’s or youth all that well.
        I am not real strong in the adminstration dept either.
        I cannot add to the church potluck

        BUT.. When it comes to Impressing people, welcoming them
        When it comes to fiercely praying or comforting someone
        When it comes to writing
        When it come to exhortation
        WHen it comes encouragement
        When it comes to listening

        I am that person. I believe totally that we should walk, talk, and live in our gifts. Does that mean I don’t try to sing or cook?
        Well, at home I do. ha!

        Parts: My belief: We can overextend ourselves so much, especially when you become a leader. But I am finding my “sabbath” lately by force of circumstances in my life. But I don’t take that to do less for His Kingdom but to do it another way, the right way. Get knee deep in the Gifts that my Abba Father did give me, and make room for the man and or woman standing beside me waiting to take over in their gifs.

        Love you too sis.

  6. May 5, 2009 3:40 am

    I don’t think I have found my part yet or if I have, I do not realize it.

    It is something I ponder daily and in reality struggle with quite a bit. I tend to look towards what others do for their part and wonder if that is where I should be or if I need to be looking to carve a unique niche in this world…

    tough one for me

  7. May 5, 2009 4:23 am

    Yeah I know where I am supposed to be, and I’m actively pursuing it! My whole blog experience has come out of me pursuing where God has placed me.

    The prophetic and the deliverance God has blessed me with are my place in the Body of Christ. It has given some wonderful testimonies, as well as some challenges as Satan lashes back….

    I’ve mentioned how I knew I was called to these things on my blog: My First Prophetic Word and Called to Deliverance Ministry.

    For those who are interested, I hope the testimonies I have written there inspire you to keep seeking God for your place on his body ๐Ÿ™‚

    • May 5, 2009 7:15 am

      im so glad you have had such clarity in this! thats so awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. May 5, 2009 5:09 am

    I think the solution is simple – it is not “finding” your part, it is “being” your part. We spend too much time questioning our roles and not focusing on being like Christ. He can’t use us unless we are focused completely on him.

    For example, I have heard young people ask what does God want me to do, and then instead of praying during a church service, whispering to their friends. When the preacher speaks, passing notes to your friends rather than taking notes. When singing in church, they are looking to see if their friends are there – we adults do the same. To find our part – seek Christ with all of your being – He will show you, if you walk with Him.

    • May 5, 2009 7:18 am

      i agree papa. we are far too concerned with the thoughts of others which then prevent us from doing our part…OR…we get too concerned with judging others then we are too focused on them and again…still not doing our part. the result…nothing. no parts being used. and yes…this is not exclusive to only the young.

    • May 5, 2009 1:57 pm

      Amen, Papa! AMEN!

    • May 7, 2009 12:23 am

      Yep!

  9. May 5, 2009 5:58 am

    How about this for a kicker:

    Is the part about doing something inside the church or being the church outside the 4 walls… or a mix?

    I also wonder if we create so many internal programs that we over-extend the body of Christ internally when we should be doing more to be the church to people who need Christ in our communities. Our program mentality creates at least three troublesome side affects, in my opinion:

    1) Between work, family, and ‘doing church’ we have no time, energy, or resources left to be light in our communities.

    2) We develop a 4-wall mentality where its ‘safe’ to be a Christian inside the church building but not socially relative to do so outside of them.

    3) We begin to rely on the ‘professional’ Christians to evangelize people who come to church instead of carrying out the Acts 1:8 challenge ourselves.

    Next thing you know, instead of meeting people where they are at, we will want to make them feel comfortable where we are at and we might do that by creating another program, or opening a coffee shop in the church, or maybe we spend a small country’s budget on professional and expensive equipment because we want our worship ‘experience’ to be top notch. And all of these things need more people to volunteer.

    And these people who volunteer may not be able to join a small study group because they are too busy serving so they are no longer connected to a community that would have made sure that they were being fed spiritually and are able to recharge through fellowship.

    Holy Cow.. where did all that come from? Oh, yeah. Being Christ’s body. Sometimes I wonder if the body of Christ doesn’t look like Sybil, the character played by Sally Field.

    Yes.. we need to put our gift to work. We can not understand full joy while we live in disobedience.

    By the way.. I am not saying the things that I mentioned are bad… but we better be careful that we are not building a Christian Social Club that copies a worldly culture because either we can’t let that part of our pasts go or we think that is what will attract people to Christ.

    Ok… now I have blathered on for way too long.

    • May 5, 2009 7:20 am

      i deleted a small paragraph in this post, while editing it, that spoke to being our part outside the church as well. im glad you hit on that, tony.

      thanks!

    • May 5, 2009 8:04 am

      Tony, it’s comments like these that will gain you subscribers. Not sure how I’ve missed ya this long, but NO MORE! :-).
      Great stuff there brother!

      • May 7, 2009 12:26 am

        Tony’s blog is an essential read in my RSS for sure Toby

  10. May 5, 2009 7:56 am

    I’ve been learning recently that my part is representing Him in any given situation, at any given time, with anyone He brings in my path. If there is something needs done, I do it, “all as if unto Him” (to the best of my abiblity)

    Sometimes it will be before hundreds, sometimes it will be on my knees scrubbing “the throne” alone, but whatever and whereever it is seems to change daily. And He is so great at equipping us at that very time, with everything we need to carry out His tasks….

    • May 5, 2009 8:00 am

      this is doing our part. the part that everyone can do.

      i love this! thank you, deb ๐Ÿ˜‰

      love you…

  11. May 5, 2009 9:38 am

    Hmm… I’m trying to find a way to explain what’s in my head…

    I think I’m the “filler” part. I’m not the eye or the hand or the voice. But I will fill in and be any of those parts when they’re needed, and when that gift is currently at my fingertips. My physical life changes daily, so what I am able to do changes daily. So I become the filler … I sit behind the scenes, trying to be open to what I am called to do, and doing my best to fill in.

    It’s like I’m in the chorus, but am trying to learn all the parts just in case someone needs a stand-in.

    • May 5, 2009 1:31 pm

      PS: Gitz, I think this is called “Helps” in the Body. My Mom had this gifting as well. And as well was limited in physical function.

    • May 5, 2009 4:10 pm

      Gitz, Listening to the songs you have posted on your blog, I have heard the passion in your beautiful singing. You clearly have the gift of voice.

  12. May 5, 2009 10:49 am

    I’ve taken those spiritual gifts tests many times and still cannot really figure out what my special gifts are. I’ve always thought I was good at the “helps ministry” since I like working behind the scenes and being given a task to complete. But about 4 years ago I was asked to be in leadership with the women’s ministry. This really scared me because I am not a leader! I wanted to say no, but felt like God was pushing me forward and I wanted to be obedient to Him. I have grown a lot from it and overcome some fears, but I still don’t believe I should be in leadership.

    • May 5, 2009 5:42 pm

      this reminds me of one of my favorite quotes…

      “God doesnt call the qualified. he qualifies the called”

      yeppers..

  13. lisapbjcreations permalink
    May 5, 2009 11:02 am

    Yes doing my part and so blessed to have my gifts and God use me with them ,but I am always looking for ways to do more ,be more and let God use me more !!!!! Whether it’s paint,clean or lead the kids in dance ,and no it is not about us. It is about him and focusing on that is the single most importnant thing any of us can do !

    • May 5, 2009 5:41 pm

      i love that youre looking for ways to serve. and i know youre serving too. thank you for that! youre a great example to follow ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. May 5, 2009 1:37 pm

    I am so ruminating on this exact thought – and many aspects of it.

    I think in some ways I do know how God has called me to ‘fit’ in the Body … and at the same time feel like I have SO much yet to discover.

    The Body – fit together – every part functioning. It’s a good thought. I would love to increase clarity among the members. Which, I think, comes firstly from defining. “This is what part you are. This is how you fit.” and also “This is what part they are; this is how they fit.” So many times satan’s tactics are to isolate us, and then convince us that 1) we don’t have a place, and whatever we have to give really isn’t that important to the Body, and 2) everyone else’s place is either a subject of envy or condemnation because we don’t clearly understand what their place is and how we are all just as important regardless of function. yeah. I’m lovin’ this subject.

    • May 5, 2009 2:01 pm

      annie – i want to hear more of your thoughts on this…can you share more? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • May 6, 2009 2:10 pm

        haha. you want to hear more of my thoughts, eh?

        (rubbing hands together)

        (and by the way, thanks for that awesome edification Gitz! Wow!)

        allright.

        Well, I feel like … there are a fair number of people (but certainly nowhere near a majority) who have taken a ‘Discover Your Calling’ class to find out what general part they might play in the body. However by and large, there is little more knowledge or productivity that comes out of this.

        On the other hand, I myself have been functioning a bit more in things I am called to and gifted in lately, and am finding that 1) I’d really like it if I knew more about these gifts, and how they function, 2) I’d really like to know what gifts everyone else has that is connected to me and how they function as well.

        I liken it to a corporation: If Kraft is asked (by the board) to come up with a new label for all of their cheese products, will they send it to the Maintenance Department? Perhaps the IT group? No … they will send it to the advertisement department, and specifically to the graphic design department. Conversely, if they find that they are interested in expanding business oversees through internet commerce … are they going ask the Personnel Department to look into it? No … they’d send it to the internet development group.

        So … in the Body of Christ, I find that perhaps we would be better functioning as a whole if we knew and recognized everyone’s strengths and abilities, and could ‘source out’ (only in a manner of speaking) certain things that we (as a Body) have need of. For instance: A church finds that there is a large pocket of desperately discouraged single mothers out there. Who to call? Firstly, those with a gift for encouragement. Secondly, those with a ministry of helps. And then perhaps if specialty needs arise, you can call others: intercessors, administrators (if a group should be started) etc.

        Specifically what I have been thinking lately is in terms of specifically spiritual gifts (rather than practical functions). For instance, in the prayer group I’m a part of (with Bajan up there), there are many gifts represented: word of knowledge in one; word of wisdom perhaps in me (still testing this one), prophetic dreams in another, acting of miracles in another … and all of us are prayer warriors. So when we have a task at hand (an area of prayer) we can lean on certain gifts with more accuracy if we know what they are and how they function. God gave the finger to the body – why not understand how and when and where to use it? Otherwise we may end up sending the elbow to do the ring finger’s job. Makes for a very disjointed and awkwardly functioning body.

        If we were in fact, to be able to discover and define these things, my idea (dream, perhaps) is to then be able to have mentor groups for each gift. In these mentor groups there would be a ‘head’ which would consist of whoever is willing, but preferably has experience and age (the two frequently come hand-in-hand … not always though) who could mentor those who are just coming in and learning, etc. For instance, “I find this is particularly effective for me in this area,” or “This seems to be a common pitfall for those of us with this gift.” The purpose of the mentor groups would be two-fold: 1) to instruct people with what their place and strength is, and ground them in it, and 2) to know how the Body ‘joins together’ – IE: know when and how to lean on the other strengths (represented by the other mentor groups).

        This could be a structure that could be instituted at individual churches, but I think perhaps most effectively online, simply because of the vast people pool there is on here. Mentor groups could be as large or as small as people wanted them to be, and would be duplicatable as well. Prayer groups would be more effective; ministry groups would be better organized (all with the Holy Spirit of course – everything falls flat if it isn’t done with Him and by Him and for Him.)

        I can’t see the entire vision right now, but I feel like this could be a strong thing. At any rate, this is what’s been rolling around in my spirit recently.

        • May 6, 2009 10:48 pm

          you are marvelous my dear! what a vision!!!

          ok. so how can i help? really.

          • May 7, 2009 7:38 am

            Um. how can you help. Well, what are you good at? It seems you are very good at getting an audience. Is that a strength? I’d use whatever you’re gifted at. ๐Ÿ™‚ Per the vision. It seems your site would be a great way of getting the word out and ‘networking’ in a sense. You seem to do that naturally. And … it seems ‘you’ are already doing that without knowing it. (David and Blove apparently both want to run with the idea, just from my comment here!) Wow. I feel momentum … not sure what to do with it. Gotta run or get trampled, I guess. ๐Ÿ™‚ Heaven help me.

    • May 5, 2009 2:08 pm

      Annie, every time you post a comment I feel like I should get a pen and take notes. You are so filled with good thoughts.

      • May 7, 2009 12:28 am

        Gitz, I HAVE copied Annie’s comments into a document so I have them on hand for a discussion we’ll (likely) have in our home group about this ๐Ÿ™‚

        • May 7, 2009 6:58 am

          Oh my word! Really? Wow.

          • May 7, 2009 7:06 am

            woman…you have wisdom and good words pouring out of you all the time!

          • May 7, 2009 7:11 am

            Definitely! ๐Ÿ™‚

            • May 7, 2009 8:03 am

              wow.

              (this is so bigger than me. healthy sense of awe going on here. and lots of prayer.)

  15. May 5, 2009 4:29 pm

    I have found a place I am very happy at, which only took me 65 years to reach. :).

    Is this the right place for me? It is today, I have no clue about tomorrow.

    I still do have some bum parts, ego, self-centerdness, but I think it would be boring if I had no character flaws to work on. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • May 5, 2009 5:33 pm

      well said!

    • May 7, 2009 7:07 am

      youre right…it would be boring if we had no flaws to work on. then we’d reeeeeallly be self centered and full of ego.

      now. if we could all focus more on our flaws rather than the flaws of others.

  16. May 5, 2009 4:49 pm

    I think I’m using my gifts on Level 1. I can sing, so I’m in the choir. I like kids okay, so I work in the nursery. I’m a good teacher/leader, so I’ve started a small group.

    But I believe there’s a Level 2 of involvement and I’m not there yet. I am trying to get ready for when God wants me to move to that next level of serving…

    • May 5, 2009 5:40 pm

      “I like kids okay,”

      okay?

      one of our kids ministry leader stopped asking me to help out in kids church years ago. i finally told her, after her constant requests, that my involvement in childrens ministry could be catastrophic to both the kids and myself.

      • May 6, 2009 2:16 pm

        See? Like that! Why ask a shoulder to do a hand’s job? (Not that the pastor knew you weren’t a fit for the job … but then again, that’s the whole point.) At some point, we should stop attempting to ‘be all things to all people’ (noble Paulene thought that it is – I think he had a different application) and let ourselves be good at what we’re good at and suck at what we suck at – and then do the same for others. It’s okay that you’re not good with kids! If God had wanted Tam to be good with kids (not withstanding your own whom you are marvelous with), He would have made Tam to be good with kids! Clearly she has a different gifting, and when she’s in it, she can rock the world. So let her suck at kids … and find what she’s good at. ๐Ÿ˜€ And while we’re at it, can we let other people suck at some stuff and instead focus our attention on finding what they’re good at and helping them shine? That’s my heart.

        • May 6, 2009 10:51 pm

          i love you heart on this. you are clearly passionate about this, annie. and you are so right on too.

          funny thing about me is….i used to teach 1st/2nd grade ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

          • May 6, 2009 11:30 pm

            and just in case it slipped your mind…. you recently helped out in a … thingy where kids go to suffer – er ‘learn’…what’s that called again?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

            So, clearly, you working with kids would never work out, huh?

            Curse this remember thingy? – MEMORY! That’s it! – of mine ๐Ÿ™‚

            <B

          • May 7, 2009 7:08 am

            Haha. Well, I don’t personally think you suck at kids. In fact, it seems you’re actually rather good at it! But if you don’t feel that’s where you ‘fit’ – it’s always going to be a struggle for you. Or something. Anyhoo. ๐Ÿ˜€ Love ya! think you rock! Not trying to highlight a negative, just reinforcing where we fit. ๐Ÿ˜€ Love you!

            • May 7, 2009 7:13 am

              ha! no, you pointed it out perfectly. it is what it is. ๐Ÿ˜‰ and when i taught in the schools…i wasnt a lead teacher (thank you JESUS!) so that took a lot of pressure off. a lot less involvement with the kids, or at least in less stressful situations. but still…its just not my gig.

              and honestly…i am still trying to find exactly where i fit. weird. i think i should know by now.

              love you too!

              • May 7, 2009 6:58 pm

                Tam – I’m pretty sure 99% of the Church (heck – humanity!) are on this same page. I know some about myself. But … I’m discovering just the past few days even some things which … truly, I hadn’t seen before. Or … perhaps seen, but didn’t think they were at all viable …. just … something ‘about Annie.’ I didn’t realize perhaps God has a purpose for it. Which is odd, even, coming from me, since I’m apt to wax eloquent on God designing you on purpose. Why am I shocked to see it in myself? I don’t know. But it does go to show how much we really don’t know about ourselves.

                and you know, one of the ‘positions of the Body’ should be (is probably) a ‘job hunter.’ Someone talented at pulling out and defining a person’s strengths, and what kind of job they are best suited for. I’m sure these people exist. I wanna find them. ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. May 5, 2009 6:52 pm

    Hi Tam – just wanted to let you know I didn’t fall off the earth. Life is busy and full. Hope you and your family are doing well!

  18. May 5, 2009 8:18 pm

    I have been thinking of this a lot. It is hard for some reason to feel like being a parent is so meaningful. It doesn’t feel like playing that game, talking to them or picking up after them, etc. is changing the world. But, for right now that is my part and although I can’t see all the ways it changes things I am going to let God do his part and make my so-called normal into his phenomenal. I think that is what needs to happen most of the time. There are times we are called to the really big obviously influential thing, but most of the life changing things probably happen in our just normal typical day. I guess it is just in the eye of the beholder. Sometimes I think something isn’t that important or big, but God knows its course and it could be the biggest thing I ever do. I just have to trust that where he has me has purpose and my gifts although behind the scenes are just as important as the ones up on stage seen by everyone.

    • May 5, 2009 9:38 pm

      sam – absolutely. your last line is something that i think about a lot. just because brent or sue are up on stage doing their part, in their area of giftedness and are “seen” more, does NOT mean at all that the janitor of our church, who so lovingly folds the top layer of tissue over on every one of the rolls in our bathroom stalls, or the sweet mama at home with her twins and daughter, are any less important in the role that God has them in. the energy, time, influence, instruction, discipline, guidance and love that you poor into your children is the most important thing right now. and its huge! youre nurturing, cultivating and shaping two young men of God. sam – none of us would be here without a mama. its the most important part you can play. what you are doing now, directly effects the kingdom. so do it with all youve got! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      ok. so maybe not what you were entirely talking about. but i just had to say it ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. May 5, 2009 9:47 pm

    This is one of your rare spiritual posts isn’t it? – i’m quite good at picking up on things like that ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ‘worse yetโ€ฆare you doing anything at all? or are you, meaning โ€œweโ€, just sitting back and observing; pointing out what all the other parts are doing wrong?’

    OUCH! that stung ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The Truth can cut deeply sometimes. Sometimes the Devil uses such things to keep hidden what God wishes to be known. It pays us to be able to tell the two of those apart.

    ‘what is your gift? do you know? are you playing your part? are you looking at someone elses part and desiring theirs? meanwhile, not attending to your own while the body suffers from a bum part.’

    Am i going to be the ONLY one to mention the story of the body parts arguing over who’s Boss of the body, and all parts laughing when the bum part says he should be Boss… and him getting so peeved at this he goes on strike and closes up ‘shop’?

    The punch line being: you don’t have to be a brain to be the Boss – Just a ‘bum part’. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ok – i meant Asshole! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    i believe my greatest gift lies in teaching and understandings.

    as you mentioned however, it is not about ‘us’ and what we choose to believe -it is about Him, huh?

    What He thinks about us, believes in us, that really matters.

    i’m still working on trying to understand that.

    <B

    • May 5, 2009 10:09 pm

      “iโ€™m still working on trying to understand that.”

      me too. and always will.

      “This is one of your rare spiritual posts isnโ€™t it? – iโ€™m quite good at picking up on things like that ๐Ÿ˜‰ ”

      ha! its not so hard to pick up on these when they are so few and far between ๐Ÿ˜‰

  20. May 6, 2009 4:22 am

    I struggled with this for a time. I wondered how I was supposed to figure out my part, my purpose, my gift. I desired many things. I didn’t sit on the sidelines pointing out other peoples mistakes, I found my own. Mostly excuses for not getting off the bench and playing my part. I’m not an “A” list player. But I try. I’m learning not to let my own insecurities prevent me from doing the work that He desires me to do so that I am a valued part of the body and not a diseased, sick part.

    I’m still figuring out my part. But I’m doing something. And I’m not sick anymore.

  21. May 6, 2009 6:43 am

    i think i’m still trying to figure out all of my part. just because i can sing doesn’t mean leading worship is all i can or am supposed to do. i have a lot of things that God put inside of me that i know he wants to use.

    now i’m working on learning how.

  22. May 6, 2009 2:20 pm

    For now, we just know. Standing and serving beside my groom…I just know. I know it like I knew when I served and loved the students in the youth group for all those years. I know it like that one time I went on that missions trip to the middle of nowhere. I know it like when I helped that lady to her car and that was the “right thing”. I know it like when I am called to be silent and fast and I actually do it. I know it like I know PEACE because that is what I have in my heart of hearts. But I also know that in an instant I have to be willing to release and let it go for wherever and whatever He may call us to next because if I ever hold this as “mine” it may cause it all to come crumbling down and I can never live with myself for that. So yeah…I am pretty stoked that I get to live here and serve and love but I also know that I have to be willing to serve and love and go wherever He may call me to go next.

Trackbacks

  1. Mentoring the Gifts « The Hand of God

Leave a Reply

