Skip to content

seriously. i should not be allowed to have a blog.

May 6, 2009

you know what today is? or should i ask, what today should be?

thursday swap.

but. it isnt. why?…you may not be asking. because i thought about it too late. because, i keep forgetting to put it in my calendar to remind me on monday to ask someone to swap on thursday. seriously tam, is it that difficult?

moving on…

josh is here. he arrived around 6pm wednesday night. brent wasnt home at the time, but when he walked in the door 2 hours later…the whole room lit up.

awkward.

anyhoo…can i just say this again…i love this blogging community! when josh walked in the house it felt right. normal. this is his second time here – but it was like he never left the first time. josh left a mark on us. but that mark began imprinting itself long before we all actually met in real life. and now…there is a bond, a trust, a respect, a love that we share like a family. as a family.

i laugh when people insult on line friendships. or when they scoff at the time we invest into our online relationships. they just dont know. i have witnessed God do amazing things through this community of people who, mostly, have never met in real life.

i really dont know what to say to them. and thats ok. i dont need to i guess.

all i know, is i can not imagine my life without all of you. thank you for being on this journey with me…

ok now. brent has a picture in his post today and made fun of me that ive been typing all of this but dont have a pic in my post like he does. psh.

img_0281

so what are your thoughts on zip up hoodies worn without an undershirt?

acceptable?

creepy?

89 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 11:39 pm

    To Each – Their Own!

    (But that should probably include laundry!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

    N.B. this was NOT my opinion expressed when i saw an ‘Arty Type’ wearing a black hoodie under a Pin Striped Suit Jacket on TV recently.

    i believe my thought to that was more: “Poser!”
    (Urban Ghetto Chic? – my left buttock).
    ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    <B

  2. May 7, 2009 12:44 am

    Um, firstly, apologies (again) for the comment hijack…hopefully enough people will have commented by the time you wake up that my hair has vacated your sidebar…

    As for zip up hoodies without an undershirt. It may not be obvious…but most of the vlogs I’ve done in that red & white hoodie are sans undershirt… ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    It’s therefore acceptably creepy. And possibly a little bromantic.

    • May 7, 2009 7:04 am

      i will never watch your vlogs the same again. ever.

      s’all im saying.

      [oh. and hijack anytime]

  3. May 7, 2009 3:08 am

    You got it….They just don’t get it….and until they fire up the blog, they probably won’t get it.

    Now then….the hoodie. First, does it read “Flute Bros.”?? That, coupled with the bromance and bromantic talk is quite scary. Kinda gives me the heebie jeebies.

    I am a little biased though….just not a big fan of chest hair…except my own anyway. I make the wife shave hers.

    OH STOP>>>I KID!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • May 7, 2009 7:03 am

      i hope your bride doesnt read your comment ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

      the hoodie reads “Dutch Bros” its a coffee franchise here on this side of our world. yummy good!

  4. May 7, 2009 3:18 am

    I donโ€™t like the zipped up hoodie situation, but do I think your husband is kinda cute in that picture. But shhh, donโ€™t tell him that because I am married and I am certainly NOT hitting or flirting with your man. Geesh. Calm down, I just think itโ€™s a good picture and you should celebrate him and you thatโ€™s all. In other newsโ€ฆ.we woke up at 1:00 pm today. Yes. Lets just say we have a little jet lag looming. This, after I wrote Brandi this long email about how we have mastered the art of not having it anymore. I am a hypocrite. Bla bla. Shhh, donโ€™t tell her either – wouldnโ€™t want her to think I was hitting on her. Dang. You are kind of pushy this morning/afternoonโ€ฆWhatever time it is.

    • May 7, 2009 7:01 am

      uuuum. jet lag, perhaps???

      youre killin me woman!

      kil-leeeen me!

  5. May 7, 2009 3:27 am

    Some of my very best friendships have been formed online.

    • May 7, 2009 6:59 am

      me too! irreplaceable, how have i lived my life without you in it type of friends. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. May 7, 2009 3:31 am

    The hoodie…hmmm…dunno about the no short thing…crosses into a little like can’t afford a tee-shirt or….ummmm…kind of not sure I want my kids near you status ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. May 7, 2009 4:01 am

    Undergarmentless zippers are reserved for those who love to live dangerously.

    • May 7, 2009 4:16 am

      *snort snort*
      Brent probably has a white streak down the middle of his chest now… But he’s too proud to admit it.

    • May 7, 2009 6:57 am

      “Undergarmentless zippers are reserved for those who love to live dangerously.”

      …but should be avoided by those who want to live.

      [bows after receiving standing-O from every woman on the world wide web]

    • May 7, 2009 6:58 am

      well. every woman besides angie down below.

      ๐Ÿ˜•

  8. May 7, 2009 4:02 am

    The whole hoodie/no shirt thing kinda reminds me of a elementary school gym teacher from the 80’s.

    Just sayin’…kinda creepy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    At this point in my life, I’ve moved so much that online friendships are pretty much all that I have other than family. That IS my window to the outside world for the most part.

    • May 7, 2009 6:55 am

      ha! reminds me of men who drive windowless cargo vans and transams.

      it just aint right.

      why have you moved so much?

      • May 7, 2009 7:37 am

        Military for the most part. I still work with the government as a contractor (I’m relentlessly pushing Libby to let me go into ministry) so my jobs change quite regularly. I’m sick of it. I just want to find “home” and I haven’t been there yet. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

        Wow, that sounds depressing! ๐Ÿ™‚

        • May 7, 2009 7:51 am

          wow. i bet that is hard. i moved a lot as a kiddo and i remember how difficult it was for me, not to form friendships, but to feel comfy enough with them. cuz i always knew id have to leave.

          • May 7, 2009 8:55 am

            It is hard, but it takes a big toll on the kids. I was a preachers kid so I moved every two years growing up and have gotten used to it, but even still I typically just stick to my family and a few friends here and there. I just wish we could finally settle down and get the kids in a stable environment for once! My 6 year old has moved 8 times! 10 if you count moving to a new house in the same area. And it’s about to be 11.

            • May 7, 2009 11:06 am

              how much longer do you think this will last?

  9. May 7, 2009 4:15 am

    CREEPY!!!!!!!!!!

    • May 7, 2009 6:53 am

      whats worse…is he walked out of the room like it was nothing. then smiled that “i love that this grosses you out so much” smile.

      *shivers*

    • May 7, 2009 7:40 am

      Your mom is creepy…

  10. May 7, 2009 4:31 am

    Yeah!!!! On the zip up hoody with no undershirt. That is man points….

    OH.. And Tam you know how I feel about the online community. God will use what ever means necessary to gather his people to Him in unity. We just have to love on each other, and find ways to continue to fill the needs outside of this community. In many ways this is a greater church than any building can ever be.

    However it will never take the place of face to face relationships like the ones you all have now with Joshua, Mandy, Darla…and the others that have visited the Hodgelodge…

    As my Mom says “Just love one another.” So simple….

    Peace and love sis

    • May 7, 2009 6:52 am

      agreed. face to face relationships are vitally important. which makes it even better when you get to meet bloggers face to face ๐Ÿ˜‰

      “just love one another” – brilliant mama, you have ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. May 7, 2009 6:16 am

    As a person who has met with a person that I met on the blogosphere, I think it is really cool.

    As far as hoodies with no under shirt… probably wouldn’t have noticed if you hadn’t pointed it out. So. I say go with it.

    • May 7, 2009 6:22 am

      really? that was like…the first thing i noticed!

      • May 7, 2009 9:39 am

        Maybe you will be surprised by this, but its not usually other guys’ chests that men look at. ;p {even if he is a handsome man}

    • May 7, 2009 6:50 am

      tony – we have been so blessed and fortunate to have met several on line friends over the last year or so. all of them who are now family to us. its crazy, but there is a bond like no other.

      • May 7, 2009 9:41 am

        I met with Bill from http://billgrandi.ovcf.org/wordpress/ and his wife for lunch when they had come into town to visit their daughter and her family. It was a nice time of meeting a brother in Christ that we had only known through written word. And you know what, its biblical.

        Paul wrote to churches that he had never been to and told them he longed to meet them.

        Pretty cool, huh?

        • May 7, 2009 11:05 am

          ooooo – i like that. youre right. it is biblical. of course is focused on the right intent. and i know we all are here. thats awesome, tony!

  12. May 7, 2009 6:21 am

    anyone who wears a zip up hoodie…or any hoodie for that matter…sans undershirt is a creeper in my book.

    sorry brent!

  13. thatangiegirl permalink
    May 7, 2009 6:25 am

    About the zip up hoodies w/out an undershirt….not creepy, awkward when out in public, but SUPER HOTT if you’re married to the guy and he’s hangin’ around the house!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. May 7, 2009 7:08 am

    Let’s sort this out right now.

    Swap on nikao next week. Your post is due by Tuesday EOD.

    no mercy!

  15. May 7, 2009 7:15 am

    yes sir.

    but…

    what does “EOD” mean?

    ๐Ÿ˜•

  16. May 7, 2009 7:16 am

    “EOD”

    Evening Or Dinner?

    Even Over Death?

    Eating Oreos, Delicious!?

    Exactly On Dime?

  17. May 7, 2009 7:17 am

    Suggestion: ask someone today for next Thursday’s swap. Then you will always be a week ahead. You do seem to remember on Thursday so if you do it on Thursday, but a week in advance you will totally be with it.

  18. May 7, 2009 7:41 am

    Can I just say, that I have never worn this ensemble out of the house before.

    But I most certainly will entertain it, inside the house in the future…

  19. May 7, 2009 7:42 am

    i’m not commenting on acceptable or creepy… but let’s just say i wouldn’t let pete do it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  20. May 7, 2009 8:29 am

    *in a paris hilton voice* that’s hot. (the picture)

  21. May 7, 2009 9:19 am

    All I can see is a future of big ol’ gold chains hanging around the neck.

    True manly-men are a bit more subtle… no need to advertise what’s under the hoodie.

    ๐Ÿ™„

    • May 7, 2009 11:07 am

      not a good visual, gitz. im about to eat lunch…

  22. May 7, 2009 10:00 am

    Blog buddies are lifesavers!

    • May 7, 2009 11:08 am

      AMEN!!!

      seriously…i love that in an instant we can gather and pray. we can encourage and support.

  23. May 7, 2009 10:48 am

    I’ve not met any of the people I’ve only met on the blogosphere yet….but….I’m considering doing some touring in the US next year…maybe…..possibly……

    And the encouragement and the generosity of blogfriends over the last months has been overwhelming.

    • May 7, 2009 11:08 am

      well, let us know is you make it to the west coast ๐Ÿ˜‰

  24. May 7, 2009 11:46 am

    Zip up hoodies are ok.

    When he buys an unmarked white van, and quanities of lolly pops.. worry.

    Oh. snap, that’s uncalled for.

    • May 7, 2009 11:55 am

      Oh Andy, I was so gonna go there, but it just didn’t feel right!! I just laughed so hard, my sides hurt! WOW!
      Yes Tam, that’s what we’re all thinking about the hoodie. It’s just that Andy is the only one with the kahunas to type it ๐Ÿ™‚

      • May 7, 2009 12:08 pm

        Kahunas? Is that a Greek or Hebrew derivative?

        I am not sure that I can find it in my on-line study resource.

        I may have to ask my wife because, now that I am thinking about it, I have seen her carrying a bag with that name brand written on the side. I thought it may be coffee but she wasn’t willing to share whatever was in the bag. She said something about it being a wedding day gift or some such and that I didn’t need any.

        I may have to go home and peek into that bag to see what is there now that you have my curiosity piqued.

        • May 7, 2009 12:20 pm

          Tony, I believe Webster defines Kahunas as “that in which man shall lose upon uttering the words I DO”

          Most likely, you just don’t remember having that bag, but it was once yours. You can attempt to peak inside, but you won’t be interested in the contents. The desire to possess the contents will fade.

          I only speak from experience brother. Our prayers are with you!

          • May 7, 2009 12:25 pm

            I have Kahunas, and I know where they are at all times. Andrea’s Purse. (Whichever one she’s ‘wearing’ that day.)

            Hey.. such is life.. right?

            • May 7, 2009 12:31 pm

              See Andy…I’ve been trying to tell you…..You GET IT!

          • May 7, 2009 12:26 pm

            You boys are cracking me up!!!

          • May 7, 2009 12:27 pm

            I was still secretly wishing it was coffee. ;(

            • May 7, 2009 12:30 pm

              Call it coffee if ya want, but only if ya don’t wanna drink any.

  25. May 7, 2009 11:53 am

    wait…am I on the right post? Oh good.

  26. May 7, 2009 12:08 pm

    there it is again. That line in the sand… and I hurdled it. It’s embarrassing sometimes. This is why I think I’ll have a girl… to try to knock some sort of filter on, and to give me some sensitivity!

    • May 7, 2009 12:21 pm

      Dude. That was a hilarious comment you made up there. No ones offended by it here ๐Ÿ™‚

      • May 7, 2009 12:27 pm

        Ha. Thanks!

        Yeah, I’m glad there are ppl who aren’t offended easily, because I don’t plan on not leaving offensive comments from time to time. Tell Brent I want a bromance too. feeling a little empty.

        • May 7, 2009 2:57 pm

          andy! check out the comment under this one from Debs!!!

          ๐Ÿ˜†

  27. May 7, 2009 2:52 pm

    Andy, ur cracking me up, but I think you meant cojones, a kahuna is a Hawaiian Shaman….. ;)LOL

  28. May 7, 2009 2:58 pm

    OH. MY. SWEET. WORD!!!

    THIS IS TOOOOO MUCH!!!

    ahahahahah!!!

    • May 7, 2009 3:03 pm

      The fact that he knows where they are at all times tho….that’s wonderful! ๐Ÿ˜†

      • May 7, 2009 3:19 pm

        I know my place! I’m no fool. Mama ain’t happy, I’m not eating… or something like that.. right? haha.

        as for the spelling. .. that was on purpose. Some people call theirs cojones, I call mine Hawaiian Shamans… ๐Ÿ™‚

        Just kidding, I’m too lazy to look directly above me for the spelling.

        Thanks for thinking I’m funny. I’ve worked very hard for this defense mechanism I call a sense of humor! …… *awkward pause* yeah…

  29. May 7, 2009 5:04 pm

    Brent. For the last time, man, you cannot wear a hoodie without a t-shirt.

    • May 7, 2009 9:41 pm

      Mary – see photo on post – clearly he CAN! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

      it seems to be more a matter of ‘Will Tam let him get away with doing it again’? at this point in time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      and he even manages to look vaguely cute – in a youngish ‘i don’t care who sees me lookin like this’ kinda way..

      What???

      i’m allowed to think B is cute aren’t i??

      Wait – lemme rephrase that! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

      … is it too late to go back to the coffee-drinking Hawaiian Shaman??

      <B

  30. May 8, 2009 7:10 am

    Your mom has Kahunas.

    • May 8, 2009 10:22 am

      hahahaha. man i had me a good laugh at that comment. i thought last night my husband was gonna disown me if i didn’t quit the your mom comments.

  31. May 10, 2009 7:26 pm

    I’m totally cool with it. I actually think it looks very sexy on Brent. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

