Skip to content

Thursday Swap – Growing Intentionally

June 24, 2009

todays swap is with lynse leanne. ive only known her for about 4 or 5 months (is that right lynse?) but we’ve become fast friends. shes one of those women who call it like it is. you all know how much i admire that in people. well, i get to meet her next week! shes coming to the PNW and carved out a few days to stay with us. yah, the crazy hodge clan. God help her! she will never be the same. so, which one of you are coming here next? 😉

below is a very well written post from lynse. get ready to be challenged…

**********************************************************************************

The other day i was speaking with a friend who has recently gotten saved.  She is so on fire and passionate.  All she talks about is Jesus.  When i see her working in the Cafe at our church if there is any down time she is reading her Bible.  She wants to know everything there is about God…and she is passionate about knowing it all.  She is living her life totally sold out.

I too, did not grow up in the church so when i “got saved” i was the same way.  All i talked about was God.  All i read was the Bible.   I was passionately seeking more and more of God.  But at some point i lost that passion.  Being a Christian became something that i was.  Not something that i am.  it lost its luster and became something that was there.  my walk with God took a backseat to friendships, school, life…none of which are bad, but that passion was gone.

The other day when i was talking to my friend i was so convicted.  I have once again slid into the mindset of following God as something i was…just a backline thing that i was and not something that i was passionately pursuing.  and as i left our conversation i was challenged.  not to leave and being this super christian that reads my Bible for like 4 hours a day and prays for hours and fasts all the time….but to just be consistently seeking God.  To be intentional about seeking God and intentional about growing in my relationship with Him.

A wise lady once told me that most appetites are filled when you feed it.  case in point, when you get hungry, you eat and you are no longer hungry.  But with your relationship with God is different….when you seek Him it grows your hunger.  So the more you want God the more you have to go after him.  and the more you know about Him the more you want to know about Him.

So coming out of a season of complacency is as easy as just taking one intentional step towards God.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2009 2:17 am

    Jer 29:13 you will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

    Thanks for a great reminder.

    Peace and Love

    • June 25, 2009 11:40 am

      I love that scripture. It was a great reminder for me this week to be intentional.

  2. June 25, 2009 2:28 am

    wow! that is right on! so easy to fall into complacency. and one step in HIS direction and we are moving in the right direction…good stuff to start the day! thanks

    • June 25, 2009 11:42 am

      That is so true! Just one step. The biggest lesson i have learned in my walk with God is that if you take one step towards him he will run to you. I love love love it!

  3. Heidi permalink
    June 25, 2009 5:42 am

    “A wise lady once told me that most appetites are filled when you feed it. case in point, when you get hungry, you eat and you are no longer hungry”

    Wow this caught me hard. Awesome!!!

    • June 25, 2009 11:44 am

      That statement brought so much freedom to me. I was trying to figure out how to want more of God, and was ashamed that i didnt and wasnt passionate and it was such a simple statement…just do it. it sounds too easy, but it really is that easy.

  4. June 25, 2009 6:18 am

    I know it. It is so true of myself and I need to take the consistent steps so that I won’t just go on forgetting or ignoring but being with God.

    • June 25, 2009 11:45 am

      For me, it is so easy to justify missing the 2nd day of a consistent step because i have missed 1 day.

  5. lazrus2 permalink
    June 25, 2009 10:44 am

    Rev 3:20-21
    20 “Look! Here I stand at the door and knock. If you hear me calling and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal as friends.” NLT

    I think we often forget that these words of Christ were written to BELIEVERS, whom He previously characterized as “lukewarm” (vs. 16). Even worse was the difference between how He saw them and how they saw themselves (vs. 17) :

    17 “You say, ‘I am rich. I have everything I want. I don’t need a thing!’ And you don’t realize that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked. ” NLT

    Yes, the first step is realizing our real condition, ‘hearing the knock’ (which may mean getting away from the ‘noise’ created by ‘having everything we want’) and making our way to the “door” to open it and let Him in.

    As long as we have life and breath in us, He’s ready, willing and available to ‘come in’.

    D-

    • June 25, 2009 11:47 am

      Yes, the first step is realizing our real condition, ‘hearing the knock’ (which may mean getting away from the ‘noise’ created by ‘having everything we want’) and making our way to the “door” to open it and let Him in.

      that is such an amazing statement. you have to silence the things around you and then actually get up and let Him in. Thank you, that was a great reminder and a great way to say it!

  6. June 25, 2009 12:30 pm

    This is so true. The more I learn about God and the more time I spend with Him, the more I want to know…and the hungrier I become for time at His feet. Great post!

    • June 26, 2009 7:25 am

      Thanks. It is such a cool concept. and it changed the entire way my life with God has been since i have heard it. It is like God knew it wasnt going to be an easy commitment so He gave us some easy rewards to seeking him.

  7. June 25, 2009 8:25 pm

    it’s interesting how my hubby and i kind of giggle at “new” christians and their relentless excitement/passion….when really we should be encouraged by it and reminded of that same passion that still sits, stowed away inside.

    • June 26, 2009 7:26 am

      It was funny because when i first started talking to this friend i was super skeptical knowing that in 6 months or so she would be different. But that was when conviction set in. It was like God said, “Why cant you live like that daily?” So encouraging and fun to watch them grow….but now i just pray that her passion stays.

      • June 26, 2009 4:41 pm

        i’m starting to shift my thinking on this too. why can’t i just live it out that fully every. single. day?

  8. June 26, 2009 12:31 am

    Great post Lynse! We talk about this a lot at church – keeping that first love strong & burning bright is so much easier when we surround ourselves with new believers.

    That’s what discipleship is all about. I say all the time that God invented multi-level-marketing with how he wants us to go and make disciples of all people. We continually mentor new believers, and they in turn mentor others.

    Or at least, that’s how it should work…I reckon if we did this then we’d see way less complacency and far more passion, cos we’d be constantly feeding the fire with fresh fuel (too many F’s)

    😀

Leave a Reply

