Skip to content

line. to cross or not to cross?

May 17, 2009

a few of you asked me, in the pimp my post comments, what my all time favorite post was. it is so hard to pick cuz i dont know what to base the choice on. then saturday night kota and i were talking about boundaries and consequences while watching a show with a couple unruly teens. our conversation made me think of a post i wrote about a year ago on this exact subject. so…while it may not be my favorite, it also aint half bad. i think 😉

****************************************************************************************************

“True spiritual self-discipline holds believers in bounds but never in bonds; it’s effect is to enlarge, expand and liberate.” – D.G. Kehl

I am freer now in Christ than I ever was before I chose Him. Yet, I’ve heard so many times from people who are searching that God just isn’t for them – they don’t want to live under a thumb.

Before I gave my life to God I was one scattered person. OK, that is not to say I am not scattered still. Scattered brain, I am. But lost? Not anymore. And I am certainly under no thumb. I have learned discipline. Discipline where it matters most for me. Once where I would throw caution to the wind and not give any second thought to the repercussions, I now seek and have the guidance of a loving God who always steers me in the right direction.

Like a child who needs discipline to feel safe. They need, and want, to know where the boundaries are. Knowing the boundaries prepares and equips us to go the distance we are to travel. And it assures we are where we’re suppose to be.

That’s freedom!

Your thoughts?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2009 10:36 pm

    Now that is a great opening quote Tam ! “…In bounds but. never in bonds…”

    It blows my mind that people (usually from very strict religions) think true Christianity is loose – too free – not realising that the freedom comes from surrender of self to God, rather than surrender to rules.

    Actually, that blows my mind, and I think I understand it fairly well – most of the time.

  2. May 18, 2009 6:56 am

    AMEN Tam.

    It kills me when parents struggle to understand why their kid is out of control yet not a single boundary has been put in place. No bed time, discipline, structure.

    I see this so much working with schools. Parents spend so much time blaming others for how their kids act when all they need to do is look in the mirror. Almost every time a kid is out of control it stems right back to the home..no further.

    On the flip side we have such a great structure and teamwork put in place in our household and every day we get the question…Is your daughter this good all the time? How do you do it? Of course she isn’t perfect all the time, but all in all, she is happy, loving and knows what she can and cannot do. She thrives from it as do all kids.

    It really isn’t rocket science.

  3. May 18, 2009 11:10 am

    You write so well…

    And, in your header pic, you look like you’re smoking a cigarette. Just sayin’

  4. May 18, 2009 12:38 pm

    Romans 1:1 Paul, a bond-servant of Christ Jesus, called {as} an apostle, set apart for the gospel of God,

    Titus 1:1 Paul, a bond-servant of God and an apostle of Jesus Christ, for the faith of those chosen of God and the knowledge of the truth which is according to godliness,

    1Corinthians 9:19 For though I am free from all {men,} I have made myself a slave to all, so that I may win more.

    Its not so bad being in bonds.. 🙂 Just ask Paul.

  5. May 18, 2009 2:44 pm

    Freedom means we get to make choices. Having faith should mean losing the fear of making the right, but sometimes hard, chose. Choosing what we need to do, not want we want to.

  6. May 18, 2009 8:33 pm

    Freedom isn’t all it’s cracked up to be! 😉

    Being free generally means being alone. Sometimes with others who think like you for company.

    and i know we’ve been here before Hun, but it’s ‘where we are supposeD to be’ – supposeD!

    ‘K? Yer welcome.

    Are you feeling ok? Just wonderin’.

    <B

Leave a Reply

