Skip to content

pimp my post

July 23, 2009

ive not been around much. like, at all this week. its fair week here in southern oregon. each year brent runs one of the stages here (sound). he loves it! we all love it, actually. this year the family got an all access pass so we get to come and go whenever we want. so we’ve been there a lot visiting brent and enjoying the different acts and bands that come through his stage. we have got some fierce talent in the PNW!!!

so…needless to say now…thats where ive been most the week. i’ll get back to my normal schedule soon. i do miss you all!

while im out playing…hold down the fort, will ya? and…leave a link to one your favorite posts youve written this week. id love to read it when life slows down again! if you know of a great post someone else wrote, please leave that link too – just do so in a separate comment so you dont get stuck in spam 😕

have a fantastic weekend!

oh…do you go to your local fair? whats the best thing about going?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2009 12:38 am

    i hope i am forgiven for ‘blowing my own trumpet (blogpost)” this week.

    What is it we are REALLY seeking when we are looking for, or are thinking of leaving, a church?

    http://lovewillbringustogether.wordpress.com/2009/07/21/home-is-where-the-heart-is/

    comments appreciated. (and responded to in as timely a fashion as i can manage).

    <B

  2. July 24, 2009 1:36 am

    Definitely my best post since I’ve been blogging :-)…of course, my two other kids were born before I started….

    http://www.whatsthislifefor.org/?p=1483

    Oh, and there seems to be some kind of carnival EVERY weekend in Germany and we go once in awhile. They seem to lose their steam after you’ve been to 6 or 7. Once a year is plenty :-).

    • July 24, 2009 3:04 am

      I love that about Germany. There’s always some sort of festival or carnival going on. When we were stationed there we always had somewhere to go on the weekend if we wanted. Of course we were only there for about a year and I was deployed for most of that.

  3. July 24, 2009 3:02 am

    I wrote this post on forgiveness earlier in the week. I’ve really been trying to get my house and definitely myself as a whole back to being loving and forgiving as we are instructed to in the bible. I’ve been slowly going through a huge change the last year and feel like God has something big for my family and I in the future.

    http://blog.jhgagle.com/2009/07/22/forgiveness/

    We used to go to carnivals, but they don’t really have them near us, at least that I know of. I love funnel cakes and carny food though. It’s pretty much the worst food ever, but it’s ok, you’re at the carnival. We used to go to the “Mullet Festival” (the FISH, not the haircut although there was an abundance of both) back home that was always awesome. I miss carnivals.

  4. July 24, 2009 3:28 am

    Our local fair kind of sucks…but I remember growing up as a kids and we loved the Western Washington State Fair..it was great way back when…not sure now

    My post for the week… what if Starbucks marketed like a church?

    http://movingthroughlife.wordpress.com/2009/07/21/starbucks-marketing-like-a-church/

    • Jim2 permalink
      July 24, 2009 6:32 am

      Joseph,
      that was a great link – sadly it made me laugh at our misguided efforts.

      Seems like every Friday I’m shilling for Billy Coffey, but every week he comes up with something that rocks my complacency – this quote – “Far worse than the buried dead are those who have perished and yet still walk. Those who have yielded to the crushing weight of the world, who have surrendered their hopes and dreams to the arid winds of despair. Who have seen too much darkness and so surrendered their light, believing it to be too faint to matter.
      That life must simply be endured is among the worst of lies. We are not merely to tolerate this world, but overcome it. We are called not to plod on, but to laugh and skip. God commands us not to guard our hearts, but to give them freely. To feel pain instead of ignoring it, if only so that pain can turn to greater joy. To face our struggles with steeled eyes and iron will. To take the arrows of circumstance in our chests, marching forward, and not our backs in retreat. ”
      makes checking out his post worthwhile http://billycoffey.blogspot.com/2009/07/fate-worse-than-death.html

  5. pokinatcha permalink
    July 24, 2009 4:38 am

    I’ve only been to our fair once. That’s because I had to work the food booth for Pop Warner Football.

    The best post I put us is about my friend Manasseh. He was singing me the song he wrote.

    http://lifespokinatcha.wordpress.com/2009/07/24/my-friend-manasseh/

  6. July 24, 2009 4:57 am

    well. This hit me really hard when I saw it. It reminded me of the awesome love our God gives.

    http://www.crucialencounter.com/2009/07/23/im-an-athiest/

  7. July 24, 2009 6:49 am

    Do I go to the fair? Briefly, with my Dad, on Senior day. Years of the kids having animals in it kinda burnt me out….

    What’s the best thing about going? Sharing shaved ice with friends 😉

    http://triednotfried.wordpress.com/2009/07/20/look-for-whats-there/

  8. July 24, 2009 7:35 am

    recently catching up on blogs and looking at new ones..but I really have enjoyed a new blog lately.
    http://iambeloved2.wordpress.com the one that moved me most recently is “Hold on…” Good stuff straight from the heart and a young writer too!

    the fair…not ours its small and well ..lame! but York PA is not far from us and i do like to go to that one….i just like the lights, and so many different people..i am a people watcher..

  9. July 24, 2009 8:43 am

    This one has some pics from my very very recent trip to South Africa

    http://learningfromsophie.wordpress.com/2009/07/23/yebo/

    So that’s my favourite post this week…!

    As for fairs…never been to my local fair…not sure if there even is one to be honest….?

  10. July 24, 2009 9:31 am

    I wouldn’t say it’s great, but it’s where I’m at right now: I’m Going to Mess Up!

  11. July 24, 2009 10:58 am

    I love the food at the fair… sadly, it doesn’t necessarily love me. 😦

    I have been writing about my experiences in Watertown, NY which is where I spent the first week of July as part of World Changers.

    Here is my favorite story from there so far, it’s titled… “Don’t Pee on Me”

    http://30secondrule.wordpress.com/2009/07/23/dont-pee-on-me/

  12. Mandy permalink
    July 24, 2009 5:52 pm

    I haven’t gone to our local fair for many years, just having not had the time. I was really wanting to go to the Jason Aldean concert tonight *sadface* but did not have the money. Bummer. I love going for all the yummy (not so good for you) fair food. I’ve been craving Elephant Ears something fierce!

  13. July 25, 2009 6:14 am

    Our local fair is the Royal Easter Show, and gets over 2 million admissions each year when it runs for 2 weeks around Easter. It’s a quite big.

    Best thing about going (when we do) is most of it … especially catching up with people I knew from when I ran my own accounting practice in my hometown since they come and exhibit their prizewinning cattle, etc.

  14. July 26, 2009 3:59 am

    I love the fair! I try to go every year – I love the animal exhibits and going through all the exhibit halls. Go barefoot and let all the poop go up through your toes – use to do that as a kid on the farm running through the pastures! LOL

    • July 27, 2009 11:54 am

      hahaha!!! actually, the animal exhibits were not very good this year. ive chalked it up to the economy…people need dinner ya know?

      😉

  15. July 26, 2009 4:54 am

    imo the best part of any fair is fried-anything-on-a-stick and big fat piggies.

  16. July 26, 2009 3:45 pm

    OH! The fair. I am from Calgary, AB Canada and we have the “Greatest Outdoor Show On Earth.” The Calgary Stampede. i remember going each week as a kid and loving it! It is each July and i miss it. There is an awesome Rodeo, Pancake Breakfasts each morning, rides, games, music….a parade. Oh, i miss it!

    my favourite post was this one. http://www.lynseleanne.com/blog/2009/07/22/true-relationships/ it is one of my favourite verses about friendship and what i think we are called to be as friends.

Leave a Reply

