Skip to content

live happy week!

June 23, 2009

the following is from joshua white. and let me tell you, this coming from a man who has been going through it…blows. my. mind. away!

*****************************************************************************

tam summed it up pretty well in her post the other day… there is a lot of bad juju flying around. lots of bad things happening to good people. whether or not there actually IS a lot of bad things happening, or if we’re just more aware of the bad things, is a completely different discussion than i wish to get into. regardless, i believe that we shape our world with how we live. i got a DM (twitter direct message for those of you not in the twitter-know) from my photography mentor today, challenging me to tweet positive for a week, and as i started thinking more and more about the implications of that, i thought hey, why not involve everyone on this?

that’s why today, i am proposing live happy week. one complete week of positivity. here are the rules:

  1. no sarcastic, negative, cynical, or otherwise mean posts on any of our social media sites. this includes talking negatively about celebrities, our elected officials, or anyone/anything else.
  2. if someone, someplace or something irks you, do what Jesus himself commanded and do your best to turn the other cheek. respond to negativity with positivity, in the long run that’s the best way to get back at people anyway… mwahahaha. (i kid)
  3. send at least one encouraging note to someone each day of live happy week. it can be a tweet, a wall post, a hand written note, a blog comment… whatever. just something to let someone know that you care and you think they’re pretty swell.
  4. call each other out, hold each other accountable. if you see someone falling a bit into the negative zone, send them a little (private) note and remind them what week it is.
  5. pray for each other (if you’re the praying type) without agenda.

i am well aware that this is probably how we should act all the time. however, for now i think it’s enough to ask for just one week of it from all of you. and please know that i am not so delusional to think that we don’t all have bad days, i’m simply proposing we keep our online persona’s positive for the week. each of us (hopefully) have people we can call, private message, or speak face-to-face with when we get really pissed off or upset. additionally, i am not saying we should be anything other than authentic, if something bad is happening in your life and you need some prayer there is nothing negative about asking for some. this is more aimed at the constant negativity we all sling towards things/people/places in our life, even our laundry piles (tam… haha).

it’s based on the simple idea that just like creativity begets creativity, happiness begets happiness. what would happen if we all just acted a little happier? would we feed off that happiness, and make our own lives a little happier? for a week, i’m willing to find out.

how about you? who’s in?

if you’re in, respond on your twitter, your facebook, blog, whatever… just say once (really, we don’t need to flood this, haha) “i’m in for #livehappy week!”. that way we all know who’s in. you certainly don’t need to link back to this post, feel free to copy it word for word if you want and put it on your own blog/facebook/whatever. i could care less about ownership of this.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2009 10:15 am

    I’m in! 🙂

  2. dennarr permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:16 am

    I like it!

  3. Heidi permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:18 am

    All in!

  4. June 23, 2009 10:24 am

    i DESPERATELY need to be in. when is the official start? 🙂

  5. June 23, 2009 10:28 am

    I know I need to do this. OK, I’m in.

  6. June 23, 2009 10:31 am

    SWEET!!!

  7. June 23, 2009 11:02 am

    I’m in! Sounds great!

  8. June 23, 2009 11:20 am

    I think i am in! It shall be good for me.

  9. June 23, 2009 11:38 am

    Seriously…geeze…ok…clearing my head of all negative thoughts of our government, Perez Hilton, etc etc…..clearing….clearing…ok…ready…

    I am in!

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • June 23, 2009 11:39 am

      aaahhh…and I am even happy in my avatar! rockin this!

      • June 23, 2009 11:52 am

        Can I disqualify my boss from this or do I have to be nice to him also? Fuzzy on this because it wasn’t in the rules.

        • June 23, 2009 11:57 am

          ahaha! um. i think everyone and everything applies. sorry dude. 😉

  10. June 23, 2009 8:06 pm

    i’m so in!
    i might have a little advantage, tho…
    cuz, um….
    i got my voice back this week.
    not that i had technically lost it.
    but i got the okay to sing my little heart out. carefully.
    keyword, tho…sing.
    so i’m a happy girl!!!

    • June 23, 2009 8:33 pm

      i better be hearing you sing sometime reeeealy soon, girly!

  11. June 23, 2009 9:37 pm

    only positive thoughts about EVERYTHING? – for a WHOLE WEEK???

    geezzzz now THAT’s a Challenge!

    dunno that i’m up for it… but with His Help – who knows??

    count me in.

    i’m heading over to Andy McMahon’s place to see if there is any encouraging i can do – sounds a little like he may need some?

    <B

  12. June 23, 2009 11:24 pm

    If I was still working, especially the last five years of my career, live happy week would have been a real challenge.

    Now that I am retired I can pretty much live by those rules all year long.

    I don’t pray, and I do use what I call humorous sarcasm. Such as my perhaps too frequent references to being retired. 🙂

  13. June 24, 2009 12:47 am

    I tweeted something today that could be misconstrued as negative.

    But it wasn’t really, it was just bemusement and coming up with ways of making extra money 🙂

    Here it is anyway…and I’m in, cos I love this sort of thing!

    “My staff manage to break every GoogleDocs form I set up for them. I should contract them out to the Google beta testing team.”

    So my aim is to make sure my positive posts actually sound positive too 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Find The Funny « inProgress
  2. Happy Week « Lovewillbringustogether’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

