Skip to content

question…

July 7, 2009

when you hear, say or think of the word, “death”, what’s the first thing that comes to mind?

i’ll go first. i was able to spend some time talking to a good friend recently and i realized…when i think of death, or “a death”, i think of the old me. that is the very first picture that comes to mind. the death of the old tam.

for some reason, this was a huge moment for me. maybe because i know im still alive. a better version of me.  no, a new me. new life!

anyhoo…thats my first, gut, initial thought (right now) on “death”.

your turn.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 11:10 pm

    This will be completely left field, but maybe that’s gonna be the norm for this?

    When I hear, say or think of the word death, I think of a song by Jacques Brel called “My Death”, and in particular the interpretation by Scott Walker.

    Here’s verse 2 (as an example)

    My death waits like a Bible truth
    at the funeral of my youth
    weep loud for that
    and the passing time

    And then, instantaneously, this song pops into my head too. “Death of A Disco Dancer” by The Smiths…here’s the lyrics :

    The death of a disco dancer
    Well, it happens a lot ’round here
    And if you think Peace
    Is a common goal
    That goes to show
    How little you know

    The death of a disco dancer
    Well, I’d rather not get involved
    I never talk to my neighbour
    I’d rather not get involved
    Oh …

    Love, peace and harmony ?
    Love, peace and harmony ?
    Oh, very nice
    Very nice
    Very nice
    Very nice
    …But maybe in the next world

    I think there’s something in that for all of us. Particularly at the moment, but always.

    (NB: both were written by, if not atheists, then God mockers…as some of these amazingly insightful truthful lyrics often are…searching to fill that God-shaped hole perhaps??)

    • July 8, 2009 8:57 am

      “Love, peace and harmony ?
      Love, peace and harmony ?
      Oh, very nice
      Very nice
      Very nice
      Very nice
      …But maybe in the next world”

      maybe they are searching for Love and Peace. but the thing that gets me are all of the people who claim to “know” God, be religious, or Christian – and yet…these writers are STILL looking for Him. we have got to do our part better.

      • July 8, 2009 2:05 pm

        Yes, yes, yes – I (being part of the we) need to do my part much, much better.

  2. July 7, 2009 11:17 pm

    Bunnies. Specifically the Bunny from Monty Python and the Holy Grail. “Death awaits with great, bit, pointy teeth.” What? It’s better than thinking of a scythe wielding skeleton.

  3. July 7, 2009 11:43 pm

    Uh, yeah. I also think of something terribly profound and spiritually uplifting like you do.

    Or a large skeleton speaking in CAPITAL LETTERS and riding a horse named Binky and…

    What? Don’t you people read Terry Pratchett?

    Nice post btw. Sorry we’re ruining it with our comments. 🙂

    • July 8, 2009 8:54 am

      never be sorry around here 😉

      i am the queen of laugh loving. so bring it 🙂

  4. July 8, 2009 12:50 am

    First initial thought? right now? on death?

    Sigh… remember you set the question criteria… OK? 😉

    i was thinking about one person in particular, but since it is not a unique surname also of all of those people with the surname: De’Ath (Charles De’Ath who starred in a tv series called ‘The Last Detective’ from the UK.)

    imagine all those people reading your name on some piece of identification: “So Mr Death – not got your scythe with you today then?” – followed by amused laughter at how humourous they have been 🙄

    the temptation to either become a mass murderer or change your name by deed poll would be overwhelming, i’m thinking?

    oh aren’t we all a bunch of deep thinkers today??

    <B

  5. July 8, 2009 2:43 am

    I’d love to leave an amazingly theological response, stating that when I hear death, I immediately think LIFE-ETERNAL-with the FATHER……but
    My first thought is sadness as most of the time when one experiences death, someone else, sometimes many people, experience sadness and grief. I generally hurt for and with these people.
    Yep, I’m an emotional sap….sorry :-).

    • July 8, 2009 8:53 am

      there has been a lot of dying lately. well, there always is – theres just been a lot of it in the headlines – but also in our community and several in our church. we lost two 2 yr olds in one month here. heartbreaking. we all know death is imminent…yet, it surprises us every time.

  6. July 8, 2009 7:08 am

    When I hear the word “death” I usually want to know if the person was a Christian. I believe death is the beginning of the next life…so I hope the person is experiencing eternal life with the Father. Because life without Him would definitely be hell…

    I also think “death to self”…wondering what God is asking me to give up, so He will be seen fully through me…to others…

    And I think about my dad…hoping he has more time since his bypass surgery…

    Just some things which come to mind…

    Hope you’re well, TammyJo! Love you.

    • July 8, 2009 8:51 am

      when did Dad have bypass surgery? i helped in nursing my FIL back to health after his 5-way bypass 5 years ago.

      i am well, sis. and you?

      love you too!

      • July 8, 2009 3:10 pm

        Dad’s bypass was six weeks ago. He’s recovering well, but it was a scary time, wondering if he would be with us much longer. He may have gained another 15 years from having the surgery…a very good thing.

        I’m fairly well. The heat wipes me out. It’s triple digits in TX! I stay in the air conditioning or the pool.

        😀

  7. July 8, 2009 7:43 am

    honestly? my first thought is of my best friend’s little girl, Kate… singing to her while sitting at her bedside in the hospice house as she drifted from us. the week of planning her services, singing at her funeral, holding her mom. i’ve been with others when they’ve died, but I have never been more honored than to be with her. it is the saddest and most beautiful and most precious memory i’ll ever have. God was everywhere and in everything. death was never more sad for me, but it was made beautiful because of her.

    • July 8, 2009 8:49 am

      gitz, this broke my heart. but like you, it also gave me joy. just knowing that God was there and He also allowed you to be an extension of His comfort and peace – THAT is beautiful too!

  8. July 8, 2009 9:16 am

    death to me by definition is the end of all….no memory, no eternity, nothing..the end

  9. July 8, 2009 11:41 am

    Empty eyes.

  10. July 8, 2009 12:49 pm

    Emptiness.
    Appealing.
    Escape.
    Misunderstood.
    I wondered if Michael Jackson loved Jesus. I watched his funeral. And it was sad to me not because I thought he was great and now he’s gone, but because I’m not sure if he is dancing in heaven or screaming in hell. And I’ll never know, and I’ll certainly not the Judge.

  11. July 8, 2009 1:24 pm

    The first think I thought of is the movie where a knight plays chess with Death, the Seventh Seal, directed by Ingmar Begman. As long as the knight can keep from losing as gets to live, and if he wins he is free. During breaks in the game the knight returns home and continues his life.

    Of course I had to look the movie up on Wikipedia:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Seventh_Seal

    “The title refers to a passage from the Book of Revelation, used both at the very start of the film, and again towards the end, beginning with the words “And when the Lamb had opened the seventh seal, there was silence in heaven about the space of half an hour” (Revelation 8:1). Here the motif of silence is used ironically to refer to the modern concept of the “silence of God”.”

    • July 8, 2009 1:39 pm

      wow. that is intriguing! i want to see this movie now. thanks, ed 🙂

  12. July 8, 2009 1:49 pm

    You say ‘death’ and I think automatically, “Oh my previous state before Jesus Christ finally made me fully alive.”

    Without God, we are all dead.

    • July 8, 2009 2:00 pm

      thats exactly what i think about a lot lately.

      im in complete awe of it too

  13. July 8, 2009 5:04 pm

    “death” almost always takes me to a place of pain, and myself in the past…i love that God always meets me there inspite of my focus…gently reminds me that this is a cursed world, and far from HIS intention for HIS creation, so HE built us a bridge to get to HIM, and the life we were supposed to have..looking forward to the life HE has for us, w/no death, no pain, no tears…

  14. July 8, 2009 8:14 pm

    To me, death=gain…and no I don’ t mean the detergent….. 🙂

    • July 8, 2009 9:36 pm

      aw man. you had to go and remind me of the laundry that taunts me.

      welcome home!!!

  15. July 8, 2009 9:00 pm

    More recently, like the last few days when i think about death it has lead me to thinking about hope…for some of the same reasons as you…but it is not in the past as in dead, but more in the if i choose to let the past die and let the old Lindsay die there is only hope to be found on the other side.

    It is a good and encouraging thought. Thanks!

  16. July 8, 2009 9:38 pm

    life.

    that’s all

  17. July 9, 2009 1:54 pm

    maybe i’m weird… but when i think of death, i think of freedom. Christ’s death was such a picture of freedom for us. freedom from of the bondage of sin and having to carry that alone. and when i see a Christian die, i think, “dang they’re home… and free from this world.” sure, death is sad and we miss those we lose here. but when someone who love Jesus dies… they’re free. Free from pain. Free from tears. Free.

  18. July 10, 2009 3:00 pm

    Black.

    Weird, huh? A color.

  19. July 12, 2009 7:24 am

    I immediately think of seeing Jesus, face-to-face. The sin and sadness of life just melting away into peace and joy! Of incredible wonders to be seen that I cannot even imagine…. (((((HUGS)))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

