Skip to content

pimp my post

July 16, 2009

hi there, folks! its time for you to take over today. 😉

leave a link in the comments to your favorite post that youve written this week, or that youve read. if you have more than one link, leave it in a separate comment so spam doesnt have you for lunch.

i have a prayer request. most of you know my kids are in a band. theyre playing tonight at the harley davidson in town. every year the shop puts on a “festival” and they asked Chaos Theory to play. pray for their witness. their presence. their energy. their connection with the community. i’ll give you all an update this weekend!

speaking of music….what are you listening to these days?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2009 12:47 am

    Not the best, but you’ve seen that one….Our attempt to induce Ria’s labor, was definitely my favorite!! http://www.whatsthislifefor.org/?p=1428

    Any chance you’re recording Chaos Theory?? I’d love to see it!! Will be praying their light shines on many lost souls!!

    Listening to a bunch of DCB, Jeremy Camp, Third Day and Hillsong lately. I’ve actually been listening to a lot of that for a long time…..too much good stuff 😀

  2. July 17, 2009 1:18 am

    i give thanks for Word of the band reaching the festival and their hearts being opened to ask your kiddo’s and their friends to be a part of that;

    also for the reception i have confidence they will receive by reason of their talent and passion;

    and for the future offerings that a good manager will be working for them to achieve during school breaks/weekends 🙂

    Some bands even get paid for their performances, i’ve heard??

    If Harley Davison offer Chaos Theory all the Jack Daniels they can drink on the day i suggest a better deal be negotiated. 😉

    i don’t hear as much music as i used to. Maybe it shows?

    <B

  3. July 17, 2009 3:27 am

    http://russhutto.com/2009/07/together-ness-where-you-go-i-go/

    Lydia (my wife) and I have friends here in Valdosta that are seriously trying to arrange the next few years of their lives so that their job/schooling moves them close to us (we’re moving almost 3 hours away). Over the last year we’ve developed such a deep, tight knit friendship with about 3 other couples here. It’s what I believe is true “church.”

    ***

    These days I’m listening to a bit of Leeland, U2, and a whole lot of random on Pandora.

  4. July 17, 2009 3:36 am

    Don’t know if you see my early moring tweets referencing #affectthenoise or not. At Philter48 I have been posting a morning devotional for the past 3 weeks. It just staggers me that 50-60% of Christians don’t even open a bible and read it for themselves. The devotionals are just a way for me to try and get the truth in the world.

    So I am not really pimping a post but a my series of devotionals that I have written over the past 3 weeks. http://www.philter48.com/ This weeks are in the devotionals section, there is a link to the previous 2 weeks.

    I am still on the Grits, Flame, Lecrar, KJ-52 train. More true theology in them than a lot of other mainstream Christian bands (Chaos Theory excluded of course)

  5. July 17, 2009 4:24 am

    I’ve just moved myself off of blogspot onto my own domain with wordpress. Go and check out the new site and let me know what you guys think about my recent post. Any input would be appreciated as I work on getting my focus back on God and his purpose and away from things that don’t matter.

    Music wise, I’ve been listening to a lot of different stuff. King’s of Leon, Switchfoot, Rascal Flatts, Sister Hazel, David Crowder.

  6. July 17, 2009 5:02 am

    Answering the couple hundred year old question…I Drinking Alcohol A Sin?

    http://thankheavenforbeer.com/2009/07/16/is-drinking-a-sin/

    • July 17, 2009 5:46 am

      Sure it is. I mean how could anyone rationalize drinking the same stuff you rub on mosquito bites….

      oh…ummm….wait…what I meant was…

      haha!

      great post!

    • nostawetan permalink
      July 18, 2009 3:18 pm

      We got some responses on this one. Someone who got on the site really thought it was a sin.

  7. Jim2 permalink
    July 17, 2009 6:30 am

    New CD that just released Tuesday – Glory Revealed II – worship in an Americana style featuring Mac Powell, Trevor Morgan, Sara Evans, Matt Maher, Bethany Dillon, Natalie Grant, Geoff Moore, Jason Crabb, Shane and Shane, Kari Jobe, Brandon Heath, Laura Story – anyway – great spirit, awesome lyrics and intriguing combinations of voices. One of my favorite songs is “How Great” with Mac Powell, Shane Everett, Jonathan Shelton and Brian Littrell

  8. Heidi permalink
    July 17, 2009 8:33 am

    http://allm92.wordpress.com/2009/07/14/let-me-sing-in-its-place/

    I haven’t been blogging much, the summer traffic has been atrocious and I am focusing on my book instead. This post talks about my struggle of hold me sane during our family financials struggles.

    I listen to everything. Literally.. depends on my mood

    PRAYIN SIS FOR CHAOS, on my knees.

    Love ya

  9. July 17, 2009 9:04 am

    One of two! 🙂
    http://ladycarmenquixote.wordpress.com/2009/07/16/leap-of-faith/

    I’ll be praying!

  10. July 17, 2009 9:08 am

    Just something to think about…the Lord has had me on “How prepared are you?” the last couple of days….

    http://triednotfried.wordpress.com/2009/07/16/not-to-be-morbid/

    Praying for the kiddo’s tonight…wish we could be there 😦

  11. July 17, 2009 10:03 am

    I have heard your kids band on the videos you and Brent posted. I am sure they will have a much fun performing as the audience will have hearing them.

    I kinda like today’s post, about the source of all knowledge, the Muppet’s.

    http://edfromct.wordpress.com/2009/07/16/the-source-of-all-knowledge/

    Two songs I have been listening to every day.

    Elis Regina & Tom Jobim- Waters of March

    Diana Krall – The Look of Love

  12. July 17, 2009 10:07 am

    My guess is that the crowd at the Harley Davidson festival are gonna love ’em!

    I’ve recently discovered Tenth Avenue North. Also listening to the new CD from Matt Kearney and diggin’ some Country on the radio. Yee Haw!

  13. pokinatcha permalink
    July 17, 2009 11:43 am

    This is a snippet of my missions trip to the Philippines. http://lifespokinatcha.wordpress.com/2009/07/09/philippines-missions-trip-09-2/

    As for music I’m listening to right now. Just got my Glory Revealed 2 CD & I’m still listening to MercyMe’s 10 in my car when I venture out which hasn’t been often.

  14. My Wife & Jack Bauer permalink
    July 17, 2009 12:29 pm

    http://mywifeandjackbauer.wordpress.com/2009/07/17/scared/

    Aaron Shust lately

  15. July 17, 2009 3:34 pm

    My first movies post …. check it out http://bajanpoet.wordpress.com/2009/07/15/movies-post-call-to-courage/

  16. July 17, 2009 8:01 pm

    my honey’s post: http://landryrb.wordpress.com/2009/07/13/dr-samuel-johnsons-prayer-1738/

    it’s a cheater post, but a good one!

  17. petuniaspoppies permalink
    July 17, 2009 10:35 pm

    Hi,
    I just happened upon you on twitter and now your blog. I’m looking forward to reading it!

    {link} Here’s a link to my blog – the last post I wrote. I just started blogging and am trying to maneuver through being a mommy to a 3 yr old, 7 yr old, work… blah blah… and still blog.

    http://petuniaspoppies.wordpress.com/

    {music} I’m listening to Au Revoir Simone, Sigur Ros (i’m falling in love with the synthesizer again, and HAVE to have a good strong rhythmic beat!) Also, always can’t get enough of JesusCulture – esp, Kim Walker.

    http://blip.fm/~89i02

    Peace,
    Rachel

  18. July 18, 2009 7:08 am

    Well. I’m very late in this indeed. But. I am giving up energy drinks for a year.. on top of quitting smoking. I bet you’re curious why anyone would give up the nectar of the gods. (Energy Drinks) So.. Check it out here.

    http://www.crucialencounter.com/one-year-without/

    Peace!

  19. July 22, 2009 9:28 pm

    Uhh – so I’ve been on another planet, and haven’t written or read for awhile. However, the last post I wrote, I think you’ll like. Whatchya lookin’ at?

Leave a Reply

