Skip to content

our coast trip ’09

September 6, 2009

the end of august our entire family vacationed on the oregon coast, in a little town called gold beach. we had a fabulous time and created some amazing memories. here’s a little video we wanted to share with you of our time together. hope you enjoy!

music from 10th avenue north – love is here

photos by kassidi hodge and brent hodge

42 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2009 10:39 pm

    my favorite place in the whole world. those first few pics got me all teary. I still maintain that Jake and I will live there one day. πŸ˜‰

    • September 6, 2009 10:50 pm

      id live in brookings. if i had to. but if im gonna live near the ocean id rather be in so. cal or australia…. cuz the two are so similar and all πŸ˜•

      so many parts of this vid make me teary…

    • September 6, 2009 10:50 pm

      oh. i love you. kbye.

      • September 6, 2009 10:54 pm

        HA! love you too. and I would totally live in Brookings over any other place. Seriously. Even in the foggiest of times!

        Did you see that “Ship Ashore” is closed until NEXT YEAR?! I was so bummed! 😦

      • September 6, 2009 10:56 pm

        funny story: everytime we are there I take a picture of a house that overlooks the beach. Same house everytime. Reminds me how much I really want that to be goal, to live there. Not neccessarily in that house, but it’s a nice visual reminder. πŸ˜‰ It’s kind of a grey/green house…. sort of looks like a pentagon shape…. not sure if you’d know what I’m talking about. When you’re standing on the beach facing the water, it’s to the right farther down. Huge windows. Wrap around deck. I have many pictures of that house. πŸ˜€

        • September 6, 2009 11:07 pm

          i dont personally remember seeing that house…i’ll look for it next time tho?

          id like to see you all move back here, to the coast. yah…im good with that πŸ˜‰

  2. @gregghart permalink
    September 6, 2009 10:50 pm

    so cool. looks like you all had a great time. the footprint shot at 3:10 reminded me of the poem “footprints in the sand”…which was my mom’s favorite. brought back great memories of her. thank you for sharing.

    • September 6, 2009 10:52 pm

      same thing i thought (the poem). glad it brought back good memories for you that makes me happy, gregg! hi to your lovely wife and son for me!

      • @gregghart permalink
        September 6, 2009 10:54 pm

        kissin them both right now.

  3. September 7, 2009 3:17 am

    beautiful pics! looks like you all had good weather too! Hope it was all you needed to be refreshed.

    • September 7, 2009 10:52 am

      we had great weather! and when we drove through the Redwoods, i thought of you all. πŸ™‚

  4. September 7, 2009 4:25 am

    As beautiful as the scenery is, the amazingness of Kass & Brent’s photographic eye and the cool soundtrack make this more than just a collection of holiday snaps.

    Thanks for putting it together Tam, even if it’s so not you πŸ™‚

    • September 7, 2009 10:55 am

      ha! youre welcome, david. brent did a great job with the transitions in this vid. the song picked me. its a perfect song for this vid. it makes me weepy.

      kass took the majority of the pics. when josh was here he took her under his wing…he saw potential in her. i think this is something she really enjoys and would be good at. its like having the paparazzi around all the time with her now 😯

      • September 7, 2009 5:45 pm

        As long as having the paparazzi around doesn’t come with it’s own Lady GaGa soundtrack, I’m thinking you’ll all be just fine…

  5. Jennifer permalink
    September 7, 2009 6:00 am

    Great pics & video! Absolutely beautiful place. I was able to go to Seaside this summer while visiting friends in Oregon and it was the first time I went to a beach on the Oregon coast and was actually hot. I love it out there and I think the pics taken capture such beauty of scenery and family. Thanks for sharing :))

    • September 7, 2009 10:58 am

      thank you jennifer!

      im actually more of a beach girl. i love, love, love palm trees, warm sun, people laying out, surfing, snack shacks, the busyness of it all. i love that atmosphere. but there is something a bit more serene and peaceful about the “coast” here. it is truly breath taking. i wept on more than one occasion πŸ˜‰

  6. September 7, 2009 6:27 am

    i watched it…i saw 10th ave north in portland with rock and worship roadshow…nice video

    • September 7, 2009 10:59 am

      ive seen then a couple times. great group of guys. theyre lyrically strong too…which i appreciate.

      so you got into the rock and worship roadshow? how cool!! ya goin again next year?

  7. September 7, 2009 6:48 am

    Tam: You have a couple of very talented photographers! πŸ™‚ I love only being a couple of hours away….beautiful, thank you for sharing this. πŸ™‚

    • September 7, 2009 11:00 am

      we should take a day trip out there? πŸ˜‰

      • September 7, 2009 12:26 pm

        Name it, I’m there… we be jeepin’…you drive πŸ˜‰

        • September 7, 2009 12:33 pm

          uuuhhh…you sure you want me to drive? that didnt go so well last time.

          • September 7, 2009 2:21 pm

            Made for a happy memory tho πŸ™‚ I’ll drive.

  8. September 7, 2009 7:21 am

    Your family is an inspiration. Beautiful, Tam.

    • September 7, 2009 11:01 am

      that makes me smile…thank you, angie!

  9. September 7, 2009 8:43 am

    Priceless.

    Love you, Tammy Jo! πŸ™‚

  10. September 7, 2009 10:40 am

    Its absolutely beautiful! Oregon/Washington area is the only places in the states I haven’t made it to yet….I need to some day!

    • September 7, 2009 11:03 am

      well, girly..we’re gonna have to do something about that πŸ˜‰

  11. Heidi permalink
    September 7, 2009 11:04 am

    There is nothing like the Oregon Coast. I shared a story on Brent’s blog about a memory that rang thru.. Wow that I am nearing 43 next month, I’m going to make new memories of Pac Northwest THIS weekend.

    It didn’t turn out what I would have imagined, I am missing one sis, that I wanted to grab on tightly (sniff!) But God is giving me a Huge enormous opportunity to bring a family together. With a wedding and a reunion!!
    Cannot wait!!!

    So Ca.. is waiting for you Tam

    • September 7, 2009 11:18 am

      i think, too, that God is fostering a once in a lifetime moment to bring your family together. what a fabulous opportunity, sis.

      we’ll get our time. we will!

  12. lazrus2 permalink
    September 7, 2009 11:46 am

    Nice…

    thanks for sharing your lives

    with the rest of us who aren’t part of the ‘bloodline’ family

    … or, come to think of it, aren’t we after all (via His blood)?

    D-

  13. September 7, 2009 12:26 pm

    Great video, the beauty of nature, the the love of a family sharing in it. I loved the child trying to walk in his mother’s(?) foot prints.

    I have never been to the Oregon coast but it reminds me of the beaches around Monterey, CA.

    Watching the sun rise over, and set below, the ocean is the most spiritual time for me.

    • September 7, 2009 12:32 pm

      it is a lot like monterey. youre right.

      ed – i feel the same way about the ocean. it makes me feel so small. not in an insignificant way, but in a – “oh my word…in all of this beautiful creation, i, we, are still looked on with such love and care from the Creator.” blows my mind.

      i would really love to see the east coast someday. if i ever make it out there i hope you can show me around? πŸ˜‰

  14. mandy perry permalink
    September 7, 2009 4:04 pm

    Fabulous video, Tam. You have such a super cool family. Thanks for sharing!

    • September 7, 2009 11:46 pm

      thanks mandy! i absolutely love my family. i am so fortunate to have such fabulous inlaws! im one of those few who actually get along with them πŸ˜‰

      i am blessed!

  15. September 7, 2009 5:56 pm

    Beautiful πŸ™‚

  16. September 7, 2009 7:38 pm

    Such a beautiful video of your family, Tammy! Hang onto those memories. They will become more and more precious.

    • September 7, 2009 11:47 pm

      yes…thats why we wanted to make sure we made this video. so many great memories tucked in there!

Leave a Reply

