Skip to content

tell me about you…

July 27, 2009

i didnt write a post today. well, i am now. but i didnt have one ready. i dont think ive missed a weekday post in over a year.

this month is gonna be extremely busy, with just a few down days. lots of company and lots of travel in august. then school starts on september 1st. so its go-go-go right now.

i think im gonna take this week off. sort of. im gonna repost a few previous written post starting tomorrow. it may bore most of you – but i also dont like to go without posting consistently and i have some new readers that might learn a thing or two about me. thats assuming theres interest πŸ˜‰

but for today…or whats left of it…

tell me about you!

tell me the top 3 things that come to your mind you want me, and others, to know about you.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 12:46 pm

    I turned 30 today
    I’m blissfully happier than I’ve ever been and I’m terrified that it will go away
    I have amazing friends and family and I’ve had really really crappy friends and family members so I appreciate the good ones I have now.

    • July 27, 2009 12:49 pm

      Happy birthday!

    • July 27, 2009 1:09 pm

      happy birthday!

      and i have, also, had both sides of the friends/family dynamic. its refreshing to have solid people around you tho, isnt it?

      πŸ˜‰

    • July 28, 2009 12:06 am

      Happy birthday!

  2. July 27, 2009 12:51 pm

    *I am learning to be more transparent, at least to myself, and am making it a priority to be honest about how I feel.
    *I am on the verge of losing a lot of weight. It’s beginning to affect my health, and I do not want to live this way any more.
    *I want to improve myself so that I may bless others more. It’s a lot easier to say that than it is to actually do it, though.

    • July 27, 2009 1:10 pm

      transparent is good. its freeing.

      i love that you want to improve yourself so that you can bless others. what a selfless perspective and motive. THAT is already a blessing right there!

  3. July 27, 2009 1:14 pm

    First thing – I just wandered in here after searching for “blogging” on WordPress.com (while bored, and searching out new and interesting people).

    Second thing – I quite often write what could possibly be described as a blog, but is perhaps better described as a boring rant.

    Third thing – I’m subscribing to your feed πŸ™‚

    • July 27, 2009 3:32 pm

      welcome, jonathan!

      it gets pretty crazy around here…youve entered into a fabulous community of friends, tho. i am convinced i have THE best online friends!

  4. July 27, 2009 1:18 pm

    answered with a picture: http://twitpic.com/buwga

  5. ashley permalink
    July 27, 2009 1:52 pm

    I have never felt more unsettled (by wordly standards) in all of my life until this last year, but God has been able to teach me more in this time than I have learned in my 20 years of being a Christian. I have never had to rely on him completely and its the most freeing feeling to actually let go and know that He knows the next step. He is teaching me that He is more than enough for me! Life is a little chaotic to me, but God is my order and thats all that matters πŸ™‚

  6. July 27, 2009 2:28 pm

    I am:
    A Dad of 3
    A Husband
    And I try to do those 2 things to the best of my God-given ability

  7. July 27, 2009 2:58 pm

    I am a rather proud Canadian…sometimes i hide it, but mostly i am proud.
    I am a wife to my great husband Chad Stevens….and I am a lighting designer at a church…random but fun job. I get to play with expensive toys most days. so on anti social days i call them “programming” days and ignore the world for the sake of creativity.

    oops…i think that was more than 3. DANGIT!

  8. July 27, 2009 3:21 pm

    1. i’m a mish kid. aka missionary kid.
    2. on a songwriting adventure, because God asked me to write
    3. love leading worship

  9. July 27, 2009 3:31 pm

    thought maybe i should join in…

    1- i am your go to girl if you need a dose of laughter.

    2- i am also your go to girl if you need a dose of perspective.

    3- i will always be honest with you.

  10. July 27, 2009 3:44 pm

    1. I am a proud Canadian too!

    2. I’m not much of blogger these days… sorta got bogged down with… well my last post probably explains it best

    3. I love music… almost any kind!

  11. July 27, 2009 4:54 pm

    So, apart from the things in my Twitter bio …

    1. I wanna be a muso for a living
    2. I miss my wife when we’ve been apart for, uh, almost any length of time at all…
    3. I’ve got a secret that may well be obvious but until I know what I’m meant to do with it, it’s not going any further. (Don’t worry, Diane knows what it is.) πŸ™‚

  12. July 27, 2009 4:55 pm

    1. God has touched me this weekend (and last weekend, too, actually…) through floods of tears.
    2. Watching my sister being called to the bar to be able to practice law in our country made me really proud – and inspired me to work hard at my own profession.
    3. Have been inspired by reading The Shack…. on Chapter 7 at the moment… I want my own copy to underline, as I’m reading a borrowed copy.

  13. July 27, 2009 6:07 pm

    1) I love my wife and kids to death.
    2) Tam drives me crazy. πŸ™‚
    3) this is the first time I’ve read any blogs in almost 6 weeks. It’s good to be back.

    • July 27, 2009 6:27 pm

      thought id fix your typos. being out of the blog world for a month and a half, i know how rusty you might be. here you go…

      1) I love my wife and kids to death.
      2) Tam has great hair and is one of my closest girl friends πŸ™‚
      3) this is the first time I’ve read any blogs in almost 6 weeks. It’s good to be back

      • July 27, 2009 7:25 pm

        HA! πŸ™‚

        (you’re mellowing – are you getting old or something?)

        <B

        • July 27, 2009 7:36 pm

          well…i WAS gonna pick on his vertical ineptness but i just couldnt stoop THAT low.

          πŸ˜€

          • July 27, 2009 8:42 pm

            Phew – i thought i’d lost you there for a moment πŸ˜‰

            ( P.S Out of respect for Pete i am not going to write my long LOL at your clever funny – just know it was much appreciated by at least one avid reader, however).

            <B

  14. Heidi permalink
    July 27, 2009 6:08 pm

    Hmmmm.. 3 things..

    1. I love cream in my coffee in the morning and TOTALLY black at night.

    2. I have a birthmark on my left cheek.

    3. I have a sisterfriend in Tablerock who rocks my world!!!
    I love her dearly!!

  15. July 27, 2009 7:34 pm

    1. i have a particularly well-developed, but somewhat unconventional and at times selective, sense of humour.

    2. i very much like being UN-conventional. – Not one who ‘follows the crowd’ in most things.

    3. i love to read anything relating to Jesus Christ so as to gain better understanding of, and ability to become more like, Him in the things i am and do down here – but i don’t claim to be anything ‘close’ to Christian, in that i am NOTHING like Christ in almost every single regard you could think of. i believe i am heading more towards Him than moving away from Him however. Having Him in my heart is not my objective – having my heart in Him is.

    <B

  16. July 27, 2009 7:39 pm

    1- I am happy even though I don’t have a wife, children or pets. Actually I might be happy because I don’t have a wife, kids or pets.

    2- I am getting older, but not wiser. I am getting better at fooling people. πŸ™‚

    3 – I have learned that age never comes before beauty. πŸ™‚

  17. kyleboot permalink
    July 27, 2009 8:48 pm

    See, I told you you could do it!

    1. I have a beautiful family of three.
    2. I play percussion and mandolin.
    3. Slightly annoyed I do not have first tattoo yet.

    • kyleboot permalink
      July 27, 2009 8:49 pm

      My first tattoo

    • July 27, 2009 9:06 pm

      i love the mandolin!

      im with you on the tat, too (ha!) i want one. but out of respect for my inlaws…they have to be 6 feet under first.

      πŸ˜• i DO love them, tho!!!

      • withoutafilter permalink
        August 3, 2009 10:16 am

        I think I’m jsut waiting until I don’t live in the same state as my in-laws, not til their dead. If I waited that long, my skin would be all saggy and i wouldn’t want one at that point. What’s life if you don’t have a few regrets, right? πŸ˜‰

  18. July 27, 2009 9:38 pm

    1. i have been married for 27 years and I still dont know why she said yes.
    2. i pastor a church in a town where its easier to find a church than a liquor store
    3. i am a certified scuba diver but almost never go and that bums me out tremendously

  19. July 27, 2009 10:08 pm

    ummmm.
    1. this is the first time I’ve left a comment on your blog (I think)
    2. I’ve been ministering on the field for almost a decade now (9 yrs)
    3. I’m currently in Israel!!!! πŸ™‚

  20. July 28, 2009 12:14 am

    1. God literally saved my life when I was 15 years old. 2 years later I accepted there was a God & Jesus had died on a cross for me (as well as everybody else). After that I went from Bacardi Queen to Jesus Freak. πŸ™‚

    2. I’m Scottish! I love ceilidh dancing, kilts, Scottish words, tablet, Scottish smoked salmon, oatcakes & the gorgeous creation God blessed us with in this country (as my friend says, just as well it rains all the time otherwise EVERYONE would want to live here). But every time I hear a bagpiper playing ‘Highland Cathedral’ I want to slash his bagpipes to be honest. ARGH!

    3. I was in South Africa this time a week ago…and I think I left a good chunk of my heart there.

  21. July 28, 2009 4:03 am

    Sorry I’m late to the party. Yesterday was busy!

    1. I’m a husband to Libby and a father to 5. I live in constant fear everyday that I’m not good enough to dive them the life they need.

    2. God gave me the musical ability to teach myself to play most any instrument and a great ear for arranging, but unfortunately has given me no window to use it yet on a grand scale. I know God has something awesome waiting for me, I’m just not ready yet and can’t wait for the day that I am.

    3. I am rarely as serious as people think I am. I am rarely serious anyway and people tend to think I am serious when I’m usually joking. I have a dry, sarcastic sense of humor that tends to get overlooked.

  22. July 28, 2009 7:33 am

    this is fun…

    I have an amazing family, a strong group of my “people”, an amazing church and crazy good dogs (boxers).

    Given a choice I would rather worship than do much else. But I haven’t been to church in months.

    I work for the governor by day and own my own retail scrapbook store. It’s on Main St and it’s my happy place. It’s a place where I can be with friends and talk about all that God is doing and has done.

  23. July 28, 2009 5:10 pm

    Three things about me…usually I am the one who likes to know about others but here it goes any way
    1) Love people and love to have great conversations
    2) Have never felt successful or close to it even though to most I am
    3) Generally regret not following my passion when I came out of college…missed some amazing opportunities in my life because I chased instead of seaked

  24. July 29, 2009 6:58 am

    Hi! New to reading this blog – came here via a tip from Matthew Paul Turner on Twitter. He said I’d be doing myself a favor if I read your story & he was correct!
    3 things you should know about me:
    1. I love words & trying to choose the “better” word just to be witty.
    2. I’m 40 but feel younger than my peers – not sure if this is good or bad.
    3. I love hats.

  25. August 3, 2009 4:34 pm

    I’m deep. I’m sensitive. I’m genuine.

  26. mpt permalink
    August 5, 2009 8:46 pm

    so… have any time tomorrow (Thursday, 8-6) to chat?

Leave a Reply

