Skip to content

Say Your Prayers

June 21, 2009

this song…is full of win. the lyrics got me at first listen. you may not care for this style of music or singing. thats ok. but read those lyrics.

Look at you now just standing there
Like you think you’re something
The lights are up
And the crowd is looking your way
Just waiting for what you have to say

So go ahead boy,
Give a little taste of hypocrisy
Maybe you’ll hear, the blasphemy
Whatever you’re preaching, it isn’t me

You wanna walk with me
Well do ya?
You wanna walk with me
Well if you love me
Then just love me
Don’t you give me pretty words
Lay your life down at the altar
Let me see how serious you are

These people don’t look to me no more
They’ve got their idols in various forms
With lust in their eyes
They crave for more
To hate the place where the court played carnivores
Well, keep your focus
Because today will come
When everyone will give account
For what they’ve done
Make me proud
Make me proud my son

You wanna walk with me
Well do ya?
You wanna walk with me
Well if you love me
Then just love me
Don’t you give me pretty words
Lay your life down at the altar
Let me see how serious you are

Look at this broken world
Look at my children, oh
Look at this broken world
Look at my children, oh
Cause they’re angels
Sing to me the love song
Look up!
Say your prayers on the steps of the capital
Look up
Say your prayers on your knees
Look up!
Say your prayers
Look up!
Say your prayers

You want us to be like you always thought He would
And all you seem to accomplish is the opposite

You wanna walk with me
Well do ya?
You wanna walk with me
Well if you love me
Then just love me
Don’t you give me pretty words
Lend your life down at the altar
Let me see how serious you are

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 12:07 am

    Hardcore x 2

  2. June 22, 2009 1:20 am

    Like the lyrics and I think I can dig the tune. Not my first choice of music, but toward the end, it kinda had a jazzy vibe.

  3. June 22, 2009 3:42 am

    I’ll be honest, I had to stop playing it so I could concentrate on what it was saying, ifyanoworrimean.

    But I love what it’s saying 🙂

  4. June 22, 2009 6:08 am

    pretty good…

  5. June 22, 2009 8:56 am

    I like that. Not the singing, really. But the music and the words. Wow, the words. This here?

    You wanna walk with me
    Well if you love me
    Then just love me
    Don’t you give me pretty words
    Lay your life down at the altar
    Let me see how serious you are

    That’s convicting stuff right there. And I mean for me personally, right here, today. I can talk real good, you know? But that talk more often than not is covering up a lot of hypocrisy and failure. And so I try to talk about THAT. Be honest. Transparent. Which isn’t bad in itself, but what I really need to do is get on my knees and confess to God. No pretty words needed.

    • June 22, 2009 9:36 am

      mary, im so glad you saw the words for what they are. SO convicting. thats what i mean, even though this song may not be everyones first choice (in style) you can not deny that those are some well written lyrics that really hit ya in the face.

      they sure did me.

  6. June 22, 2009 9:09 am

    Dang, I really need to buy some new music. That was rad…thank you!!!

  7. June 22, 2009 9:40 am

    my kids have this album on their ipods and played this song a lot in the beginning. so, i heard it a lot. and, although the lyrics got me the very first time, the music and singing didnt. and i generally really like this kind of music. then…as i kept hearing it over and over i began to appreciate each section of the music, finding that its style had to do as much with the lyrics as the lyrics itself do. if that makes sense at all.

    now, i listen to it as if God Himself were singing it to me. the lyrics are from His perspective anyways. and, ya know…i can see at times in these words where He might get a little heated.

    i think its a brilliantly written song.

  8. June 22, 2009 10:14 am

    Oh man, I did not expect to tear up! I agree the lyrics are convicting and I love their passion.

    On a side note… I hope they do some good neck stretches before hand. 🙂

  9. June 22, 2009 11:43 am

    Loved it!

    It is brilliantly written… love it when punk do that too 🙂

    Dave

  10. June 23, 2009 8:33 pm

    “lay your life down on the altar / let me see how serious you are”

    good stuff!!!!

Leave a Reply

