Skip to content

courage…

August 11, 2009

courage = doing something afraid

ive done many things afraid. heck…i grew up afraid. up until i was 20-ish fear was my constant companion. most of you know my story so im sure you get what im saying there.

now that i am removed from environments that fostered all that fear and have grown up enough to stop making stupid choices that cause even more fear, i am faced with a bunch of new opportunities to practice courage.

writing my book.

singing a solo.

letting my children go.

going into the corner of my garage to do laundry. [read…spiders]

i know God says do not be anxious about anything. ok, God…but how can i learn to be courageous if im not first anxious or afraid?

have you ever wondered that?

so, what are you currently courageous in?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2009 12:43 am

    I’ve often wondered if we have the right interpretation of the word courage…since in most (all?) Biblical contexts, we are told to take courage, do not be afraid.

    Whereas, like the definition you have put there Tam, most dictionaries describe it as doing something despite fear…or something similar.

    I like Ambrose Redmoon’s quote – “Courage is not the absence of fear, but the judgement that something else is more important than fear”

    So the key is to make it the fear that fears God, not the fear that is
    False
    Expectations
    Appearing
    Real

    Or that could just be semantics πŸ™‚

    Meanwhile…courage…I’m not feeling particularly courageous at the moment. If I look at things objectively, in some ways pretty much everything I’m doing right now is courageous, while in others it’s keeping the status quo.

    But feelings lie, and very often suck. So I’m trying not to believe them.

  2. August 12, 2009 12:59 am

    As i see it the ONLY reason for courage is to allow us to do what is right when the potential consequences of what we want to do cause us to be paralysed by fear.

    if we actually learned to always trust God, that no matter what happens to us down here, that as long as we do what we do for Him and for His Glory there is no outcome that is not worth paying that price for, then we would have no need of courage at all – we would simply always do what our heart commands us.

    That is what courage literally means – doing what comes from the heart – and not from the fear of our mind.

    Love God with all your heart – and never worry or be overanxious to the point of not doing what we desire by reason of the fear in us.

    He is more worthy of our trust than are our fears of what could possibly happen one day.

    What am i currently more courageous in?

    in not personally being so ‘in control’ of this life i am borrowing.

    Seeing that it is not solely down to me to change the world. the way i would have it.

    I haven’t quite got to the level of believing that i would do any worse job than the idiots who seem to be in charge of it at the moment, however! πŸ˜‰ That may come in time.

    <B

  3. Heidi permalink
    August 12, 2009 4:20 am

    Being joyful

  4. August 12, 2009 5:51 am

    leading a new and major small group

  5. August 12, 2009 7:23 am

    I’m writing some songs that I’m going to send to a guy. Hopefully this guy will think the songs are worth passing on to artists/worship leaders that are interested in singing these songs. Hopefully the churches they lead will want to sing the songs as well.

    Why am I afraid? I don’t want to fail. For so many reasons.

    • August 12, 2009 8:35 pm

      How do YOU define ‘fail’?

      The Only Failure is to stop trying – you’re still trying aren’t you? ( Little Miss Sunshine)

      If at first you don’t succeed – you’re in 99.9% of the population! πŸ˜‰ ( Me)

      I’ve never failed – i’ve found a thousand things that don’t work, but i have never failed (Thomas Alva Edison).

      Failure is NOT an option – usually it’s compulsory! πŸ™‚

      Practice makes Progress.

      <B

  6. August 12, 2009 10:01 am

    starting a new semester of grad school.
    where i will be required to sing a LOT.
    and not knowing 100% for sure whether or not my voice will be strong enough.
    i’m doing it afraid.
    but my spirit part of me is doing it with the knowledge and confidence that i am healed in His name!

  7. August 12, 2009 11:13 am

    quitting my job…trusting that it is the right thing to do even when it doesnt feel like it.

    facing some things from my past so that i can get past them and no longer be mastered by them.

    being myself…even when people dont know this Lynse and it is uncomfortable to be authentic and not “fake”

  8. August 12, 2009 12:34 pm

    I am reluctent to use the word “courageous” to describe any of the few challenges I am currently facing.

    I am retired, economically secure, the only health issues is diabetes, which I have not trouble managing. I have no family to worry about, with no interest in getting one. πŸ™‚

    I guess when my doctor tells me I have cancer, or some other life threatening disease, which will happen at some point in the future, I will find out how much courage I have left in me. πŸ™‚

    Courage is being willing to do something you are terribly afraid of. In the past sometimes I have passed that test, sometimes not.

  9. August 12, 2009 1:27 pm

    Courage..sometimes i have more than i think..or i am blind in what i am doing until afterwards 😯 Lately, its been surgery after surgery undoing damage that occured during an abusive error of my life…but at this time, there really are no other choices, so I don’t know how brave or courageous i am..just pressing on with one thing at a time, and holding on to Jesus each step of the way…I am seriously a chicken of pain..and hate to take pain meds.

  10. August 12, 2009 4:45 pm

    right now…courage is not in the forecast.
    the track record makes the map kind of blurry.

  11. August 12, 2009 4:59 pm

    i don’t think anything in my life requires courage as much as it requires trust.

  12. August 12, 2009 5:02 pm

    Paying bills. Sometimes you just wonder how it’s all going to work out. A lot of times it works even when, on paper, it doesn’t look like it should work out.

  13. August 12, 2009 6:50 pm

    “courage = doing something afraid” Reminds me of Joshua. I think Joshua 1 is one of the best as far as leadership texts go…Moses is dead, he disobeyed God. Allowed the pressure of the people who were following him to cause him to act in unbelief. Joshua is to carry on…nice. God gives Joshua a little pep talk…gave him the assignment he gave to Moses…Moses died, but nothing of God did. So I suppose what I learn from that is that God doesn’t opperate in fear, nor does He allow circumstance to allow His plans to fail. i don’t think that courage means not being afraid, I think it is more that I fear God more than my circumstance. i can’t make decisions based on my personality profile, I would be a disaster! πŸ˜‰

    What am I courageous in at the moment…believing every promise I read in God’s Word and applying it to my life…I don’t see it, I just believe it.

  14. withoutafilter permalink
    August 12, 2009 7:44 pm

    I’m learning to write what I’m really feeling instead of as the person some see me as. Granted, I started a blog anonymously, but I’m putting me out there, what I’m really feeling. Sometimes I just want to drop the facade, but most days I talk myself out of it- telling myself of the consequences of being open and honest.

  15. August 12, 2009 7:53 pm

    chasing a lion…

  16. August 13, 2009 5:52 am

    You’re so right! When I first decided to do football I was full of fear. I was always anxious for all my games and I always prayed so hard before each practice because I was super nervous. I ended up making it through just fine but I can’t forget the high doses of fear I had each and every day of football even on the easiest days.

    I totally agree that in order to be courageous I think you must have some anxiety and fear first, because our courageousness forms from the overcoming of those two.

  17. August 13, 2009 7:55 am

    Hmmm….. this sounds silly but I felt really courageous when I got my tattoo when we were home. 😳 I was TERRIFIED and after it was all said and done I couldn’t stop smiling. I said “I AM SO PROUD OF MYSELF!” πŸ˜† So silly, but for me it was a huge deal. But I don’t think I’ll be getting another one. πŸ˜‰

    Something coming up that I have to face is flying. It is one of my BIGGEST fears. Paralyzing. Panic attacks. So scared I can’t breath. And I have to do it next month. I have no choice here… I cannot back out. I have to be courageous and just DO IT. It’s causing me a great deal of anxiety right now actually. :-/

Leave a Reply

