Skip to content

thursday swapless

June 17, 2009

two weeks ago i scheduled the next three thursday swaps. i know…amazing, right? except that today, while i was out of town, i remembered this thursdays swap couldnt do it. so im swapless.

πŸ˜•

the purpose of thursday swap is to introduce you, the reader, to other blogs you may have never visited before. and i do believe several of you have begun following new people because of this. which makes me so happy. love to spread the love.

and since today there is no new blog to hi-light here, sorry 😦 , id like to take this time to have you define yourself as a blogger.

why do you blog?

what do you blog mostly about?

do you like oreos?

how long have you been blogging?

do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?

do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog?

77 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 11:29 pm

    Why do you blog? Been thinking about this a bit lately. I’ve been doing it for almost 6 months, and I’ve only done one post this week, and I’ve not missed it at all. It’s almost like when I was just stalking anyway…except I still comment a bit…

    Hmmm – how’s that for a non-answer?

    What do you blog mostly about? most consistently, worship summary from church. Apart from that, anything and everything, with the most popular post being a discussion on tongues in worship services πŸ™‚

    Do you like oreos? Honestly, I do wonder what the fuss is about… Though they are nice all crushed up in a shake/flurry/thingamy. I’d prefer them without the icing/filling/screaminglysweetmiddlebit

    How long have you been blogging? 5 months, 18 days

    Do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay? Yes, though I think more unified social media sites will become the hub – a central point we all hang our own personalities off, rather than a daisy chain style arrangement that exists for blogs. Sorry, I’m at risk of getting into networking protocol speak…

    Do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog? Yes.

    • June 18, 2009 8:59 am

      i love how you aussies say “bit” or “bits” πŸ˜‰ a lot. makes me giggle.

      unified social media site? elaborate. what would that look like?

      • June 18, 2009 5:45 pm

        Um, the bit thing might be generalising Aussies. I’m not sure. It might just be me.

        Let me think about that for a bit.

        πŸ™‚

      • June 18, 2009 5:49 pm

        And the unified social media site thing…heck, I don’t know what it looks like.

        But I do think Facebook are trying to do something that’s approaching it – I actually like most of the changes they’ve been making, but it’s still a long way from what my mind thinks this is going to look like but my words can’t describe.

        • June 18, 2009 5:52 pm

          hmmm….maybe you can use a flannel graph to describe it.

          πŸ˜€

  2. June 18, 2009 2:15 am

    I started blogging as some sort of release. I went from working 70 hours a week with plenty of people to share my thoughts with to this stay at home job where adult interaction is minimal. So, my blog became my way to share what was in my head.
    It has evolved into precisely what the title would suggest…What’sThisLifeFor, specifically my life.
    Of course, our lives can’t be summed up in one category, so we’ll get the life of a child of God, a Dad, a husband, a struggling guitar player, etc.
    A lot of the time my intention is to make ya laugh, but there are times when I hope to make ya think.

    Oreos? Let’s just say, in a room, filled with Oreos, for one week, throw in some milk, and come back with a crane to lift my LARD BUTT out!

    I really have ZERO idea of how long I’ve been blogging. A year, maybe 2??

    Community in the blogesphere is amazing and I only see it growing. There will be many more Hodge/White stories and I think that’s awesome. I have a plan once we get back to the states to travel to see all of those who have impacted my life while over here. Ya’all play a role!! Be seein ya in 2011.

    A time when I don’t blog? Honestly can’t imagine it.

    • June 18, 2009 9:05 am

      youre right…our lives cant be summed up in one category. i was once asked why i dont only write about “spiritual” stuff on my blog. its not because im more than only spiritual (although some may question whether im spiritual at all πŸ˜• ) but that part of my life is infused with everything….family, hobbies, church, music and all my randomness. isnt that life?

      i love your posts and how you write!

      yah, i hope the community keeps growing. i believe this has become an outlet for God to move and work in big ways. although, He did see this coming πŸ™‚ im just glad we all get to be a part of it together!

      2011? bring it on!!!

  3. pokinatcha permalink
    June 18, 2009 4:03 am

    I have no idea why I blog! I just decided to give it a try one day. I’m really no good at it. Still learning.
    I blog about whatever is going on. A bunch of nonsense. Nothing very deep happens on my blog.
    Love Oreos & I eat the cream first!
    I’ve been blogging since October.
    I hope it does. Hopefully, I’ll be able to meet some of you if your ever on Kauai. I’ve made a couple of good friends when I used to chat in chat rooms 10 years ago.
    No, I don’t anticipate the day I no longer blog.

    • June 18, 2009 9:06 am

      i really hope we get back to HI some day. brent and i would LOVE to meet you!! we have our 20th anni next summer…maybe we should start takin up a collection πŸ˜€

      • June 18, 2009 9:07 am

        shootdang…our 20th is the next, next summer…2011.

        hmph.

  4. June 18, 2009 4:21 am

    why do you blog? I blog because I want to have something to look back at down the road and remember all the things that I already seem to have forgotten!

    what do you blog mostly about? My life, my husband, quirky stories, whatever I want. πŸ˜‰

    do you like oreos? Yes- the double stuffed mint ones are the best!

    how long have you been blogging? Saturday will be 2 years.

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay? I think that a lot of it will, but I’m sure that some people will grow bored and disappear, just as they have with myspace and other ‘new things’.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog? I have thought about that, but I just don’t know. My blog is a friend to me, a good friend. I think the fact that it has lasted this long in my life consistently proves that I’m pretty faithful to it, and that I kinda need it. πŸ™‚

    • June 18, 2009 9:11 am

      mandie, we had the mint oreos last week but kept them in the fridge. OHMYSWEETHEAVENS they were so good cold! tasted like thin mint cookies πŸ™‚

      i also think people will eventually get bored of blogging too. especially as new things come into play and steal the limelight. the hard part tho, is maintaining the relationships this community has created. i dont mean “hard part” as in that would be a chore – but more like how do we keep everyone together when/if all this starts fading. ive been thinking about that a lot.

      happy 2 yr bloggin anniversary! πŸ™‚

  5. June 18, 2009 4:31 am

    I blog to get it out of my head, I blog because I know people that won’t allow me to have a direct conversation with them about Jesus and what he has done in my life…so I write about it knowing they will read it. I blog to tell people about the fun (and sometimes stupid) things happening in my life

    I blog a lot about my journey with Jesus and my thoughts on God, I also blog about my past and how I’m slowly overcoming the wounds. I blog about what’s happening in my everyday life and I just started a series of blogs about memories that may only partially be true. Because I have a lot of memories that I found out aren’t exactly accurate memories, and that fascinates and entertains me. I’m also about to start a 30 day series leading up to my 30th bday writing about 30 things/people that have shaped who I am.

    Asking me if I like oreos is like asking me if I like oxygyn. I can’t live without them, but I”m trying. Double Stuffed Oreos are the best, scrape out the cream and then dunk the cookie!

    About 3 1/2 years. I started on Myspace but jumped to blogger about 1 1/2 years ago

    I think as long as people are building into it, and encouraging it through their posts it will. There are tons of lurkers that don’t post comments that are part of the community, but it isn’t noticed because they don’t speak up most of the time.

    I can’t imagine a day that I wouldn’t write in some way. Blogging is like my journaling now, and I’m more prone to do it if I know that people are reading instead of just writing it in a book. But I will go with the technological flow I suppose.

    • June 18, 2009 9:16 am

      your blog on inaccurate memories sounds so intriguing!

      and i forget about the lurkers. the ones that, for some reason, dont ever chime in. i wonder what theyre gettin out of all this. if maybe this is the closest thing they have to a relationship…or even more so…Jesus. i wonder how many are curious about God who read blogs and have never commented but keep coming back to get more. hmmm…

      • June 18, 2009 9:19 am

        Yeah, I’m mostly a lurker. But I’m trying to come out of my shell more πŸ™‚
        There are a few friends/family members of mine that I hear from others are reading my blog but don’t comment b/c they don’t want/aren’t ready for a face to face conversation about Jesus (to much pressure maybe?) but they are interested in Him enough to read about him.

        • June 18, 2009 9:25 am

          that is awesome though that they are reading it. and that youre giving them something of value. theyll come around…

  6. June 18, 2009 5:31 am

    why do you blog?
    I started because I needed an outlet – for creativity, for connection, for purpose.

    what do you blog mostly about?
    My thoughts. Things I’m questioning, considering, or find interesting… Or I post my songs…sometimes.

    do you like oreos?
    Only if they are dipped in milk. And even then, I’d rather have Chips-Ahoy cookies.

    how long have you been blogging?
    About ten days longer than you

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?
    Ironically, I don’t. I’ve already seen some in our “community” come & go… And I don’t think it’s gonna stay. 5 years from now, some of us will still be connected, but not all of us. Wait and see.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog?
    yep

    • June 18, 2009 9:19 am

      im in agreement with you on this community coming and going. im seeing it already too. i said up there inone of the comments that the hard part will be trying to maintain some of the connections when blogging starts to fade. and i really think it will. maybe not on a whole, but maybe just with this big current group of bloggers. i dunno. im hopin a lot of us will still be connected somehow.

    • June 18, 2009 9:19 am

      “how long have you been blogging?
      About ten days longer than you”

      πŸ™„

  7. June 18, 2009 6:16 am

    Why do you blog?
    Because sometimes when I want to share what’s on my mind or my heart, it’s easier to write it than to speak it.

    What do you blog mostly about?
    ME! ha….guess I’m not too humble. whoops.

    Do you like oreos?
    NOT. AT. ALL. the word hate comes to mind.

    How long have you been blogging?
    Since August of 2003. Back then it was Xanga. Then I switched to blogger. Now I’m here!

    Do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?
    YES! I sure hope so, at least. I haven’t been as blessed as some of you to meet other bloggers in person and that kind of thing. But I have high hopes for it. πŸ™‚

    Do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog?
    Not very readily. But I’m sure it might happen one day. Who knows?

    • June 18, 2009 9:23 am

      hate? oreos? in the same sentence?

      [taking my pulse]

      ok. im back.

      meeting other bloggers has been the very best thing about this whole journey for me. blogging has brought to me some of the most wonderful people ive ever known. people i cant imagine doing life without. i truly feel, in that regard, my cup is full.

      and there are still more bloggers i get to meet this year!!! im gonna have to get me more cups to fill πŸ˜€ hopefully…one day i’ll get to meet you too. oh my word…that would be fun!!

  8. June 18, 2009 6:17 am

    okay, ms tam. you’re turn!

    • June 18, 2009 8:32 am

      for reals

    • June 18, 2009 9:24 am

      im gettin to it. im chattin with all the commeters first.

      is it commentErs – or commentOrs?

      • June 18, 2009 9:24 am

        ha! well, its not “commeters”.

        πŸ˜•

        • TheNorEaster permalink
          June 18, 2009 2:27 pm

          How about “commentators”? That works, doesn’t it? πŸ˜‰

  9. Heidi permalink
    June 18, 2009 6:55 am

    why do you blog? Connection was my first jerk reaction, but as I sip on my coffee, I blog for me. I need my heart to be heard BY me.
    God and I have been on a log journey.

    what do you blog mostly about?
    mostly devotional, although people are so bored with that now. So I don’t know what’s in the future.

    do you like oreos? I do. BUT BUT I prefer Snickerdoodles

    how long have you been blogging? about a week more than you.

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?

    If you made the relationships. There are some relationships that I am holding on to. BUT there’s some I am releasing.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog?

    NO, I will always write. My journey depends on it. It’s my release.

    • June 18, 2009 9:29 am

      do you really think people are gettin bored of the devotional writing? i dont think so. if its a traffic thing…i think that has been something thats occurring for many bloggers. people not having the time, or investing the time, to get around to other blogs. i know for me…lately, it has been all i can do to even write a post a day. but i’ll get to that more in my own comment below.

      i cant wait for sept.!!!

      • Heidi permalink
        June 18, 2009 9:56 am

        Friend, I agree with you totally. It’s incredibly time consuming to have a blog, do Twitter, dishes, teenagers, and Facebook etc.

        But, for me I am seeing change. Maybe it’s in me. Traffic I am never worried about. I don’t write to be popular or have masses of friends and followers.

        **I do have special connections and I INVEST in those relationships and they know whom they are. ***

        I am noticing that blogging now, has to be 5 liners, quick simple and too the point. People are just in a hurry just like I am.

        I visit three blogs regulary now. Not because I am not liking any blogs but life dictates that.

        I just don’t want to get too busy if you know what I mean.

        • June 18, 2009 10:06 am

          i definitely know what you mean. when i first started blogging it was all i thought about. i visited everyone, every day. often neglecting more important things. can we say, addiction? πŸ˜€

          and now, its not that those same blogs arent important to me…they are, im just learning, or RE-learning, priorities. i eventually get around to them, just not as often. thats why i love pimp my post fridays so much.

          and now with summer here…im sure my presence will fade even more. maybe just for a time. im not sure.

  10. June 18, 2009 7:04 am

    Why do you blog?

    Well since you asked – and you’ll probably laugh, and you wouldn’t be the first… for as long as i can remember i have wanted to Save the World (from itself mostly and those who are out to make a buck from it while giving less than a buck’s worth of value back) – Blogging is my latest attempt. So far it seems to have been about as successful as the previous attempts (ie. not at all). i am sort of aware that when the World wants saving it will ask for it and until then there is no real point, but it never stopped Don Quixote, right?

    What do you blog mostly about?

    Mostly about how i see what Jesus came here for and how i think so many seem to get Him all wrong – or focus on some things while missing completely some of the essential stuff which sort of makes the othe things unworkable. About things i see in the world that just seem dumb and occasionally some fun stuff or pictures. Sometimes about things i like about living in Aus.

    Do you like oreos?

    Don’t know, never tried one – do you like Tim Tams?? ( i try to support local product where practicable).

    How long have you been blogging?

    All up over 3 years but only 20 months on WordPress, under this blogname.

    Do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?

    My heart says yes, my brain says not if something ‘better’ comes along – or something worse that people find more convenient to fit into their ever increasing pace of life and they no longer are able to find the time to connect with ‘old’ friends through blogging.

    Do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog?

    if i ever get a life and either part of the last answer becomes reality it could easily happen.

    <B

    • June 18, 2009 9:32 am

      maybe you are saving the world. the world is the place right outside your window and the places and people you touch on a regular basis. then…they go and touch their worlds. isnt that how change begins?

      ive never had a tim tam. i suppose if i want one i’ll have to go to aus. hmmmm.

      • June 18, 2009 5:54 pm

        I was gonna mention Tim Tams, but since we sent some over to Crystal, and now we keep eating them in front of her, I was being kind.

        Except now…when I’ve mentioned them…

      • June 18, 2009 7:39 pm

        or maybe not 😦

        http://nycfoodguy.com/2008/11/17/nyc-cookies-tim-tams-are-finally-in-the-us-we-want-them-to-stay/

        ‘the world’ begins where i ‘end’ – it is wherever i can ‘touch’ and not everything i touch is with my fingers or skin or am in direct physical contact with – often we touch people more with how we show them our heart – and i don’t even have to be in the same room with someone to do that!

        blogging expands my ability to reach out to the world.

        <B

  11. June 18, 2009 7:06 am

    and why are you out of town???

    <B

    • June 18, 2009 9:33 am

      we were a bit east yesterday at mountain lakes bible camp near klamath falls oregon. kassidi is there all week on the music team for elementary kids camp.

      we had a blast!

  12. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 18, 2009 7:23 am

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?

    This question kind of surprised me because I think the community is actually shrinking.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog?

    Perhaps. But I am going to write until I get to Heaven.

    • June 18, 2009 9:35 am

      interesting. ya know…i think youre right, in part. ive seen, like mandy said in her comment, some people have already come and gone. true. but others have come in and so the community seems to still be growing.

      • TheNorEaster permalink
        June 18, 2009 2:34 pm

        You know, Mandy’s comment was spot-on. But, there are people I haven’t met yet. So there are people I want to meet. And the people I’ve met I want to meet again. Someday. Cause, like, I like people. (Except maybe a people who drinks bacon juice.(That was disgusting!) And, you know, between your blog and Mandy’s blog, I’m actually getting kind of sad about the whole “come and go” thing. Can’t people just, like, STAY?!?!? I mean, geez, if this keeps up, I’m going to have to get married or something! You know? I mean, What the heck!

  13. bahava permalink
    June 18, 2009 7:49 am

    why do you blog? Hard question…I like to write and I’m far away from people right now and I like reading blogs too πŸ™‚

    what do you blog mostly about? Anything and everything: food, ministry, life, likes, dislikes, reading, quotes, etc.

    do you like oreos? LOVE THEM! Though, they are NOT the same in South Africa…boo!

    how long have you been blogging? A year and a half…wow!

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay? I’m not sure. Maybe? Maybe something else will come along or it will change.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog? No? Not anytime soon at least.

    • June 18, 2009 9:36 am

      “do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay? I’m not sure. Maybe? Maybe something else will come along or it will change.”

      i think youre right.

      and what are south africa oreos like???

  14. June 18, 2009 8:26 am

    why do you blog?
    Cause I like to write… on the internet. About stuff.

    what do you blog mostly about?
    Stuff. Faith, Family, and Life Questions.

    do you like oreos?
    Yes… had some last night with a tall glass of ice cold milk while playing Mario Party 8 with my family. I dunk and occasionally I will pull one apart to eat it in separate pieces… but mostly just dunk and chew.

    how long have you been blogging?
    About a year.. I deleted my first blog and then was encouraged to restart a new one.

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?
    Until the next new thing comes along. People used to write letters and put stamps on them to communicate. So, who knows what the next level is going to be.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog?
    yes.

    • June 18, 2009 9:38 am

      seriously. i wrote a letter to my mom 3 months ago (the woman doesnt own a computer) and my hand hurt for days!!!

      • Jim2 permalink
        June 18, 2009 11:33 am

        See – you are SUCH a better person than me – Mom gets a printout of the E-mails to my sisters. But then, you have fantastic penmanship, so your mom can actually read what you write – mine, not so much.

  15. June 18, 2009 9:30 am

    why do you blog? I started to blog as an outlet for teaching. Needing to feel I was still contributing to the body of Christ

    what do you blog mostly about? Considering Jesus…Scripture…God’s character and my weaknesses…

    do you like oreos? LOVE THEM! But I can’t have ’em…make me sick. 😦

    how long have you been blogging? About a year and a half.

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay? No. I think it’s quite tempermental. It comes and goes with the seasons.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog? I’ve been wondering about this. I suppose as long as some people are reading and commenting, I can assume I still contribute, on some level. I think. I hope. πŸ˜•

    • June 18, 2009 9:41 am

      hi sis! we were talking about “lurkers” up there in the comments somewhere and im wondering when it comes to biblical and spiritual topics if there are more people who read and dont comment. maybe cuz they dont know how to respond, feel unqualified or confused, but keep coming back to read. just a thought.

      and you know what…the last few times ive had oreos…theyve made me sick too. i think my body is changing. πŸ˜•

      • June 18, 2009 10:44 am

        I’m hoping there are lurkers reading. I do have many more views than comments, thankfully. πŸ˜•

        I’m also hoping it’s still relevant…I mean, I know Christ is always relevant…but do people really want to struggle with the hard questions?

        Not all the time. My blog can be quite heavy.

        But then, if were to to meet face-to-face, I think I’d be better understood. I suppose, that’s true for all of us, you know?

        Ignore me…feeling funky today. 😐

        • June 18, 2009 10:46 am

          *if we were to meet*

          πŸ‘Ώ

        • June 18, 2009 10:52 am

          i do think people want to hear/read the hard questions. i just dont think they/ we always know what to do with them (and im not referring to your blog here, i mean in general) and many are intimidated or maybe even afraid to ask. but i say, to you…keep on keepin on, sis! you are a brilliant writer and communicator and conduit of Gods love.

          • June 18, 2009 10:55 am

            😳

            Thanks…wasn’t fishin’…

            Love you, TammyJo!

            πŸ˜‰

            • June 18, 2009 10:57 am

              oh, i know you werent, sis. i know. but what i said about you is true. so there. πŸ˜‰

        • June 18, 2009 7:45 pm

          ignore you??

          never want to do that! πŸ™‚

          not even on OTHER people’s blogs πŸ˜‰

          <B

  16. June 18, 2009 9:44 am

    Why do you blog?

    Because I can. grin

    How long have you been blogging?

    Almost 2 years now…..

    What do you blog about mostly?
    God and testimonies of his power, mostly, with a little randomness thrown in sometimes for fun.

    do you like oreos?

    What are those again? πŸ˜†

    Do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?
    Some of the relationships I have here are DEFINITE keepers, that’s for sure πŸ˜‰ …. I think that it will be used to connect the Body as it is doing, but that the only thing constant is change. So the community may move on to other ‘newer’ ways to network. There was a life before Facebook, they’ll be a life after it.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog? Don’t know… I hope not… I love to write, and blogging helps. Maybe once I get a schedule again, it’ll be easier… πŸ™‚

    • June 18, 2009 9:59 am

      eeks, did you say schedule? that word hurts my cranium.

  17. June 18, 2009 9:58 am

    why do you blog?

    to share. i love to share thoughts. as random as they are…i still wanta share them.

    what do you blog mostly about?

    anything and everything. my brain is in constant motion. even if its just circles, its still goin like crazy. i would say in the last year or so my writing, topics, has changed to a reflect who i really am in personality. and that would be, quite random. i think its no surprise that i love God! most of my readers know of my story (if not, i really need to start a new page with my testimony) being a pit dweller for so long and living in that dirt for the time i did has made me look at life completely differently. although life is very serious…i dont take it all that serious anymore. meaning…i have learned to laugh at myself. i have taken my moms advice when i was a wee one to “find the funny”. not escape – but look for all the angles. i hope that comes out in my writing.

    do you like oreos?

    yes. but im finding i cant eat them as much anymore. must. find. new. vice.

    how long have you been blogging?

    apparently one week less than heidi and 10 days less than missmandypants. almost 2 years.

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?

    i think community…yes. the same community…no. many of us are seeing people come and go. and some, just, go. and i think that is normal and for many reasons. there is a community that has been created here by you all that i truly treasure. but i believe, with everything, things evolve, grow, which cause decrease in some things. its bound to happen. i dont think it is, or will be, personal – its just reality.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog?

    probably. when? i have NO idea. i think when blogging loses its flame across the board, i will consider backing off. but the one thing i will have to maintain are the friendships. walking away from blogging doesnt mean i can walk away from you guys. that just wouldnt be right to me. the biggest thing ive learned since blogging, and its something that i have learned in my friendship with mandy πŸ™‚ , is how to have, and be, a friend. im still learning and screwing it up a lot, im sure….but im very mindful of it now.

    these are just some of my thoughts. more of them are sprinkled throughout my replies to some of you in this thread.

    • June 18, 2009 10:10 am

      I must say, Tammy…. I love the interaction I feel knowing that you are replying to the comments like this … (this is so unrelated to the post topic lol will I get banned? πŸ˜‰ ) From the time you changed your theme I saw the in and out and as u put it, your personality shine through … and I love it! That’s why I’m so GLAD I met you here… and am SO wanting to meet you and your family in person. Take it from an island man … you’re awesome!!!!!! πŸ™‚

      • June 18, 2009 10:23 am

        i would never ban you bajan! πŸ™‚

        threaded comments have allowed me to interact more personally with you guys. which i totally love! its been a plus, for sure.

        hmmm…i guess we’re gonna have to make it to your island too. THAT would be cool!

    • June 18, 2009 7:51 pm

      ‘. must. find. new. vice.’

      .NO!. you. Must. NOT.

      That. is. kind. of. the. whole. POINT! πŸ™„

      check with Brent! πŸ˜‰

      ….on second thoughts… 😯

      <B

  18. June 18, 2009 10:08 am

    Lemme just say that you, my friend, are a blessing to us all. I truly hope we all appreciate that.

    I visit many blogs, but it is few and far between where I experience “true” communication….not just one-sided ramblings. I get that here!

    Reading about you and your testimony, I would almost understand if you were overly concerned with YOU and didn’t pay much attention to us, but that’s not the case. Your words portray someone who is genuinely interested in knowing your readers.
    It’s one thing to read blogs, but quite another to “know” the writer to the best extent possible. I get that here!
    There is a positive glow here and I like it.
    All of that to say….thanks!
    Oh, and oreos don’t make me sick, but let’s just say my body doesn’t handle them like it used to. Doesn’t slow me down though….I guess the temporary satisfaction of their deliciousness outweighs the pain that is to come soon after :-).

    • June 18, 2009 10:25 am

      you guys, i wasnt searching for compliments or accolades…i promise. but wow…im kinda teary right now.

      dont know what to say.

      i love ya, thats for sure.

    • June 18, 2009 10:26 am

      I concur, Toby! Tam is quite the blessing πŸ™‚

    • June 18, 2009 1:10 pm

      agreed. a blessing AND a hoot!

  19. June 18, 2009 11:24 am

    why do you blog? Mostly I love the sound of my own voice, but the community aspect’s cool.

    what do you blog mostly about? Beer & life.

    do you like oreos? I don’t like the filling, but like the cookie part.

    how long have you been blogging? Two years.

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay? Nothing is here to stay.

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog? Are there computers in heaven?

    • June 18, 2009 11:25 am

      your answers made me smile.

      • June 19, 2009 6:54 am

        I’m glad! Smiling never hurts, although it’s hard to do at times.

  20. June 18, 2009 2:10 pm

    why do you blog?
    Today is a bad day to ask this question. I dont know. I am in a season of being dry. With nothing to contribute…so i dont know right now. For a long time it was because of the community and relationships that come from it…and i think that is still a part. but today i am kinda over it…yet ironically still commenting. ha!

    what do you blog mostly about?
    life. what is going on in my head, my world, my life. just everything smorgasborded into one page. ha!

    do you like oreos?
    ummmm….YES! and i love just plain OREOS, not double stuffed…not anything crazy…just normal.

    how long have you been blogging?
    serious post frequently blogging about 3 or so years.

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay?
    hmmmmm….parts. I think that the overall community will fade with time, but the relationships that are made inside the internet will need to be maintained outside the internet to keep those going…does that make sense?

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog?
    like i said, today i am kind of thinking about ending the blog. i have a lot in my head right now and to think about posting all the time stresses me out….but i think i will be back to it…it is just a season.

    • June 18, 2009 5:55 pm

      hmmm. maybe you should answer them again tomorrow

      πŸ˜‰

  21. June 18, 2009 5:17 pm

    why do you blog? not sure except that I wanted to give a “normal” Christians perspective on life….in other words, from someone not tied to a church in terms of working for a church (nothing against anyone else who is…just everyone I read and love to read works for a church so I had to try something new)

    what do you blog mostly about? absolutely nothing in particular….whatever strikes me that day…

    do you like oreos? only double stuff

    how long have you been blogging? about 8 months or so…maybe a year

    do you think the sense of community that is growing through blogging is here to stay? until something else comes along…it is an amazing medium but I do think casual bloggers will fall away at some point and the major players will emerge

    do you anticipate a day when you will no longer blog? I hope not…I do find times when it is tough to get something out but I really like it….I especially love the interaction I have with you, Mo, Love, Joy, Pete, David and so on. How cool is it that all of these people, most we have never met, have great and meaningful conversation on a daily basis…well sometimes meaningful πŸ™‚

    • June 18, 2009 5:57 pm

      i find its tough some days to blog too. but i think its been good as well. it keeps me disciplined to something. im not very good at that normally πŸ˜•

      and i love your presence in the blogosphere. you always have something great to offer, joseph.

Leave a Reply

