Skip to content

one wrong letter

August 30, 2009

two things here.

i said something, on accident, on twitter and no one told me. WHY? i mean…it was bad. but funny. like, really funny. but a mistake.

and…someone has my twitter password and corrected my faux pas. WHO has my twitter password???

one night, while on vacation last week, i posted a twitter update before bed. the entire family had been in a deep theological discussion…and then some. i wanted to post about it before my heavy & tired head slammed my pillow.

and this is what i thought i wrote….

Vacation nite # 4 fam discussed theology, idolatry, free will, election, sovereignty….brain. so. tired. must. sleep.

but this is what i actually wrote….

Vacation nite # 4 fam discussed theology, idolatry, free will, erection, sovereignty….brain. so. tired. must. sleep.

do you see it? my mistake? if you look close you’ll see it sticking out πŸ˜•

i only discovered the mistake the next morning because some smut-spam twitter acct. retweeted me.

weird thing is…the retweet is still on twitter with my original tweet, mistake and all, but somehow it has been corrected on the main time line….and i didnt do it! not that i am opposed to correcting it…but i wasnt the one who did so.

so…come clean twitter password holder.

whats your best, or worst, spelling mistake?

48 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 8:26 pm

    I haven’t posted any mistakes that I know of, but that’s because I’m really crazy about spelling/grammar. However, I have caught many, many mistakes before actually posting them; usually involving words that if you change one or two letters around it becomes a cuss word.

    • August 30, 2009 8:31 pm

      its amazing how easy it happens, too. glad youre a good proofer…unlike me 😯

      πŸ˜‰

  2. August 30, 2009 8:31 pm

    lol…too funny..

    one time spent a whole night in a yahoo chat room typing LMAO thinking mentally I was typing LAMO…difference was that I was thinking I was tying lame-o … of course my user name was PastorJCurl and I was in a Christian Chat room so finally one person piped up and said wasn’t I a Pastor…why was I using LMAO so much.

    I was so embarrased…

    LMAO for those that don’t know means Laughing My booty Off with the other word that starts with an A

  3. August 30, 2009 8:47 pm

    tam…those not-true subjects are hilarious…my wife has to take a sleeping pill sometimes and oh,man, she talks to me about crazy stuff and then doesn’t remember all of it.

    • August 30, 2009 8:53 pm

      oh, i bet THATS entertaining!

      • Zacharythomas permalink
        August 30, 2009 10:30 pm

        HAHAHA, my girlfriend does the same thing late at night on the phone when she gets really tired…its my sign that its time for her to go2 bed. Its quite entertaining

  4. August 30, 2009 11:52 pm

    I (almost) never get letters muddled up in my posts.

    I did however once get an entire post muddled up, and re-posted the wrong post from a friend who had kindly agreed to let me put one of her items on my blog.

    Does that count?

    • August 31, 2009 9:09 am

      sure that counts. its just good to know others do “off” things too. ya know…it validates me πŸ˜€

  5. August 31, 2009 2:49 am

    I tweeted “taking it up the arse”. I forget what I was talking about maybe David remembers it. I was mortified when I noticed it!

    • August 31, 2009 9:09 am

      yup. i just pee’d a little!!!

      ahahahaha πŸ˜†

  6. Rick permalink
    August 31, 2009 3:05 am

    Not to burst a bubble or end a storyline, but I don’t see anywhere Twitter to re-edit a post. Would seem more likely, instead of a password holder with good intentions (and you changed it, right? Right!??!) – there might be a bot watching for words, changing a letter, and retweeting. Want to try posting something similar again? πŸ™‚

    • August 31, 2009 9:10 am

      maybe so, im not sure if you can alter a tweet like that. but i distinctly remember checking my original tweet and sure enough…

      weird.

  7. August 31, 2009 5:37 am

    Totally had something like this just happen to me.

    Just sent an email to a Principal I work with that should have said, “Hello Teresa”. Instead I left off the “o” and it said “Hell Teresa”.

    Thank God this is a wonderful Principal and someone who I have worked with for years, so she thought it was funny. I did learn however that Hell is correct spelling so spell check would not catch it πŸ™‚

    • August 31, 2009 9:13 am

      i do that all the time. you all know i dont capitalize or punctuate much. so…when i want to type “he will” as “he’ll” without the punctuation it comes out Hell all the time. obviously. but i usually let it go by.

  8. August 31, 2009 5:56 am

    “you’ll see it sticking out” bwahahahahaha!!!!

    k, um… i usually am not very embarrassed by the things that i do, deliberately or not. so it’s so hard for me to remember all the funnies! it’s a shame, really…and honestly, i should be embarrassed. but alas…

    lemme see…. yeah, i got nothin. ask me after i finish waking up.

    • August 31, 2009 9:14 am

      was wondering if someone was gonna notice that. leave it you! πŸ˜‰

      i can totally see you not gettin embarrassed easily. i love that about you!

      • August 31, 2009 4:31 pm

        oh!!! i’ve got one, i’ve got one! (or two) πŸ˜‰

        this isn’t a typo, but… one time, i was in a coffee house talking to a couple of landry’s peers. i was trying to tell them how hard it was to be stuck in limbo. instead, i blurted out how difficult it was to be stuck in libido. WOOPS! haha…

        k, number 2. it’s actually not mine. it’s landry’s. one day after i had finished leading worship for the youth, the band and i were stepping off the stage as landry was coming on to teach. the following is what happened next:

        Landry: hey they did awesome! give ’em a hand job!!!
        The kids: wide-eyed, gaping horror/muffled laughter/cricket-chirping silence.
        Me: scoff, scoff, scoff!!!!

        i STILL can’t believe he spouted that out to a room full of teenagers. of course, he was trying to say “good job, give them a hand” or something like that…

  9. August 31, 2009 7:37 am

    crap. i actually saw that post and thought you’d meant it. i mean, you did have your erotica week just recently so i thought it was a remnant discussion. sorry…

    • August 31, 2009 9:15 am

      riiiiight…..

      that was a crazy week, tho, wasnt it?

      sheesh 😯

  10. August 31, 2009 8:06 am

    HAHAHA!! I don’t have a spelling mistake but I did send a not-so-decent picture of my self to my best friend once that was supposed to go to my husband. That’s a BIG oops!! At least I can laugh about it now. πŸ™‚

  11. August 31, 2009 8:45 am

    Um. I didn’t do it. haha

    But I’ve gotta be honest & say that somewhere in the back of my brain I’ve got a password logged for something of yours. Blog? Email? What, I don’t know.

    But, I’m pretty sure that you wouldn’t have more than one password logged in your brain at any given time. So, if it’s that’s the case, then I think I know your password. πŸ˜‰

    • August 31, 2009 9:08 am

      you probably do know my password. but..i changed it πŸ˜€

      now…i dont think i remember it πŸ˜•

  12. August 31, 2009 10:20 am

    Ya. So. I always misspell things!

    I remember on twitter a couple months ago, I did it good.

    I always make fun of how short Pete Wilson is. We were discussing how short Chris Tomlin was. And I said…

    “I bet @pwilson has at least 2″ in Chris Tomlin”

    Ummmm. That should have been “on”, not “in”

    • August 31, 2009 10:34 am

      that is the all time best faux pas!

      will go down in history!!!

    • August 31, 2009 9:23 pm

      Lol, laughed so hard I was crying.

    • September 1, 2009 8:09 pm

      seriously, brent… that was my favorite typo of all time. still in my twitter favorites. whenever i have a bad day… i just go to that.

  13. August 31, 2009 11:40 am

    You’re killing me! You are TOO funny, tam!

    • August 31, 2009 7:01 pm

      sometimes i think there should be one of those laughing tracks built into me somewhere.

      πŸ™‚

  14. August 31, 2009 12:41 pm

    One time I said “orgasm” instead of “organism” on my blog…..I know right? Awful.

    • August 31, 2009 7:01 pm

      ooooo…i wanta see that mistake in its context tho.

  15. August 31, 2009 2:17 pm

    maybe you didn’t write it wrong at all..maybe the one who RT you did that… if i would have seen it i would have told you, but I would have laughed too..my bad

    • August 31, 2009 7:02 pm

      someone mentioned that earlier…but i swear i checke it that morning in my “recent tweets” and it said it too.

      i dunno. i mean, i am gettin old and more flighty as the hours pass πŸ˜•

  16. August 31, 2009 4:34 pm

    Ummmm I was going to make a comment about your erection but then i read B’s comment…. I gave up… πŸ™‚

    • August 31, 2009 7:03 pm

      oh yah…B gets the faux pas award…hands down!

  17. August 31, 2009 5:46 pm

    We have a program at work called Pointsec.. It encrypts hard drives.

    Well the C and X are very close… Pointsex gets typed alot when we are IM’ing back and forth.

    I work in IS Support and was chatting with a co-worker We often type sec, for hang on a second. Just the other day I typed to that female co-worker… Yep you guessed it… sex…. It just hung there for a second…Luckily she knows me and knows what I meant…We both laughed about it the next time we were talking to each other on the phone…

    This was a very up-lifting topic… No telling what will arise tomorrow…. πŸ˜‰

    Peace and love sis.

    • August 31, 2009 7:03 pm

      that…coming from you….makes it so much more funny to me, carl!!

  18. lisapbjcreations permalink
    August 31, 2009 6:54 pm

    I have been away from the blog world this summer what a lovely post to come back to ! πŸ™‚

    My mouth get’s me in trouble all the time not my fingers πŸ˜‰

    First day on the job at Turtle’s back in my teens selling Dolly Parton and Conway Twitty concert ticket’s via Ticketmaster my new boss standing right next to me,and a huge line of cutomers.

    I say ,
    “Here’s your Dolly Parton and Conway Titty tickets!” I made quit the impression πŸ™‚

    • August 31, 2009 7:04 pm

      girl! that was the best thing about conway titty! i loved runnin around requesting his music, just to say his last name wrong.

      on a side note, kinda, i always thought he looked like a perv.

  19. August 31, 2009 9:21 pm

    it was so worth reading all these comments JUST to be able to read Brent’s!!!

    • August 31, 2009 9:47 pm

      i know. it is truly the best of all time. cuz hes all selfish like that.

  20. August 31, 2009 9:47 pm

    oh. and people…be careful that when you type “beautiful” that you make sure you type the “L” and not the “K”

    youre welcome.

  21. mandy perry permalink
    September 1, 2009 7:41 am

    Ooooohhhhhh I have so many…I use to do media relations, among a gazillion other things, for an indoor football team, so here are just a few of my most embarrassing typos:
    rooster instead of roster
    black party instead of block party
    Ah yes, and on a resume once I put disciplined young girls instead of discipled young girls…

    OH MY! Spell check doesn’t catch those!

Leave a Reply

