Skip to content

pimp my post

June 4, 2009

have we gotten to a place where i dont need to explain pimp my post anymore? well, just in case we have a newbie in these here parts, i shall explain anyway πŸ˜‰

leave a link to your favorite post that youve written this week.

hmmm. that was easy.

k, so…im sitting here typing this and quietly in the back ground a movie is playing on tv. i type, i recognize lines being spoken, i type, i recognize songs being performed, i look up and its purple rain. suddenly, like a gigantic wave crashing over me…i am flooded with 1980’s memories!!! leg warmers, perier, til tuesday, aqua net and…oh my word – prince is singing purple rain right now. hes such a dramatic performer!

what brings the 80’s crashing back into your memories?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 12:10 am

    I am the 80s…so just about any given day, at least 1 80s song will come on my iPod. Apart from that, almost all the kiddyfashion at the moment is very 80s, and being influenced by Duran Duran no longer seems quite as scary for bands to admit. So it’s perma80s in my life I think.

    Anyway, pimping of posts…

    Just wanna say this has been one of my most favourite weeks in blogland ever. I posted on Monday about being disappointed in myself about not posting more about God…and before you know it, there’s awesome posts all over blogville discussing Him and seeking Him more intimately.

    I know there often is, but this week it has just felt different for some reason. I’ve also had a God-week happening over in my little space, and I’m closing it out with my post to pimp this week (curiously too, the best traffic ever…hmmm)

    Only thing is…it’s not published yet! It will be a bit later on…once it ticks over to Saturday here in Australia πŸ™‚

    http://www.shapingthespace.net/2009/06/dreams

    • June 5, 2009 8:20 am

      It’s up now btw…since it’s been Saturday here now for over 2 hours…only 12 hours til the action commences….eek 😯

  2. bahava permalink
    June 5, 2009 12:50 am

    Oh the 80s…pictures and 80 themed parties definitely transport me there even though I wasn’t alive for much of the 80s. Gotta love the music though! πŸ™‚
    Speaking of bringing you back–here’s a post going way back to the time of Togas: http://bahava.wordpress.com/2009/06/03/toga/

  3. June 5, 2009 4:58 am

    No blogs to speak of this week as brutha Russ is working on a redesign for me…..

    Sadly, all I have to do to remember the 80’s is look at my wife. She was born in 1981 and I get a dose of “WOW, I’m OLD” every day. Somewhere in the suffering thoughts of my agedness, I remember big hair, Rat, Poison, Cinderella…oh and Wham! Yes, it’s hard for my fingers to type this, but I was quite the Wham fan.

    Wake me up….before ya go go…..

    For all of you laughing at me, I hope that song is now stuck in your heads for the remainder of your day :-)!

    • June 5, 2009 8:18 am

      Jitterbug – *click*, *click*, *click* – I got the jitterbug…

      We played this in church not all that long ago.

      I :heart: Wham!

      (Everyone is always laughing at me…it ain’t so bad Toby)

      • June 5, 2009 8:24 am

        Ok, so long as I’m not their only fan πŸ™‚

  4. June 5, 2009 5:20 am

    VH1 80’s videos on tv;)

    I’ve also written a few posts this week…go me!
    AND I’ve memorized my #11 verse;) YAY…AND
    I’ve written a few poems lately:)
    Our creative community would be proud:)
    http://www.littlestepsoffaith.com

  5. June 5, 2009 6:06 am

    Here you go Tam…it is an updated older post on “words”…

    http://movingthroughlife.wordpress.com/2009/06/05/cool-words-again/

  6. June 5, 2009 6:27 am

    I don’t have a pimp-worthy post of my own this week. But I just read this little post and it was EXACTLY what I needed. And, I have a feeling, I might not be the only one.

    http://evotional.com/2009/06/waiting-game.html

    Any song from Dirty Dancing brings back the 80s – and I LOVE it. πŸ™‚

  7. June 5, 2009 6:28 am

    80s? bleh.

    Kids these days running around in their fluorescent fake ray bans, checkered slip ons, and poorly designed fluorescent print tees…that’s what brings the 80s thundering back into my brain…and honestly it bothers me. Kids these days think their so cool and original by wearing stuff that was ugly the first time around. What are they thinking? But I guess we did the same thing with the 60s and 70s back in the late 80s/early 90s when I was a kid/teen.

    Post pimpage: http://russhutto.com/2009/06/together-ness-family-is-utmost/

    It’s all about family.

  8. June 5, 2009 6:47 am

    I don’t necessarily have a ‘pimp worthy’ post. But I do have my FIRST post! πŸ™‚ Brand new blogger here!!!

    http://thechroniclesofasavedgirl.blogspot.com/2009/06/my-name-is.html

    • June 5, 2009 7:26 am

      welcome to the online community! i saw you on twitter too, right?

      looking forward to getting to know you. you’ll love the people around here…i promise! πŸ˜‰

  9. Jim2 permalink
    June 5, 2009 8:03 am

    Tam,
    Thanks to you I’ve been reading Billy Coffey’s blog a lot lately, and his recent post about singing really ties in with what’s been going on here this week
    http://billycoffey.blogspot.com/

  10. June 5, 2009 8:21 am

    I caught the first few minutes of the movie “Pretty In Pink” the other day and it brought back all kinds of memories of high school – it cracks me up now to see how ridiculously UN-cool we looked!

    Here’s my fave post from the past week: http://givemejesus-rick.blogspot.com/2009/06/error-vs-truth.html

  11. June 5, 2009 10:16 am

    Grease. Olivia Newton John. Boy George. John Cougar Mellencamp. U2. Cindy Lauper. My wedding picture.

    post-of-the-week? I’d have to go back to Sunday:

    http://ricbooth.wordpress.com/2009/05/31/george-im-sorry/

  12. June 5, 2009 10:51 am

    My pimping: a tour of our studio apartment.

    What brings me back to the ’80s? Crowded House – Don’t Dream It’s Over. The ’80s will never be over! At least, my ’80s-style attire won’t be.

  13. June 5, 2009 1:02 pm

    Well if I have to pick a favorite, I would have to pick this one because of the great news about my brother:
    http://brandonbuchanan.com/blog/2009/06/firefighter-down-now-on-his-way-back-up/

    BUT, I also like my Oops! post and would love people to come & share their moment!
    http://brandonbuchanan.com/blog/2009/06/oops/comment-page-1/#comment-98

  14. June 5, 2009 1:06 pm

    Music definitely brings the memories crashing back, especially two of my favorite songs from the 80’s: Hall and Oates “One on One”, and Joe Jackson “Breaking Us in Two”. And just recently trying on new running shorts and wishing for the days when I had the hot legs to wear very short 80’s Dolphin shorts.

    Here’s my post for the week:

    http://bsidethesea.blogspot.com/2009/06/cell-phone-fake-out.html

    Have a fun weekend!

  15. lazrus2 permalink
    June 5, 2009 1:54 pm

    Since I still don’t have my own blog, is it okay to confirm and add on to Ric’s link instead?

    Not only was ‘George’ a great post (as well as the insightful comments), but the three that followed it (June 2,3,4) were equally, if not more impacting, in my opinion anyway.

    Whether or not anyone can ‘relate’ to what he’s dealing with now (from early childhood abuse), I think that in this ‘fallen world’ we all can/should be impacted in some profound way by his transparency in sharing as he has.

    Here is his blog address: http://ricbooth.wordpress.com/

    As to the 80’s, my predominant memory was a ‘faith crisis’ best described/resolved (changing ‘sun’ at the end to ‘Son’ instead =) by this song (actually c1979):

    http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=the+rose+bette+midler&docid=701071360076&mid=D2521F98ABB1FD7BC5C3D2521F98ABB1FD7BC5C3&FORM=VIVR2
    (I don’t know why the address ended up being so long ={!!)

    D-

  16. Heidi permalink
    June 5, 2009 3:08 pm

    I wasn’t born in the eighties… Okay I was.

    Pat Benatar
    Slap on bracelets
    99 cent gas
    Penny tootsie rolls
    Where’s the Beef
    Pearl Jam
    Eye of the Tiger
    Ronald Reagan
    Facts of Life

    Ok is that enough?

  17. June 5, 2009 11:13 pm

    80s …. hmm …. hairspray. The really super alcohol-y smelling stuff that could probably be used to create a splint in case of emergency. The Super-Maximum-Ultra-Strong Hold, please!

    My post? http://callingtodeep.blogspot.com/2009/06/gods-good-tipper.html Kinda an ongoing revelation for me.

  18. June 6, 2009 6:41 am

    My memories tend to go back to the 60’s not the 80’s. Graduated HS and college, met mama, marriage, our first child, Elvis, and 4 years in the military.

    • June 6, 2009 7:58 pm

      i love Elvis. really.

      ok papa…did you ever try to impersonate elvis???

      come on, you can say. i wont tell πŸ˜‰

      • June 7, 2009 4:47 am

        Never! Not at all! I use to be called Papa Smurf when I had a white beard! Thats the closest I got to impersonations!

  19. June 6, 2009 4:41 pm

    My kids are totally getting into my 80’s music. Brings lots of memories back!

    Here is a post I wrote yesterday. Thanks for letting me pimp it!
    http://captainestes.blogspot.com/2009/06/unclenched-fingers.html

  20. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 6, 2009 7:49 pm

    I thought this one was pretty good:

    http://thenoreaster.wordpress.com/2009/06/03/pstorm-9/

    Although this one wasn’t so bad, either:

    http://thenoreaster.wordpress.com/2009/06/02/pstorm-5/

    Or this one:

    http://thenoreaster.wordpress.com/2009/06/02/pstorm-6/

    (Sorry to leave so many links, but I’ve been pretty busy this week.)

  21. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 6, 2009 7:50 pm

    Hey! Where did my comment go??

Leave a Reply

