Skip to content

thursday swap: independence day ~ shawn wallace

July 1, 2009

this weeks swap is with shawn wallace. shawnw on twitter. i interract mostly with shawn on twitter. i always appreciate what he has to say. there doesnt seem to ever be anything stagnant about him. always challenging, thought provoking or something to learn from. im pretty pumped that hes a guest here today and, honestly, i dont even wanta try to set up this post and risk ruining it. just get ready for some raw truth. please give shawn a warm welcome…

******************************************************************************
“For me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.” -Philippians 1:21

Lately I’ve been listening to podcasts by Francis Chan from Cornerstone Church in Simi Valley, California. I’m impressed by Francis’ life and its authenticity.

Francis consistently talks about sharing Jesus. He struggles with doing it (I think, as we all do) but he pushes through and, with discomfort and anxiety, asks people if they know that God loves them.

I have no problem talking to people who are either far from God, or don’t know Him. In fact, at times, I think I have more in common with them than I do with people who call themselves Christians. They’re unfettered with being churchy and with saying the “wrong” things. They’re usually open and honest and will tell you exactly what they think.

But for me to share the truth of God’s love with them? Well, that’s simply too much. What if, in my sharing of God’s love, they think I’m weird or they stop being my friend?

What I fail to realize, in the moment, is that my lack of sharing means I worship myself instead of Him.

You see, instead of “to live is Christ and to die is gain,” I’m saying “to live is me and to die is an inconvenience.”

Doesn’t Jesus know He’s getting in the way of my trying to woo the unchurched by being cool? It’s not cool to say, “Jesus loves you.” Doesn’t He know that, if I share who He is directly with them, by telling them He loves them, I won’t look as cool in their eyes? Of course He does.

Jesus is all too familiar with uncool. Jesus is all too familiar with inconvenience.

It wasn’t cool that Jesus, so anxious over his impending crucifixion, sweat blood. Blood.
It wasn’t cool that he took the 39 lashes that tore away chunks of flesh and brought him within inches of death.
It wasn’t cool that Jesus was mocked.
It wasn’t cool that Jesus hung naked on a cross.

All for our sake.

All for you. All for me.

All so that you and I didn’t have to live independently from His love.

This Independence Day, stop declaring your independence from Him and start being in dependence of Him.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 9:52 pm

    “This Independence Day, stop declaring your independence from Him…”

    Shawn – i believe you really got that spot on! – and we don’t even celebrate Independence Day Down Here! 🙂 it is all too common for us ( certainly me) to think that way though.

    Good Challenge.

    One thing i might add… i believe it is essential for each of us to ‘shine our light’ to others – and that light will be a little different for each of us depending on how we ‘see’ Jesus IN our lives (or our lives IN Jesus to give it the correct perspective’).

    How i ‘shine’ might not be identical to how you or to how Tam shines – but if we are true to Him and to ourselves we will shine to others consciously none-the-less. 🙂

    <B

    • July 1, 2009 10:12 pm

      right on. we all have something different to offer others based on our personal journeys and how God has played His part in them.

      thats what makes all of us so beautiful when we work together for one purpose. its the most beautiful array of colors.

    • July 2, 2009 1:22 am

      You make a good point about shining individually. I was definitely using talking to someone about Jesus as an example. Some people are in different places and sometimes, just loving on them is what’s needed. BUT, we do have to share Him. I don’t want to get to heaven and hear God say, “you were too worried about what they would think about you. Now, you need to worry about what I think of you.” Yikes!

  2. July 2, 2009 12:31 am

    Hi Shawn….good to meet ya 🙂

    Ya know, I thought about loading up this comment with the Christian thing of saying, “yes, THEY need to do this” and “it’s YOUR job and YOUR burden to bring Jesus to those who don’t know Him.”
    But, I’m quick to judge and blame…..sinner that I am…..
    So…..yeah, I’m gonna work on that……Thanks for the reminder!

  3. July 2, 2009 4:38 am

    YO Shawn. Have we met?

    Let me say that this is awesome. Not a lot more to say. I mean… you pretty much just called me out.. so…. thanks for that…

    Thanks for keeping it real man.

  4. July 2, 2009 3:58 pm

    We’ve been talking about this in our home group. Nowhere near as eloquently though.

    As we’ve all said, thanks for being real, for the gentle kick in the guts to , uh, LIVE the Great Commission. It’s not like it’s optional, though I usually live as though it is…

  5. July 2, 2009 5:19 pm

    If you can see me, I am standing up clapping for this one.

    Peace and Love

  6. July 2, 2009 6:51 pm

    OK Ladies – what’s the deal here? why is Tam the only one of the fair sex commenting on this blog post?

    strange?

    <B

    • July 2, 2009 11:55 pm

      I was wondering the same thing. I think everyone’s disappeared for the big weekend early 🙂

Leave a Reply

