Skip to content

i dont play around

June 1, 2009

it was late and he was driving me home. i loved this part of our day together. when there was no one else around. just us. it was quiet and we could focus only on each other.

we pull up, in his lowered red nissan mini truck, and walk into my little apt. in southern california. he sat on the couch, i climbed on his lap and asked…

“so….when are you gonna ask me to marry you?”

“uuhhh. now?” – he replied.

😀

this was october 10, 1990 – our proposal story.

got a love story you wanna share?

78 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 8:54 pm

    brent drove a lower truck?!? that made my night.

    • June 1, 2009 9:03 pm

      oh, if only i had pictures of it.

      im sure brent would LOVE to tell you all about it 😕

    • June 1, 2009 9:06 pm

      Dude my mini truck was awesome. I lived in LA, whaddya expect 🙂

      hey, I once had a mullet too.

  2. June 1, 2009 8:58 pm

    this one time, at band camp…

    (couldn’t resist.)

    i proposed to my wife at our new believers home group. i had been a christian for a little less than a year at the time, my wife only about a month. these people were forming us into who we would become… so i thought it’d be special to do it there.

    we did this routine every week where we’d write a single prayer request on the back of a small card, and the home group leader would take them, shuffle them up, and redistribute them to the group. well i had him in on it, and he made sure that ryanne got the card that said “will you marry me?” on the back of it.

    …and of course, i hid a video camera up in the living room so i could have it forever.

    that’s how i roll.

  3. June 1, 2009 9:00 pm

    the only love story i’ve experienced thus far is the one between me and my Savior.

    but i certainly long for the one God is preparing for me… the one who will sweep me off my feet, the one who will make me so mad sometimes, the one who will love me more than anything, the one who will take my breath away, the one who will be the daddy to my daughter, the one who will be the respectful father to my son and the one who i will lay beside til death do us part…

    • June 1, 2009 9:05 pm

      i cant wait for that for you either.

      and then…he’ll fart on you.

      • June 1, 2009 9:06 pm

        well, naturally. good thing i am already used to being farted on. hooray for brothers…

  4. June 1, 2009 9:05 pm

    Our love story is SO not romantic. We met at a pizza place. I thought he was rich. He thought I was easy. One of us was wrong. =/

    He stood me up on our first date. He claimed he didn’t know it was a REAL date. I MAY have imagined the date w/ out actually confirming it. Our first REAL date was when he called me and asked me to help him at the laundromat. That should have been an inkling of my future life.

    When he proposed, his whole family was there. His aunt was yelling “DON’T DO IT! DON’T DO IT!” We still aren’t sure whom she was talking to.

    We must’ve done something right. Married for 12 years w/ 3 kids. It ain’t glamorous…but it’s perfect.

  5. June 1, 2009 9:06 pm

    ok seriously…

    Rose got back from a 3 week trip to Africa at midnight on a Saturday. I picked her up. Drove an hour to my parents. Spend Sunday morning driving to Silver Creek Falls just outside of Silverton, Oregon. We talked and walked along the main trail down to the Lower South Falls. All along I was just making sure she still dug me. When I figured out that she still did, I got down on my knee right under the Lower South Falls.

    She said yes.

    • June 1, 2009 9:09 pm

      right knee. lower south falls.

      sounds so…feng shui.

      you two are adorable! you know that, right?

      and i was thinking about rose yesterday. we couldve used her expertise while preparing the bass fish kota caught that morning. 😕

  6. June 1, 2009 9:09 pm

    Hmmm…I think I’ve done this…in a 5 part blog post series. You might remember it.

    But, just for you (I’m pretty sure I left this out of the video)…the actual events which led to me asking Diane…

    We were travelling around Australia, and had made it to Darwin. We’d been travelling for a few weeks, and our apartment there had it’s own laundry, so we took the opportunity to do some laundry.

    I mean, I did the laundry…for both of us…and it was while I was washing her “smalls” (as they call them in Britain) that I thought to myself “I’d quite like to do this for the rest of my life”.

    So I thought I’d better make sure that could happen.

    • June 1, 2009 9:10 pm

      “I’d quite like to do this for the rest of my life”.

      only people with aussie accents say stuff like that. seriously…i would laugh my hopeless butt off if i ever heard brent say that.

      david – that is awesome. you and diane definitely have that adorable factor too!

      • June 1, 2009 9:18 pm

        It only works for me due my polite Aussie accent.

        If I was ocker, that phrase (or nearly anything else I say) would definitely cause lots of butts to be laughed off.

        The ocker version, for the record, would have been “This sheila’s a bit of awright, how’s about we shack up an all that”

        Actually, I have no idea how to be ocker…I’d better get some advice from Paul Hogan…

    • June 1, 2009 9:12 pm

      too cute.

    • June 1, 2009 9:12 pm

      We would expect nothing less from the most adorable couple in Australia.

    • June 1, 2009 11:28 pm

      Who calls them smalls? I call them pants and bras! Or ‘delicates’.

      Love the “This sheila’s a bit of awright, how’s about we shack up an all that”

      The Scottish version would be “Hey [enter lassie’s name], I really fancy you, so how’s about it, eh?”

      Awwww…..

      • June 2, 2009 7:50 am

        OK, maybe the smalls thing is restricted to Northern Ireland…and my relatives from Cambridge area… 🙂

    • June 2, 2009 10:24 am

      hahahahahahaha “I’d quite like to do this” Giggles!

  7. June 1, 2009 9:11 pm

    dang girl. you sure don’t play! 😉

    hubby set everything up perfectly for our proposal. he was leaving for colorado for the summer, and we wanted to get in everything we would have done together that summer into one day. we had breakfast, walked in the park, went to see a movie, went on the lake, cooked out, had a campfire…the WORKS.

    he had me totally convinced he wasn’t gonna ask me for at least another six months. so when he did….i thought he was joking…and the ring looked so gorgeous in that fire-light that i thought it surely was a fake.

    so as he asks me to marry him with tears in his eyes, i freeze for about twenty seconds before eloquently yelling, “are you serious? are you SERIOUS???”

    ha. whoops. poor honey.

    • June 1, 2009 9:14 pm

      and in the chaos of you yelling “are you serious!?!?!” the ring is flung into the glistening fire….

      that wouldve sucked.

      😀

      • June 1, 2009 9:53 pm

        haha!!! tell me about it! but no. it was snugly tied to a ribbon and tucked inside the heart he carved out of the book he gave me. ♥ he’s creative.

    • June 2, 2009 10:25 am

      Ha ha! Love that!

  8. June 1, 2009 9:12 pm

    yep. better stop reading these. ho-hum.

    • June 1, 2009 9:13 pm

      You can read mine. I’m not the romantic type. I prefer to laugh. You can laugh at me. It’s ok. I secretly like it.

  9. commentingninja permalink
    June 1, 2009 9:14 pm

    uh, i lived in CA and belonged to a mini-toyota truck club…it was a chick-magnet…

  10. June 1, 2009 9:15 pm

    oh goodness – these are great stories!!!

  11. June 1, 2009 9:18 pm

    oh, and one of the best love stories from my marriage to date i can think of?

    ryanne putting up with my crap during this difficult time. she’s my cheerleader, my defender, my support system, my therapist, my helper, my butt-kicker, my comforter, my rock, my wife… even though i know she’s struggling at times, she always is quick to put on her game-face when i’m feeling particularly low.

    i will spend the rest of my life attempting to be half as awesome to her as she has been to me, particularly the last three months.

    i can’t even begin to express what she means to me in words or actions, let alone typed in a comment box.

    • June 1, 2009 9:25 pm

      i understand. she is truly the real deal. i love her to pieces and havent even met her yet. she is quality, buster!

  12. June 1, 2009 9:24 pm

    Ours just kinda happened. It wasn’t a huge surprise, since he made me go ring shopping with him (I guess I’m really that picky). He brought his sis along to help him remember the ring I liked the best. Something symmetrical…

    Then we took my parents out to dinner for my dad’s birthday, where Eric asked my dad for permission to ask me to marry him. Nice gesture!

    A couple of days later we were walking in the park and he found a small grove of trees, got down on 1 knee and “officially” proposed, ring & all.

    What he didn’t realize was that I had said “yes” in my heart a few months before and was just waiting for him to catch up. Guys are slower ya know…

    He keeps trying to replace that ring with “something bigger” but I won’t let him. This one has been on my finger for 15 years, and it will stay there for the rest of my life.

    • June 1, 2009 9:27 pm

      “He keeps trying to replace that ring with “something bigger” but I won’t let him. This one has been on my finger for 15 years, and it will stay there for the rest of my life.”

      i love that!

      i love this story!

      • June 1, 2009 9:44 pm

        we had a really long engagement tho – engaged March 8, married Dec 1. I wanted a December wedding. If he would have figured it out a bit sooner… 😉

        wedding was worth the wait – 183 candles, a fire truck and lots of people. I’ll have to post that story someday.

        • June 1, 2009 9:56 pm

          i had a short engagement, cuz i wanted to get married in december, too. it was worth the added stress. 🙂

  13. kyleboot permalink
    June 1, 2009 10:25 pm

    I took Colette out to “our” restaurant for our two year anniversary. Eventually the topic of marriage came up and she jokingly said I would never propose. Not wasting a second, I pulled out the ring and asked her to marry me. She said, “Is it real?” I’m not sure if she thought I would propose with a fake ring, but needless to say it was not the initial reaction I was looking for.

    • June 2, 2009 9:48 pm

      “She said, “Is it real?”

      ahaha! why is that the first thing we ask? too funny!

  14. pokinatcha permalink
    June 2, 2009 1:12 am

    We were making out, he was on top of me and he said, ” I love you and want you to be my wife!” That was the first time he said he loved me.

    • June 2, 2009 9:49 pm

      “We were making out, he was on top of me…”

      i cant get past that part

      😀

  15. Lynse Leanne permalink
    June 2, 2009 3:03 am

    Out engagement was funny because we had been planning out wedding for about a month. I wanted an early April wedding and knew that I needed at least 3 and a half months to pull it off. So I told him there needed to be a ring on my finger by the end of December. And on a Monday,December 10th there was.

    We spent the day looking at rental houses downtown (none of which we ended up with) and he had made reservations at a local sushi bar for dinner. I knew of was coming because the Friday before he had accidentally sent me a text that was intended for a friend but called and begged me not to read it. It said “hey man, got a ring will call you when she says yes.”. I didn’t read it. But I suspected an key trying to cancel our Monday date.

    So we had dinner and nothing. Then he took me to a statue that overlooks Birmingham and had 3 gifts for me. The first one was a necklace to wear to our churches volunteer appreciation party that was the next night. The 2nd was a Hanson sticker. (I absolutely love hanson!!) and he said when I was younger I got this and knew I would give it to someone so I kept it…I never knew who but now it is clear all along it was for you. Then here is the shady part. He says “I know you probably think this is a ring, but it’s not. It’s earings to match your dress. He lied-it was a ring. He got down on one knee and asked me to marry him. I said yes. We hugged. (we didn’t kiss until our wedding day).

    He knew how important certain people were

    • June 2, 2009 9:50 pm

      “The 2nd was a Hanson sticker. (I absolutely love hanson!!)”

      i cant believe you just admitted that.

      i think i love you.

  16. Lynse Leanne permalink
    June 2, 2009 3:07 am

    weird it cut off. But he had them meet us at starbucks to celebrate.

    He’s romantic – I am not. Haha! No tears, just a hug. Sadly, he probably thought we would kiss after that but he was not that lucky that night. Haha!

  17. Heidi permalink
    June 2, 2009 4:12 am

    I was living in Tualatin Oregon working, I just had gotten discharged from the Navy. I was keeping a long distance relationship going and Paul surprised me with a package, a diamond ring bound up in bubble wrap. It took me 20 minutes on the phone to unwrap. He was giggling on the phone in Long Beach. Then here was a ring with a note attached would you marry me?

    That was April 18, 1989

    • June 2, 2009 5:59 am

      aw, that’s sweet.

    • June 2, 2009 9:51 pm

      truthfully. i wouldve been more excited about the bubble wrap!

      one year for christmas my mom gave me my two favorite things…

      chicken in a biscuit crackers

      and bubble wrap.

      no lie!

  18. June 2, 2009 6:42 am

    Too funny.

    The story of how my wife and I met is a little longer but involves Santa…she was an elf. And yes, Santa came to our wedding! Here is the link for the whole story.

    http://movingthroughlife.wordpress.com/2009/03/10/my-wife-the-story-of-how-we-met/

    • June 2, 2009 9:52 pm

      i havent read your post yet. will in the morning. but im totally impressed that santa was at your wedding. dang…all i had were a bunch of senior citizens.

  19. June 2, 2009 7:38 am

    Thanks Joseph… thought I’d be the only one who would post a link here!

    Below is the story … not of how we proposed… but how God convinced me to consider going out with her in the first place 🙂 I’d had so much rejection in my life from the fairer sex that I thought I’d never ever get married… I even learned to cook in anticipation of being alone… but then, God brought Lesanne into my life – but I wasn’t convinced…

    Here’s the story!

    http://bajanpoet.wordpress.com/2009/04/17/supernatural-stories-weather-control/

    • June 2, 2009 9:53 pm

      will read you story in the morning. didnt want you to think i wasnt gonna read it, friend.

      🙂

  20. June 2, 2009 8:11 am

    Jeff was, and is, my best friend. We started writing music together after he asked me to be a part of the worship team he was trying to develop for the college group. We spent the year hanging out, laughing, leading worship and then spent the summer working out at camp. We’d known each other for a few years, but had each dated other people. I was being asked to move to Portland to see if my ex and I could work it out and then get married. At the end of the summer we went for a long walk…

    I’m using bajanpoet’s idea. ☺

    http://solacegirl.blogspot.com/2009/06/comment-on-tams-blog.html

    • June 2, 2009 9:43 am

      Wish I could take credit 🙂 That’s gotta go to Joseph 🙂

      Will be checking out the links shortly 🙂

  21. June 2, 2009 9:59 am

    Oh sure, you would ask this question on the day that I’m contemplating moving out into a tiny apartment… all by myself. Marriage sometimes really sucks.

  22. June 2, 2009 10:38 am

    Well, let’s just say that my husband is the kind of man that assumes he has to ‘figure everything out’ perfectly and can’t stand being told. Meaning … I had some definite wishes for how a proposal would go, but I knew I could never tell him or ask him for it. I would have to be ok with whatever he did (many women have to go this route – understandably.) Well, so I told God. I told him what I would really like, what would be perfect, etc.

    “Can I just tell You and then You tell him somehow? I’d really like that.”

    Well … September 21, 2004 rolled around and he called me around 5:00 to tell me to get dressed up really nice. I kinda suspected. I know my man. Well…..

    Let me just say that somehow, God gave him the skinny on every single last detail I had asked for. I mean it. Every single thing. Outside, nice weather, tranquil and romantic, prayed with me first thing after proposing … it was amazing. I am still amazed to this day that everything I had wanted I got without actually telling him! God is so amazing!

    • June 2, 2009 10:55 am

      Yeah, God’s cool like that 😀

      “pssst… Ben… this is God…. u like this girl? Right! Well, I like her, too… so this is what I want u to do…. buzz, buzz, buzz… Got it! Good!”

    • June 2, 2009 9:54 pm

      i love how God cares about each and every little detail. He really is good!

  23. June 2, 2009 1:22 pm

    i love that my friend, Amy (above), elaborated on her comment over on her blog.

    you should go read it…

    http://solacegirl.blogspot.com/2009/06/comment-on-tams-blog.html

  24. June 2, 2009 4:39 pm

    tam – that is too funny.

    i have a good story, but it’s long and i’m not feeling i have the attention span to type it now. 🙂

    • June 2, 2009 4:50 pm

      youll have to do a blog post about some day 😉

  25. June 2, 2009 4:47 pm

    I love it. I’m totally imagining Mullet Brent in a Low. Ri-Der. 🙂

  26. June 2, 2009 10:19 pm

    Fine. I posted part 1 – the meeting, the dating, the engagement. Just for you, Tam.

    http://blog.alexandari.com/our-story-part-1/

    enjoy… don’t worry, the firetruck story is coming. Later. 😉

  27. June 3, 2009 9:55 am

    Have to weigh in here after reading Solacegirl’s story…

    Husband and I had been dating for about 8 months and I was SURE I would get a ring at Christmas. I didn’t and I went back to work after the 1st of January let down. I told my boss at AGI and he told me he wouldn’t let Alan NOT propose to me, since my boss was the only person who could actually take my boyfriend on ( per size) I was pretty sure it would come to pass. But, not getting any younger and 2 months pass without any movement I got FED UP. So, on a Sunday afternoon after I finished the laundry at his apartment I sat him down and told him I was tired of the waiting game. Either this was going to marriage, or I was going another way. I had no desire to wait to infinity for a marriage that might not materialize. So he asked me to consider the idea of forever, never divorcing after marriage. I realized we were on the verge of a proposal so I panicked and asked to use the restroom. I freaked out in the bathroom as I tried vainly to get presentable to be proposed to…as if there is such a state. I tried to brush my teeth with my finger. When done, and sweating like an Olympian I came out to the hallway. It was late in the afternoon and it was dark. He took the ring down from the hall closet and opened the box. He had hidden the ring in October, it was now February. It was the biggest diamond I have ever seen on a ring. He asked to to marry him and I said yes. Then about 10 minutes later we both completely freaked out about it and I said the stupidest thing ever, ” You know, I could give this back and we could pretend it didn’t happen. Then we could try it again later.” Yeah. I know. He said, “We can’t pretend it didn’t happen.” So we went for a walk and tried to call everyone. It was halftime of the Superbowl and no one but Amy W. answered the phone. It was so fun to tell her. We’ve been married for 7 years and I am glad it happened, even though it was off the cuff.

    • June 3, 2009 11:45 am

      so darn adorable!!!

      he had that ring for almost 5 months?? how did you feel when you realized that? what was he waiting for?

Leave a Reply

