Skip to content

whats with the heaviness?

June 22, 2009

brent and i were discussing monday afternoon how there seems to be several, more like many, people gettin hit with some heavy stuff lately.

it got me thinkin that when one decides to do big things, step out in faith, they should get ready for opposition. in fact, we shouldnt be surprised by it at all. anything worth having is worth the long and rough journey to get to it, right?

the opposition can come in so many forms. for me….its self doubt. i hate it. but its my reality. i know what it stems from and i have to work on it daily. admittedly, some days i dont.

but beyond this…there seems to be an oppression out there, a distress. and its heavy right now.

i know that when Gods children are willing to do big things it will ruffle the feathers of the enemy. and thats ok. that just means we’re on the right track. ive always said…the enemy only attacks those he afraid of. so, to me, its an honor.

however, i dont like giving that snake too much credit. life is life. God didnt say it would be easy. but He did say He would be there the whole way. sounds so dang cliche’ish – but it is what it is. and i have to take Him at His word. and i do.

all this to say…or ask…Pray, friends. pray for one another right now. dont cease. pray whenever it is on your heart.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 9:54 pm

    The bible does say, “the devil prowls around as a roaring lion, seeking those whom he may devour.” And I believe he is an active adversary, ever-seeking permission from God to destroy His children . I have also felt a heaviness at times, recently, as though the enemy was starting a new offensive; especially regarding our church. In fact, I have prayed against it several times in the last few weeks. However, you are also correct, in that we need to balance it all out, with the Lord’s help. Not everything is an attack. Life, very simply, is hard. And none of us can do any of it… stand against the enemy, or simply exist, and live life without His grace and love enabling us to do so.

    Great post. Blessings!

    Wayne (Deepwaterwalk)

  2. June 22, 2009 9:58 pm

    i definitely could put some more prayer into my life. i find myself, even in these times, using my circumstances as an excuse to ignore God… i really should fix that.

  3. June 22, 2009 10:23 pm

    i disagree that it is any heavier right now than it has been for the last 2000 years and more.

    what ‘changes’ is US!

    If we feel it heavier than before it is because we have ‘sensitised’ ourselves more to it ( it’s like if your sister buys a blue volkswagon suddenly all you can see on the road is blue volkswagons everywhere).

    it is when we DON’T feel the heaviness that Satan is doing his job well.

    if we ever feel like it is all going the way He (God) planned down here and within ourselves and we can relax and not have to try so hard, we can be sure that Satan is working within us somewhere.

    NEVER let your ‘guard’ down or seek to remove His armour from your hearts.

    Satan won’t let up until he’s either won you forever or God calls ‘Time’.

    If you can’t feel the heaviness that exists all around you all the time check your pulse!

    A word of warning: obsessing about it however, can lead to the sort of UNgodly things supposedly ‘good’ Christians in Nigeria are responsible for…

    http://www.abc.net.au/4corners/content/2009/s2601755.htm

    Sickening! 😦

    <B

  4. pokinatcha permalink
    June 23, 2009 12:01 am

    Yep, we’ve been hit with heavy stuff. I’ve grown in my walk with the Lord and I’m not as freaked out by it. But as I’ve been learning, consider it pure joy when trials come your way. It’s not always easy to do.

    Remember to pray for me while I’m in the Philippines!

  5. June 23, 2009 1:20 am

    I think for me I’m just finding it so flippin’ difficult to pray right now. To trust God and to have patience….ARRGGGH!

  6. June 23, 2009 1:29 am

    There has been stuff going on with my family. I have been questioning my ability to lead them.

    I have been questioning the direction of Philter48 lately.
    Wondering why it hasn’t taken off.

    I prayed and waited.

    Then I remembered I was getting in the way.

    Carl You just go with what God puts in front of you. It is not business to him, it is personal. 

  7. June 23, 2009 2:26 am

    prayer, sounds easy enough, but its a discipline, and one i need to work harder at… what the enemy means to hurt us with , God intends to use to make us stronger and purer, so whatever the enemy is throwing at us, IN HIS FACE!

    it seems like when the heaviness sets in, my prayer life suffers first…and my random mind wonders..”why would God rush in and just walk me through it or deliver me, and i haven’t even talked to HIM”..so glad HE is not like me! 🙂

    early morning ramblings on your blog..Peace and love you!

  8. June 23, 2009 3:59 am

    I’ve been trying to lean on Him.. Trying is the key word here. You’ll notice I hadn’t been around a lot lately, and it’s because I’m struggling a lot with myself. In general I just don’t like who I’m turning in to.

    When I don’t like myself, it’s hard to look to Him. But, I feel I’m pretty dang close to the full break-down… which is probably what would be best for me right now.

    I do pray, just probably for all the wrong things… bleh.

  9. June 23, 2009 5:21 am

    Wow! Great post! I am reading all sorts of blogs that are hitting home with me today. I have felt for some time that God might be calling me to write. However, when I began taking steps to do so, I got hit hard with self doubt. A lot of questions are running on repeat in my mind. “Who do you think you are? Why do you think you could write a book? Did I misunderstand? Was this more of a self-seeking interest rather than a God-given desire? I must be crazy.” And so on. I read somewhere recently that 5 words that the enemy hates to hear is “Here I am, send me.” I pray that we will all continue to move forward for God and be willing to be sent out regardless of the enemy’s or life’s circumstances.

  10. Heidi permalink
    June 23, 2009 6:06 am

    And if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry
    And satisfy the needs of the oppressed
    Then your light will rise in the darkness,
    And your night will become like the noonday.
    The LORD will guide you always;
    He will satisfy your needs in a sun- scorched land…

    You will be like a well watered garden ~ Is 58 9-10

    His word says that it’ll take more than his word. I’ll have to spend myself. I’ll have to give myself to those who are empty, I’ll take part of me to meet the needs of those weighed down, to use part of me to lift THEIR burden.

    If we pour … I will be like a well-watered garden
    Faith comes when it has hands and feet.

    We are only watered if we water.

  11. June 23, 2009 8:36 am

    Dear Tam,
    I couldn’t agree more with this post. It is clear to me that the enemy, a prowling lion is out to shread and devour! (even with no teeth!) and to SILENCE the voice of the worshiper, to KILL.
    I found so much comfort in this passage this morning.
    Love you friend!
    Storie

    Phillipians 4:6, 9-14

    Be careful for nothing; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

    :9-11 for this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to desire that ye might be filled in all wisdom and spiritual understanding.
    10 That ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God;
    11 Strengthened with all might, according to his glorious power unto all patience and longsuffering with joyfulness.
    12 Giving thanks unto the Father, which hath made us meet to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in light:
    13 Who hath delivered us from the power of darkness, and hath translated us into the kingdom of his dear Son:
    14 In whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins:
    KJV

  12. June 23, 2009 8:31 pm

    “anything worth having is worth the long and rough journey to get to it.”

    that so struck a chord with me.
    i have been on a tiring, emotionally draining, yet beautiful 6 week journey of realizing/remembering what things in my life are worth the hard work and emotional strain (i.e. my passion for both leading worship and singing opera) and what things are not, as well as remembering (yet again) that not even what i am most passionate for can fulfill me like the Lord.

    • June 23, 2009 8:32 pm

      and are you feeling ok? hows your voice?

      • June 23, 2009 10:01 pm

        i’m feelin’ okay! the voice is growing stronger. and i’m claiming healing every day. i trust the Lord. He’s good and true to His word.

        it’s a long, somewhat interesting story, and i will def be sharing it.

  13. June 24, 2009 7:01 pm

    Wonderful post. You have to keep strong in your faith no matter what comes in your way.

  14. July 6, 2009 12:03 pm

    So apt. So timely. Yes. Indeed. I am one of the same.

Trackbacks

  1. Love is Greater Than | live happy
  2. Live Happy | Crucial Encounter

Leave a Reply

